Language selection

Search

International Coalition for the Return of Ukrainian Children

On this page

About the Coalition

The International Coalition for the Return of Ukrainian Children (the “Coalition”) was officially launched in Kyiv, Ukraine, on February 2, 2024. The Coalition will coordinate joint efforts and cooperation between Ukraine and partner states to address the issue of the unlawful deportation and forced transfer of Ukrainian children by the Russian Federation.

The Coalition is co-chaired by the Government of Ukraine and the Government of Canada and aims to bring Ukrainian children home to their families and communities. The Coalition will also focus efforts on supporting their reunification with families.

Russia’s unlawful deportation and forced transfer of Ukrainian children

Thousands of children are reported to have been illegally deported or forcibly transferred. The large-scale displacement, transfer or illegal abductions of Ukrainian children is undisputed. So far, fewer than 400 children have been successfully returned to Ukraine from Russia, of estimated thousands.

The issue of displaced Ukrainian children has been ongoing since Russia first invaded Ukraine in 2014 and has come to light following Russia’s full-scale war of aggression against Ukraine in 2022.

In March 2023, the International Criminal Court issued arrest warrants against President Putin and Russia’s Commissioner for Children’s Rights, Maria Lvova-Belova, on the basis of reasonable grounds to believe that each bears responsibility for the war crime of “unlawful deportation of population (children) and of unlawful transfer of population (children) from occupied areas of Ukraine to the Russian Federation.”

The Coalition for the Return of Ukrainian Children

The ultimate objective of the Coalition is to bring Ukrainian children home to their families and communities. This will be done in compliance with international law, by keeping the best interests of the child at the core of the Coalition’s actions.

In support of these efforts, Canada and Ukraine will work together toward the following goals:

  1. Coordination of Joint Efforts: Coordinate joint efforts among Ukraine and partner states to address challenges related to the unlawful deportation and forced transfer of children.
  2. Information Sharing: Ensure timely, accurate and ethical sharing of information, supporting the creation of robust statistics and coordinating the ethical sharing of relevant case details between Ukrainian authorities and partners, and to response mechanisms supporting the unlawful deportation and forced transfer of Ukrainian children.
  3. Capacities alignment: Synchronize the diverse capacities, expertise, and financial resources of Ukraine and partners to support the Coalition’s work.
  4. Advocacy and Communication: Advance efforts to secure the release of children through awareness raising meetings, and in international forums via high-level diplomatic engagements.

Canada’s role in the Coalition

As co-chair, Canada will work closely with Ukraine to organize the Coalition, to support dialogue and information exchange and to coordinate key messages between key stakeholders. We will focus on amplifying many of the existing efforts and sharing lessons learned, specifically those that have successfully resulted in the return of children.

As part of this initiative, Canada will offer practical expertise, with Canadian officials ready to assist their Ukrainian counterparts should they express a need for technical expertise and resources.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Coalition internationale pour le rapatriement des enfants ukrainiens

Sur cette page

À propos de la coalition

La Coalition internationale pour le rapatriement des enfants ukrainiens (la « Coalition ») a été officiellement lancée à Kiev, en Ukraine, le 2 février 2024. La Coalition coordonnera les efforts conjoints et la coopération entre l'Ukraine et les États partenaires pour résoudre le problème de la déportation illégale et du transfert forcé d'enfants ukrainiens par la Fédération de Russie.

La coalition est coprésidée par le gouvernement ukrainien et le gouvernement canadien et vise à ramener les enfants ukrainiens dans leurs familles et leurs communautés. Elle s'efforcera également de favoriser leur réunification avec leur famille.

Déportation illégale et transfert forcé d'enfants ukrainiens par la Russie

Des milliers d'enfants auraient été illégalement déportés ou transférés de force. Le déplacement, le transfert ou l'enlèvement illégal à grande échelle d'enfants ukrainiens est incontesté. Jusqu'à présent, moins de 400 enfants ont été rapatriés avec succès de Russie en Ukraine, sur des milliers estimés.

La question des enfants ukrainiens déplacés se pose depuis que la Russie a envahi l'Ukraine en 2014, et est apparue au grand jour à la suite de la guerre d'agression à grande échelle menée par la Russie contre l'Ukraine en 2022.

En mars 2023, la Cour pénale internationale a lancé des mandats d'arrêt contre le président Poutine et la commissaire russe aux droits de l'enfant, Maria Lvova-Belova, sur la base de motifs raisonnables de croire qu’ils sont tous les deux responsables du crime de guerre de « déportation illégale de population (enfants) et de transfert illégal de population (enfants) des zones occupées de l'Ukraine vers la Fédération de Russie ».

La Coalition pour le retour des enfants ukrainiens

L'objectif ultime de la coalition est de ramener les enfants ukrainiens dans leurs familles et leurs communautés. Cela se fera dans le respect du droit international, en gardant l'intérêt supérieur de l'enfant au cœur des actions de la Coalition.

Pour soutenir ces efforts, le Canada et l'Ukraine travailleront ensemble pour atteindre les objectifs suivants :

  1. Coordination des efforts conjoints : Coordonner les efforts conjoints de l'Ukraine et des États partenaires pour relever les défis liés à la déportation illégale et au transfert forcé d'enfants.
  2. Partage de l'information : Assurer un échange d'informations opportun, précis et éthique, en soutenant la création de statistiques solides et en coordonnant l'échange éthique de détails pertinents sur les cas entre les autorités ukrainiennes et les partenaires, et vers les mécanismes de réponse qui soutiennent la déportation illégale et le transfert forcé d'enfants ukrainiens.
  3. Alignement des capacités : Synchroniser les diverses capacités, l'expertise et les ressources financières de l'Ukraine et de ses partenaires pour soutenir le travail de la Coalition.
  4. Mobilisation et communication : Faire progresser les efforts visant à obtenir la libération des enfants par le biais de réunions de sensibilisation et dans les forums internationaux grâce à des engagements diplomatiques de haut niveau.

Le rôle du Canada dans la coalition

En tant que coprésident, le Canada travaillera en étroite collaboration avec l'Ukraine pour organiser la Coalition, soutenir le dialogue, et l'échange d'informations et pour coordonner les messages clés entre les principales parties prenantes. Nous mettrons l’accent sur l’amplification des nombreux efforts existants et le partage des enseignements tirés, en particulier ceux qui ont abouti au retour des enfants.

Dans le cadre de cette initiative, le Canada offrira une expertise pratique grâce aux représentantes et représentants canadiens disposés à aider leurs homologues ukrainiens advenant que ceux-ci aient besoin d’une expertise technique ou de ressources.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: