Language selection

Search

Business introductions and market intelligence fuel consultancy’s growth

Marie-Josée Lavoie founded GreenCompete in 2008 to help companies market their green products or find green partners and suppliers. The company has expanded into the United States and China with assistance from Business Women in International Trade (BWIT).

Entrepreneur: Marie-Josée Lavoie, CEO and founder
Company: GreenCompete Inc.
Founded: 2008
Industry: Professional services
Location: Ottawa, ON
Services used: Business Women in International Trade, women-focused trade missions
 

Lavoie took part in her first women-focused trade mission with BWIT in 2018. She travelled to the Women's Business Enterprise National Council (WBENC) National Conference & Business Fair in Detroit, U.S.

“The trade mission was excellent. I only wish I’d done one sooner,” she says. “BWIT supported me from start to finish. The team connected me with various companies and raised the profile of my business.”

She adds: “There’s an advantage to travelling with other women-owned businesses. We have a special synergy and comradery, and we can learn so much from each other.”

Lavoie is negotiating contracts with several multinationals as a result of the mission, and she plans to attend WBENC again in 2019. She is also working closely with BWIT to gain market knowledge and connections in China, where GreenCompete aims to increase its exports.

Entrepreneur Marie-Josée Lavoie, CEO and founder of GreenCompete Inc.
Entrepreneur Marie-Josée Lavoie, CEO and founder of GreenCompete Inc.

Lavoie’s advice to women entrepreneurs

“BWIT services are the fastest way for women entrepreneurs to enter an international market. They have a strong team – not only in Ottawa, but around the world – which provides business intelligence and connections. The BWIT monthly newsletter is also an excellent way to hear about events, best practices and government programs.”

Marie-Josée Lavoie, CEO and founder

Explore new markets with BWIT

Women-focused trade missions are designed to help you scope out new markets and meet international partners. You’ll benefit from the advice and assistance of our trade commissioners before, during and after the trade mission. Find out more about our upcoming women-focused trade missions.

Share your stories with us

We’re always looking to feature accomplished business women who have received help from Business Women in International Trade (BWIT) and the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service (TCS). Email us at bwit@international.gc.ca to share your stories.

Related links

Connect with BWIT

For questions or support

Stay informed

Join the conversation

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Un cabinet-conseil prend son envol grâce à des présentations d’affaires et des renseignements commerciaux

Marie-Josée Lavoie a fondé GreenCompete en 2008 pour aider des entreprises à commercialiser des produits écologiques ou à trouver des partenaires et fournisseurs écologiques. La société a percé les marchés américain et chinois avec l’aide de Femmes d’affaires en commerce international (FACI).

Entrepreneure : Marie-Josée Lavoie, PDG et fondatrice
Société : GreenCompete Inc.
Fondée en : 2008
Industrie : Services professionnels
Lieu : Ottawa (Ontario)
Services utilisés : Femmes d’affaires en commerce international; missions commerciales axées sur les femmes
 

C’est en 2018 que Mme Lavoie a participé pour la première fois à une mission commerciale axée sur les femmes de FACI. Cette mission se rendait à la conférence et foire commerciale annuelle du Women’s Business Enterprise National Council (WBENC), à Détroit, aux États-Unis.

« La mission commerciale a été formidable – j’aurais dû y participer plus tôt, raconte-t-elle. FACI m’a aidé du début à la fin. L’équipe m’a mise en contact avec différentes entreprises et a fait la promotion de mon entreprise. »

Elle ajoute : « On gagne à voyager avec d’autres entrepreneures, il y a une synergie et une camaraderie uniques entre femmes, et nous apprenons beaucoup les unes des autres. »

Grâce à cette mission, Mme Lavoie est en train de négocier des contrats avec plusieurs multinationales, et elle prévoit participer à nouveau au WBENC en 2019. De plus, elle travaille étroitement avec FACI pour mieux connaître le marché chinois et trouver des contacts là-bas, car GreenCompete aimerait également exporter sur ce marché.

Entrepreneure Marie-Josée Lavoie, PDG et fondatrice de GreenCompete Inc.
Entrepreneure Marie-Josée Lavoie, PDG et fondatrice de GreenCompete Inc.

Le conseil de Mme Lavoie aux entrepreneures

« En recourant aux services de FACI, les entrepreneures peuvent efficacement percer de nouveaux marchés internationaux. Elles ont une équipe solide – pas seulement à Ottawa, mais dans le monde entier – qui fournit des renseignements commerciaux et établit des contacts. Le bulletin mensuel d’information de FACI est également une excellente source de renseignements sur les événements, pratiques exemplaires et programmes du gouvernement. »

Marie-Josée Lavoie, PDG et fondatrice

Explorez de nouveaux marchés avec FACI

Les missions commerciales axées sur les femmes sont conçues pour vous aider à délimiter de nouveaux marchés et rencontrer des partenaires internationaux. Vous profiterez des conseils et de l’aide de nos délégués commerciaux avant, pendant et après la mission. Renseignez-vous sur les prochaines missions commerciales axées sur les femmes.

Partagez vos histoires

Nous sommes toujours à la recherche de femmes d'affaires accomplies. Si vous avez reçu de l'aide de Femmes d’affaires en commerce international (FACI) et du Service des délégués commerciaux (SDC), envoyez-nous un courriel à faci@international.gc.ca pour partager vos histoires.

Liens connexes

Communiquez avec FACI

Pour des réponses ou du soutien

Tenez-vous informées

Participez à la conversation

Date de modification: