Negotiations at the World Trade Organization

An important role of the World Trade Organization is to house negotiations on trade liberalization. WTO members have a standing mandate for multilateral negotiations under the Doha Development Agenda, and are also pursuing plurilateral negotiations where subsets of the membership are interested in specific areas of liberalization, such as information technology and environmental goods.

Doha Development Agenda

The WTO Doha Round of negotiations was launched at the fourth WTO Ministerial Conference in Doha, Qatar, in November 2001. One of the fundamental objectives of the Doha Round is to improve the trading prospects of less developed countries, thus it is often referred to as the Doha Development Agenda. The mandate for the negotiations provided by the Doha ministerial declaration included negotiations on agriculture, services, non-agricultural market access, trade-related aspects of intellectual property rights, WTO rules (e.g., anti-dumping, subsidies), dispute settlement, trade facilitation, and trade and environment, among others. The broader Doha Development Agenda negotiations have been at an impasse since 2011. However, at the ninth Ministerial Conference in Bali in December 2013, members concluded negotiations on a key element of the Doha Development Agenda – an agreement on trade facilitation.

Canada views the WTO as the best forum for achieving broadly-based trade liberalization, and supports the goal of better integrating developing countries into the international trading system. For more information, please see the Doha Development Agenda.

Information Technology

The WTO Information Technology Agreement (ITA) is a tariff liberalization agreement agreed in 1996 through a “Ministerial Declaration on Trade in Information Technology Products”, signed initially by 29 WTO members; participation in this plurilateral agreement has consistently increased since then. It requires each participant to bind and eliminate customs duties for all products specified in the Agreement, and the tariff elimination is implemented on a most-favoured nation (MFN) basis. The ITA covers a large number of high technology products, including computers, telecommunication equipment, semiconductors, semiconductor manufacturing and testing equipment, software, scientific instruments, and their parts and accessories.

In light of new technological developments, some WTO members agreed that the current product coverage of the ITA should be expanded and in June 2012, an informal process was initiated towards launching negotiations for the expansion of the product coverage of the ITA. This process led to the establishment of a technical working group of Members, including Canada, meeting outside of the formal framework of the WTO ITA Committee. Negotiations to expand the ITA are ongoing.

Environmental Goods

On July 8, 2014, Canada joined a number of other World Trade Organization members, including China, the European Union, Japan and the United States, in launching negotiations toward a new WTO plurilateral agreement on environmental goods. Such an agreement would eliminate tariffs on a range of environmental goods. More open trade would create new markets for Canadian manufacturers, provide incentives for Canadian businesses to develop new products to protect the environment, and increase the availability and lower the cost of environmental goods for Canadians. For more information, including periodic updates and statements by Minister Fast, please see the Plurilateral Environmental Goods Agreement.

Date Modified:

Négociations au sein de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce

Un important rôle de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce est d’accueillir les négociations sur la libéralisation des échanges. Les membres de l’OMC ont un mandat permanent de négociations multilatérales dans le cadre du Programme de Doha pour le développement, et ils s’efforcent également de poursuivre des négociations plurilatérales, par exemple concernant les technologies de l’information et les biens environnementaux.

Programme de Doha pour le développement

Les négociations du Cycle de Doha ont été lancées lors de la quatrième conférence ministérielle de l’OMC à Doha, au Qatar, en novembre 2001. L’un des objectifs fondamentaux du Cycle de Doha consiste à améliorer les perspectives commerciales des pays les moins développés et, pour cette raison, on l’appelle également le Programme de Doha pour le développement. Le mandat de négociation convenu dans la déclaration ministérielle de Doha comprenait des négociations sur l’agriculture, les services, l’accès aux marchés pour les produits non agricoles, les aspects des droits de propriété intellectuelle qui touchent au commerce, les règles de l’OMC (p. ex., règles antidumping et en matière de subventions), le règlement des différends, la facilitation des échanges, le commerce et l’environnement. Les négociations générales dans le cadre du Programme de Doha pour le développement sont dans une impasse depuis 2011. Toutefois, lors de la neuvième conférence ministérielle à Bali, en décembre 2013, les membres ont conclu les négociations concernant un élément clé du Programme de Doha pour le développement – un accord sur la facilitation des échanges.

Le Canada estime que l’OMC est la meilleure tribune pour parvenir à une libéralisation générale du commerce et il appuie l’objectif de mieux intégrer les pays en développement dans le système commercial international. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le Programme de Doha pour le développement.

Accord sur les technologies de l’information

L’Accord sur les technologies de l’information (ATI) de l’OMC est un accord de libéralisation des droits de douane convenu en 1996 au moyen d’une « Déclaration ministérielle sur le commerce des produits des technologies de l’information », signée à l’origine par 29 membres de l’OMC. La participation à cet accord plurilatéral est en croissance depuis. Elle requiert que chaque participant se conforme à l’accord et élimine les droits de douane qu’il impose sur tous les produits visés par l’Accord, et que l’élimination des droits de douane soit mise en œuvre en respectant le principe de la nation la plus favorisée (NPF). L’ATI vise un grand nombre de produits de haute technologie, y compris les ordinateurs, l’équipement de télécommunication, les semi-conducteurs, l’équipement de fabrication et de mise à l’essai des semi-conducteurs, les logiciels, les instruments scientifiques ainsi que leurs pièces ou accessoires.

À la lumière de l’évolution récente des technologies, certains membres de l’OMC ont convenu que la portée actuelle de l’ATI devait être étendue à de nouveaux produits et, en juin 2012, un processus informel a été lancé de négociations visant l’expansion de la portée de l’ATI. Ce processus a mené à l’établissement d’un groupe de travail technique composé de membres, dont le Canada, qui se rencontrent en dehors du cadre de travail formel du Comité sur l’ATI de l’OMC. Les négociations visant l’expansion de l’ATI sont en cours.

Accord sur les biens environnementaux

Le 8 juillet 2014, le Canada s’est joint à un certain nombre d’autres membres de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce, dont la Chine, l’Union européenne, le Japon et les États-Unis, dans le cadre de négociations visant la conclusion d’un nouvel accord plurilatéral sur les biens environnementaux, qui éliminerait les droits de douane imposés sur un éventail de biens environnementaux. Un commerce plus ouvert créerait de nouveaux marchés pour les fabricants canadiens, encouragerait les entreprises canadiennes à mettre au point de nouveaux produits pour protéger l’environnement, et accroîtrait la disponibilité de biens environnementaux à coûts réduits pour les Canadiens. Pour de plus amples renseignements, y compris pour obtenir des mises à jour périodiques et pour lire les déclarations du ministre Fast sur le sujet, veuillez consulter la page Accord plurilatéral sur les biens environnementaux.

Date de modification: