Language selection

Search

Ending impunity for sexual and gender-based violence


A dozen people are gathered around a water hand-pump

Country: Democratic Republic of Congo © Catianne Tijerina, UN Women

When her husband was arrested during the 2015 political crisis, Luscie, 32, fled Bujumbura province in Burundi with her eight children, with only the clothes on their backs. Since then they have been refugees at the Lusenda camp in DRC.

Canada’s funding for UN Women has supported the deployment of expert investigators and advisors to collect evidence showing how sexual violence was used as a tool of genocide against the Yazidi community of Iraq and as a tactic to terrorize and control victims and their communities in the Kasai region of the DRC. Experts have also documented sexual violence against men and boys as a tactic for interrogation in detention centres, and against LGBTQ2I individuals in Yemen and Syria.

With the support of UN Women, the Independent International Commission of Inquiry on the Syrian Arab Republic has documented the multiple rights violations against Syrian women, children and men, and the unprecedented levels of suffering they continue to face over the course of the nearly nine-year-long war. By supporting these efforts, Canada is leading the way within the international community to stop these crimes and hold perpetrators to account. 

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Mettre fin à l’impunité dans les dossiers de violence sexuelle et fondée sur le genre


A dozen people are gathered around a water hand-pump

Country: Democratic Republic of Congo © Catianne Tijerina, UN Women

Lorsque son mari a été arrêté pendant la crise politique de 2015, Luscie, 32 ans, a fui la province de Bujumbura au Burundi avec ses huit enfants, avec seulement les vêtements qu’ils portaient. Depuis lors, ils sont réfugiés au camp de Lusenda en RDC.

Le financement offert par le Canada à ONU Femmes a facilité le déploiement d’enquêteurs et de conseillers experts chargés de recueillir des preuves montrant comment la violence sexuelle a été utilisée comme outil de génocide contre la communauté yésidie d’Irak et comme tactique pour terroriser et contrôler les victimes et leurs communautés dans la région du Kasaï en RDC. Les experts ont également mis en lumière les violences sexuelles commises contre des hommes et des garçons comme tactique d’interrogatoire dans des centres de détention, et contre des personnes LGBTQ2I au Yémen et en Syrie.

Avec le soutien d’ONU Femmes, la Commission d'enquête internationale indépendante sur la République arabe syrienne (en anglais) a attesté les multiples violations des droits des femmes, des enfants et des hommes syriens, ainsi que les niveaux de souffrance sans précédent auxquels ils continuent de faire face au cours de cette guerre qui dure depuis près de neuf ans. En soutenant ces efforts, le Canada agit à titre de chef de file de la communauté internationale pour mettre fin à ces crimes et demander des comptes à leurs auteurs.

Date de modification: