Language selection


Statement on behalf of 59 countries in their national capacity and as members of the Group of Friends of Women, Peace and Security, the Group of Friends of Children and Armed Conflict and/or the Group of Friends of the Protection of Civilians – Amended

March 30, 2020
New York

We welcome and fully support the United Nations Secretary-General’s call for an immediate global ceasefire in all corners of the world in light of the global COVID-19 pandemic. We echo the Secretary-General that it is, “time to put armed conflict on lockdown and focus together on the true fight of our lives.”

As the global COVID-19 pandemic spreads, we are concerned about the plight of women, children, and all civilians caught in armed conflicts and other humanitarian crises, including the displaced and marginalized, older persons, persons with disabilities, and the wounded, sick, and detainees. These populations are already impacted disproportionately by armed conflict. An immediate global ceasefire would markedly reduce these impacts, allow for much-needed humanitarian assistance and protection, and hopefully diminish the spread of COVID-19.

We fully support the efforts of the United Nations, including the World Health Organization, the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs, the UN Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights, UNICEF, and other specialized agencies, funds, and programs in responding to COVID-19. Their efforts are helping to ensure vulnerable civilians living in conflict-affected countries are protected. Furthermore, we extend our thanks and support to the humanitarian and healthcare workers on the frontlines of the response.

We stand together with all those affected by COVID-19, including civilians and vulnerable populations caught in armed conflicts and humanitarian crises around the world.

  1. Andorra
  2. Argentina
  3. Australia
  4. Austria
  5. Bangladesh
  6. Belgium
  7. Brazil
  8. Canada
  9. Chile
  10. Colombia
  11. Costa Rica
  12. Cote d’Ivoire
  13. Croatia
  14. Czech Republic
  15. Denmark
  16. El Salvador
  17. Estonia
  18. Finland
  19. France
  20. Germany
  1. Ghana
  2. Guinea
  3. Hungary
  4. Iceland
  5. Indonesia
  6. Ireland
  7. Italy 
  8. Jamaica
  9. Japan 
  10. Jordan
  11. Kenya
  12. Republic of Korea
  13. Kuwait
  14. Liechtenstein
  15. Lithuania
  16. Luxembourg
  17. Mali
  18. Malta
  19. Mexico
  20. Montenegro
  1. Namibia
  2. The Netherlands
  3. New Zealand
  4. Norway
  5. Peru
  6. Philippines
  7. Poland
  8. Portugal
  9. Qatar
  10. San Marino
  11. Slovakia
  12. Slovenia
  13. South Africa
  14. Spain
  15. Sweden
  16. Switzerland
  17. United Arab Emirates
  18. United Kingdom
  19. Uruguay
Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified: