Canada and the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development

Established in 1991, the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) operates in 35 countries from Central and Eastern Europe, Central Asia, and the Southern and Eastern Mediterranean. The Bank’s mandate is to foster the transition towards open market‑oriented economies and to promote private and entrepreneurial in countries committed to and applying the principles of multiparty democracy, pluralism and market economics. The EBRD provides financing in the form of loans, guarantees and equity to banks, industries, and businesses; working with both new and existing ventures in the private sector.

The EBRD consists of 64 member countries and 2 intergovernmental organizations, the European Union and the European Investment Bank. Canada is a founding member of the EBRD, as well as its eighth-largest shareholder. Canada holds seats on both the Board of Directors and the Board of Governors at the EBRD. The Canadian Executive Director represents a constituency that includes, in addition to Canada, Morocco, Jordan and Tunisia.

The EBRD is a key partner for Canada in pursuing joint solutions to challenges that countries face as they transition to market economies in Eastern Europe, particularly in the Ukraine. Canada continues to support the EBRD's efforts to promote sustainable economic growth, private sector development, and enhanced trade regulations.

Date Modified:

Le Canada et la Banque européenne pour la reconstruction et le développement

Créée en 1991, la Banque européenne pour la reconstruction et le développement (BERD) exerce ses activités dans 35 pays d'Europe centrale et orientale, d'Asie centrale et du Sud, ainsi que de la Méditerranée orientale. La Banque a pour mandat de favoriser la transition vers des économies de marché ouvert et de promouvoir l’initiative privée dans les pays qui se sont engagés dans cette transition. La BERD fournit des fonds sous de nombreuses formes; elle travaille avec des entreprises nouvelles et existantes du secteur privé.

La BERD est détenue par 64 pays membres et deux organisations, qui sont en outre l'Union européenne et la Banque européenne d'investissement. Le Canada est un des membres fondateurs de la BERD et son huitième actionnaire en importance. Le Canada siège au conseil d'administration et au conseil des gouverneurs de la BERD. Le directeur exécutif canadien représente un groupe de pays qui comprend, outre le Canada, le Maroc, la Jordanie et la Tunisie.

La BERD est un partenaire clé pour le Canada, car les pays d'Europe de l'Est, en particulier l'Ukraine, sont confrontés à la transition vers une économie de marché. Le Canada continue d'appuyer le mandat de la BERD.

Date de modification: