Language selection

Search

Networking gives food business the sweet taste of success

Tara Bosch is helping consumers kick sugar and keep candy. The entrepreneur began testing recipes in her kitchen before dropping out of university at the age of 22 to pursue the venture at an incubator.

Entrepreneur: Tara Bosch, CEO and founder
Company: SmartSweets
Founded: 2016
Industry: Food
Location: Vancouver, BC
Services used: Business Women in International Trade, women-focused trade missions, Trade Commissioner Service
 

“I wanted to empower people with the choice to kick sugar,” explains Bosch. She founded SmartSweets in 2016, and now sells gummy bears across North America in 11,000 stores, including Whole Foods & GNC stores nation-wide in the U.S.

Bosch’s ingredients for success include:

  • persistence
  • social media marketing
  • networking with organizations like Business Women in International Trade (BWIT)

Bosch caught BWIT’s attention when she appeared on CBC’s Dragons’ Den in 2017. She was introduced to a member of the BWIT team shortly afterwards at a WEConnect International conference in Toronto.

BWIT connected Bosch with trade commissioners in Boston, Los Angeles, Dallas, Seattle and Europe. This gave SmartSweets access to local market knowledge and business contacts through the worldwide network of Trade Commissioner Service (TCS) offices.

Bosch has also attended BWIT women-focused trade missions to Detroit and Florida. This helped her explore the U.S. market first-hand.

Entrepreneur Tara Bosch, CEO and founder of SmartSweets
Entrepreneur Tara Bosch, CEO and founder of SmartSweets

Bosch’s advice to women entrepreneurs

“It’s all about connecting and finding resources. I started looking for contacts who had expertise. I worked hard to address my knowledge gap. I took a crash business course and the woman who gave it became my mentor.”

Tara Bosch, CEO and founder

Go global with our trade commissioners

BWIT trade commissioners can help you prepare to export, find international buyers and troubleshoot issues. We’re part of the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service (TCS), which has people on the ground in over 160 cities. Working with us will give you access to a global network, sector-specific expertise and local knowledge. Email us (bwit@international.gc.ca) today.

Share your stories with us

We’re always looking to feature accomplished business women who have received help from Business Women in International Trade (BWIT) and the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service (TCS). Email us at bwit@international.gc.ca to share your stories.

Related links

Connect with BWIT

For questions or support

Stay informed

Join the conversation

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Une entreprise du secteur alimentaire goûte à la douceur du succès

Tara Bosch aide des consommateurs à se débarrasser du sucre tout en gardant les friandises. L’entrepreneure a commencé par tester des recettes dans sa cuisine avant d’abandonner ses études universitaires à l’âge de 22 ans pour poursuivre l’aventure dans un incubateur.

Entrepreneure : Tara Bosch, PDG et fondatrice
Société : SmartSweets
Fondée en : 2016
Industrie : Alimentaire
Lieu : Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)
Services utilisés : Femmes d’affaires en commerce international, missions commerciales axées sur les femmes, Service des délégués commerciaux
 

« Je voulais donner le pourvoir et le choix aux gens de se débarrasser du sucre », explique Mme Bosch. Elle a fondé SmartSweet en 2016 et vend maintenant des oursons en gélatine partout en Amérique du Nord dans 11 000 magasins, y compris dans des magasins Whole Foods et GNC partout aux États-Unis.

Les ingrédients du succès de Mme Bosch comprennent :

  • la persistance;
  • le marketing dans les médias sociaux; et
  • le réseautage avec des organisations comme Femmes d’affaires en commerce international (FACI).

Mme Bosch a attiré l’attention de FACI lorsqu’elle a fait une apparition à l’émission Dragons’ Den de la CBC, en 2017. Elle a été présentée à un membre de l’équipe FACI peu de temps après, lors de la conférence WeConnect International, à Toronto.

FACI a mis Mme Bosch en contact avec des délégués commerciaux situés à Boston, Los Angeles, Dallas, Seattle et en Europe. Grâce au réseau mondial du Service des délégués commerciaux (SDC), SmartSweets a ainsi eu accès à des renseignements sur les marchés locaux et à des contacts commerciaux.

Mme Bosch a également participé à des missions commerciales axées sur les femmes de FACI à Détroit et en Floride. Celles-ci l’ont aidé à explorer de près le marché américain.

Entrepreneure Tara Bosch, PDG et fondatrice de SmartSweets
Entrepreneure Tara Bosch, PDG et fondatrice de SmartSweets

Le conseil de Mme Bosch aux entrepreneures

« Il s’agit surtout de créer des contacts et de trouver les ressources. J’ai commencé par trouver les personnes-ressources qui avaient de l’expertise. J’ai travaillé fort pour combler les lacunes dans mes connaissances. J’ai suivi un cours de commerce intensif et mon enseignante est devenue ma mentore. »

Tara Bosch, PDG et fondatrice

Conquérez le marché mondial avec nos délégués commerciaux

Les délégués commerciaux de FACI peuvent vous aider à vous préparer à l’exportation, à trouver des acheteurs à l’étranger et à régler des difficultés. Étant donné que nous faisons partie du Service des délégués commerciaux (SDC), nous pouvons compter sur des experts sur le terrain dans plus de 160 villes dans le monde. Nous pouvons vous donner accès à un réseau mondial, à une expertise sectorielle et à des connaissances locales. Écrivez-nous (faci@international.gc.ca) dès aujourd’hui.

Partagez vos histoires

Nous sommes toujours à la recherche de femmes d'affaires accomplies. Si vous avez reçu de l'aide de Femmes d’affaires en commerce international (FACI) et du Service des délégués commerciaux (SDC), envoyez-nous un courriel à faci@international.gc.ca pour partager vos histoires.

Liens connexes

Communiquez avec FACI

Pour des réponses ou du soutien

Tenez-vous informées

Participez à la conversation

Date de modification: