Language selection

Search

First-ever Canadian LGBTQ2 trade mission

The Prime Minister’s Special Advisor on LGBTQ2 issues, Member of Parliament Randy Boissonnault, joined the first-ever LGBTQ2 business delegation to the U.S. In partnership with the Canadian Gay & Lesbian Chamber of Commerce (CGLCC), the delegation of business owners and entrepreneurs took part in the National Gay and Lesbian Chamber of Commerce’s (NGLCC) International Business and Leadership Conference in Philadelphia.

CEO of the Canadian Gay and Lesbian Chamber of Commerce (CGLCC), Darrell Schuurman, says the LGBTQ2 trade mission included LGBT-owned companies in the professional services and marketing to clean tech sectors. This mission also showcased the government’s commitment to diversity and inclusion.


“It was an incredible trade mission.” Says Connie Stacey of the first Canadian minister-led LGBTQ2 trade mission.

The President of Growing Greener Innovations was one of 18 Canadian participants who took part in the mission.

“We came away with some huge opportunities, including Home Depot, Lowe's, UPS, DuPont, Dow and MUCH more. It was the best trade mission I have been on without question,” says Stacey.

CEO of the Canadian Gay and Lesbian Chamber of Commerce (CGLCC), Darrell Schuurman, says the LGBTQ2 trade mission included LGBTQ2-owned companies in the professional services and marketing to clean tech sectors. This mission also showcased the government’s commitment to diversity and inclusion.

“Just the fact that we’re doing this and that the federal government is supporting LGBT-owned businesses and helping us grow is the first win already, says Schuurman.

CGLCC data indicates there are 140,000 LGBT-owned businesses in Canada, generating 200-billion dollars in economic impact. Schuurman says diverse-owned businesses have not always had the same access to participate in corporate procurement opportunities.

“LGBT-owned businesses are historically underrepresented in corporate and public supply chain. This trade mission helps to level the playing field, helps our companies get a foot in the door and to make connections.”

The Philadelphia conference in August was the largest gathering of LGBT chambers of commerce and LGBT-owned businesses in the world. In addition, over 200 American corporations, most of which comprise Fortune 500 and 1000 corporations, participated in the conference, each having supplier diversity programs in place.

Supplier diversity programs encourage the use of companies that are majority owned by LGBT, minorities, women, veterans and small business. The program seeks to reflect the workforce and diverse population in procurement.

“If you continue to use the same suppliers, are you bringing the most efficient and innovative solutions to your company? By diversifying the supplier base, companies can achieve both top and bottom line benefits,” explains Schuurman.

He says being able to connect and collaborate with other businesses was a valuable part of the mission.

“The end game of this mission for our companies was to create business opportunities and access new markets,” says Schuurman. “But the more immediate goal was to build and strengthen networks and make connections with other LGBT entrepreneurs and corporate leaders.”

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

La toute première mission commerciale LGBTQ2 canadienne

Le conseiller spécial du premier ministre sur les enjeux liés à la communauté LGBTQ2 et député fédéral, Randy Boissonnault, a pris part à la toute première délégation commerciale LGBTQ2 aux États-Unis. En partenariat avec la Canadian Gay & Lesbian Chamber of Commerce (CGLCC), la délégation de propriétaires d’entreprise et d’entrepreneurs a participé à la conférence internationale sur les affaires et le leadership de la National Gay and Lesbian Chamber of Commerce (NGLCC) à Philadelphie.

Darrell Schuurman, p.-d.g. de la Canadian Gay and Lesbian Chamber of Commerce (Chambre de commerce gaie et lesbienne du Canada), affirme que la mission commerciale comprenait des entreprises appartenant à des personnes LGBT, tant des services professionnels et de marketing que de ceux des technologies propres. Cette mission a également montré l'engagement du gouvernement envers la diversité et l'inclusion.


« C'était une mission commerciale incroyable », a déclaré Connie Stacey à propos de la première mission commerciale LGBTQ2 à être dirigée par un ministre canadien.

La présidente de Growing Greener Innovations était une des 18 participantes canadiennes de cette mission.

« Nous sommes repartis avec d’énormes possibilités, notamment chez Home Depot, Lowe’s, UPS, DuPont, Dow et BIEN plus encore. C’est certainement la meilleure mission commerciale à laquelle j’ai participé », explique Stacey.

Darrell Schuurman, p.-d.g. de la Canadian Gay and Lesbian Chamber of Commerce (Chambre de commerce gaie et lesbienne du Canada), affirme que la mission commerciale comprenait des entreprises appartenant à des personnes LGBTQ2, tant des services professionnels et de marketing que de ceux des technologies propres. Cette mission a également montré l'engagement du gouvernement envers la diversité et l'inclusion.

« Le simple fait d’organiser cette mission, que le gouvernement fédéral soutienne les entreprises appartenant à des LGBT et qu’il les aide à grandir est déjà une première victoire », dit Darrell Schuurman.

Les données de la Chambre de commerce indiquent que 140 000 entreprises appartenant à des personnes LGBT au Canada génèrent 200 milliards de dollars pour l’économie. Selon Schuurman, les entreprises appartenant à des sociétés diversifiées n'ont pas toujours eu la même chance de tirer profit des possibilités qu’offrent les marchés institutionnels.

« Les entreprises appartenant à des personnes LGBT sont historiquement sous-représentées dans la chaîne d’approvisionnement des secteurs public et privé. Cette mission commerciale aide à uniformiser les règles du jeu, aide nos entreprises à se faire connaître et à établir des liens. »

La conférence de Philadelphie, qui s’est tenue en août, était le plus grand rassemblement de chambres de commerce et d'entreprises LGBT au monde. En outre, plus de 200 entreprises dotées de programmes de diversité des fournisseurs y ont participé.

Les programmes de diversité des fournisseurs encouragent le recours à des entreprises majoritairement détenues par des personnes LGBT ou issues des minorités, des femmes, des anciens combattants et des petites entreprises. Le but de ce programme est de refléter la main-d’œuvre et la diversité de la population dans le secteur des achats.

« En continuant d’utiliser les mêmes fournisseurs, apportez-vous les solutions les plus efficaces et les plus innovantes à votre entreprise? En diversifiant leur base de fournisseurs, les entreprises peuvent améliorer à la fois leurs chiffres d’affaires et leurs résultats nets », explique Darrell Schuurman.

Selon lui, la capacité d’établir des liens et de collaborer avec d’autres entreprises était un élément valable de la mission.

« Le but ultime de cette mission, pour nos entreprises, était de créer des débouchés commerciaux et d'accéder à de nouveaux marchés, a déclaré Darrell Schuurman. Mais l'objectif le plus immédiat était de créer et de renforcer des réseaux, ainsi que d'établir des liens avec d'autres entrepreneurs et dirigeants d'entreprises LGBT. »

Date de modification: