Cyclone Idai Matching Fund

Tropical Cyclone Idai made landfall in southeastern Africa on March 15, 2019, devastating vulnerable communities in Malawi, Mozambique and Zimbabwe. Strong winds and extensive flooding destroyed homes and damaged critical infrastructure across the region. Hundreds of people were killed, and hundreds more remain missing. Overall, nearly 3 million people were affected by the cyclone.

In the aftermath of the storm, Canada provided $10 million in humanitarian assistance, of which $2 million was contributed through a Matching Fund. For every eligible dollar donated by individuals to the Humanitarian Coalition and its members to respond to the Cyclone Idai crisis between March 15 and April 14, 2019, the Government of Canada provided the equivalent to the Humanitarian Coalition, up to a maximum total amount of $2 million.

The Humanitarian Coalition allocated these funds among its members based on their capacity to respond and presence in the affected region. Humanitarian Coalition members responded to humanitarian needs through emergency relief activities, such as providing food, water and sanitation programs; livelihood support; nutrition; emergency shelter and other essential services.

Date Modified:

Le Fonds de contrepartie pour le cyclone Idai

Le cyclone tropical Idai a touché terre en Afrique australe le 15 mars 2019, causant des dommages considérables dans des communautés vulnérables du Malawi, du Mozambique et du Zimbabwe. Les vents violents et les inondations désastreuses ont détruit des maisons et endommagé des infrastructures essentielles dans la région. Des centaines de personnes ont été tuées et des centaines d’autres sont toujours portées disparues. Au total, près de trois millions de personnes ont été touchées par le cyclone.

Au lendemain de la tempête, le Canada a fourni une aide humanitaire de 10 millions de dollars, dont 2 millions de dollars ont été versés par l’entremise d’un fonds de contrepartie. Entre le 15 mars et le 14 avril 2019, pour chaque dollar admissible donné par des particuliers à la Coalition humanitaire et à ses membres afin de répondre à la crise du cyclone Idai, le gouvernement du Canada a versé un montant équivalent à la Coalition humanitaire, jusqu’à concurrence d’un montant total de 2 millions de dollars.

La Coalition humanitaire a réparti les fonds recueillis parmi ses membres en fonction de leur capacité d’intervention et de leur présence dans la région touchée. Les membres de la Coalition humanitaire ont répondu aux besoins humanitaires des populations touchées par des activités de secours d’urgence telles que la distribution de nourriture et d’eau, la mise en œuvre de programmes sanitaires, le soutien aux moyens de subsistance, les services de nutrition, la fourniture d’abris d’urgence et la prestation d’autres services essentiels.

Date de modification: