Language selection

Search

Meeting of the International Contact Group for Freedom of Religion or Belief

A meeting of the International Contact Group on Freedom of Religion or Belief (ICG-FoRB)

A meeting of the International Contact Group on Freedom of Religion or Belief (ICG-FoRB) was convened on October 23, 2018, in New York on the margins of the United Nations General Assembly. Hosted by the Permanent Representation of Argentina to the UN, the meeting was co-chaired by Canada and the United States.

The Contact Group occupies a unique role as an informal platform, to enhance information sharing and cooperation between states committed to protecting and promoting the human right to freedom of religion or belief.

Reaffirming their commitment to Article 18 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the meeting saw the participation of 19 countries from diverse regions including, the Americas, Asia, and Europe.

The ICG-FoRB provides members with opportunities for open discussion and active collaboration on various FoRB-related issues. Recognizing the universal, indivisible and interdependent and interrelated nature of human rights, ICG-FoRB members explored global developments in China, Myanmar, Yemen, Iran and other regions, including how respect for FoRB can advance gender equality and women’s rights internationally.

As part of efforts to draw attention to the situation facing Yemeni Bahá'ís, a number of ICG-FoRB members have signed a joint statement condemning their persecution and calling for their immediate release. Members of the ICG-FoRB remain seized of this important issue and will continue to monitor the situation closely.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Réunion du Groupe de contact international sur la liberté de religion ou de conviction

Une réunion du Groupe de contact international sur la liberté de religion ou de conviction

Une réunion du Groupe de contact international sur la liberté de religion ou de conviction (GCI-LRC) s'est tenue le 23 octobre 2018 à New York en marge de l'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies. Conviée par la représentation permanente de l'Argentine auprès de l'ONU, la réunion était coprésidée par le Canada et les États-Unis.

Le Groupe de contact joue un rôle tout à fait particulier à titre de plateforme informelle, un rôle qui consiste à accroître la coopération et l’échange d’information entre des États qui sont engagés dans la promotion et la protection des droits de la personne, y compris la liberté de religion ou de conviction.

Réaffirmant leur engagement à la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme et en particulier à l’article 18, la réunion a rassemblé 19 pays de diverses régions, notamment les Amériques, l'Asie et l'Europe.

Le GCI-LRC offre aux membres des opportunités de discussions ouvertes et de collaboration active sur diverses questions liées à liberté de religion ou de conviction.  Conscients de la nature universelle, indivisible, interdépendante et interdépendante des droits de la personne, les membres du GCI-LRC ont examiné l'évolution de la situation en Chine, au Myanmar, au Yémen, en Iran et dans d'autres régions, ainsi que la manière dont le respect pour la liberté de religion ou de conviction peut faire progresser l’égalité des genres et les droits des femmes au niveau international.

Dans le cadre des efforts visant à attirer l'attention sur la situation des baha'is yéménites, certains membres du GIC-FoRB ont signé une déclaration commune condamnant la persécution et demandant la liberté immédiate de ces derniers. Les membres du groupe restent saisis de cette question importante et continueront à suivre la situation de près.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: