Canada and the International Monetary Fund

The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 189 countries, working together to:

  • foster global monetary cooperation
  • secure financial stability
  • facilitate international trade and sustainable/inclusive economic growth
  • reduce poverty around the world

The IMF carries out its mandate through economic surveillance and policy advice, lending programs, and technical assistance.

Canada is a member of the IMF and plays an important role in its governance. Canada and its Caribbean constituency partners share a deep history in terms of political traditions, long-standing trade and commercial linkages, and cultural values. These ties have fostered a special relationship and degree of cooperation that sees Canada act as a champion for sustainable socio-economic development, poverty reduction, resilience-building, and strengthening democratic institutions throughout the region and for small states in general. Canada and the IMF share priorities of:

  • inclusive growth
  • gender equality
  • strong governance and public institutions
  • maintaining openness
  • and using multilateralism to address global challenges for the benefit of all

Canada has, historically, been one of the largest contributors to the IMF’s Institute for Capacity Development, which provides capacity development and training to officials in member countries to help them build strong institutions and boost skills to enable sound macro-economic and financial management.

Canada has contributed to the IMF’s Central America, Panama and Dominican Republic Regional Technical Assistance Centre and its Africa Regional Technical Assistance Centres. We are the largest donor to the Caribbean Regional Technical Assistance Centre. Canada recently announced $20 million in new funding to the IMF to help build public financial management capacities in Caribbean and other Small Island Developing States.

Date Modified:

Le Canada et le Fonds monétaire international

Le Fonds monétaire international (FMI) est une organisation de 189 pays qui travaillent ensemble pour :

  • favoriser la coopération monétaire internationale;
  • assurer la stabilité financière;
  • faciliter le commerce international et la croissance économique durable et inclusive;
  • faire reculer la pauvreté dans le monde.

Le FMI s’acquitte de son mandat au moyen d’une surveillance économique et de conseils sur les politiques, de programmes de prêts et d’une assistance technique.

Le Canada est membre du FMI et il joue un rôle important dans sa gouvernance. Le Canada et ses partenaires des Caraïbes qu’il représente collaborent depuis longtemps sur le plan des traditions politiques, des liens commerciaux de longue date et des valeurs culturelles. Ces liens ont favorisé une relation particulière et un degré de coopération qui permet au Canada d’agir à titre de champion du développement socioéconomique durable, de la réduction de la pauvreté, de l’accroissement de la résilience et du renforcement des institutions démocratiques dans toute la région et les petits États en général. Le Canada et le FMI ont les priorités suivantes en commun :

  • la croissance inclusive;
  • l’égalité entre les sexes;
  • la gouvernance et des institutions publiques solides;
  • le maintien de la transparence;
  • le recours au multilatéralisme pour relever des enjeux mondiaux dans l’intérêt de tous.

Historiquement, le Canada est l’un des plus importants contributeurs à l’Institut pour le renforcement des capacités du FMI. Cet institut offre une formation et un renforcement des capacités à des représentants dans les pays membres pour les aider à établir des institutions solides et améliorer leurs compétences pour permettre une gestion macroéconomique et financière saine.

Le Canada a contribué au Centre régional d’assistance technique du FMI pour l’Amérique centrale, le Panama et la République dominicaine et aux centres régionaux d’assistance technique du FMI pour l’Afrique. Le Canada est le premier donateur en importance au Centre régional d’assistance technique pour les Caraïbes. Il a récemment annoncé qu’il verserait une contribution de 20 millions de dollars de nouveaux fonds au FMI en vue de contribuer au renforcement des capacités de gestion des finances publiques dans les Caraïbes et d’autres petits États insulaires en développement.

Date de modification: