Canada and the World Bank

The World Bank Group's (WBG) twin goals are to eliminate extreme poverty by 2030; and boost shared prosperity through inclusive, sustainable economic growth and development. The WBG is made up of five institutions that collectively operate as the World Bank Group:

  • International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD), established in 1945 supports middle income countries with non-concessional finance for projects and programmes.
  • International Development Association (IDA), established in 1960 provides grants and zero-to-low-interest loans for projects and programmes in the poorest countries (less than US$1,145 per capita GNI).
  • International Finance Corporation (IFC), established in 1956, offers investment (co-finance via loans and equity), advisory, and asset-management services to encourage private-sector development in developing countries.
  • Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency (MIGA), established in 1988 provides political risk insurance (guarantees) for private sector investments in developing countries.
  • International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID), established in 1966 settles investment disputes.

These organizations work together in every major area of development. They provide an array of financial products and technical assistance. They also help countries share and apply innovative knowledge and solutions to the challenges they face. In addition to the corporate functions and geographic divisions at the Bank, there are 15 Global Practices and five Cross-Cutting Solutions Areas to best address challenges in specific sectors. Global Practices include:

  • agriculture
  • digital development
  • education
  • energy
  • environment and natural resources
  • finance, competitiveness and innovation
  • governance
  • health, nutrition and population
  • jobs and development
  • macroeconomics, trade and investment
  • poverty
  • social protection
  • social, urban and rural development, and resilience
  • transport
  • water

Cross-Cutting Solutions Areas include:

  • climate change
  • fragility, conflict and violence
  • gender equality
  • infrastructure and public-private partnerships
  • knowledge management

Canada's support for the World Bank Group

Canada is a founding member of the WBG, which has 188 member countries. Canada is the eleventh largest shareholder in the WBG and holds a permanent seat on the 25-member Board of Executive Directors. The Canadian Executive Director represents a constituency on the Board that includes Ireland and eleven Commonwealth Caribbean countries. Canada largest annual contribution to the World Bank is to IDA, the Bank’s concessional fund which provides low interest loans or grants to the poorest member countries. Canada is the sixth largest donor to this fund.  Since 1960, Canada has contributed US$11.1billion and from fiscal year 2012 to 2013  to fiscal year 2019 to 2020, Canada’s average annual contribution was C$441.61 million.

Canada also supports several global and country level multi-donor trust funds at the World Bank Group including:

  • Blended Climate Finance Program (Phase 2 of the IFC-Canada Climate Change Program established by Finance in 2011, renewed in 2018) – provides concessional co-financing to private sector climate mitigation and adaptation projects.
  • Global Financing Facility in Support of Every Woman/Every Child
  • Afghanistan Reconstruction Trust Fund

Results

From 2014 to 2017, with the support of Canada and other donors, some of the results the WBG has delivered:

  • 69.2 million children received immunizations
  • 263.4 million people received essential health, nutrition and population services
  • 23.7 million people were covered by social safety nets
  • 61,054 kilometres of roads were built or fixed
  • 34.2 million people received access to water
  • 14.5 million people obtained access to better sanitation facilities
  • 1,492 megawatts of renewable energy generation capacity were developed or upgraded

Related links

Date Modified:

Le Canada et la Banque mondiale

Le double objectif du Groupe de la Banque mondiale (GBM) est d’éliminer l’extrême pauvreté d’ici 2030 et de stimuler la prospérité commune par une croissance et un développement économiques inclusifs et durables. Le GBM est composé de cinq institutions qui fonctionnent collectivement sous le nom de Groupe de la Banque mondiale :

  • La Banque internationale pour la reconstruction et le développement (IBRD), créée en 1945, soutient les pays à revenu intermédiaire en offrant du financement aux conditions du marché pour des projets et des programmes.
  • L’Association internationale de développement (IAD), créée en 1960, accorde des subventions et des prêts sans intérêt ou à faible taux d’intérêt pour des projets et des programmes dans les pays les plus pauvres (moins de 1 145 $ US de revenu national brut [RNB] par habitant).
  • La Société financière internationale (IFC), créée en 1956, offre des investissements (cofinancement sous forme de prêts et capital de croissance), des services de conseil et de gestion d’actifs pour encourager les investissements du secteur privé dans les pays en développement.  
  • L’Agence multilatérale de garantie des investissements (MIGA), créée en 1988, fournit une assurance contre les risques politiques (garanties) pour les investissements du secteur privé dans les pays en développement.
  • Le Centre international pour le règlement des différends relatifs aux investissements (ICSID), créé en 1966, règle les différends relatifs aux investissements.

Ces organisations travaillent ensemble dans tous les grands domaines du développement.  Elles offrent une gamme de produits financiers et d’assistances techniques. Elles aident également les pays à échanger et à appliquer des connaissances et des solutions novatrices pour relever les défis auxquels ils se heurtent. En plus des fonctions organisationnelles et des divisions géographiques de la Banque, 15 pratiques mondiales et cinq secteurs de solutions transversales ont été établis pour mieux  relever les défis dans des secteurs précis. Les pratiques mondiales visent les domaines suivants :

  • agriculture
  • développement numérique
  • éducation
  • énergie
  • environnement et ressources naturelles
  • finances, compétitivité et innovation
  • gouvernance
  • santé, nutrition et population
  • emploi et développement
  • macroéconomie, commerce et investissement
  • pauvreté
  • protection sociale
  • développement social, urbain et rural, et la résilience
  • transport
  • eau

Les secteurs de solutions transversales sont les suivants :

  • changement climatique
  • fragilité, conflits et violence
  • égalité des genres
  • infrastructures et partenariats public-privé
  • gestion des connaissances

L’appui du Canada au Groupe de la Banque mondiale

Le Canada est l’un des membres fondateurs du GBM, qui compte 188 pays membres. Le Canada est le onzième actionnaire en importance du GBM et occupe un siège permanent au conseil d’administration, composé de 25 membres. L’administrateur canadien représente un groupe de pays qui comprend l’Irlande et onze pays des Antilles du Commonwealth. La plus importante contribution annuelle du Canada à la Banque mondiale est versée à l’AID, le fonds concessionnel de la Banque qui accorde des prêts à faible taux d’intérêt ou des subventions aux pays membres les plus pauvres. Le Canada est le sixième plus grand donateur pour ce fonds.   Depuis 1960, le Canada a contribué à la hauteur de 11.1 billion de dollars US et entre l’année fiscale 2012-2013 et l’année fiscale 2019-2020 le Canada contribuera en moyenne à la hauteur de 441.61 millions de dollars annuellement.

Le Canada soutient également plusieurs fonds fiduciaires multidonateurs mondiaux et nationaux au sein du GBM, notamment :

  • Programme canadien de financement mixte pour la lutte contre les changements climatiques (phase 2 du Programme canadien sur les changements climatiques de la SFI établi par le ministère des Finances en 2011 et renouvelé en 2018) - offre un cofinancement concessionnel à des projets d’atténuation et d’adaptation climatiques du secteur privé
  • Mécanisme de financement mondial à l’appui de l’initiative Chaque femme, chaque enfant
  • Fonds d’affectation spéciale pour la reconstruction de l’Afghanistan

Resultats

Certain des résultats de 2014 à 2017 obtenus par le GBM avec l’appui du Canada et d’autres donateurs :

  • 69,2 millions d’enfants ont été vaccinés
  • 263,4 millions de personnes ont reçu des services essentiels de santé, de nutrition et à la population
  • 23,7 millions de personnes sont couvertes par des filets de sécurité sociale
  • 61 054 kilomètres de routes ont été construits ou réparés
  • 34,2 millions de personnes ont eu accès à l’eau
  • 14,5 millions de personnes ont eu accès à de meilleures installations sanitaires
  • Des installations d’une capacité de génération d’énergie renouvelable de 1 492 mégawatts ont été aménagées ou améliorées

Liens connexes

Date de modification: