Language selection

Search

Canada’s aid and development assistance in response to the COVID‑19 pandemic

The COVID‑19 pandemic is a global threat that does not recognize borders. It will only be overcome through coordinated global action. Canada is committed to a robust global effort to stop COVID‑19 and address its devastating health, social, economic and security impacts on people around the world.

Canada knows that this global crisis has increased inequalities and reversed development gains. This particularly impacts women and children who already experience poverty, exclusion and/or marginalization more severely. As a part of Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy, Canada’s response includes a particular focus on supporting:

Since February 2020, Canada has committed $3.4 billion in international assistance in response to COVID-19. This includes:

Canada has prioritized support across all pillars of the ACT-Accelerator, including the health systems and response connector, recognizing that, in addition to vaccines, a strong public health response requires robust testing, access to available treatments – including oxygen – and strong systems to ensure their effective delivery.

In addition, in April 2020 Canada extended a $1-billion loan to the International Monetary Fund’s Poverty Reduction and Growth Trust in relation to the COVID‑19 pandemic. Since May 2020, Canada has also provided more than $70 million in temporary debt service relief for the poorest countries through the G20 and Paris Club agreed Debt Service Suspension Initiative (DSSI).

On October 30, 2021, at the G20 Leaders’ Summit, the Prime Minister announced that Canada will channel $3.7 billion, or 20 per cent of its newly allocated International Monetary Fund Special Drawing Rights, to support low-income and other vulnerable countries. As part of this, the Prime Minister announced that approximately $982 million would be distributed to the Poverty Reduction and Growth Trust.

Equitable access to vaccines, tests and treatments

Canada was an early supporter of the ACT-Accelerator, joining the ACT-Accelerator on May 4, 2020. This global partnership ensures that people worldwide have equal and affordable access to COVID 19 health products like:

It also supports people working in health systems and local community networks around the world who are on the front lines testing, treating and vaccinating people. These people and their health systems and local community networks are critical in defeating this pandemic and being prepared for when another one occurs in the future.

Canada is one of the largest contributors to ACT-Accelerator partners, with over $2 billion committed to date, making Canada one of only two countries to meet its fair share in 2021 and 2022.

On June 22, 2022, Canada announced $200 million in funding for a new signature initiative aimed at supporting vaccine delivery and distribution in 13 targeted countries, most of them in Africa. Canada’s Global Initiative for Vaccine Equity (CanGIVE) will support country-led efforts to enhance vaccine delivery and distribution, increase vaccine confidence and generate demand, as well as support local production of vaccines. This latest announcement is part of Canada’s $732 million commitment to the ACT-Accelerator announced on May 12, 2022, by Prime Minister Justin Trudeau.

To date, Canada has allocated over $1.8 billion in funding to ACT-Accelerator partners across the following areas:

The COVAX Facility

Canada is a strong supporter of the COVAX Facility, which is part of the vaccines pillar of the ACT-Accelerator. The vaccines pillar aims to accelerate the development and manufacturing of COVID-19 vaccines, with the COVAX Facility as the global procurement tool. It unites over 190 economies to maximize buying power to support fair and equitable access to them for every country in the world.

The COVAX Facility is co-led by:

UNICEF is the key procurement and delivery partner for the Facility, alongside PAHO’s Revolving Fund, which provides similar support for countries in the Americas.

The COVAX Facility has 2 windows:

  1. a self-financing window for higher-income economies
  2. a COVAX Advance Market Commitment (AMC) window , which pools contributions to fund vaccines to support 92 low and middle-income economies

Canada has committed up to $840 million to the COVAX Facility to support the procurement, distribution and delivery of COVID-19 vaccines for AMC countries. This also includes up to $10 million for the design and implementation of COVAX’s dose sharing mechanism that is now serving as the platform for countries committing to share doses via COVAX – putting Canada among world leaders in contributions per capita.

Vaccine contributions

Canada has also committed to donating the equivalent of at least 200 million doses to the COVAX Facility by the end of 2022. To date, To date, Canada has donated the equivalent of over 137 million doses to COVAX, with more to come. This includes over 50 million doses deemed surplus from Canada’s domestic procurements donated to COVAX, of which COVAX has delivered 14.8 million doses to recipient countries, as well as financial contributions to COVAX that have delivered the equivalent of 87 million vaccines doses for low and middle-income countries.

Additionally, Canada has also shared 762,080 doses of AstraZeneca with countries in Latin America and the Caribbean through direct bilateral agreements. These doses had already arrived on Canadian soil and were in excess of Canada’s domestic needs.

Canada is also investing up to $15 million in the COVAX Manufacturing Task Force, to help establish the South Africa Technology Transfer Hub. This initiative will help build capacity to develop and produce mRNA vaccines and technologies in the region.

More information about Canada’s international vaccine distribution.

“Give A Vax” Matching fund

On November 3, 2021, the Government of Canada announced that it would match, dollar for dollar, the full $9,675,928 donated by individual Canadians to the #GiveAVax Fund through UNICEF Canada. Thanks to the generous contributions of individual Canadians, the full $19,351,857 (total of donations and match) will cover the costs of vaccinating over 3.8 million people around the world. This includes the per-person cost to transport vaccines to destination countries, keep vaccines viable by protecting the cold chain during the journey and train health care workers to effectively administer the vaccines and safely dispose of needles and waste.

The matching fund campaign, called “Give A Vax,” ran from July 12 to September 30, 2021.

Related links

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

L’aide au développement du Canada en réponse à la pandémie de COVID‑19

La pandémie de COVID‑19 est une menace mondiale qui ne connaît pas de frontières. Elle ne sera surmontée que par une prise d’action coordonnée à l’échelle mondiale. Le Canada s’est engagé à contribuer à l’effort mondial concerté visant à mettre fin à la pandémie de COVID‑19 et à s’attaquer à ses effets dévastateurs sur la santé, la société, l’économie et la sécurité des populations du monde entier.

Le Canada sait que cette crise mondiale a exacerbé les inégalités et a nui aux progrès réalisés en matière de développement. Il y a des répercussions en particulier sur les femmes et les enfants qui sont déjà plus durement touchés par la pauvreté, l’exclusion et la marginalisation. Conformément à la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada, la réponse du Canada met l’accent sur le soutien :

Depuis février 2020, le Canada a engagé 3 milliards de dollars en aide internationale en réponse à la COVID‑19, notamment :

Le Canada a accordé la priorité au soutien de tous les piliers de l’Accélérateur ACT, y compris le connecteur des systèmes de santé et de la réponse, reconnaissant qu’en plus des vaccins, une réponse incisive de la santé publique nécessitait des tests rigoureux, un accès aux traitements disponibles – y compris l’oxygène – et des systèmes solides pour assurer leur livraison efficace.

De plus, en avril 2021, le Canada a accordé un nouveau prêt de 1 milliard de dollars au Fonds de fiducie pour la réduction de la pauvreté et pour la croissance du Fonds monétaire international en lien avec la pandémie de COVID‑19. En outre, depuis mai 2020, le Canada a fourni plus de 70 millions de dollars en allégement temporaire du service de la dette pour les pays les plus pauvres dans le cadre de l’Initiative de suspension du service de la dette (ISSD) convenue par le G20 et le Club de Paris.

Le 30 octobre 2021, durant le Sommet du G20, le premier ministre a annoncé que le Canada canaliserait 3,7 milliards de dollars, ou 20 % de ses droits de tirage spéciaux nouvellement alloués par le Fonds monétaire international, pour soutenir les pays à faible revenu et les autres pays vulnérables. Dans le cadre de cet engagement, le premier ministre a annoncé qu’une somme d’environ 982 millions de dollars serait versée au Fonds de fiducie pour la réduction de la pauvreté et pour la croissance.

Accès équitable aux vaccins, aux tests et aux traitements

Le Canada a été l’un des premiers partisans de l’Accélérateur ACT, auquel il s’est joint le 4 mai 2020. Ce partenariat mondial assure aux populations du monde entier un accès équitable et abordable aux produits de santé de lutte contre la COVID-19, tels que :

Il appuie également les personnes travaillant dans les systèmes de santé et les réseaux communautaires locaux du monde entier qui sont en première ligne pour tester, traiter et vacciner les gens. Ces personnes et leurs systèmes de santé et réseaux communautaires locaux sont essentiels pour vaincre la pandémie et se préparer à la suivante.

Le Canada est l'un des plus grands contributeurs des partenaires de l’Accélérateur ACT, avec plus de 2 milliards de dollars engagés à ce jour, ce qui fait du Canada l'un des deux seuls pays à remplir sa part équitable en 2021 et 2022.

Le 22 juin 2022, le Canada a annoncé un financement de 200 millions de dollars pour une nouvelle initiative de premier plan visant à appuyer la livraison et la distribution de vaccins dans 13 pays ciblés, la plupart en Afrique. L’Initiative mondiale pour l’équité vaccinale du Canada (IMEVCan) soutiendra les efforts déployés par les pays pour améliorer la livraison et la distribution des vaccins, pour accroître la confiance à l’égard des vaccins et générer une demande, ainsi que pour soutenir la production locale de vaccins. Cette dernière annonce s'inscrit dans le cadre de l'engagement de 732 millions de dollars du Canada envers l’Accélérateur ACT, annoncé le 12 mai 2022 par le Premier ministre Justin Trudeau.

À ce jour, le Canada a alloué plus de 1,8 milliard de dollars dans les domaines suivants :

Le Mécanisme COVAX

Le Canada est un fervent défenseur du Mécanisme COVAX, qui fait partie du pilier vaccins de l’Accélérateur ACT. Le pilier vaccins vise à accélérer le développement et la fabrication des vaccins contre la COVID-19, et le Mécanisme COVAX est son outil d’approvisionnement mondial. Il réunit plus de 190 économies afin d’optimiser le pouvoir d’achat pour soutenir un accès juste et équitable à ces vaccins pour tous les pays du monde.

Le Mécanisme COVAX est codirigé par :

L’UNICEF est le principal partenaire d’approvisionnement et de distribution du Mécanisme COVAX, avec le Fonds renouvelable de l’Organisation panaméricaine de la santé, qui fournit un appui semblable aux pays des Amériques.

Le Mécanisme COVAX comporte 2 volets :

  1. un volet d’autofinancement pour les économies à revenu élevé;
  2. un volet de garantie de marché, qui regroupe les contributions pour financer les vaccins destinés à 92 économies à revenu faible et moyen.

Le Canada s’est engagé à verser jusqu’à 840 millions de dollars au Mécanisme COVAX pour soutenir l’achat, la distribution et la livraison de vaccins contre la COVID-19 pour les pays qui bénéficient du système de garantie de marché. Cette somme comprend également jusqu’à 10 millions de dollars pour la conception et la mise en œuvre du mécanisme de partage des doses de COVAX, qui sert maintenant de cadre pour les pays qui s’engagent à partager des doses par l’intermédiaire de COVAX – ce qui place le Canada parmi les leaders mondiaux en matière de dons par habitant.

Contributions aux efforts de vaccination

Le Canada s’est engagé à donner l’équivalent d’au moins 200 millions de doses au Mécanisme COVAX d’ici la fin de 2022. À ce jour, le Canada a donné l'équivalent de plus de 137 millions de doses au COVAX, et d'autres sont à venir. Cela comprend plus de 50 millions de doses jugées excédentaires provenant de l'approvisionnement national du Canada et données au COVAX, dont 14,8 millions de doses ont été livrées aux pays bénéficiaires, ainsi que des contributions financières au COVAX qui ont permis de livrer l'équivalent de 87 millions de doses de vaccins aux pays à revenu faible et moyen.

En outre, le Canada a partagé 762 080 doses du vaccin d’AstraZeneca avec des pays d’Amérique latine et des Caraïbes dans le cadre d’accords bilatéraux directs. Ces doses étaient déjà arrivées au Canada et excédaient les besoins nationaux du Canada.

Le Canada investit aussi jusqu’à 15 millions de dollars dans le groupe de travail sur la fabrication de COVAX afin de soutenir l’établissement du centre de transfert de technologies en Afrique du Sud. Cette initiative contribuera à renforcer les capacités de développer et de produire des technologies et des vaccins à ARNm dans la région.

Pour plus d’information, consultez le site sur la Distribution internationale de vaccins provenant du Canada.

Campagne de fonds de contrepartie « Donner un vaccin »

Le 3 novembre 2021, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé qu’il verserait une somme égale à la totalité des 9 675 928 $ donnés par les particuliers canadiens au Fonds #DonnezUnVaccin par l’intermédiaire d’UNICEF Canada. Grâce aux généreuses contributions des Canadiens, la somme totale de 19 351 857 $ (total des dons et de la contrepartie) couvrira les coûts de la vaccination de plus que 3,8 millions de personnes dans le monde. Ce montant comprend le coût par personne du transport des vaccins vers les pays de destination, de la conservation des vaccins en protégeant la chaîne du froid pendant le transport, et de la formation des travailleurs de la santé pour qu’ils puissent administrer efficacement les vaccins et éliminer de façon sécuritaire les aiguilles et les déchets.

La campagne de fonds de contrepartie, appelée « Donner un vaccin », s’est déroulée du 12 juillet au 30 septembre 2021.

Liens connexes

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: