Language selection

Search

Cultural diplomacy debunked

Montage of three artworks from the collection: ceramic panels, acrylic on canvas and sculpture.

At Global Affairs Canada (GAC), we are proud ambassadors of cultural diplomacy, an approach that emphasizes art and culture as drivers of diplomacy. Alongside traditional state diplomacy, cultural diplomacy aims to build bridges between cultures by encouraging the sharing of points of view, as well as the recognition and understanding of differences.

Transcending borders

GAC’s visual art collection has over 6,500 works of art from all mediums—paintings, sculptures, drawings, photographs, textiles, videos and works of craftsmanship—exhibited at 110 missions around the world.

Assembled over the course of nearly 100 years, the collection proudly supports Canada’s historical traditions and contemporary practices in visual arts. It enables visual arts and Canadian culture to play a leading role in advancing the priorities of GAC’s mandate. It helps showcase the rich diversity of voices and perspectives of artists from all regions of the country. The collection also promotes intercultural exchanges and relations abroad.

The works of art exhibited at missions help to build links with host countries and showcase Canadian values, such as the environment and sustainable development, Indigenous relations and reconciliation and gender equality.

This support for culture and the arts demonstrates Canada’s leadership toward a more prosperous and progressive world. It promotes dialogue, exchanges and commitment regarding shared international concerns. The values of inclusion and diversity, which are central to Canada’s identity, form the basis of this approach, which advocates influence through culture.

Toward a thriving and accessible future

GAC’s visual art collection team, in collaboration with many leaders from the art and museum community across Canada, has created a high-calibre collection that is the envy of many institutions. The collection is growing every year and needs to go digital to continue to advance its mission.

The collection’s visibility and the increasing influence of the artists it showcases are reflected in several actions, including loans to various museums and the digitization of the collection. The benefits of these actions will be accessibility, in Canada and abroad, the increased visibility of Canadian artists on the world stage and the promotion of the dynamism and relevance of visual arts as a diplomatic tool.

The adage, “a picture is worth a thousand words,” is especially true here.

Descriptions and photo credits, banner image

1. (Left, below) The Canadian Embassy, Brussels, Belgium, Hilde Lambrechts, Bark Archive (2013) ceramic panels, Catalogue no. 2016.19.1-100, Global Affairs Canada, Visual Art Collection. © Hilde Lambrechts 2. (Right, above) The Embassy of Canada to Colombia, Luke Ramsey, Minerals et Endless River (2017) acrylic on canvas, Catalogue no. 2018.77.1, 2, Global Affairs Canada, Visual Art Collection. © Luke Ramsey 3. (Right, below) Permanent Mission of Canada to the United Nations / The Consulate General of Canada, New York Foreground: Simon Dick, Hokw Hokw (2017) red cedar, abalone, feathers, Catalogue no. 2018.63.1, Global Affairs Canada, Visual Art Collection. © Simon Dick Background: karen elaine spencer, Remember This - Periboea's Advice to Penelope - As Inspired by Margaret Atwood's Book, The Penelopiad (2018) printed acoustic textile, Catalogue no. 2018.100.1, Global Affairs Canada, Visual Art Collection. © karen elaine spencer

Two employees install an artwork on a wall.
Art Installation, Sabrina Ratté, Undream (2019). Laminated Archival Pigment, Catalogue no. 2022.16.4, Global Affairs Canada, Visual Art Collection. © Sabrina Ratté
Lounge at the Canadian Embassy in Reykjavik where two paintings from the collection can be found.
Reykjavik, Iceland. Valérie Gobeil, Frise (2020) tufting on cotton, Catalogue no. 2020.27.1, Global Affairs Canada, Visual Art Collection. ©Valérie Gobeil
Piece from the collection in a vault.
GAC Fine Art Vault, Christine Koch, Never Melting Ice I (Cirque) (2015). Acrylic, water colour and oil stick on primed strapped birch plywood panels, Catalogue no. 2019.19.1a-e, Global Affairs Canada, Visual Art Collection. © Christine Koch
Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

La diplomatie culturelle, vous connaissez?

Montage de trois oeuvres de la collection: panneaux en céramique, acrylique sur toile, et sculpture.

À Affaires mondiales Canada (AMC), nous sommes de fiers ambassadeurs de la diplomatie culturelle, une approche qui fait la part belle à l’art et la culture comme moteurs de la diplomatie. Complémentaire à la diplomatie étatique traditionnelle, la diplomatie culturelle vise à établir des ponts entre les cultures en favorisant l’échange de points de vue ainsi que la connaissance et la compréhension des différences.

Transcender les frontières

La collection des arts visuels d’AMC compte plus de 6500 œuvres d’art de tous les formats — peintures, sculptures, dessins, photographies, textiles, vidéos, et œuvres de métier d’arts — exposées dans 110 missions à travers le monde.

La collection, assemblée au cours de près de 100 ans, soutient fièrement les traditions historiques et les pratiques contemporaines canadiennes dans le domaine des arts visuels. Elle permet aux arts visuels et à la culture canadienne de jouer un rôle moteur dans l’avancement des priorités du mandat d’AMC. Elle fait également resplendir la riche diversité des voix et des perspectives d’artistes de toutes les régions du pays. Enfin, elle favorise les échanges interculturels et les relations à l’étranger.

Dans les missions, les œuvres exposées permettent de tisser des liens avec le pays hôte et de faire resplendir les valeurs canadiennes, dont l’environnement et le développement durable, les relations autochtones et la réconciliation ainsi que l’égalité des genres.

Ce soutien envers la culture et les arts témoigne du leadership du Canada pour un monde plus prospère et progressiste. Il fait la promotion du dialogue, de l’échange et de l’engagement quant à des préoccupations internationales communes. Les valeurs d’inclusion et de diversité, au cœur de l’identité canadienne, sont à la base de cette approche, qui préconise l’influence au moyen de la culture.

Vers un futur florissant et accessible

L’équipe de la collection des arts visuels d’AMC, avec la collaboration de plusieurs leaders de la communauté artistique et muséale pancanadienne, a assemblé une collection d’un haut calibre qui fait l’envie de plusieurs institutions. La collection grandit chaque année et un tournant numérique est une étape nécessaire afin de continuer à la faire avancer dans sa mission.

La visibilité de la collection et l’accroissement du rayonnement des artistes qu’elle présente se traduisent par plusieurs mesures, dont les prêts à divers musées et la numérisation de la collection. Les retombées seront l’accessibilité, au Canada comme à l’étranger, une visibilité accrue des artistes canadiens sur la scène mondiale ainsi que la promotion du dynamisme et de la pertinence des arts visuels comme outil diplomatique.

Ici, l’adage « une image vaut mille mots » prend tout son sens.

Descriptions et crédits photos, image en bannière

1. (À gauche, en bas) Ambassade du Canada, Bruxelles, Belgique, Hilde Lambrechts, Bark Archive (2013) panneaux en céramique, Catalogue no. 2016.19.1-100, Affaires mondiales Canada – Collection des arts visuels. © Hilde Lambrechts 2. (À droite, en haut) Ambassade du Canada en Colombie, Luke Ramsey, Minerals and Endless River (2017) acrylique sur toile, Catalogue no. 2018.77.1, 2, Affaires mondiales Canada – Collection des arts visuels. © Luke Ramsey 3. (À droite, en bas) Mission permanente du Canada auprès des Nations unies / Consulat général du Canada à New York Premier plan: Simon Dick, Hokw Hokw (2017) cèdre rouge, coquille d'ormeau, plumes, Catalogue no. 2018.63.1, Affaires mondiales Canada – Collection des arts visuels. © Simon Dick Arrière-plan: karen elaine spencer, Remember This - Periboea's Advice to Penelope - As Inspired by Margaret Atwood's Book, The Penelopiad (2018) texile acoustique imprimé, Catalogue no. 2018.100.1, Affaires mondiales Canada – Collection des arts visuels. © karen elaine spencer

Deux employés installent une œuvre d’art sur un mur.
Installation d’oeuvre d’art, Sabrina Ratté, Undream (2019). Impression à encre pigmentée laminée, Catalogue no. 2022.16.4, Affaires mondiales Canada – Collection des arts visuel. © Sabrina Ratté
Salon de l’Ambassade du Canada à Reykjavik où l’on peut trouver deux œuvres de la collection.
Reykjavik, Iceland. Valérie Gobeil, Frise (2020) touffetage sur coton, Catalogue no. 2020.27.1, Affaires mondiales Canada – Collection des arts visuels. ©Valérie Gobeil
Une œuvre de la collection dans un coffre-fort
Coffre-fort des beaux-arts d’AMC, Christine Koch, Never Melting Ice I (Cirque) (2015). Acrylique, aquarelle et bâton d’huile sur panneaux de bouleau apprêté, Catalogue no. 2019.19.1a-e, Affaires mondiales Canada – Collection des arts visuel. © Christine Koch
Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: