Equal Rights Coalition

Equal Rights Coalition Links

Canada co-chairs the Equal Rights Coalition

The intergovernmental Equal Rights Coalition (ERC) is dedicated to the protection of the rights of LGBTI people. It was launched in July 2016, under the leadership of Uruguay and the Netherlands at the Global LGBTI Human Rights Conference in Montevideo. The ERC advances the human rights of LGBTI persons and promotes inclusive development in both member and non-member countries. With 39 member states the ERC advances its agenda by engaging with civil society organisations and multilateral agencies.

39 member states

  • Albania
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Cabo Verde
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Costa Rica
  • the Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Ecuador
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Iceland
  • Honduras
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Montenegro
  • the Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • Serbia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Ukraine
  • the United Kingdom
  • the United States
  • Uruguay

In June 2017, Minister of Foreign Affairs Chrystia Freeland announced that Canada would co-chair the Equal Rights Coalition for a two-year term with Chile. As strong advocates for human rights, Canada and Chile are proud to work together to promote the human rights of LGBTI persons globally.

The ERC works closely with civil society, multilateral partners and UN agencies, especially through groups focused on:

  • international and regional diplomacy
  • LGBTI inclusion in the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development
  • coordination of donor funding
  • national laws, policies and practices

Civil society, multilateral partners

  • Akahata
  • ARC International
  • Canadian HIV/AIDS Legal Network
  • COC
  • COC Netherlands
  • Colectivo Hombres XX
  • Council for Global Equality
  • CREA
  • Dignity Initiative
  • Egale Canada
  • Equitas (Canada)
  • Espacio de Mujeres Lesbianas por la Diversidad - ESMULES
  • Fundación Iguales
  • Human Rights Watch
  • ILGA World
  • Kaleidoscope Trust
  • Movilh
  • OHCHR
  • OII Australia
  • OTD Chile
  • OutRight
  • Pan Africa ILGA
  • Rainbow Railroad (Canada)
  • RFSL
  • Stonewall
  • Synergia
  • UNDP
  • UNFPA
  • World Bank

Founding principles

Recalling the affirmation of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights that all human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights and that everyone is entitled to all the rights and freedoms set forth in the Declaration, without distinction of any kind, such as race, colour, sex, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, property, birth or other status;

Affirming that rights and freedoms enshrined in international human rights law apply equally to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex (LGBTI) persons;

Expressing our deep concern about the serious levels of violence and discrimination targeting LGBTI persons, as documented by various international, regional and national bodies;

Welcoming the positive steps taken in various countries in all regions to address acts of violence, to repeal discriminatory laws and policies, protect persons from discrimination and to raise awareness about the human rights of all, without distinction of any kind;

Stressing the importance of close involvement and participation of local LGBTI communities and other relevant stakeholders in our human rights and development efforts, and addressing the distinct challenges faced by lesbian and bisexual women, gay and bisexual men, transgender persons, intersex persons and other LGBTI persons who are at risk of human rights violations and abuses, including on the basis of multiple and intersecting forms of discrimination;

Recognising existing coordination and cooperation mechanisms and initiatives to exchange experiences between peers within and between regions, and underlining the need for complementary engagement and action to advance the human rights of and promote inclusive development for LGBTI persons; 

We, as participating States, commit to:

Strengthening cooperation in, coordination of and communication about our efforts to advance the human rights of, and support inclusive development for, all persons, regardless of sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, and sex characteristics;

Establishing a coalition to share, as appropriate, information between our States on how best to advance the human rights of, and support inclusive development for, LGBTI persons, and to consider measures needed to protect and advance these rights, working in close engagement with all relevant stakeholders, including regional and multilateral organisations, civil society organisations, and the private sector;

Building bridges, common ground and engaging in a spirit of open, respectful and constructive dialogue and cooperation with all States and relevant stakeholders, always having in mind a positive perspective;

Consulting closely with civil society to ensure our individual and combined international efforts adhere to the principle of “Do No Harm”, do not undermine or further marginalise LGBTI persons or other persons in vulnerable situations, and instead create an enabling environment in which their human rights can be respected, protected and promoted;

Working together towards a world where all persons, born free and equal in dignity and rights, will be able to fulfil their precious birthright.

 

Signed at Montevideo, 13 July 2016

Date Modified:

Coalition pour les droits égaux

La Coalition pour les droits égaux(CDE) est une coalition intergouvernementale qui se consacre à la protection des droits des personnes LGBTI. Elle a été fondée en juillet 2016, sous la conduite des Pays-Bas et de l’Uruguay, lors de la Conférence mondiale sur les droits des personnes LGBTI de Montevideo. La CDE fait progresser les droits fondamentaux des personnes LGBTI et promeut un développement inclusif dans les États membres et non membres. Comptant 42 États membres, la CDE promeut son programme en collaborant avec des organisations de la société civile et des organismes multilatéraux.

Les 42 États membres

  • L’Albanie
  • L’Allemagne
  • L’Argentine
  • L’Australie
  • L’Autriche
  • La Belgique
  • Le Cabo Verde
  • Le Canada
  • Le Chili
  • Le Costa Rica
  • Chypre
  • Le Danemark
  • L’Équateur
  • L’Espagne
  • L’Estonie
  • Les États-Unis
  • La Finlande
  • La France
  • La Grèce
  • Le Honduras
  • Irlande
  • Israël
  • L'Islande
  • L’Italie
  • La Lituanie
  • Le Luxembourg
  • Macédoine du Nord
  • Malte
  • Le Mexique
  • Le Monténégro
  • La Norvège
  • La Nouvelle-Zélande
  • Les Pays-Bas
  • Le Portugal
  • La République tchèque
  • Le Royaume-Uni
  • La Serbie
  • La Slovénie
  • La Suède
  • La Suisse
  • L’Ukraine
  • L’Uruguay

De juin 2017 à juin 2019, le Canada a coprésidé la CDE avec le Chili. Les coprésidents actuels de la CDE sont le Royaume-Uni et l'Argentine.

La CDE collabore étroitement avec la société civile et les organismes des Nations Unies, surtout par le truchement de ses quatre groupes thématiques, chargés des dossiers suivants :

  • La diplomatie régionale et internationale
  • L’inclusion des personnes LGBTI dans le Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030
  • La Coordination du financement des donateurs
  • Les lois, politiques et pratiques nationales

Société civile et partenaires multilatéraux

  • Akahata
  • ARC International
  • Banque mondiale
  • COC
  • COC Netherlands
  • Colectivo Hombres XX
  • Council for Global Equality
  • CREA
  • Égale Canada
  • Équitas (Canada)
  • Espacio de Mujeres Lesbianas por la Diversidad - ESMULES
  • FNUAP
  • Fundación Iguales
  • HCDH
  • Human Rights Watch
  • ILGA Monde
  • ILGA Pan-Afrique
  • Initiative pour la dignité
  • Kaleidoscope Trust
  • Movilh
  • OII Australia
  • ONUSIDA
  • OTD Chile
  • OutRight
  • PNUD
  • Rainbow Railroad (Canada)
  • Réseau juridique canadien VIH/sida
  • RFSL
  • Stonewall
  • Synergia

Principes fondateurs

Rappelant l’affirmation énoncée dans la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme selon laquelle « [t]ous les êtres humains naissent libres et égaux en dignité et en droits [et que] [c]hacun peut se prévaloir de tous les droits et de toutes les libertés proclamés dans [la] Déclaration, sans distinction aucune, notamment de race, de couleur, de sexe, de langue, de religion, d’opinion politique ou de toute autre opinion, d’origine nationale ou sociale, de fortune, de naissance ou de toute autre situation »;

Affirmant que les droits et les libertés consacrés par le droit international en matière de droits de la personne s’appliquent également aux personnes lesbiennes, gaies, bisexuelles, transgenres et intersexuées (LGBTI);

Exprimant notre profonde inquiétude concernant les niveaux élevés de violence et de discrimination envers les personnes LGBTI, comme il a été établi par divers organismes internationaux, régionaux et nationaux;

Saluant les mesures positives prises dans divers pays dans toutes les régions afin de s’attaquer aux actes de violence, d’abroger les lois et les politiques discriminatoires, de protéger les personnes contre la discrimination et de mieux faire connaître les droits de la personne dont jouissent tous les êtres humains, sans aucune distinction;

Soulignant l’importance de l’engagement et de la participation étroite des communautés LGBTI locales et d’autres intervenants concernés dans les efforts que nous déployons en matière de droits de la personne et de développement, et s’attaquant aux difficultés particulières auxquelles se heurtent les femmes lesbiennes et bisexuelles, les hommes gais et bisexuels, les personnes transgenres, les personnes intersexuées et d’autres personnes LGBTI qui risquent d’être exposées à des exactions et à des violations des droits de la personne, y compris eu égard à des formes multiples et conjuguées de discrimination;

Reconnaissant les initiatives et les mécanismes de coordination et de coopération existants qui permettent d’échanger des expériences entre pairs d’une même région ou de diverses régions, et soulignant la nécessité de mobilisation et de prise de mesures complémentaires pour faire progresser les droits des personnes LGBTI et encourager le développement inclusif de celles‑ci;

Nous, en tant qu’États participants, nous engageons à :

Renforcer la coopération, la communication et la coordination de nos efforts afin d’appuyer le développement inclusif et de faire progresser les droits de tous, sans égard à l’orientation sexuelle, à l’identité ou l’expression de genre et aux caractères sexuels;

Former une coalition dans le but d’échanger, s’il y a lieu, de l’information entre nos États sur la meilleure façon d’appuyer le développement inclusif et de faire progresser les droits des personnes LGBTI, et afin d’examiner les mesures nécessaires à la protection et à la promotion de ces droits, en travaillant en étroite collaboration avec tous les intervenants concernés, y compris les organisations régionales et multilatérales, les organisations de la société civile et le secteur privé;

Tisser des liens, trouver des terrains d’entente et engager un dialogue ouvert, respectueux et constructif reposant sur la coopération avec l’ensemble des autres États et des intervenants concernés, en maintenant toujours une attitude positive;

Consulter étroitement la société civile pour veiller à ce que nos efforts internationaux individuels et collectifs respectent le principe d’innocuité, ne portent pas atteinte aux personnes LGBTI ou d’autres personnes en situation de vulnérabilité ni ne les marginalisent davantage, et créent plutôt un environnement favorable dans lequel leurs droits peuvent être respectés, protégés et promus;

Collaborer à bâtir un monde où toutes les personnes, nées libres et égales en dignité et en droits, seront en mesure d’exercer leurs droits fondamentaux.

Signé à Montevideo, le 13 juillet 2016

Date de modification: