Language selection

Search

Women’s Voice and Leadership: Standing up for an equal future in a COVID-19 world


Canada is an ally of women’s rights organizations and movements, helping to amplify their voices around the world by investing $182 million in the initiative.

Just as many of our health, education or social service organizations have been overwhelmed with increased needs in Canada, so too women’s rights organizations have seen increased needs from women who can’t buy food for their families or who are experiencing violence. The flexible funding from the WVL initiative helps to meet their needs.

In Canada and around the world, an estimated 1 in 3 women will experience physical or sexual abuse in her lifetime. There has been an alarming upsurge in domestic violence because of the COVID-19 pandemic. UN Women has attributed this rise to isolation with abusers, movement restrictions, cramped living conditions and security, and worries about health and money.

The pandemic has highlighted the uneven burden carried by women, particularly in the Global South.

Women are on the front lines of the COVID-19 crisis, working in health care as caregivers and community organizers. But this very truth also provides a path forward in facing the pandemic and the underlying inequality, because women are effective community leaders.

That is why Canada’s Women’s Voice and Leadership (WVL) initiative supports grassroots organizations that advance women’s rights, especially those working with vulnerable and marginalized women and girls, including LGBTQ+ communities.

For International Women’s Day, we profile four dynamic women whose efforts are supported by the program in Nigeria, Honduras, Sri Lanka and South Africa. From empowering rural women and fighting danger to giving women a voice in their communities and pathways out of poverty, their dedication and activism change lives.

Vivian Efem-Bassey: Empowering rural women to stand up for their rights in Nigeria

Vivian Efem-Bassey discovered the women’s rights movement and her drive to help others at an early age. “In university, my friend introduced me to the youth wing of Women in Nigeria, one of the first feminist movements in Nigeria,” she explains.

She didn’t pick an easy path and she has faced a lot of pushback over the years, but she uses every opportunity to educate people.

"My father at some point was concerned that I might not get married,” she says.

Vivian Efem-Bassey

Vivian Efem-Bassey

“It’s challenging being a feminist and a women’s rights advocate in Nigeria,” says Vivian, who prefers to go by her first name. “People generally assume that feminists are angry women, either divorced or unmarried, who have a vendetta against men and are out to emasculate them and take over leadership. However, we are changing the narrative by involving them in related interventions that give them clarity and help them understand why we should all be feminists.”

Vivian’s passion and drive to lift people up have carried over to this day as project coordinator (South) with ActionAid Nigeria on WVL – Nigeria. It works with about 120 women’s rights organizations, 72 of which are community-based.

“Many of these are women’s organizations located in rural communities, which are addressing sexual gender-based violence issues,” she says. “Women’s rights organizations provide support to survivors of sexual and gender-based violence. The idea is that once the women are economically empowered, they can sever links with their perpetrators and become independent.”

“It is about leaving to live,” Vivian says.

The economic issue has worsened for a lot of women during the COVID-19 pandemic and the lockdown that came with it. But it has also provided the opportunity to empower vulnerable people.

“My favourite example is the petty traders in some markets in Lagos state,” says Vivian.

“These women sell their goods by the side of the road or in markets. When the COVID-19 pandemic came along and the state went on lockdown, these women’s businesses came to a standstill. They had previously lived on their day-to-day profit and it was now gone.”

Vivian says that like in most countries around the world, suddenly most trade was happening on the Internet, but these women had no clue as to how to go about this. Some of them were stuck at home with violent partners with nowhere to go and no daily income.

“With the physical space shut down, everyone went online on Instagram or Facebook and these women didn’t know how,” says Vivian. “Through the WVL project, our partners trained them once the lockdown was lifted and they were provided with the information and skills required to start selling online, even if only by text or WhatsApp messaging. This widened their customer base and they are now better prepared.”

These women are empowered, says Vivian. “They are enlightened, they know what they are doing, and they have the knowledge to fight for their rights.”

Vivian says the WVL initiative and Canada’s Feminist International Assistance Policy have lined up with her own mission and drive, and this encourages her to do more.

Cristina Alvarado: Fighting danger and discrimination in Honduras

Cristina Alvarado learned early about the social conditions that leave women vulnerable to violence in her native Honduras, having been sexually abused by her stepfather as a teenager. She fled home without even the support of her mother, herself a victim of domestic abuse, and felt powerless to fight the culture of danger and discrimination for women all around her.

She didn’t remain that way.

Christina Alvarado

Christina Alvarado

Alvarado trained as a social worker and therapist and by her 30s had become a committed feminist. “I started to understand the situation that leaves women struggling with inequality in this society,” she recalls. “I was also able to heal myself and heal my relationship with my mother.”

She joined the Visitación Padilla Women’s Movement for Peace, an organization that promotes and protects the rights of Honduran women and girls whose lives have been affected by violence. It is named for Visitación Padilla, an educator and feminist activist in the country in the early 1900s.

Today Alvarado heads a program there that provides legal and emotional assistance to survivors of violencia machista or sexist violence. She counsels them, champions the cause in national forums and draws attention to the country’s staggering levels of femicide, the killing of women because of their gender.

The COVID-19 pandemic and two hurricanes that ripped through Honduras last year increased levels of violence against women significantly, says Alvarado. There were 103,063 emergency calls involving domestic violence in 2020, and “only a small fraction led to criminal complaints and convictions.” She notes that from January 1 to February 15 of this year, 33 women were violently murdered in Honduras.

Alvarado has assisted survivors of violence such as Nancy, who says she finally left a nine-year abusive relationship after Alvarado “helped me discover my value, my potential, my heart and my light.” The two met virtually given the COVID-19 lockdown, says Alvarado, noting that the organization’s digital presence has been enhanced through the WVL - Honduras project, which is implemented by Oxfam-Québec. WVL supports its online conferences and workshops and promotes “cyber-activism” by young feminists trained in themes of violence and feminist leadership using social media.

Alvarado hopes close relations between Canada and Honduras will bring “mutual learning” between the two countries. She’s encouraged to hear the voices of a new generation of Honduran women emerging, as well as to see new ways of thinking that respect diversity and build the capacity of women to “change our lives.”

There continue to be bad days—such as a horrible one in the first days of February, when 5 women were found dead from domestic violence—although Alvarado is optimistic.

“The situation is difficult,” she allows. “But the last thing I will lose is hope.”

Aneesa Firthous: Giving women a voice in Sri Lanka

As a primary school teacher in Sri Lanka, Aneesa Firthous saw how the mothers of her students struggled with economic insecurity, social isolation and legal discrimination. Motivated to help her Muslim community of Kattankudy in the country’s eastern district of Batticaloa, in 2000 she co-founded a group dedicated to righting these inequalities.

Aneesa Firthous

Aneesa Firthous

Three years later, it registered as a formal organization, the Islamic Women’s Association for Research and Empowerment, or IWARE, and got busy helping women and girls amid “one problem after another,” Firthous recalls. These ranged from the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami, which brought hardships as entire neighbourhoods of Kattankudy were devastated and resettled, to the 2019 Easter Sunday bombings by Islamic extremists, which left the families of suspected terrorists in the town ostracized.

Firthous quit her job in 2012 to devote all her time to IWARE. Today she’s president of the organization, which campaigns for progressive reforms in Sri Lanka. For instance, it has lobbied for 10 years to change the Muslim Marriage and Divorce Act (1951), the main law governing marriage and family matters in Muslim communities in the country. It sets the “marriageable” age of women at 12 years old, does not require the consent of brides to marry and does not allow women to be judges, jurors or other representatives in Quazi, or family, court.

“Women have no voice and they can’t argue their rights,” says Firthous. She feels the problem for many women is that they marry and have children young and are then abandoned by their husbands, at which point they’re uneducated and unemployable.

She says IWARE has had some success arguing for reforms to the act, with an announcement expected soon by the government on the matter. In this and other efforts, she is grateful for the support of WVL - Sri Lanka. It helps IWARE train volunteer “change-makers” in progressive Islamic perspectives, who offer the women and girls of Kattankudy emotional and social support. These “befrienders” especially focus on counter-radicalization activities in the community, Firthous says.

She appreciates the encouragement of her husband and her extended family for her activism, and she is especially inspired by her 23-year-old daughter, who is studying to become a lawyer, with a focus on human rights.

IWARE faces criticism and threats for its progressive leadership, Firthous says. And the COVID-19 crisis has brought significant challenges, reducing women’s informal employment, increasing domestic violence and causing girls to drop out of school. WVL provides funds so IWARE can raise awareness of COVID-19 safety, distribute hygiene kits and offer stipends to women who are most affected.

Firthous is proud that her organization is “supporting women to be strong,” talking about different social perspectives, contributing to new mindsets and gaining a presence politically. “We are looking forward to more success,” she says.

Ncazelo Nucbe-Mlilo: Telling a second story for healing from trauma, violence and abuse

Ncazelo Nucbe-Mlilo works with a team of counsellors, psychologists and social workers in South Africa to help people who have been through hardships to find hope.

“We help them step into what we call the second stories of their lives, stories that can be sustaining of people. We acknowledge the hardship, but step into a reawakening of the sense of myself.”

Ncazelo Nucbe-Mlilo

Ncazelo Nucbe-Mlilo

Nucbe-Mlilo says she has seen many success stories in her time, but one in particular stands out.

“Sarah first came to one of our sessions and I couldn’t even see her eyes, she was hurting and struggling with the effects of abuse in her life. She had gone through a lot of difficulties and was really feeling distraught and hopeless, and also struggling with poverty as a single mother.”

Sarah’s journey involved going through 10 sessions of the Phola COURRAGE program, which was developed in 2014.

“Soon she had found her voice and began to appreciate that she was a survivor and that there were a lot of possibilities for her life,” says Nucbe-Mlilo. “She started to appreciate that she was not alone and that she had important relationships in her life that have helped her to survive hardship and abuse.”

Nucbe-Mlilo says Sarah’s story brought her to a connection with her grandmother, a strong woman who raised 12 grandchildren on her own.

“She gave so much of her life and sacrificed so much. So Sarah started to think ‘My grandmother gave me so much and had so many dreams for my life. I want to take care of myself. For a long time, I have kept anger and it has destroyed me. I always think about the abuse and the struggles but now I see so much beauty in my life.”

Nucbe-Mlilo says Sarah’s daughter is now part of the team helping other women. She describes this as an amazing story of overcoming hardship.

“That for me stands out because I have such a vivid picture of where she started and the transformation she has experienced.”

Nucbe-Mlilo says the team’s approach honours the knowledge and skills that people who have been affected by trauma and hardships have.

“We help them to have a voice and to be authors of their own stories and address issues that are challenging to them,” she says. “We really believe in community, in social connectedness. Tackling guilt and shame that go with violence and trauma helps them to find ways to create pathways out of poverty.”

With funding from the WVL initiative, her team has scaled up using a narrative approach to reach women and girls who have experienced gender-based violence.

“We have converted caravans into mobile counselling units so they don’t have to struggle to get the help they need. We go to their spaces and schools, to women’s shelters and communities so we can be there to help them deal with their struggles.”

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Voix et leadership des femmes : défendre un avenir égal dans le contexte de la COVID-19


Le Canada est un allié des organisations et des mouvements de défense des droits des femmes. Il contribue à mieux faire entendre leur voix partout dans le monde en investissant 182 millions de dollars dans l’initiative Voix et leadership des femmes (VLF).

À l’instar de bon nombre de nos organismes de santé, d’éducation ou de services sociaux qui ont été submergés en raison des besoins accrus au Canada, les organisations de défense des droits des femmes ont elles aussi constaté une augmentation des demandes de la part de femmes qui ne sont pas en mesure d’acheter de la nourriture pour leur famille ou qui sont victimes de violence. Le financement souple de l’initiative VLF les aide à répondre à leurs besoins.

Au Canada et partout dans le monde, on estime que 1 femme sur 3 subira de la violence physique ou sexuelle au cours de sa vie. On note une recrudescence alarmante de la violence conjugale en raison de la pandémie de COVID-19. ONU Femmes a attribué cette augmentation à l’isolement des personnes avec leurs agresseurs, aux restrictions des déplacements, aux conditions de vie exiguës et aux préoccupations liées à la sécurité, à la santé et à l’argent.

La pandémie a mis en évidence le fardeau inégal porté par les femmes, plus particulièrement dans les pays du Sud.

En tant que travailleuses de la santé, soignantes et organisatrices communautaires, les femmes sont aux premières lignes de la crise de la COVID-19. Mais cette réalité fournit aussi une voie à suivre pour faire face à la pandémie et aux inégalités sous-jacentes, car les femmes sont des leaders communautaires efficaces.

C’est pour cette raison que l’initiative Voix et leadership des femmes (VLF) du Canada appuie les organisations locales qui font progresser les droits des femmes, plus particulièrement celles qui travaillent avec les femmes et les filles vulnérables et marginalisées, y compris les communautés LGBTQ+.

À l’occasion de la Journée internationale des femmes, nous vous présentons quatre femmes dynamiques dont les efforts sont soutenus par l’initiative VLF au Nigéria, au Honduras, au Sri Lanka et en Afrique du Sud. Qu’il s’agisse de renforcer le pouvoir des femmes en milieu rural, de lutter contre le danger, de donner la parole aux femmes dans leur communauté ou encore de leur offrir des voies pour sortir de la pauvreté, leur dévouement et leur militantisme changent des vies.

Vivian Efem-Bassey : Renforcer le pouvoir des femmes en région rurale pour qu’elles puissent défendre leurs droits au Nigéria

Vivian Efem-Bassey était encore très jeune quand elle a découvert le mouvement en faveur des droits des femmes et éprouvé le désir d’aider les autres. « À l’université, mon amie m’a fait découvrir l’aile jeunesse de Women in Nigeria, un des premiers mouvements féministes du Nigéria », explique-t-elle.

Vivian n’a pas choisi un chemin facile et a dû faire face à beaucoup de résistance au fil des ans, mais elle saisit toutes les occasions qui se présentent pour éduquer les gens.

« Mon père, à un moment donné, s’est inquiété du fait que je ne me marierais peut-être pas », dit-elle.

Vivian Efem-Bassey

Vivian Efem-Bassey

« C’est difficile d’être féministe et de défendre les droits des femmes au Nigéria », déclare Vivian, qui préfère se faire appeler par son prénom. Les gens pensent généralement que les féministes sont des femmes en colère, divorcées ou célibataires, qui ont une dent contre les hommes et qui cherchent à les émasculer et à prendre le pouvoir. Cependant, nous changeons la donne en les faisant participer à des interventions connexes qui les éclairent et qui les aident à comprendre pourquoi nous devrions tous être des féministes. »

La passion et la volonté de Vivian d’encourager les gens se poursuivent encore aujourd’hui, puisqu’elle est maintenant coordinatrice du projet Voix et leadership des femmes – Nigéria (VLF – Nigéria) pour ActionAid Nigéria. Ce projet est mené de concert avec quelque 120 organisations de défense des droits des femmes, dont 72 sont des organisations à l’échelle communautaire.

« Plusieurs de ces organisations de défense des droits des femmes sont situées dans des communautés rurales et s’attaquent aux problèmes de la violence sexuelle et fondée sur le genre, explique Vivian. Elles apportent un soutien aux victimes de violence sexuelle et sexiste. L’idée est qu’une fois que les femmes sont économiquement autonomes, elles peuvent couper les liens avec leurs agresseurs et devenir indépendantes. »

« Il s’agit de partir pour pouvoir vivre », ajoute-t-elle.

Pour beaucoup de femmes, la situation économique s’est aggravée pendant la pandémie de COVID-19 et le confinement qui en a découlé. Mais la pandémie a aussi été une occasion de donner du pouvoir aux personnes vulnérables.

« Mon exemple préféré est celui des petits commerçants de marchés de l’État de Lagos », explique Vivian.

« Ce sont des femmes qui vendent leurs marchandises au bord de la route ou au marché. Lorsque la pandémie a frappé et que le confinement a été imposé dans l’État, leurs petites entreprises se sont retrouvées au point mort. Ces femmes vivaient auparavant de leurs bénéfices quotidiens, et ceux-ci venaient de disparaître. »

Vivian explique que, comme presque dans tous les pays du monde, la plupart des échanges commerciaux ont d’un seul coup commencé à se faire sur Internet, mais que ces femmes n’avaient aucune idée de la manière de procéder. Certaines étaient coincées à la maison avec des partenaires violents, sans endroit où aller et sans revenu quotidien.

« Lorsque l’espace physique s’est fermé, tout le monde est allé en ligne sur Instagram ou sur Facebook, mais ces femmes ne savaient pas comment le faire, explique Viviane. Grâce au projet VLF – Nigéria, nos partenaires les ont formées une fois le confinement levé et leur ont fourni les informations et les compétences nécessaires pour commencer à vendre en ligne, même si c’est seulement par SMS ou sur l’appli WhatsApp. Cela a élargi leur base de clients, et elles sont maintenant mieux préparées. »

« Ces femmes ont un certain pouvoir, déclare Vivian. Elles sont informées, elles savent ce qu’elles font et elles ont les connaissances nécessaires pour défendre leurs droits. »

Selon Vivian, l’initiative Voix et leadership des femmes et la Politique d’aide internationale féministe du Canada s’inscrivent dans sa propre mission et son propre dynamisme, ce qui l’encourage à en faire encore plus.

Cristina Alvarado : Lutter contre les dangers et la discrimination au Honduras

Cristina Alvarado a connu très tôt les conditions sociales qui rendent les femmes vulnérables à la violence dans son pays natal, le Honduras, puisqu’elle a été agressée sexuellement par son beau-père à l’adolescence. Elle s’est enfuie de chez elle sans l’aide de sa mère, qui était elle-même victime de violence conjugale, et se sentait impuissante dans la lutte contre la culture du danger et de la discrimination auxquels étaient exposées les femmes tout autour d’elle.

Aujourd’hui, elle ne se sent plus impuissante.

Christina Alvarado

Christina Alvarado

Mme Alvarado a une formation de travailleuse sociale et de thérapeute. Elle est devenue, dans la trentaine, une féministe engagée. « J’ai commencé à comprendre la situation qui laisse les femmes aux prises avec des inégalités dans cette société, se rappelle-t-elle. J’ai réussi à me guérir et à renouer avec ma mère. »

Elle s’est jointe au mouvement des femmes pour la paix Visitación Padilla, une organisation qui encourage et protège les droits des femmes et des filles honduriennes dont la vie a été touchée par la violence. Le mouvement a choisi son nom pour reconnaître Visitación Padilla, une éducatrice et militante féministe du pays au début des années 1900.

Mme Alvarado dirige maintenant un programme qui fournit une aide juridique et émotionnelle aux survivantes de « violencia machista », ou violence fondée sur le genre. Elle conseille les survivantes et défend leur cause dans les forums nationaux, en plus d’attirer l’attention sur les niveaux élevés de féminicide, c’est-à-dire les meurtres de femmes en raison de leur genre, que connaît le pays.

La pandémie de COVID-19 et les deux ouragans qui ont frappé le Honduras l’année dernière ont fait augmenter fortement les niveaux de violence envers les femmes, affirme Mme Alvarado. En 2020, il y a eu 103 063 appels d’urgence liés à la violence conjugale, dont « seul un petit nombre a abouti à des plaintes et à des condamnations pénales ». Elle fait remarquer que du 1er janvier au 15 février de cette année, 33 femmes ont été brutalement assassinées au Honduras.

Mme Alvarado a aidé des survivantes de violence comme Nancy, qui dit avoir finalement quitté une relation violente de neuf ans après que Mme Alvarado « m’a aidée à découvrir ma valeur, mon potentiel, mon cœur et ma lumière. » Mme Alvarado explique que Nancy et elle se sont rencontrées virtuellement en raison du confinement lié à la COVID-19, et elle fait remarquer que la présence numérique de l’organisation a été renforcée grâce au projet VLF – Honduras, un projet mis en œuvre par Oxfam-Québec. VLF fournit ses conférences et ateliers en ligne et fait la promotion du « cyber-militantisme » des jeunes féministes qui ont reçu une formation sur la violence, le leadership féministe et l’utilisation des médias sociaux.

Mme Alvarado espère que les relations étroites entre le Canada et le Honduras permettront un « apprentissage mutuel » entre les deux pays. Elle trouve encourageant d’entendre les voix émergentes d’une nouvelle génération de femmes honduriennes, et de voir apparaître de nouvelles façons de penser qui respectent la diversité et renforcent la capacité des femmes à « changer nos vies ».

Bien que Mme Alvarado soit optimiste, il y a encore d’horribles journées, comme celle de début février, où 5 femmes victimes de violence conjugale ont été retrouvées mortes.

« La situation est difficile, admet-elle. Mais la dernière chose que je perdrai, c’est l’espoir. »

Aneesa Firthous : Donner une voix aux femmes du Sri Lanka

En tant qu’enseignante de niveau primaire au Sri Lanka, Aneesa Firthous a pu observer la mesure dans laquelle les mères de ses élèves luttaient contre l’insécurité économique, l’isolement social et la discrimination juridique. Animée du désir d’aider sa communauté musulmane de Kattankudy, dans le district de Batticaloa à l’est du pays, elle a cofondé en 2000 un groupe qui se consacre à redresser la situation.

Aneesa Firthous

Aneesa Firthous

Trois ans plus tard, Mme Firthous a enregistré son groupe à titre d’organisation officielle, l’Association des femmes islamiques pour la recherche et l’autonomisation (IWARE), et s’est attelée à aider les femmes et les filles confrontées à « un problème à la suite de l’autre », se souvient-elle. Ces problèmes allaient du tsunami de 2004 dans l’océan Indien, qui a entraîné d’importantes difficultés alors que des quartiers entiers de Kattankudy étaient dévastés et réinstallés, aux attentats à la bombe du dimanche de Pâques de 2019 commis par des extrémistes islamiques, qui ont ostracisé les familles des terroristes présumés de la ville.

Mme Firthous a quitté son emploi en 2012 pour se consacrer entièrement à IWARE. Elle est aujourd’hui présidente de l’organisation, qui fait campagne pour des réformes progressistes au Sri Lanka. Par exemple, elle fait pression depuis 10 ans pour modifier la Muslim Marriage and Divorce Act (Loi musulmane sur le mariage et le divorce), la principale loi régissant le mariage et les questions familiales dans les communautés musulmanes du pays, qui date de 1951. Cette loi fixe l’âge « nubile » des femmes à 12 ans, n’exige pas le consentement des épouses pour se marier et n’autorise pas les femmes à être juges, jurées ou autres représentantes au Quazi, le tribunal de la famille.

« Les femmes n’ont pas de voix et ne peuvent faire valoir leurs droits », explique Mme Firthous. Selon elle, le problème pour beaucoup de femmes est qu’elles se marient et ont des enfants quand elles sont jeunes, puis sont abandonnées par leur mari. Ces femmes se retrouvent alors sans éducation et inaptes au travail.

Mme Firthous explique que le plaidoyer de IWARE en faveur de réformes de la Loi a connu un certain succès, puisque le gouvernement devrait faire une annonce prochainement à ce sujet. Elle est reconnaissante du soutien fourni par VLF dans ce dossier et dans d’autres. L’initiative aide IWARE à former des bénévoles qui sont des « artisans du changement » selon des perspectives islamiques progressistes, offrant aux femmes et aux filles de Kattankudy un soutien affectif et social. Ces « amies » mettent surtout l’accent sur les activités de lutte contre la radicalisation dans la communauté, déclare Mme Firthous.

Elle est également reconnaissante des encouragements prodigués par son mari et sa famille élargie concernant son militantisme, et elle est particulièrement inspirée par sa fille de 23 ans qui étudie pour devenir avocate, avec une spécialisation sur les droits de la personne.

IWARE fait face à des critiques et des menaces en raison de son leadership progressiste, indique Mme Firthous. De plus, la crise de COVID-19 a entraîné des défis importants : elle a réduit le nombre d’emplois informels pour les femmes, fait augmenter la violence conjugale et provoqué l’abandon scolaire chez les filles. VLF fournit des fonds à IWARE pour que l’organisation puisse sensibiliser la population à la sécurité dans le contexte de la COVID-19, distribuer des trousses d’hygiène et fournir des allocations aux femmes les plus touchées.

Mme Firthous est fière que son organisation puisse « aider les femmes à être fortes » et qu’elle aborde différentes perspectives sociales, contribue à de nouvelles mentalités et gagne une présence politique. « Nous nous réjouissons à l’idée de connaître encore plus de succès », dit-elle.

Ncazelo Nucbe-Mlilo : Raconter une seconde histoire pour guérir à la suite d’un traumatisme, de violence ou d’abus

Ncazelo Nucbe-Mlilo travaille avec une équipe de thérapeutes, de psychologues et de travailleurs sociaux en Afrique du Sud pour aider les personnes qui ont traversé des périodes difficiles à retrouver espoir.

« Nous les aidons à découvrir ce que nous appelons la seconde histoire de leur vie, une histoire qui peut leur donner la force nécessaire pour continuer. Nous reconnaissons leurs difficultés, mais les guidons dans une phase de réveil du sens de soi. »

Ncazelo Nucbe-Mlilo

Ncazelo Nucbe-Mlilo

Mme Nucbe-Mlilo affirme avoir observé beaucoup d’exemples de réussites dans sa vie, mais un exemple se démarque plus particulièrement.

« La première fois que Sarah est venue à l’une de nos séances, je ne pouvais même pas voir ses yeux; elle souffrait de maltraitance dans sa vie et luttait contre les effets connexes. Elle avait vécu beaucoup de difficultés et se sentait vraiment désemparée et désespérée. En tant que mère célibataire, elle luttait également contre la pauvreté. »

Le parcours de Sarah a consisté à suivre 10 séances du programme Phola COURRAGE, mis au point en 2014.

« Elle a rapidement trouvé sa voix et commencé à comprendre qu’elle était une survivante et que sa vie était remplie de possibilités, explique Mme Nucbe-Mlilo. Elle a commencé à comprendre qu’elle n’était pas seule et qu’elle avait des relations importantes dans sa vie, relations qui l’ont aidée à survivre aux épreuves et aux abus. »

Selon Mme Nucbe-Mlilo, l’histoire de Sarah a ramené celle-ci à sa relation avec sa grand-mère, une femme forte qui a élevé seule 12 petits-enfants.

« Elle a donné tant de sa vie et fait tant de sacrifices », a déclaré Sarah, qui s’est donc mise à penser ceci : « Ma grand-mère m’a tant donné et elle avait tant de rêves pour moi. Je veux prendre soin de moi. Pendant longtemps, j’ai accumulé de la colère et cela m’a détruite. J’ai toujours pensé aux violences et aux difficultés, mais maintenant je vois tant de beauté dans ma vie. »

Mme Nucbe-Mlilo dit que la fille de Sarah fait maintenant partie de l’équipe qui aide les autres femmes. Elle décrit cette situation comme l’histoire remarquable de quelqu’un qui a surmonté des difficultés.

« Pour moi, cette histoire se démarque parce que j’ai une image très nette de sa situation au début et de la transformation qu’elle a vécue. »

Mme Nucbe-Mlilo dit que la méthode de l’équipe reconnaît les connaissances et les compétences des personnes qui ont été touchées par des traumatismes et des difficultés.

« Nous les aidons à se faire entendre, à être les auteures de leurs propres histoires et à résoudre les problèmes qui leur posent des difficultés. Nous croyons vraiment à la communauté, aux liens sociaux et à la lutte contre la culpabilité et la honte qui accompagnent la violence et les traumatismes, car cela les aide à trouver des moyens de sortir de la pauvreté. »

Grâce à un financement de l’initiative Voix et leadership des femmes, l’équipe de Mme Nucbe-Mlilo a pu prendre de l’expansion en adoptant une démarche narrative et joindre les femmes et les filles qui ont subi des violences fondées sur le genre.

« Nous avons transformé des roulottes en unités de counseling mobiles afin que ces femmes et ces filles n’aient pas à lutter pour obtenir l’aide dont elles ont besoin. Nous nous rendons dans leur espace et leur école, ainsi que dans les foyers et les communautés pour femmes, afin de pouvoir être là pour les aider à surmonter les obstacles. »

Date de modification: