Chemical Weapons

Canada is strongly committed to the complete elimination of chemical weapons. We have been a State Party to the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) since its entry into force in 1997. We work closely with its implementing body, the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW), based in The Hague, the Netherlands.

What are chemical weapons?

The CWC clearly defined the term “Chemical weapons” as, together or separately, the following:

A toxic chemical agent is any chemical which, through its chemical action on life processes, can cause death, temporary incapacitation, or permanent harm to humans or animals. The use of toxic chemical agents in war was first banned by the 1925 Geneva Protocol.

Chemical weapons in the Syrian Arab Republic

The recent use of chemical weapons in the Syrian Arab Republic triggered an unprecedented international response. This led to the creation of an ambitious plan to eliminate Syria’s chemical weapons program and prevent future use and proliferation of these abhorrent weapons. Though the OPCW has worked hard to ensure Syria’s compliance with the CWC, significant challenges remain.

The use of chemical weapons by any actor is a violation of international law. Canada is engaged to pursue justice for the victims.

Eliminating chemical weapons

The disarmament provisions of the CWC involve the destruction of all chemical weapons in a State Party's possession, all production facilities used since 1946 to produce chemical weapons and any chemical weapons previously abandoned on the territory of another State Party.

Canada, through the WMD Threat Reduction Program, has provided significant contributions to assist with the destruction of chemical weapons and related activities in countries such as Russia, Libya and Syria.

Since the basic raw materials for the production of chemical weapons are available in the chemical industry, verification measures are required for the non-proliferation aspects of the Convention.

Meeting our obligations

The verification system of the CWC is based upon each State Party providing declarations that are verified by the OPCW through data monitoring and on-site routine inspections.

Each State Party is obliged to declare to the OPCW annual data on its chemical industry and to accept international verification of its compliance with the provisions of the Convention.

Every State Party to the CWC must establish a National Authority to serve as the national focal point for liaison with the OPCW and with other States Parties. The Canadian National Authority is located at Global Affairs Canada. 

Canada’s obligations are met through the Chemical Weapons Convention Implementation Act (CWCIA) and its regulations. These laws create the Canadian National Authority and set out the rights and obligations of Canadians, including those who must submit declarations and those who are subject to inspection by the OPCW.

If you believe you are affected by the obligations of the Chemical Weapons Convention, please see the "The Canadian National Authority (Chemical Weapons Convention)" page.

Related links

Date Modified:

Armes chimiques

Le Canada a pris un engagement ferme à l’égard de l’élimination complète des armes chimiques. Nous sommes un État partie à la Convention sur l’interdiction des armes chimiques (CIAC) depuis son entrée en vigueur en 1997. Nous collaborons étroitement avec l’organe de mise en œuvre de la Convention, l’Organisation pour l’interdiction des armes chimiques (OIAC) dont le siège se trouve à La Haye, aux Pays-Bas.

Qu’entend-on par « arme chimique »?

Les armes chimiques sont clairement définies par la CIAC comme englobant les éléments ci-après, pris ensemble ou séparément :

On entend par « produit chimique toxique » tout produit chimique qui, par son action chimique sur des processus biologiques, peut provoquer la mort, une incapacité temporaire ou des dommages permanents à des êtres humains ou à des animaux. Leur utilisation en situation de guerre a été interdite pour la première fois par le Protocole de Genève de 1925.

Les armes chimiques dans la République arabe syrienne

L’emploi récent d’armes chimiques dans la République arabe syrienne a déclenché une réaction internationale sans précédent. C’est ce qui a mené à la création d’un plan ambitieux visant à éliminer le programme syrien d’armes chimiques et à prévenir l’utilisation future et la prolifération de ces armes odieuses. Malgré les efforts déployés par l’OIAC pour assurer la conformité de la Syrie à la Convention, des difficultés importantes persistent.  

Quel que soit l’acteur, l’utilisation d’armes chimiques constitue une violation du droit international. Le Canada est déterminé à ce que les victimes obtiennent justice.

Éliminer les armes chimiques

Les dispositions de la CIAC sur le désarmement impliquent la destruction de toutes les armes chimiques dans un État qui en est doté, de toutes les installations utilisées depuis 1946 pour produire des armes chimiques et de toutes les armes chimiques antérieurement abandonnées sur le territoire d’un autre État partie.

Dans le cadre du Programme de réduction de la menace des armes de destruction massive (PRMADM), le Canada a fait des contributions importantes pour aider à éliminer les armes chimiques et les activités connexes dans des pays tels que la Russie, la Libye et la Syrie.

En outre, puisque les matières premières nécessaires à la production d’armes chimiques sont disponibles dans l’industrie chimique, il faut adopter des mesures de vérification pour assurer le respect des dispositions de la CIAC liées à la non-prolifération.

Honorer nos obligations

Le régime de vérification de la CIAC repose sur la communication, par chaque État partie, de déclarations qui sont vérifiées par l’OIAC au moyen du contrôle des données et d’inspections régulières sur place.

Chaque État partie est tenu de transmettre à l’OIAC les données annuelles sur son industrie chimique et d’accepter une vérification internationale de sa conformité aux dispositions de la CIAC.

Chaque État partie doit mettre en place une « autorité nationale » qui sert de point de contact national avec l’OIAC et avec les autres États parties. L’Autorité nationale du Canada est située à Affaires mondiales Canada. 

Le Canada remplit ses obligations grâce à la Loi de mise en œuvre de la Convention sur les armes chimiques (LMOCAC) et à ses règlements, qui établissent l’Autorité nationale du Canada et définissent les droits et obligations des Canadiens, y compris pour des Canadiens qui sont tenus de soumettre des déclarations ou qui sont assujettis à une inspection de l’OIAC.

Si vous pensez être visé par les obligations énoncées dans la Convention sur les armes chimiques, prière de consulter la page de L'autorité nationale du Canada (Convention sur les armes chimiques).

Liens connexes

Date de modification: