Language selection

Search

Building gender equality in the Afghanistan police force

Canada in Afghanistan
Gender equality
June 2018

Female members of Afghanistan police force in attendance for the construction launch.

Canada is committed to support Afghanistan National Defence and Security Forces. Through its Peace and Stabilization Operations Program, Canada contributed US$26 million towards the construction of a Women’s Police Town (Phase 1) in Kabul, Afghanistan.


Canada is committed to support Afghanistan National Defence and Security Forces. Through its Peace and Stabilization Operations Program, Canada contributed US$26 million towards the construction of a Women’s Police Town (Phase 1) in Kabul, Afghanistan. This project builds secure living quarters for Afghan national policewomen and their families and is an important new step to increase their number and effectiveness as well as safeguard them as they join the security sector.


Construction begins

Afghanistan’s First Lady Rula (Bibi Gul) Ghani and NATO Commander General John Nicholson launched the construction of this new facility on April 9, 2018. This US$120-million project is made possible with the financial support of Canada, NATO Resolute Support and international donor countries. Women’s Police Town is expected to be completed by 2020, and it will include 10 apartment buildings to house 300 Afghan national policewomen and their families. The project will be a separate, secure housing complex next to the existing Male Police Town, and will include a daycare centre, elementary school, women’s medical clinic, fitness centre and community centre. The daycare centre and elementary school will be managed by the Government of Afghanistan.


New facilities to increase effective women’s participation

Diplomatic and military officials attending the opening statements of the event launch.

Women’s Police Town in Kabul will build on the progress made over the past 15 years to further gender equality in Afghanistan, particularly in the areas of education, life expectancy, and employment. Although the number of women in the Afghanistan police force has increased by 38% since 2014, women currently only make up 2% of the Afghan National Police. Increasing the number of female police officers will empower women, improve the effectiveness of the police force and better serve the Afghan population. Projects such as Women’s Police Town will help reduce one of the critical barriers, such as a lack of secure housing, that deter women from joining the police.


Canadian participation

The Canadian ambassador to Afghanistan, François Rivest, delivering remarks at the launch of Women’s Police Town.

At the launch of the construction of the new facility, François Rivest, Canada’s Ambassador to Afghanistan noted that “successful recruitment and retention of female police officers is vital for peace and stability in Afghanistan. Canada is pleased to support the full participation of women in Afghan society through our sponsorship of the police town project.” The Canadian contribution to Women Police Town in Kabul is one of many projects aiming to increase the participation of women in peace and security operations around the world. As part of Canada’s National Action Plan on Women, Peace and Security, Canada puts women and girls at the centre of its efforts to prevent and resolve conflict. Promoting peace and security across nations is an opportunity for transformative progress to be achieved on gender equality, inclusion and stability.


Related links

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Construire l’égalité des genres dans la police afghane

Le Canada en Afghanistan
Égalité des genres
Juin 2018

Des membres de la force de police en attenance au lancement de construction.

Le Canada s’est engagé à soutenir les Forces de défense et de sécurité nationales afghanes. Par l’intermédiaire de son Programme pour la stabilisation et les opérations de paix, il a accordé 26 millions de dollars américains à un projet de logements pour les policières (phase 1) à Kaboul, en Afghanistan.


Le Canada s’est engagé à soutenir les Forces de défense et de sécurité nationales afghanes. Par l’intermédiaire de son Programme pour la stabilisation et les opérations de paix, il a accordé 26 millions de dollars américains à un projet de logements pour les policières (phase 1) à Kaboul, en Afghanistan. Ce projet construit des logements sécuritaires pour les policières de la Police nationale afghane et leur famille. Il s’agit d’une nouvelle étape importante afin d’accroître le nombre et l’efficacité des policières en Afghanistan et pour protéger celles qui travaillent dans le secteur de la sécurité.


Début des travaux

La première dame d’Afghanistan, Rula (Bibi Gul) Ghani, et le commandant de la mission Resolute Support de l’OTAN, le général John Nicholson, ont lancé la construction des nouvelles installations le 9 avril 2018. Ce projet de 120 millions de dollars américains est possible grâce au soutien financier du Canada, de la mission Resolute Support de l’OTAN et de pays donateurs de la communauté internationale. Le projet de logements pour les policières devrait être terminé d’ici 2020. Il comprendra 10 immeubles d’habitation pour loger 300 policières afghanes et leur famille. L’ensemble résidentiel indépendant et sécuritaire sera construit à côté des logements existants pour les policiers. Il comprendra une garderie, une école primaire, une clinique pour les femmes, un centre de conditionnement physique et un centre communautaire. La garderie et l’école primaire seront gérées par le gouvernement afghan.


Nouvelles installations pour favoriser la participation efficace des femmes

Des diplomates et des militaires assistent aux discours lors du lancement du projet de logements.

Le projet de construction de logements pour les policières à Kaboul misera sur les progrès des 15 dernières années pour faire avancer l’égalité entre les sexes en Afghanistan, surtout en ce qui a trait à l’éducation, à l’espérance de vie et à l’emploi. Bien que le nombre de femmes dans les forces policières afghanes ait augmenté de 34 % depuis 2014, les femmes ne représentent quand même que 2 % des membres de la Police nationale. Augmenter le nombre de policières favorisera l’autonomisation des femmes et améliorera l’efficacité des forces policières ainsi que des services offerts à la population afghane. Des projets comme la construction de cet ensemble résidentiel pour policières aideront à surmonter l’un des principaux obstacles, soit le manque de logements sûrs, qui empêchent les femmes de se joindre aux forces policières.


Participation du Canada

L’ambassadeur canadien en Afghanistan, Francois Rivest, a fait un discours à l’occasion du lancement du projet de logements pour les policières.

Lors du lancement des travaux de construction des nouvelles installations, François Rivest, ambassadeur du Canada en Afghanistan, a noté que : « Le recrutement et le maintien en poste des policières sont essentiels à la paix et à la stabilité en Afghanistan. Le Canada est heureux d’appuyer la pleine participation des femmes dans la société afghane en parrainant ce projet de logements ». La contribution du Canada au projet de logements pour les policières à Kaboul est l’un des nombreux projets visant à accroître la participation des femmes aux opérations internationales de maintien de la paix et de la sécurité. Dans le cadre du Plan d’action du Canada pour les femmes, la paix et la sécurité, le Canada place les femmes et les filles au cœur de ses efforts pour prévenir et résoudre les conflits. Promouvoir la paix et la sécurité partout dans le monde est une occasion de réaliser des progrès transformateurs en matière d’égalité entre les sexes, d’inclusion et de maintien de la stabilité.


Liens connexes

Date de modification: