Language selection

Search

Perfume entrepreneur pays it forward

Barb Stegemann believes women can use their buying power for positive change. Her company’s award-winning fragrances are made with essential oils sourced in areas affected by war and strife.

Entrepreneur: Barb Stegemann, CEO and founder
Company: The 7 Virtues Beauty
Founded: 2010
Industry: Consumer products
Location: Halifax, NS
Services used: Business Women in International Trade, Canadian Trade Commissioner Service
 

Stegemann first began sourcing orange blossoms in 2010 from a farmer in Afghanistan to support his growth of legal crops instead of illegal poppies. Her partnership with Global Affairs Canada has helped her ensure fair pay and good working conditions for her suppliers.

In 2011, she became the first woman from Atlantic Canada to successfully pitch on CBC’s Dragons’ Den when The 7 Virtues Beauty attracted $75,000 in venture capital.

On her path to success, Stegemann found ideal partners in the Business Women in International Trade (BWIT) program and the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service (TCS). Each gave her the help she needed to find buyers and promote her perfumes across North America, Europe and Australia. Her fragrance lines are now available at Hudson’s Bay stores in Canada, Sephora outlets in the U.S., and luxury department stores in the U.K. and Germany.

Stegemann credits the BWIT team and the TCS as being instrumental in her company’s success. “I wouldn’t dare go into a country without their support. I have been incredibly impressed by the whole organization.”

Entrepreneur Barb Stegemann, CEO and founder of The 7 Virtues Beauty
Entrepreneur Barb Stegemann, CEO and founder of The 7 Virtues Beauty

Stegemann’s advice to women entrepreneurs

“Reach out to your network for help. The BWIT team and the Trade Commissioner Service have been instrumental in our expansion and growth. It’s much more powerful when they call a buyer for me.”

Barb Stegemann, CEO and founder

Go global with our trade commissioners

BWIT trade commissioners can help you prepare to export, find international buyers and troubleshoot issues. We’re part of the TCS, which has people on the ground in over 160 cities. Working with us will give you access to a global network, sector-specific expertise and local knowledge. Email us (bwit@international.gc.ca) today.

Share your stories with us

We’re always looking to feature accomplished business women who have received help from Business Women in International Trade (BWIT) and the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service (TCS). Email us at bwit@international.gc.ca to share your stories.

Related links

Connect with BWIT

For questions or support

Stay informed

Join the conversation

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Une parfumerie « donne au suivant »

Barb Stegemann est convaincue que les femmes peuvent se servir de leur pouvoir d’achat pour apporter des changements positifs dans le monde. Sa société fabrique des parfums qui ont été primés. Ils sont fabriqués à partir d’huiles essentielles provenant de régions du monde déchirées par la guerre et les conflits.

Entrepreneure : Barb Stegemann, PDG et fondatrice
Société : The 7 Virtues Beauty
Fondée en : 2010
Industrie : Produits de consommation
Lieu : Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse)
Services utilisés : Femmes d’affaires en commerce international, Service des délégués commerciaux
 

Tout a commencé en 2010, quand Mme Stegemann a acheté des fleurs d’oranger à un agriculteur afghan pour l’encourager à délaisser la culture illégale du pavot au profit d’une culture licite. Son partenariat avec Affaires mondiales Canada l’a ensuite aidée à assurer une rémunération équitable et de bonnes conditions de travail pour ses fournisseurs.

En 2011, elle est devenue la première femme du Canada atlantique à obtenir un capital-risque de 75 000 $ dans la série télévisée de CBC « Dragons’ Den ».

Sur la voie de la réussite, Mme Stegemann a trouvé que le programme Femmes d’affaires en commerce international (FACI) et le Service des délégués commerciaux (SDC) étaient des partenaires idéaux. Chaque équipe lui a prodigué l’aide dont elle avait besoin pour trouver des acheteurs et promouvoir ses parfums en Amérique du Nord, en Europe et en Australie. Sa ligne de parfums est maintenant disponible dans les magasins de la Baie d’Hudson au Canada, dans les boutiques Sephora aux États-Unis, et dans des grands magasins de luxe au Royaume-Uni et en Allemagne.

Mme Stegemann estime que l’équipe de FACI et du SDC a joué un rôle essentiel dans le succès de sa société. « Je n’aurais jamais osé me rendre dans un pays étranger sans leur appui. J’ai été très impressionnée par toute l’organisation. »

Entrepreneure Barb Stegemann, PDG et fondatrice de la société The 7 Virtues Beauty
Entrepreneure Barb Stegemann, PDG et fondatrice de la société The 7 Virtues Beauty

Le conseil de Mme Stegemann aux entrepreneures

« Faites appel à votre réseau pour obtenir de l’aide. L’équipe de FACI et le Service des délégués commerciaux ont largement contribué à notre croissance et à notre expansion. Ils ont beaucoup plus de poids que moi quand ils contactent un client. »

Barb Stegemann, PDG et fondatrice

Conquérez le marché mondial avec nos délégués commerciaux

Les délégués commerciaux de FACI peuvent vous aider à vous préparer à l’exportation, à trouver des acheteurs à l’étranger et à régler des difficultés. Étant donné que nous faisons partie du Service des délégués commerciaux (SDC), nous pouvons compter sur des experts sur le terrain dans plus de 160 villes dans le monde. Nous pouvons vous donner accès à un réseau mondial, à une expertise sectorielle et à des connaissances locales. Écrivez-nous (faci@international.gc.ca) dès aujourd’hui.

Partagez vos histoires

Nous sommes toujours à la recherche de femmes d'affaires accomplies. Si vous avez reçu de l'aide de Femmes d’affaires en commerce international (FACI) et du Service des délégués commerciaux (SDC), envoyez-nous un courriel à faci@international.gc.ca pour partager vos histoires.

Liens connexes

Communiquez avec FACI

Pour des réponses ou du soutien

Tenez-vous informées

Participez à la conversation

Date de modification: