Inclusion and respect for diversity

Promoting inclusion and respect for diversity

Canada actively promotes inclusion and respect for diversity at home and abroad. Diversity is a natural characteristic of every society. Canada recognizes diversity as a source of strength and works to champion inclusive attitudes and encourage the adoption of inclusive approaches that lead to the full and meaningful participation of all.

Inclusion is a path to peace and prosperity

Practical strategies to address complex global challenges require the consideration of social, economic, cultural and civic inclusion. Excluding members of society from full participation due to prejudice, discrimination or other barriers causes everyone to suffer. Inclusive societies that take full advantage of their diversity are more innovative, creative, dynamic, resilient and prosperous.

Canada values inclusion

Inclusion is not just the smart thing to do; it is also the right thing to do. Canada’s history has many uneven chapters, but Canada has made the choice to become a more inclusive country. A majority of Canadians now embrace policies such as bilingualism and multiculturalism that reflect Canada’s unique approach to inclusion. Canada’s journey on the path towards National Reconciliation is another manifestation of the desire to overcome past injustices and move towards a more inclusive society.

Speaking up for inclusion

On the world stage, Canada reflects the value of inclusion in our bilateral relations, in our discussions with other states and through the efforts of our missions and embassies around the world. Canada also promotes inclusion and respect for diversity through the United Nations and other multilateral fora as an animating principle in our global rules-based system of security, international cooperation, trade and support for human rights.

“In the face of complex global challenges, Canada will continue to champion diversity, acceptance and compassion on the world stage. We cannot build a better world unless we work together, respect our differences, protect the vulnerable, and put people at the heart of the decisions we make.”
—Rt. Hon. Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada

Related Links

Date Modified:

Inclusion et respect de la diversité

Promouvoir l’inclusion et le respect de la diversité

Le Canada encourage activement l’inclusion et le respect de la diversité au pays et à l’étranger. La diversité est une caractéristique naturelle de toute société. Le Canada reconnaît que la diversité est une force et travaille à promouvoir des attitudes inclusives et à encourager l’adoption d’approches inclusives qui favorisent la pleine participation de tous.

L’inclusion est un chemin vers la paix et la prospérité

Les stratégies pratiques visant à relever des défis mondiaux complexes doivent prendre en compte l’inclusion sociale, économique, culturelle et civique. Lorsque des membres de la société sont exclus d’une pleine participation en raison de préjugés, de discrimination ou d’autres obstacles, tout le monde en souffre. Les sociétés inclusives qui tirent pleinement parti de leur diversité sont plus novatrices, créatives, dynamiques, résilientes et prospères.

Le Canada accorde une grande valeur à l’inclusion

L’inclusion n’est pas seulement la chose intelligente à faire; c’est aussi la bonne chose à faire. L’histoire du Canada n’est pas sans taches, mais le Canada a fait le choix de devenir un pays plus inclusif. La majorité des Canadiens adhèrent maintenant à des politiques de bilinguisme et de multiculturalisme et autres qui reflètent l’approche unique du Canada en matière d’inclusion. Le cheminement du Canada sur la voie de la Réconciliation nationale témoigne également du désir de surmonter les injustices du passé et de progresser vers une société plus inclusive.

Défendre l’inclusion haut et fort

Sur la scène mondiale, le Canada a intégré l’inclusion dans ses relations bilatérales, dans ses discussions avec d’autres États et dans les efforts déployés par ses missions et ses ambassades partout dans le monde. Le Canada a également fait progresser l’inclusion et le respect de la diversité par l’entremise des Nations Unies et d’autres tribunes multilatérales en tant que principe directeur de notre système mondial fondé sur des règles en matière de sécurité, de coopération internationale, de commerce et d’appui aux droits de la personne.

« Face à des défis complexes à l’échelle mondiale, le Canada continuera à défendre la diversité, l’acceptation et la compassion sur la scène mondiale. Pour bâtir un monde meilleur, nous devons travailler ensemble, respecter nos différences, protéger les personnes vulnérables et placer les gens au cœur de nos décisions. »
— le très honorable Justin Trudeau, premier ministre du Canada

Liens connexes

Date de modification: