Language selection

Search

“This is a new Afghanistan”: Women won’t be silenced

Canada in Afghanistan
Gender equality | October 2018

A post-Taliban generation of young women are fighting for equal participation in the future of their country.

 

The buzz of excitement was palpable as 13 young Afghan women leaders gathered in Kabul.

As they took their seats, a screen across the room revealed another woman leader of Afghan heritage, one on the other side of the world, Canada’s Minister of Status of Women, Maryam Monsef.

In their native language of Dari, the Minister and young women advocates spoke frankly about the challenges faced by Afghan women in today’s society. From economic empowerment to politics to the peace process, these women are passionate about building a more equal Afghanistan for everyone.

 

Women and Peace

Delegates raised concerns that Afghan women aren’t being meaningfully involved in peace negotiations.Delegates raised concerns that Afghan women aren’t being meaningfully involved in peace negotiations.

As peace negotiations quickly evolve, many are concerned about what gender relations will look like in a post-conflict Afghanistan.

The young leaders are worried that the few rights Afghan women have secured may be up for negotiation, or eliminated completely. Without women at the bargaining table, this seems even more likely.

“We as women need to tell the Taliban that this Afghanistan is not the Afghanistan from 17 years ago. This is a new Afghanistan.” – Young Afghan woman participant

The delegates called for women to be involved in all stages of the peace negotiations, from consultation to development to implementation. Although the government officially supports women’s participation in the peace process, the reality is very different: women delegates are left out of key negotiations and are often denied communication with Taliban negotiators.

Canada knows that gender equality and peace go hand in hand. When women and girls can influence the processes that affect their everyday lives, sustainable peace is much more likely, and when gender equality is upheld, societies are more peaceful.

“Where women and girls are included in peace processes, peace is more enduring.” – Chrystia Freeland, Canadian Minister of Foreign Affairs

 

Discrimination an everyday experience

Societal discrimination remains a significant hurdle for women on a day-to-day basis.

Maryam Bahar Sadat says women receive less economic and social support from their communities and governments than men, and therefore must be more self-reliant and creative.

“Every day, from when we leave the house to when we arrive at the office, we cannot be ourselves.” – Mayam Bahar Sadat

Maryam would know. As the co-founder of Peace House Organization in Afghanistan and a leader in a variety of community initiatives, she has worked closely with women from all walks of life.

To avoid further discrimination, she says women often censor themselves, lack confidence, or don’t speak out at all. If we want to encourage women to take up leadership roles and participate in politics, this discrimination needs to be addressed.

Dialogue with Afghan women - Transcript

Kabul – Ottawa

On 24 July 2018 Canadian Status of Women Minister Maryam Monsef led a dialogue with Afghan women from the media, private sector, and civil society

The participants discussed issues relevant to Afghan women, including the ongoing peace process and women’s role in society

“Today the event was really effective, I would say we need more events like this where we can exchange the ideas. And it’s very very important to see the success stories of women from across the world, and especially if it is somebody with an Afghan heritage and who is currently the Minister of Women Affairs in one of the best countries around the world.” – Suraya Yosufi, Private Sector

“This program was really useful for me, I mean for everyone here, because it was a chance to meet an Afghan woman being in a leadership position in a developed country. And I think these kinds of sessions will really help us in changing the ideas and learning from the challenges and lessons learned of both sides. So it was really a pleasure to be in this session as well as learning from this session. So I think it would be really good to have such kinds of sessions in the future in order to learn about more and more of the challenges of Afghan women all over the world, not only in Afghanistan but other women who are in the leadership positions outside of Afghanistan. ” – Maryam Sadat, Women’s Rights Activist

“I felt that today’s program was very good and effective. The first thing that I would like to mention is that I think we should continue having these talks and dialogue because we need very deep conversations about the situation of women in Afghanistan. We all have our own concerns when it comes to the women of Afghanistan. This dialogue was important for me because, first of all, I was talking to a woman about these issues. This was so wonderful for me that women from two sides of the world, women from the developed world and women from our world, which is a world of war and suicide bombers, and sometimes a world of peace and youth, and talk together about the situation of women, about the violence here, the positive developments, and the bravery of women.” – Farahnaz Forotan, Journalist

“The ideas that we shared were very important – women in the peace process, women in the public sector, or women in the private sector. Minister Monsef actually shared a lot of, I would say, common ground with Afghan women. And we can actually exchange the ideas and also see what they are doing in terms of making the lives of women in Canada better, and how can we translate the same action in the Afghan context.” – Suraya Yosufi, Private Sector

 

Ask women what they want

As a well-known host of a prominent Afghan television channel, Farahnaz Forotan is used to asking Afghan politicians tough questions.

Farahnaz did not hold back when explaining that projects funded by donors like Canada need to reach those most in need. Projects often support educated, urban women, but not the rural and illiterate women who are even more marginalized.
13 young women leaders gathered in Kabul to discuss the challenge faced by Afghan women in today’s society.

“When you plan your aid, ask women what they want.” – Farahnaz Forotan

Other young women leaders echoed their agreement, and specified that projects need to meaningfully consider the needs of women from different backgrounds.

 

An Afghan-Canadian perspective

Minister Monsef connects with young women in Afghanistan via video conference.Minister Monsef connects with young women in Afghanistan via video conference.

As a former refugee of Afghan heritage, Maryam Monsef shares common ground with many of the women leaders.

After her address to the 5th Afghan Women’s Symposium in Kabul earlier this year, the Minister was eager to hear from the young women leaders and impressed by their deep knowledge, fresh perspectives and creative ideas.

“You give me hope and confidence. You are determined for the future of your country.” – Maryam Monsef, Canada’s Minister of Status of Women

The Minister shared many of the priorities raised by the Afghan young women – economic empowerment, preventing violence and discrimination, and promoting women in leadership.

From opposite sides of the world, the forum allowed the Minister and youth to learn from each other and connect over shared experiences, lessons learned and hopes for the future.

“I think these kind of sessions will really help us [in] changing the ideas and learning from the challenges and lessons learned of both sides” - Maryam Sadat

 

Taking action

As part of its “Women and Girls’ Rights First” approach in Afghanistan, Canada is moving this dialogue into action.

$8.4 million over the next five years will be dedicated to a new “Women’s Voice and Leadership” project to support Afghan women’s organisations and networks working to promote women’s rights, and advance women’s empowerment and gender equality.

Through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives, the Embassy funds small projects developed and implemented by local organizations. Last year, the Embassy provided $178,000 to five projects focused on women and girls’ rights. By responding directly to local needs, these modest contributions have a huge impact.

In fact, Soghra Sadat, one of the dialogue participants, has worked closely with the Embassy when the CFLI funded Transparent Election Foundation of Afghanistan (TEFA), the non-profit organization where she works.

In 2016, the Government of Canada announced $465 million in security and development support to Afghanistan, including funds to empower women and girls.

Women and girls remain at the forefront of Canada’s work in Afghanistan, and the Embassy will continue to engage with women activists, community leaders and other partners to develop meaningful support for women across the country.

 

Continuing the conversation

Minister Monsef declared that this would not be the last discussion with female leaders and intends to continue dialogue with these 13 young women and more.

The passionate young women leaders will continue to advocate for women’s equality – in civil society, the private sector and in academia.

Farahnaz Forotan concluded, “This was so wonderful for me, that women from two sides of the world, women from the developed world and women from our world…[can] talk together about the situation of women.”

 

Related links

External resources

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

« C’est le nouvel Afghanistan » : Les femmes ne seront plus mises de côté

Le Canada en Afghanistan
Égalité des genres | Octobre 2018

Les jeunes femmes de la génération post-taliban luttent pour une participation égale dans l’avenir de leur pays.

 

L’enthousiasme était palpable lorsque 13 jeunes leaders afghanes se sont rassemblées à Kabul.

Après s’être assises, un écran à l’autre bout de la pièce leur a permis de communiquer avec une autre femme leader d’origine afghane installée à l’autre bout de la planète, la ministre de la Condition féminine du Canada, Maryam Monsef.

Dans leur langue maternelle, le dari, la ministre et les jeunes militantes ont échangé de façon franche sur les défis auxquels sont confrontées les femmes afghanes dans la société actuelle. De l’émancipation économique, à la politique et au processus de paix, ces femmes ont à cœur de créer un Afghanistan plus égal pour tous.

 

Les femmes et la paix

Les déléguées ont exprimé leurs préoccupations quant au fait que les femmes afghanes ne sont pas suffisamment impliquées dans le processus de négociation de la paix.Les déléguées ont exprimé leurs préoccupations quant au fait que les femmes afghanes ne sont pas suffisamment impliquées dans le processus de négociation de la paix.

Puisque les négociations de paix avancent rapidement, plusieurs personnes sont préoccupées par l’avenir des relations entre les deux sexes dans un Afghanistan post-conflit.

Les jeunes leaders ont peur que les quelques droits acquis par les femmes afghanes fassent l’objet de négociations ou soient complètement éliminés. Sans femme présente à la table de négociation, cela semble encore plus probable.

« En tant que femmes, nous devons faire comprendre aux talibans que l’Afghanistan actuel n’est pas celui d’il y a 17 ans. C’est un nouvel Afghanistan » – Jeune afghane participante

Les déléguées ont appelé les femmes à participer à toutes les étapes des négociations de la paix, de la consultation, à l’élaboration et à la mise en place. Bien que le gouvernement soutienne officiellement la participation des femmes dans le processus de paix, la réalité est bien différente : les femmes déléguées sont laissées de côté lors des négociations de paix majeures et se voient souvent refuser le droit de communiquer avec les négociateurs talibans.

Le Canada sait que l’égalité des genres et la paix vont de pair. Lorsque les femmes et les filles peuvent influencer les processus qui affectent leur vie quotidienne, la paix durable est beaucoup plus probable, et lorsque l’égalité des genres est respectée, les sociétés sont beaucoup plus paisibles.

« Là où les femmes et les filles sont incluses dans les processus de paix, la paix est plus durable. » – Chrystia Freeland, ministre des Affaires étrangères du Canada

 

Discrimination, une expérience quotidienne

La discrimination sociale demeure un obstacle important de la vie quotidienne des femmes.

Maryam Bahar Sadat mentionne que les collectivités et gouvernements offrent une aide financière et sociale moins importante aux femmes qu’aux hommes. Les femmes doivent donc être plus autonomes et créatives.

« Tous les jours, à partir du moment où nous quittons la maison jusqu’à ce que nous arrivions au bureau, nous ne pouvons pas être nous-mêmes. » – Maryam Bahar Sadat

Maryam le sait bien. En tant que cofondatrice de la Peace House Organization en Afghanistan et leader de diverses initiatives communautaires, elle a étroitement collaboré avec des femmes de toutes les couches de la société.

De peur d’être discriminées davantage, les femmes se censurent souvent, manquent de confiance en elles, ou ne s’expriment pas du tout, explique Maryam. Elle souhaite encourager les femmes à occuper des rôles de leaders et à participer à la vie politique. Cette discrimination doit cesser.

Note : Le vidéo qui suit est en anglais avec sous-titres français.

Dialogue avec les femmes afghanes - Transcription

Kaboul – Ottawa

Le 24 juillet 2018, Maryam Monsef, la ministre canadienne de la Condition féminine, a mené un dialogue avec les femmes afghanes du secteur médiatheque, privé et de la société civile

Les participantes ont discuté des questions concernant les femmes afghanes, y compris le processus de paix en cours et le rôle des femmes dans la société

« L’évènement d’aujoud’hui a été très efficace. Je dirais que nous avons besoin de plus d’événement comme celui-ci, où nous pouvons échanger des idées et c’est très important de voir les histoires à succès des femmes autour du monde et plus spécialement d’une personne de descendance afghane et qui présentement la ministre de la Condition féminine dans l’un des meilleurs pays du monde. » - Suraya Yosufi, Secteur privé

« Ce programme m’a été vraiment utile, je veux dire, pour tout le monde ici parce que c’était l’occasion de recontrer des femmes afghanes en position de leadership dans un pays développé. Et je pense que ce genre de session va vraiment nous aider et changer les idées et apprendre des défis et des leçons apprises des deux côtés. C’était vraiment un plaisir d’assister à cette session donc je pense que ce serait vraiment bon d’avoir ce genre de session à l’avenir afin d’apprendre plus sur les défis des femmes afghanes à travers le monde, non seulement en Afghanistan, mais d’autres femmes qui occupent des positions de leadership à l’extérieur de l’Afghanistan. » - Maryam Sadat, Militante des droits des femmes

« J’ai senti que le programme d’aujourd’hui était très bon et efficace. La première chose que j’aimerais mentionner, c’est que je pense que nous devrions continuer d’avoir ces discussions et ce dialogue parce que nous avons besoin de conversations très profondes sur la situation des femmes en Afghanistan. Nous avons tous et toutes nos propres préoccupations quand il s’agit des femmes de l’Afghanistan. Ce dialogue était important pour moi parce que, tout d’abord, je parlerais aux femmes de ces enjeux. C’était si merveilleux pour moi que des femmes des deux côtés du monde, des femmes du monde développé et des femmes de notre monde, qui est un monde de guerre et d’attentats-suicides, et parfois un monde de paix et de jeunesse, et parler ensemble de la situation des femmes, de la violence ici, des développements positifs et du courage des femmes. Les idées qui étaient partagées étaient très importantes, les femmes dans le processus de paix, les femmes dans le secteur public ou les femmes dans le secteur privé. Le ministre Monsef partage, en fait, beaucoup de points en communs avec les femmes afghanes et nous pouvons échanger des idées et nous pouvons échanger des idées et aussi voir ce qu’ils font actuellement pour améliorer la vie des femmes au Canada et comment nous pouvons traduire les mêmes actions dans un contexte afghan. » - Farahnaz Forotan, Journaliste

 

Demandez aux femmes ce qu’elles veulent

En tant que présentatrice populaire d’une grande chaîne de la télévision afghane, Farahnaz Forotan a l’habitude de poser des questions difficiles aux politiciens afghans.

Farahanz n’a pas hésité à expliquer que les projets financés par des donateurs comme le Canada doivent s’adresser aux personnes qui en ont le plus besoin. Les projets soutiennent souvent les femmes éduquées vivant en ville, mais les femmes analphabètes vivant en milieu rural sont encore plus marginalisées.

« Lorsque vous planifiez votre aide, demandez aux femmes ce qu’elles veulent. » – Farahnaz Forotan

D’autres jeunes femmes leaders ont exprimé leur soutien et ont précisé que les projets doivent absolument tenir compte des besoins des femmes issues de différents milieux.

 

Une perspective Afghanistan-Canada

La ministre Monsef utilise la vidéoconférence pour créer des liens avec les jeunes femmes en Afghanistan.La ministre Monsef utilise la vidéoconférence pour créer des liens avec les jeunes femmes en Afghanistan.

En tant qu’ancienne réfugiée afghane, Maryam Monsef a beaucoup d’intérêts communs avec plusieurs leaders.

Après son discours lors du 5e Symposium des femmes afghanes qui s’est déroulé à Kabul plus tôt cette année, la ministre avait hâte d’écouter les jeunes leaders et a été impressionnée par leurs connaissances approfondies, leurs perspectives nouvelles et leurs idées créatives.

« Vous me donnez espoir et confiance. Vous êtes déterminées à améliorer l’avenir de votre pays. » – Maryam Monsef, ministre de la Condition féminine du Canada

La ministre a partagé plusieurs des priorités soulevées par les jeunes femmes afghanes : l’émancipation économique, la prévention de la violence et de la discrimination et la promotion des femmes leaders.

Malgré la distance, le forum a permis à la ministre et aux jeunes d’apprendre à se connaître et de créer des liens en échangeant sur des expériences, des leçons apprises et des espoirs pour l’avenir.

« Je crois que ce genre de séance nous aidera réellement à changer les mentalités et à apprendre des difficultés et leçons tirées des deux partis » – Maryam Sadat

 

Passer à l’action

Dans le cadre de son approche « Les droits des femmes et des filles d’abord » en Afghanistan, le Canada passe du dialogue à l’action.

Une somme de 8,4 millions de dollars sera versée au cours des cinq prochaines années dans le cadre d’un nouveau projet « Voix et leadership des femmes » qui vise à soutenir les organisations et réseaux de femmes afghanes qui font la promotion des droits de la femme et s’efforcent de faire avancer l’émancipation des femmes et l’égalité des genres.

Grâce au Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL), l’ambassade finance de petits projets créés et mis en place par des organisations locales. L’année dernière, l’ambassade a offert 178 000 $ à cinq projets axés sur les droits des femmes et des filles. En répondant directement aux besoins locaux, ces contributions modestes ont de grandes répercussions.

En effet, Soghra Sadat, une des participantes au dialogue, a collaboré étroitement avec l’ambassade lorsque le FCIL a financé la Transparent Election Foundation of Afghanistan (TEFA), l’organisme à but non lucratif dans lequel elle travaille.

En 2016, le Canada a annoncé qu’il dédiait 465 millions de dollars pour soutenir la sécurité et le développement en Afghanistan, y compris du financement pour autonomiser les femmes et les filles.

Les femmes et les filles demeurent au cœur des efforts déployés par le Canada en Afghanistan et l’ambassade continuera de travailler avec des femmes activistes, des leaders communautaires et d’autres partenaires pour offrir un soutien significatif aux femmes du pays.

 

Poursuivre la conversation

La ministre Monsef a affirmé qu’il ne s’agissait pas de la dernière discussion avec des leaders et qu’elle souhaite poursuivre un dialogue avec ces 13 jeunes femmes et d’autres.

Les jeunes leaders passionnées poursuivront leur lutte pour l’égalité des femmes dans la société, le secteur privé et le secteur académique.

« Ce fût une expérience incroyable pour moi de voir que des femmes situées de chaque côté du monde, issues de milieux développés et de notre milieu peuvent parler ensemble de la situation des femmes », a conclu Farahnaz Forotan.

 

Liens connexes

Liens externes

Date de modification: