Action Area Policy: Growth that Works for Everyone

Context

In the last three decades, the world has seen the most significant decline in poverty in human history. Many factors have influenced this outcome, including the positive impact of technological innovation and international cooperation. Yet an estimated 736 million people still live in extreme poverty. As gender disparities in education, employment, productivity, health and earnings persist, the gap between the number of women and men in poverty continues to widen. 

Canada is committed to helping achieve the Sustainable Development Goals in Canada and in developing countries. SDG 5—achieving gender equality and empowering all women and girls—is at the heart of Canada’s approach to implementing the 2030 Agenda because it will drive progress toward achieving the other SDGs.  

Inclusive growthFootnote 1 is essential for accelerating growth and sharing its benefits. It helps to generate the domestic resources and capacity needed to address development challenges and eradicate poverty. It can only be achieved with the full, free and equal participation of women as economic actors.  Barriers remain to women’s full participation in the economy, including those related to unpaid care-related work as well as barriers preventing them from owning assets or accessing financial services. This restricts countries’ growth potential.

Innovation is essential to unlocking prosperity, especially in developing countries at a disadvantage in global markets. This calls for solutions to address the needs of the poor, particularly women, including by boosting productivity and reinvigorating trade and investment in developing countries.  To eliminate poverty and gender inequality, the following challenges must be addressed:

Political marginalization and discrimination often lie at the root of poverty, particularly for women. This calls for approaches to economic empowerment that also involve greater political inclusion. Identity factors often intersect with gender to drive the feminization of poverty. In addition, conflict and environmental disasters are key factors that drive people below the poverty line, and women, girls and children are disproportionately affected.

Women who engage in paid work find themselves at a disadvantage in labour markets. Women face significant constraints that limit their economic productivity and their ability to engage in higher-value markets. Women engaged in paid activities tend to earn less, and have fewer job options and career-advancement opportunities than their male colleagues. Many countries have laws and practices that restrict women’s job opportunities and reward men more for similar work. Women also find themselves in more precarious work conditions. They also have less access to land (through tenancy or tenure), financial services and other resources.

Compared to men, women shoulder more unpaid work and have less time for leisure or paid work. More attention should be focused on unpaid care-related work and its impact on women’s economic opportunities, as well as on its links to negative social and gender norms affecting men and women of all ages. Unpaid work should be prioritized for recognition, reduction, and redistribution, and targeted and integrated throughout efforts to promote women’s economic empowerment, including support for women’s entrepreneurship.

While the informal economy is often the only option for the poorest and most vulnerable, expanding formal-sector employment and entrepreneurial activity is desirable over the long term. The informal economy, with its precarious working conditions and absence of social protections, is the reality for half the world’s labour force, including a majority of women. Support for the informal sector should facilitate decent jobs and the transition of workers to the formal economy. Formalization enhances labour security and market development.

Inclusive business models require better understanding and monitoring of gender and poverty barriers. Greater experimentation, identification and scaling-up of new solutions to persistent development challenges are needed to reduce the marginalization of the poor.

With rapid changes in technology and labour markets, women and men need access to training throughout their lives. To improve economic opportunities, employment skills programs should focus on market-driven technical and vocational education, particularly for youth and women and for residents of isolated communities.

Inadequate and poor quality infrastructure hampers sustainable development by impeding access to economic opportunities, including markets and information. Women and girls are particularly affected by the dearth of infrastructure, including poor transport and communication networks and insufficient electrification. It increases their workload at home and reduces their ability to engage in paid work.

With an annual financing gap in excess of $2.5 trillion for developing countries to achieve the SDGs, innovative partnerships are needed to mobilize resources. Public and private infrastructure complements one another, and both need new forms of financing to catalyze inclusive growth. The private sector’s financial capital and know-how is critical, including to enable access to credit and ensure  quality infrastructure is built.

There has been insufficient investment in safety nets that protect the poor. When the next meal is not guaranteed, people must focus on survival and find it difficult to upgrade their skills, obtain employment and lift themselves out of poverty. Yet significant gaps exist in social programs, particularly in low-income countries. Ensuring living wages or providing equivalent productive assets, such as livestock, to the poorest has been shown to generate significant multiplier effects.

More attention must be paid to economic resilience, particularly in rural areas. With fewer economic opportunities than their urban counterparts, rural households, many already at or below the poverty line, are quickly pushed into destitution by the next crisis.

Women are still less likely than men to be included in the formal financial system — particularly among the poorest. Financial inclusion can enable the poor to mitigate risks through access to insurance, bank accounts, credit and remittances. However, the gender gap in account ownership in developing countries remains significant. Innovative financial instruments, technologies and infrastructure to reduce risks and mitigate impacts are needed to help those who escape poverty to manage shocks, such as crop failures, natural disasters and loss of assets.

Extreme poverty is increasingly concentrated in fragile and conflict-affected states (FCAS). Lack of economic opportunities provides a breeding ground for political instability, violent conflict and environmental damage, which further undermines economic growth. Private-sector development is necessary to promote growth and job creation, extend the tax base and raise the cost of a return to violence. Support for inclusive growth initiatives such as women’s economic empowerment and job creation can help to bridge humanitarian and longer-term inclusive growth interventions.

Environmental degradation and pollution threaten inclusive growth. Unbalanced patterns of growth have eroded the natural capital on which many poor households rely. Sustainable and responsible management of natural resources and appropriate responses to climate impacts are crucial to long-term economic viability. Addressing resource waste and overuse of natural assets requires incentives for more responsible consumption and production, and increased use of clean technologies.

Canada’s priorities

Under Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy, Canada’s development assistance in support of Growth That Works for Everyone contributes to poverty eradication and reduced inequality, especially for the poorest, most marginalized and most vulnerable, and increases women’s economic empowerment in developing countries where Canada engages. Upholding women’s economic rights and supporting their leadership in businesses, communities and institutions is essential to enable them to reach their full economic potential. Where women are fully empowered, including by recognizing their responsibilities for unpaid and care-related work, economies thrive and the benefits of growth reach more people.

Innovation to generate decent jobs and foster women’s entrepreneurship is essential to enhancing the inclusiveness of growth. 

Canada recognizes the fundamental role that the private sector plays in driving innovation, productivity and economic growth, and the need to partner with it to achieve development results. The economic empowerment of women cannot be achieved, nor environmental, social and governance standards raised and the SDGs met, without private-sector expertise and capital.  The most important funding flows to, and within, developing countries are private in origin, including remittances, trade and foreign direct investment. Canada engages in partnerships that attract co-financing and investment, by increasing and diversifying the range of mechanisms it has for working with the private sector, to encourage more innovative and cost-effective private and voluntary sector solutions to sustainable development challenges. Principles of economic equity, efficiency and innovation underpin Canada’s approach to inclusive growth. Meeting basic consumption needs is a proven means of reducing poverty and boosting shared prosperity. As farming families account for 50% of the world’s hungry, a focus on agricultural production addresses not only economic development, but also hunger and resilience. Investments in social protection, including through policy design and capacity building for sustainable livelihood and basic income support initiatives, are clearly needed to overcome the barriers people face in escaping extreme poverty. Increasing resilience through better access to clean energy also supports the transition to a low-carbon economy.

Canada’s integrated approach supports progress across other action areas. It advances Canada’s feminist vision of development by promoting women’s voice and agency in economic decision-making. It aligns with the Environmental and Climate Change Action Area by promoting stronger environmental governance and women’s participation in economic decision making, low-carbon and climate-resilient economies, and better environmental practices. Promoting sustainable pathways to growth and recognizing the obstacles faced by women calls for a rights-based approach. There are also multiple synergies with the Human Dignity Action Area, in particular technical and vocational education and training, which is essential to inclusive economic growth. Long-term economic development when combined with humanitarian action contributes to post-crisis recovery and reconstruction. Improved governance that supports economic rights, labour standards and living wages along supply chains can deliver tangible economic gains at scale. Canada is also advancing an inclusive approach to trade as part of its overall Trade Diversification Strategy, which reflects and promotes domestic and international policy priorities to support economic growth that benefits everyone and maintains confidence in an open, rules-based trading system.

Canada focuses its efforts to advance inclusive growth on three paths of action:

  1. Bringing down barriers to women’s economic empowerment
  2. Building more inclusive and sustainable economies
  3. Strengthening economic resilience 

Canada prioritizes those initiatives with the greatest potential to reduce chronic poverty and gender inequalities, and that promote sustainable growth, economic inclusion and resilience, particularly through women’s economic empowerment. We look for innovative partnerships and financing arrangements that will help drive innovation, trade and investment in developing countries, particularly in fragile and conflict-affected environments.

1. Bringing down barriers to women’s economic empowerment

Canada’s objective in this path is to bring down barriers to women’s economic empowerment, by fostering legal, regulatory and policy environments that support gender equality and the participation of women in economic decision making. To attain this objective, Canada’s assistance focuses on increasing the economic leadership and empowerment of women at all levels, promoting women’s economic rights and access to decent work, and helping to address unpaid work and the disproportionate burden of care shouldered by women.

To help address these issues, Canada:

2. Building more inclusive and sustainable economies

Canada’s objective in this path is to help individuals and enterprises - particularly those led by women – to become more competitive, innovative, and green; to increase their employment and market opportunities; and to ensure that markets work better for the poorest and most marginalized, especially women and youth. To attain this objective, Canada’s assistance helps to build the capacity of institutional structures, supports entrepreneurship, expands access to capital and improves supports to the private sector. It also places particular emphasis on rural transformation, renewable technologies, value addition in the natural-resource sector, and investments in quality infrastructure.

To help address these issues, Canada:

3. Strengthening economic resilience

Canada’s objective in this path is to help the poorest and most vulnerable, particularly rural women, escape extreme poverty by meeting their basic material needs and building their economic resilience. To achieve this objective, Canada’s assistance supports inclusive policy and programming reforms that recognize the specific needs of those living in conflicts and crises. It puts particular emphasis on new tools and technologies that help support financial inclusion and manage financial risks.

To help address these issues, Canada:

Selected Sources

General sources

Economic rights and poverty reduction

Gender and economic development

Inclusive markets development

Social protection and inclusive growth

Resilience, financial inclusion, and inclusive growth

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Politique de champ d’action : La croissance au service de tous

Contexte

Au cours des 30 dernières années, la pauvreté a connu le recul le plus important de l’histoire de l’humanité. De nombreux facteurs ont contribué à cet état de fait, notamment l’incidence positive de l’innovation technologique et de la coopération internationale. Pourtant, on estime que 736 millions de personnes vivent encore dans l’extrême pauvreté. Alors que les disparités entre les hommes et les femmes en matière d’éducation, d’emploi, de productivité, de santé et de revenus persistent, l’écart entre le nombre de femmes et d’hommes vivant dans la pauvreté continue de se creuser.

Le Canada est résolu à contribuer à l’atteinte des Objectifs de développement durable (ODD) au pays et dans les pays en développement. L’ODD 5 — Parvenir à l’égalité des sexes et autonomiser toutes les femmes et les filles — est au cœur de l’approche qu’a adoptée le Canada pour mettre en œuvre le Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030, parce qu’il permettra de marquer des progrès en vue de réaliser les autres ODD. 

La croissance inclusiveNote de bas de page 1 est essentielle pour partager les avantages de la croissance et accélérer celle-ci. Elle aide à générer les ressources et les capacités nationales nécessaires pour relever les défis associés au développement et éradiquer la pauvreté. Elle ne peut être réalisée qu’avec la participation entière, libre et égale des femmes en tant qu’acteurs économiques. Les obstacles à la pleine participation des femmes à l’économie persistent, notamment ceux associés au travail non rémunéré lié à la prestation des soins ainsi que ceux qui empêchent les femmes de posséder des actifs ou d’accéder aux services financiers. Cette situation limite le potentiel de croissance des pays.

L’innovation est essentielle à la prospérité, en particulier dans les pays en développement qui sont désavantagés sur les marchés mondiaux. Il faut donc trouver des solutions pour répondre aux besoins des pauvres, en particulier des femmes, notamment en stimulant la productivité et en redynamisant le commerce et l’investissement dans les pays en développement. Pour éliminer la pauvreté et l’inégalité des genres, les défis suivants doivent être relevés :

La marginalisation politique et la discrimination sont souvent à l’origine de la pauvreté, en particulier pour les femmes. Il faut des approches visant le renforcement du pouvoir économique qui supposent également une plus grande inclusion politique. Souvent les facteurs identitaires et le facteur du genre se recoupent pour favoriser la féminisation de la pauvreté. En outre, les conflits et les catastrophes environnementales sont des facteurs clés qui poussent les gens en dessous du seuil de pauvreté, et les femmes, les filles et les enfants sont touchés de manière disproportionnée.

Les femmes qui occupent un emploi rémunéré sont désavantagées sur le marché du travail. Les femmes sont confrontées à d’importantes contraintes qui limitent leur productivité économique et leur capacité à accéder à des marchés offrant une plus grande valeur. Les femmes qui exercent des activités rémunérées ont tendance à gagner moins d’argent et ont moins de possibilités d’emploi et d’avancement professionnel que leurs collègues masculins. De nombreux pays disposent de lois et de pratiques qui limitent les possibilités d’emploi des femmes et récompensent davantage les hommes pour un travail semblable. Les femmes ont également des conditions de travail plus précaires. Elles ont également moins accès à la propriété foncière (par la location ou la possession d’une propriété), aux services financiers et aux autres ressources.

Par rapport aux hommes, les femmes assument davantage de travail non rémunéré et disposent de moins de temps pour les loisirs ou le travail rémunéré. Il faudrait accorder plus d’attention au travail non rémunéré lié aux soins, et à son incidence sur les possibilités économiques des femmes, ainsi qu’à ses liens avec les normes sociales et sexospécifiques négatives qui touchent les hommes et les femmes de tout âge. Il faut ainsi prioriser la reconnaissance, la réduction et la redistribution du travail non rémunéré, et intégrer cet enjeu dans les efforts ciblés visant à promouvoir le renforcement du pouvoir économique des femmes, incluant à travers le soutien à l’entrepreneuriat chez les femmes.

Alors que l’économie non structurée est souvent la seule option pour les personnes les plus pauvres et les plus vulnérables, l’expansion de l’emploi dans le secteur structuré et de l’activité entrepreneuriale est souhaitable à long terme. L’économie non structurée, avec ses conditions de travail précaires et l’absence de protection sociale, est une réalité que vit la moitié de la population active mondiale, notamment une majorité de femmes. Le soutien au secteur non structuré devrait faciliter la création d’emplois décents et la transition des travailleurs vers l’économie structurée. L’officialisation améliore la sécurité du travail et le développement du marché du travail.

Les modèles d’affaire inclusifs exigent une meilleure compréhension et un meilleur suivi des obstacles liés au genre et à la pauvreté. Une plus grande expérimentation, la détermination de nouvelles solutions aux défis persistants du développement, et la mise en œuvre de ces solutions à plus grande échelle sont nécessaires pour réduire la marginalisation des pauvres.

En raison de l’évolution rapide de la technologie et des marchés du travail, les femmes et les hommes ont besoin d’avoir accès à une formation tout au long de leur vie. Pour améliorer les possibilités économiques, les programmes d'acquisition de compétences liées à l'emploi devraient mettre l’accent sur l’enseignement technique et professionnel axé sur le marché, en particulier pour les jeunes, les femmes et les résidents des collectivités isolées.

Des infrastructures inadéquates et de mauvaise qualité nuisent au développement durable en entravant l’accès aux débouchés économiques, y compris aux marchés et à l’information. Les femmes et les filles sont particulièrement touchées par la pénurie d’infrastructures, notamment les mauvais réseaux de transport et de communication et l’électrification insuffisante. Ces obstacles augmentent leur charge de travail à la maison et réduisent leur capacité à s’engager dans un travail rémunéré.

Le déficit de financement annuel étant de plus de 2 500 milliards de dollars pour permettre aux pays en développement d’atteindre les ODD, des partenariats novateurs sont nécessaires pour mobiliser des ressources. Les infrastructures publiques et privées se complètent, et toutes deux exigent de nouvelles formes de financement pour catalyser une croissance inclusive. Le capital financier et le savoir-faire du secteur privé sont essentiels, notamment pour permettre l’accès au crédit et la construction d’infrastructures de qualité.

Les investissements dans les filets de sécurité qui protègent les personnes pauvres ont été insuffisants. Lorsque le prochain repas n’est pas garanti, les gens doivent se concentrer sur leur survie, et il leur est difficile de perfectionner leurs compétences, d’obtenir un emploi et de se sortir de la pauvreté. Pourtant, il existe d’importantes lacunes dans les programmes sociaux, en particulier dans les pays à faible revenu. Il a été démontré que le fait d’assurer des salaires décents ou de fournir des actifs productifs équivalents, comme du bétail, aux personnes les plus pauvres a des effets multiplicateurs significatifs.

Une plus grande attention doit être portée à la résilience économique, particulièrement dans les régions rurales. Alors qu’ils ont moins de possibilités économiques que leurs homologues urbains, les ménages ruraux, dont beaucoup se situent déjà au seuil de pauvreté ou en dessous de ce seuil, sont rapidement plongés dans la misère lorsque survient une nouvelle crise.

Les femmes sont encore moins susceptibles que les hommes d’être incluses dans le système financier formel, en particulier au sein des populations les plus pauvres. L’inclusion financière peut permettre aux personnes démunies d’atténuer les risques grâce à l’accès à une assurance, à des comptes bancaires, au crédit et à des transferts de fonds. Toutefois, l’écart entre les hommes et les femmes quant à la possession d’un compte bancaire dans les pays en développement reste important. Des technologies, des infrastructures et des instruments financiers novateurs visant à réduire les risques et à atténuer les répercussions doivent être élaborés pour aider ceux qui échappent à la pauvreté à gérer les chocs, comme les mauvaises récoltes, les catastrophes naturelles et la perte d’actifs.

L’extrême pauvreté est de plus en plus concentrée dans les États fragiles et touchés par un conflit. Le manque de débouchés économiques constitue un terreau propice à l’instabilité politique, aux conflits violents et aux dommages environnementaux, lesquels compromettent encore davantage la croissance économique. Le développement du secteur privé est nécessaire pour promouvoir la croissance et la création d’emplois, élargir l’assiette fiscale et augmenter le coût d’un retour à la violence. L’appui aux initiatives de croissance inclusive, telles que le renforcement du pouvoir économique des femmes et la création d’emplois, peut aider à jeter un pont entre les mesures humanitaires et les interventions visant la croissance inclusive à plus long terme.

La dégradation de l’environnement et la pollution menacent la croissance inclusive. Le déséquilibre des modèles de croissance a érodé le capital naturel dont dépendent de nombreux ménages pauvres. Une gestion durable et responsable des ressources naturelles et des réactions appropriées aux conséquences des changements climatiques sont essentielles à la viabilité économique à long terme. Pour s’attaquer au gaspillage des ressources et à la surutilisation des actifs naturels, il faut mettre en place des mesures incitatives pour aboutir à une consommation et une production plus responsables et une plus grande utilisation des technologies propres.

Priorités du Canada

Dans le cadre de la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada, l’aide au développement du Canada dans le soutien de la croissance au service de tous contribue à éradiquer la pauvreté et à réduire les inégalités, surtout chez les personnes les plus pauvres, les plus marginalisées et les plus vulnérables, et favorise le renforcement du pouvoir économique des femmes dans les pays où le Canada est présent. Le respect des droits économiques des femmes et l’appui à leur leadership dans les entreprises, les collectivités et les institutions sont essentiels pour leur permettre d’atteindre leur plein potentiel économique. Lorsque les femmes sont entièrement autonomisées, y compris en tenant compte de leurs responsabilités en matière de soins et de travail non rémunéré, la prospérité et les avantages de la croissance profitent à un plus grand nombre de personnes.

L’innovation en vue de créer des emplois décents et d’encourager l’esprit d’entreprise chez les femmes est essentielle pour renforcer le caractère inclusif de la croissance. 

Le Canada reconnaît le rôle fondamental que joue le secteur privé pour stimuler l’innovation, la productivité et la croissance économique; il reconnaît également la nécessité de s’associer à ce secteur pour obtenir des résultats en matière de développement. Le renforcement du pouvoir économique des femmes ne peut se concrétiser sans l’engagement du secteur privé, dont la participation est également nécessaire pour relever les normes environnementales, sociales et de gouvernance et atteindre les ODD. Les flux de ressources financières les plus importants vers les pays en développement et au sein de ceux-ci proviennent du secteur privé, y compris les transferts de fonds, le commerce et l’investissement direct étranger. Le Canada participe à des partenariats qui attirent le cofinancement et l’investissement, en augmentant et en diversifiant la gamme de mécanismes dont il dispose pour collaborer avec le secteur privé, afin d’encourager des solutions aux défis du développement durable provenant du secteur privé et du secteur bénévole, qui soient plus novatrices et plus efficientes. Les principes d’équité économique, d’efficience et d’innovation sous-tendent l’approche du Canada en matière de croissance inclusive. Subvenir aux besoins de consommation de base est un moyen éprouvé de réduire la pauvreté et de stimuler une prospérité commune. Comme les familles d’agriculteurs représentent 50 % des personnes qui souffrent de la faim dans le monde, l’accent mis sur la production agricole contribue non seulement au développement économique, mais aide à lutter contre la faim et à accroître la résilience. Afin de surmonter les obstacles qui empêchent les gens de se sortir de l’extrême pauvreté, il est clairement nécessaire d’investir dans la protection sociale, que ce soit par l’élaboration de politiques ou le renforcement des capacités pour mettre en œuvre des initiatives visant à créer des moyens de subsistance durables et un soutien au revenu de base. Le renforcement de la résilience par un meilleur accès à l’énergie propre soutient également la transition vers une économie à faible émission de carbone.

L’approche intégrée du Canada appuie les progrès dans d’autres champs d’action. Elle fait avancer la vision féministe du développement au Canada, en faisant la promotion de la voix et de l’action des femmes dans la prise de décisions économiques. Elle s’aligne sur le champ d’action lié à l’environnement et à l’action pour le climat, en faisant la promotion d’une gouvernance environnementale plus vigoureuse et de la participation des femmes à la prise de décisions économiques, d’économies à faible émission de carbone et résilientes au climat, et de meilleures pratiques environnementales. La promotion de la voie visant à assurer une croissance durable et le fait de reconnaître les obstacles auxquels les femmes se heurtent requièrent une approche fondée sur les droits. Il existe également de multiples synergies avec le champ d’action Dignité humaine, en particulier l’enseignement et la formation techniques et professionnels, qui sont essentiels à une croissance économique inclusive. Le développement économique à long terme combiné à l’action humanitaire contribue à la reprise et à la reconstruction après une crise. L’amélioration de la gouvernance à l’appui des droits économiques, des normes en matière de travail et des salaires suffisants dans l’ensemble des chaînes d’approvisionnement peut produire des gains économiques tangibles à grande échelle. Dans le cadre de sa stratégie globale de diversification du commerce, le Canada propose également une approche inclusive à l’égard du commerce qui reflète et met en valeur les priorités stratégiques nationales et internationales visant à soutenir une croissance économique qui profite à tous, et à maintenir la confiance dans un système commercial ouvert et fondé sur des règles.

Le Canada concentre ses efforts pour faire progresser la croissance inclusive sur trois programmes d’action :

  1. Réduire les obstacles au renforcement du pouvoir économique des femmes;
  2. Bâtir des économies plus inclusives et durables;
  3. Renforcer la résilience économique. 

Le Canada accorde la priorité aux initiatives les plus susceptibles de réduire la pauvreté chronique et l’inégalité des genres, et qui favorisent la croissance durable, l’inclusion économique et la résilience, particulièrement au moyen du renforcement économique des femmes. Le Canada vise des partenariats et des accords de financement novateurs qui aideront à stimuler l’innovation, le commerce et l’investissement dans les pays en développement, en particulier dans les environnements fragiles et touchés par un conflit.

1. Réduire les obstacles au renforcement du pouvoir économique des femmes

L’objectif du Canada dans ce programme d’action est de réduire les obstacles au renforcement du pouvoir économique des femmes en favorisant des contextes juridiques, réglementaires et politiques qui appuient l’égalité des genres et la participation des femmes à la prise de décisions économiques. Pour atteindre cet objectif, l’aide du Canada vise à accroître le leadership économique et le renforcement du pouvoir des femmes à tous les niveaux, à promouvoir les droits économiques des femmes et leur accès à un travail décent, et à contribuer à la diminution du travail non rémunéré et à l’allègement de la charge des soins qui pèse sur les épaules des femmes de manière disproportionnée.

Afin de s’attaquer à ces enjeux, le Canada :

2. Bâtir des économies plus inclusives et durables

L’objectif du Canada dans le cadre de ce programme d’action est d’aider les particuliers et les entreprises (en particulier celles dirigées par des femmes), à devenir plus concurrentiels, novateurs et écologiques, à accroître leurs possibilités d’emploi et leurs débouchés sur le marché et à s’assurer que les marchés sont plus favorables aux personnes les plus pauvres et les plus marginalisées, en particulier les femmes et les jeunes. Pour atteindre cet objectif, le Canada, grâce à l’aide qu’il fournit, contribue au renforcement des capacités des structures institutionnelles, appuie l’entrepreneuriat, élargit l’accès au capital et améliore le soutien au secteur privé. Il met également l’accent sur la transformation du monde rural, les technologies renouvelables, la valeur ajoutée dans le secteur des ressources naturelles et les investissements dans des infrastructures de qualité.

Afin de s’attaquer à ces enjeux, le Canada :

3. Renforcer la résilience économique

Dans le cadre de ce programme d’action, l’objectif du Canada est d’aider les plus pauvres et les plus vulnérables, en particulier les femmes en milieu rural, à échapper à l’extrême pauvreté en répondant à leurs besoins matériels de base et en renforçant leur résilience économique. Pour atteindre cet objectif, le Canada soutient les réformes des politiques et des programmes pour les rendre inclusifs et pour qu’ils tiennent compte des besoins particuliers de ceux qui vivent dans un conflit et une crise. L’appui accordé met l’accent sur les nouveaux outils et les nouvelles technologies qui aident à soutenir l’inclusion financière et à gérer les risques financiers.

Afin de s’attaquer à ces enjeux, le Canada :

Sources choisies

Sources générales

Droits économiques et réduction de la pauvreté

Égalité des genres et développement économique

Développement de marchés inclusifs

Protection sociale et croissance inclusive

Résilience, inclusion financière et croissance inclusive

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: