Security capacity-building programs

The security of Canada is linked to that of other states. Preventing and responding to terrorism and transnational crime requires resources and expertise. When foreign states lack these resources, it can put the security of Canadians and Canadian interests at risk, both at home and abroad.

Security capacity-building assistance also increases law enforcement cooperation between Canada and other countries, as well as strengthens regional cooperation to build a stronger more resilient global neighbourhood.

Security capacity-building assistance helps other states prevent and respond to threats. It takes many forms, but consists mainly of providing:

Such assistance is provided in a way that is consistent with international anti-crime and counter-terrorism norms, standards and obligations, including human rights and gender equality considerations.

Canada’s security capacity-building programs

Global Affairs Canada established two programs to improve the capacity of states to counter terrorism and transnational organized crime:

To help states build their local security capacity, the programs work with various implementing partners such as:

Confronting criminal and terrorist threats

The beneficiaries of these programs are mainly countries and regions confronting criminal and terrorist threats but who lack the capacity and resources to do so effectively. Programming activities of the ACCBP and CTCBP include:

Anti-Crime Capacity Building Program

The Anti-Crime Capacity Building Program works to improve the capacity of beneficiary states, government entities and international organizations to deal with transnational crime. The mandate of the anti-crime program is global, but focuses on the Americas, mainly Central America, the Caribbean and Mexico.

The ACCBP also administers the Canadian annual voluntary contributions to the Organization of American States (OAS) and the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC).

The Anti-Crime Capacity Building Program focuses on:

The Human Smuggling Envelope

The Human Smuggling Envelope was created under the ACCBP to address the threat posed to Canadian interests by human smuggling, and is focused solely on preventing maritime migrant smuggling bound for Canada. It works to increase the capacity of local authorities in both origin and transit countries to disrupt, interdict and deter human smuggling ventures. The focus of this envelope has mostly been on Southeast Asia, with additional programming in West Africa.

Counter-Terrorism Capacity Building Program

The Counter-Terrorism Capacity Building Program provides assistance to foreign states to enable them to prevent and respond to terrorist activity. It supports global efforts to fight terrorism and address terrorist threats to Canadians and Canadian interests throughout the world.

The Counter-Terrorism Capacity Building Program focuses on:

While the program has a global mandate, acute threats to Canada and Canadian interests have pushed the program to focus on several geographic areas.

Sahel region of Africa

In the Sahel region of Africa, the threat posed by terror groups, notably Al Qaeda in the Islamic Maghreb (AQIM), and an overall deteriorating security situation, calls for increased capacity building efforts to help partner states address instability in the region.

Middle East and North Africa

As part of Canada’s response to Middle East crises and violent extremism, a provision for counter-terrorism capacity building has been included for the Middle East and North Africa region. The program focuses on Iraq, Lebanon, and Jordan, but is flexible and responsive to the fast evolving security vulnerabilities in the region.

South and Southeast Asia

Longstanding security threats posed by violent extremist groups in Asia, notably in South and Southeast Asian countries, also require continued Canadian engagement.

Date Modified:

Programmes d'aide au renforcement des capacités en sécurité

La sécurité du Canada est liée à celle d’autres États. La prévention du terrorisme et des crimes transnationaux et les réponses qu’on y apporte requièrent des ressources et de l’expertise. Lorsqu’un État étranger ne possède pas ces ressources, cela peut mettre la sécurité des Canadiens et des intérêts du Canada en péril, tant au pays qu’à l’étranger.

L’aide au renforcement des capacités en sécurité favorise la coopération dans le domaine de l’application de la loi entre le Canada et d’autres pays en plus de renforcer la concertation régionale pour bâtir un voisinage mondial plus fort et plus résilient. 

L’aide au renforcement des capacités en sécurité aide d’autres états à prévenir et à contrer les menaces. Il prend plusieurs formes, mais consiste principalement à fournir :

Cette aide est fournie conformément aux règles, aux normes et aux obligations internationales en matière de lutte contre la criminalité et le terrorisme, et comprend également les considérations liées aux droits de la personne et à l’égalité entre les sexes.

Programmes canadiens d’aide au renforcement des capacités en sécurité

Affaires mondiales Canada a mis sur pied deux programmes pour améliorer la capacité des états à contrer le terrorisme et le crime organisé transnational :

Pour aider les États à renforcer leurs capacités locales en matière de sécurité, les programmes travaillent avec divers partenaires de mise en œuvre, notamment :

Lutte contre les menaces terroristes et criminelles

Ceux qui bénéficient de ces programmes sont principalement des pays et des régions qui sont aux prises avec les menaces terroristes et criminelles, mais qui n’ont pas la capacité ni les ressources de les contrer efficacement. Les activités du PARCLC et du PARCA comprennent :

Programme d’aide au renforcement des capacités de lutte contre la criminalité 

Le Programme d’aide au renforcement des capacités de lutte contre la criminalité (PARCLC) vise à améliorer la capacité des États bénéficiaires, des entités gouvernementales et des organisations internationales à s’attaquer à la criminalité transnationale. Le mandat du PARCLC est international, mais porte principalement sur les Amériques, plus particulièrement sur l’Amérique centrale, les Caraïbes et le Mexique.

Le PARCLC gère également les contributions volontaires annuelles canadiennes à l’Office des Nations Unies contre la drogue et le crime et à l’Organisation des États américains.

Voici les priorités du PARCLC :

Enveloppe du passage de clandestins

L’Enveloppe contre le passage de clandestins a été créée dans le cadre du PARCLC afin de s’attaquer à la menace que constitue le passage de clandestins pour les intérêts canadiens. Les activités se concentrent uniquement à empêcher le passage par voie maritime de clandestins à destination du Canada. L’Enveloppe vise à augmenter la capacité des autorités locales des pays d’origine et de transit d’entraver, d’interdire et de décourager les entreprises de passage de clandestins. Son objectif a porté principalement sur l’Asie du Sud-Est avec des programmes additionnels en Afrique occidentale.

Programme d’aide au renforcement des capacités antiterroristes

Le Programme d’aide au renforcement des capacités antiterroristes (PARCA) vise à aider les états à prévenir le terrorisme et à y réagir. Le PARCA appuie les efforts mondiaux de lutte contre le terrorisme et les mesures pour gérer les menaces contre le Canada et ses intérêts dans le monde entier.

Voici les priorités du PARCA :  

Bien que le PARCA ait un mandat international, de graves menaces contre le Canada et ses intérêts ont poussé le programme à maintenir de nombreuses zones géographiques sous sa loupe.

La région du Sahel, en Afrique

Dans la région du Sahel, en Afrique, la menace que posent des groupes terroristes, notamment al-Qaïda au Maghreb islamique, et la situation générale qui se détériore exigent une augmentation des efforts de renforcement de la capacité afin d’aider les États partenaires à s’attaquer à l’instabilité de la région.

Le Moyen-Orient et l’Afrique du Nord

Dans le cadre de la réponse du Canada aux crises et à la violence extrémiste du Moyen-Orient, une provision pour le renforcement de la capacité de lutte contre le terrorisme a été incluse pour la région du Moyen-Orient et de l’Afrique du Nord (MENA). Les activités du programme sont axées sur l’Iraq, le Liban et la Jordanie, mais elles sont flexibles et répondront aux vulnérabilités de sécurité de la région qui changent rapidement.

L'Asie du Sud et l’Asie du Sud-Est

Depuis longtemps, les menaces à la sécurité que posent les groupes extrémistes violents en Asie, notamment dans les pays d’Asie du Sud et d’Asie du Sud-Est, exigent également un engagement soutenu de la part du Canada.

Date de modification: