Canada’s National Action Plan on Women, Peace and Security 2017-2022 - Public Safety Canada - Progress report for fiscal year 2017/2018

PDF Version ( KB)

Public Safety Canada and its various portfolio agencies are playing an important role in advancing the Women, Peace and Security (WPS) agenda over the span of Canada’s National Action Plan (the Action Plan) on WPS 2017-2022. In leading Canada’s domestic response to addressing radicalization to violence, the department coordinates and develops policy expertise, mobilizes community outreach, and enhances research in countering radicalization to violence (CRV) through the Canada Centre for Community Engagement and Prevention of Violence (Canada Centre). In addition, Public Safety Canada’s Serious and Organized Crime Division leads the Government of Canada’s effort to combat human trafficking domestically, including by supporting Canada’s G7 commitments in this area. The Correctional Service of Canada, an agency within the Public Safety portfolio, is the federal agency responsible for administering sentences of two years or more, along with supervising offenders under conditional release, as well as capacity-building activities in international correctional services.

Countering radicalization to violence

Completed Activities:

Results and Progress:

For community consultations on a national strategy, the Canada Centre developed and executed a stakeholder engagement plan featuring guiding principles of inclusion and collaboration that emphasized engagement with women’s and other identity-based groups, non-governmental organizations and community leaders. More generally, questions about gender and diversity featured in a public online consultation, which closed May 3, 2018, as well as in the dialogue with a wide range of other community-serving agencies and organizations that participated in the consultations. More than 100 meetings with over 275 organizations were held. They included meetings with other levels of government, youth groups, community organizations and leaders, law-enforcement officials, academics, religious groups, and education sectors. Initial findings from these consultations have been posted, and the complete results of the online consultation will be released in the coming months.

For the 2018 G7 Security Ministers’ meeting, all concept papers and discussion papers prepared by Public Safety incorporated gender analysis and considerations, while the G7 Security Ministers’ final outcomes included advice solicited from the Prime Minister’s Gender Equality Advisory Council. Through such activities, the Canada Centre contributed to Canada’s G7 leadership by advancing the international discussion on how to integrate considerations relating to women and girls and other gender-related issues into CRV and counter-terrorism (CT) programming and policy. 

Current Community Resilience Fund-supported projects that incorporate considerations of gender and other features of diversity include initiatives to evaluate multi-agency approaches for cases of individuals at potentially high risk of criminality or harm; and projects building resources, training, and tools for CRV practitioners. Other projects integrate considerations related to women or gender, in the course of activities such as education and awareness raising, working with individuals at elevated risk, as well as better understanding processes of radicalization to violence. To date, 13 projects have been announced, with more to follow. While many are in early stages, in the coming year the Canada Centre will be gathering and analyzing data from the Community Resilience Fund projects through performance measurement, which will include Gender-based Analysis Plus (GBA+).

Human trafficking

Completed Activities:

Results and Progress: Budget 2018 announced $14.51 million over five years and $2.89 million per year ongoing to implement a national human trafficking hotline that will allow victims to easily access the help they need. The 2012-2016 National Action Plan to Combat Human Trafficking underwent a formal horizontal evaluation, the findings of which were published in December 2017. The evaluation recommendations called for improving capacity to collect national data on human trafficking; implementing a mechanism to connect victims with access to dedicated services; and forging closer partnerships with other levels of government, Indigenous communities, civil society, the private sector, and bilateral and multilateral partners.  The evaluation will help inform the Government of Canada’s way forward in countering human trafficking. Public Safety Canada is also holding a national consultative process on human trafficking in September 2018 to gather stakeholder views on existing challenges and gaps in the federal response to trafficking in persons, as well as international best practices, with a view to inform the new Government of Canada national strategy to counter human trafficking.

Correctional service of canada

Completed Activities:

Results and Progress:

  • 4 Canadian facilitators assisted with Pre-Deployment training in FY 2017/18. 50% of the facilitators were women.
  • From FY 2016/17 to 2017/18, CSC successfully delivered two Effective Practices for Gender-Responsive Treatment of Women Prisoners training. The first was delivered in Liberia (2016) and the second in Nairobi (2017). Facilitators for both training consisted of one male and one female facilitator; thus maintaining a gender-neutral cadre of facilitators. The participant evaluations received from the training were overwhelmingly positive. Those trained are exploring delivery opportunities within their own services/domains.
  • CSC currently has plans to deliver the training to Haiti, Central African Republic and Namibia during FY 2018/19.
 
 
Date Modified:

Plan D’action du Canada pour les Femmes, La Paix et la Sécurité 2017-2022 - Sécurité Publique Canada - Rapport d’étape pour l’exercice financier 2017/2018

Version PDF ( kb)

Sécurité publique Canada et les divers organismes du portefeuille jouent un rôle important dans la promotion du Programme pour les femmes, la paix et la sécurité (FPS) pendant la durée du Plan d’action du Canada (le Plan d’action) sur le Programme FPS 2017-2022. En dirigeant la lutte nationale du Canada contre la radicalisation menant à la violence, le Ministère coordonne et met au point une expertise stratégique, mobilise les collectivités et améliore la recherche en matière de lutte contre la radicalisation menant à la violence par l’intermédiaire du Centre canadien d’engagement communautaire et de prévention de la violence (le Centre canadien). Par ailleurs, la Direction des crimes graves et du crime organisé de Sécurité publique Canada dirige les efforts du gouvernement du Canada visant à lutter contre la traite de personnes au pays, y compris à appuyer les engagements pris par le Canada au Sommet du G7 à cet égard. Le Service correctionnel du Canada, qui fait partie du portefeuille de la Sécurité publique, est l’organisme fédéral chargé de l’administration des peines de deux ans ou plus, de la supervision des délinquants mis en liberté sous condition ainsi que des activités de renforcement des capacités dans les services correctionnels internationaux.

Lutte contre la radicalisation menant à la violence

Activités réalisées :

Résultats obtenus et progrès accomplis :

Dans le cadre de consultations communautaires sur une stratégie nationale, le Centre canadien a élaboré et mis en œuvre un plan de mobilisation des intervenants comportant des principes directeurs d’inclusion et de collaboration qui mettent l’accent sur la participation des femmes et d’autres groupes identitaires, des organisations non gouvernementales et des dirigeants communautaires. De façon plus générale, les questions sur le genre et la diversité ont fait l’objet d’une consultation publique en ligne, qui s’est terminée le 3 mai 2018, ainsi que d’un dialogue avec un large éventail d’autres organismes communautaires et d’organisations qui ont pris part à ces consultations. Au‑delà de 100 réunions avec plus de 275 organisations ont eu lieu, incluant des réunions avec d’autres ordres de gouvernement, des groupes de jeunes, des organismes et des dirigeants communautaires, des responsables de l’application de la loi, des universitaires, des groupes religieux et des secteurs de l’éducation. Les premières constatations découlant de ces consultations ont été affichées et les résultats complets de la consultation en ligne seront publiés au cours des prochains mois.

En ce qui a trait à la réunion des ministres de la Sécurité des pays du G7 de 2018, tous les documents de réflexion et de travail préparés par Sécurité publique Canada incluaient une analyse comparative entre les sexes et des considérations liées au genre, tandis que les résultats finaux présentés par les ministres de la Sécurité des pays du G7 comprenaient des conseils sollicités auprès du Conseil consultatif sur l’égalité des sexes du premier ministre. Grâce à ces activités, le Centre canadien a contribué au leadership du Canada au G7 en faisant progresser le débat international sur la façon d’inclure les considérations liées aux femmes et aux filles et d’autres questions inhérentes au genre dans les programmes et les politiques en matière de lutte contre la radicalisation menant à la violence et de lutte contre le terrorisme.

Les projets actuels, appuyés par le Fonds pour la résilience communautaire, qui incluent des considérations liées au genre et d’autres caractéristiques de la diversité comprennent des initiatives visant à évaluer les approches multidisciplinaires à l’égard des personnes présentant un risque potentiellement élevé de criminalité ou de préjudice, et des projets pour la mise en place de ressources, de formation et d’outils pour les praticiens en matière de lutte contre la radicalisation menant à la violence. D’autres projets intègrent également des considérations liées aux femmes ou au genre, dans le cadre d’activités telles que l’éducation et la sensibilisation, le travail auprès des personnes qui présentent un risque élevé, ainsi que la compréhension approfondie des processus de radicalisation menant à la violence. Treize projets ont été annoncés à ce jour et d’autres suivront. Bien que bon nombre de ces projets n’en soient qu’aux premières étapes, le Centre canadien recueillera et analysera au cours de la prochaine année des données provenant des projets du Fonds pour la résilience communautaire en utilisant la mesure du rendement, notamment l’analyse comparative entre les sexes plus (ACS+).

Traite De Personnes

Activités réalisées :

Résultats obtenus et progrès accomplis :

Dans le budget de 2018, on a annoncé un montant de 14,51 millions de dollars sur cinq ans et de 2,89 millions de dollars par année par la suite afin de mettre en œuvre un service national téléphonique concernant la traite de personnes, qui permettra aux victimes d’avoir facilement accès à l’aide dont elles ont besoin. Le Plan d’action national de lutte contre la traite de personnes de 2012-2016 a fait l’objet d’une évaluation horizontale officielle dont les conclusions ont été publiées en décembre 2017. Les recommandations de l’évaluation portaient sur l’amélioration de la capacité de recueillir des données nationales sur la traite de personnes, la mise en œuvre d’un mécanisme permettant de faciliter l’accès des victimes à des services spécialisés, et l’établissement de partenariats plus étroits avec les autres ordres de gouvernement, les collectivités autochtones, la société civile, le secteur privé, et des partenaires bilatéraux et multilatéraux. L’évaluation aidera le gouvernement du Canada à déterminer la voie à suivre pour lutter contre la traite de personnes. Sécurité publique Canada tiendra également un processus de consultation nationale sur la traite de personnes en septembre 2018 afin d’obtenir le point de vue des intervenants sur les lacunes et les enjeux existants dans la réponse du gouvernement fédéral à la traite de personnes, ainsi que les pratiques exemplaires internationales, et ce, dans le but d’orienter la nouvelle stratégie nationale de lutte contre la traite de personnes du gouvernement du Canada.

Service Correctionnel du Canada

Activités réalisées :

Résultats obtenus et progrès accomplis :

  • Quatre formateurs canadiens ont contribué à la formation de pré-déploiement au cours de l’exercice financier 2017-2018. La moitié des formateurs étaient des femmes.
  • De l’exercice financier 2016-2017 à celui de 2017-2018, le SCC a offert avec succès deux séances de la formation sur les Pratiques efficaces pour le traitement des détenues sensible au genre. La première séance a été offerte au Libéria (2016), et la deuxième, à Nairobi (2017). Les deux séances de formation ont été données par un formateur et une formatrice, assurant ainsi la neutralité sur le plan du genre. Les participants ont fourni des évaluations de la formation extrêmement positives. Les personnes formées examinent la possibilité d’offrir la formation dans leur propre service/domaine d’emploi.
  • Le SCC prévoit actuellement offrir la formation en Haïti, en République centrafricaine et en Namibie, au cours de l’exercice financier 2018-2019.
Date de modification: