Language selection

Search

Funding programs help entrepreneur expand to Europe

Overlap Associates is a strategy firm that conducts qualitative research to help clients solve problems. The business has adopted the motto “better is absolutely possible”. It’s this ambitious approach – coupled with support from Business Women in International Trade (BWIT) – that fuelled the company’s international growth.

Entrepreneur: Lisa Grogan, President and co-founder
Company: Overlap Associates
Founded: 2011
Industry: Professional services
Location: Kitchener, ON
Services used: Business Women in International Trade, women-focused trade missions, CanExport
 

In 2018, President Lisa Grogan sought support from BWIT as she prepared to open a U.K. office. The entrepreneur joined a BWIT women-focused trade mission to Europe. On BWIT’s advice, Grogan applied for and secured CanExport funding for her travel expenses.

Grogan was pleased to find that the mission included presentations on the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA). This free trade agreement eliminates 98% of tariffs between Canada and the European Union.

“I feel a lot more informed and excited about the opportunities it offers,” she says.

She also appreciated the chance to network with other Canadian women entrepreneurs. “It was a great dynamic. We all really bonded and shared knowledge.”

Entrepreneur Lisa Grogan, President and co-founder of Overlap Associates
Entrepreneur Lisa Grogan, President and co-founder of Overlap Associates

Grogan’s advice to women entrepreneurs

“There’s tremendous value in understanding Canada’s place in the global market. BWIT really understands what it’s like to embark on trading outside of Canada. They can connect you with funding programs like CanExport, which I never would have heard of otherwise.”

Lisa Grogan, President and co-founder

Find funding for your business’ international growth

BWIT is a great source of information about financial assistance to help your business diversify, expand and innovate. You can browse national and regional programs on our financing and funding page.

Share your stories with us

We’re always looking to feature accomplished business women who have received help from Business Women in International Trade (BWIT) and the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service (TCS). Email us at bwit@international.gc.ca to share your stories.

Related links

Connect with BWIT

For questions or support

Stay informed

Join the conversation

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Une entrepreneure perce sur le marché européen grâce à des programmes commerciaux

Overlap Associates est un cabinet de stratégie qui mène des recherches qualitatives pour aider ses clients à résoudre des problèmes. La devise de l’entreprise est « il est absolument possible de faire mieux ». C’est cette approche ambitieuse – conjuguée au soutien de Femmes d’affaires en commerce international (FACI) – qui lui a permis de percer à l’étranger.

Entrepreneure : Lisa Grogan, présidente et cofondatrice
Société : Overlap Associates
Fondée en : 2011
Industrie : Services professionnels
Lieu : Kitchener (Ontario)
Services utilisés : Femmes d’affaires en commerce international, missions commerciales axées sur les femmes, CanExport
 

En 2018, la présidente, Lisa Grogan, a demandé l’aide de FACI pour ouvrir un bureau au Royaume-Uni. L’entrepreneure a participé à une mission commerciale axée sur les femmes de FACI qui se rendait en Europe. Elle a suivi les conseils de FACI et fait une demande de financement à CanExport pour couvrir ses frais de voyage et elle a obtenu des fonds.

Mme Grogan était heureuse de constater que la mission comprenait des présentations sur l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada et l'Union européenne. Cet accord de libre-échange élimine 98 % des tarifs sur les échanges commerciaux entre le Canada et l’Union européenne. « Je me sens mieux informée et stimulée par les occasions qui s’offrent en Europe », dit-elle.

Elle a également aimé pouvoir réseauter avec d’autres entrepreneures canadiennes. « La dynamique était formidable. Nous avons créé des liens et partagé nos connaissances. »

Entrepreneure Lisa Grogan, présidente et cofondatrice de Overlap Associates
Entrepreneure Lisa Grogan, présidente et cofondatrice de Overlap Associates

Le conseil de Mme Grogan aux entrepreneures

« Il est vraiment très utile de comprendre la place du Canada sur le marché mondial. FACI comprend vraiment tous les tenants et aboutissants du commerce hors de nos frontières. L’équipe vous met en contact avec des programmes de financement comme CanExport, dont je n’aurais jamais entendu parler autrement. »

Lisa Grogan, présidente et cofondatrice

Trouvez le financement nécessaire à votre expansion à l’étranger

FACI est une formidable source de renseignements au sujet de l’aide financière disponible pour aider votre entreprise à se diversifier, à se développer et à innover. Vous pouvez explorer les programmes nationaux et régionaux sur notre page consacrée aux sources de financement.

Partagez vos histoires

Nous sommes toujours à la recherche de femmes d'affaires accomplies. Si vous avez reçu de l'aide de Femmes d’affaires en commerce international (FACI) et du Service des délégués commerciaux (SDC), envoyez-nous un courriel à faci@international.gc.ca pour partager vos histoires.

Liens connexes

Communiquez avec FACI

Pour des réponses ou du soutien

Tenez-vous informées

Participez à la conversation

Date de modification: