Language selection

Search

Canadian project protects and supports LGBTQI+ populations in the Global South

LGBTQI+ people in countries around the world can face discrimination, violence, persecution and even criminalization based on their sexual orientation, gender identity and gender expression.

For those looking to flee such dangerous environments, Canada offers protection through its refugee resettlement initiatives. The Private Sponsorship of Refugees (PSR) program lets private groups sponsor eligible refugees abroad. In particular, under the Rainbow Refugee Assistance Partnership (RRAP), community groups, with government support, privately sponsor LGBTQI+ refugees. This has helped refugees resettle across the country, from Nova Scotia to Ontario and British Columbia.

Making such sponsorship opportunities possible in places other than Canada would expand the options of safe and accepting communities for LGBTQI+ people who are at risk in their own countries. That is a goal of one of the programs supported by the Act Together for Inclusion Fund (ACTIF), a 7-year, $16.7-million project of Global Affairs Canada (GAC).

ACTIF is part of a $30-million initiative announced by GAC in 2019 to advance the human rights and socio-economic outcomes of LGBTQI+ people and communities in developing countries. Implemented by Equitas in collaboration with Dignity Network Canada, ACTIF has begun to assist Canadian and developing-country partners focused on vulnerable LGBTQI+ populations around the world. 

Figure 1

Pax Santos is the program manager at Rainbow Railroad and manages the group’s ACTIF-funded project.
Credit: Kat Hartog

“We are talking about enhancing local efforts to move the dial on LGBTQI+ rights globally,” says Pax Santos, program manager at Rainbow Railroad. She says the group’s 2-year pilot program funded through ACTIF—Building Durable Solutions for LGBTQI+ Refugees in the Global South—is designed to strengthen the internal capacities of 6 LGBTQI+ partner groups in sub-Saharan Africa and Latin America. This includes helping them create LGBTQI+ refugee sponsorship programs similar to Canada’s RRAP.

“This is local citizens driving resettlement,” explains Santos, who manages the ACTIF-funded project. Rainbow Railroad is supporting its partners on the ground through training and sharing the comprehensive materials it has developed on the private sponsorship of LGBTQI+ refugees, to be adapted to local situations. The ACTIF funds are also helping partner groups improve the services they provide, such as addressing the mental-health needs of the LGBTQI+ individuals they assist.

Walking the talk

Connecting with LGBTQI+ organizations in other countries and involving them in such programming is a major goal of ACTIF, says Doug Kerr, executive director of Dignity Network Canada. The group includes some 50 civil society organizations across Canada that are interested in advancing human rights for LGBTQI+ people globally.

Figure 2

Doug Kerr (left), executive director of Dignity Network Canada, visits Peggy’s Cove, Nova Scotia, with Mariano Ruiz, project coordinator of Fundación Amal Argentina, who was a special guest at Halifax Pride this past summer.
Credit: Courtesy of Dignity Network Canada

Kerr points out that when the diverse coalition came together informally in 2015, Canada “was not at all a player in this space.” With LGBTQI+ people in many parts of the world facing state-sponsored violence, prison and other forms of oppression, activists called on Canada to “walk the talk,” he says, which led to his network being formalized in 2020.

He says ACTIF provides government funding for partners that have been working on global LGBTQI+ issues for some time. Such support was previously piecemeal, for example coming through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI), which allows individual Canadian missions in countries around the world to provide small grants to help finance the activities and initiatives of local organizations.

ACTIF goes much further than the CFLI can, Kerr says, and it encourages innovation and flexibility in its grants, which leads to a “broad range of groups trying different things.” Under ACTIF, there will be 4 rounds of funding totalling $9.7 million, he says. These will support multiple-year initiatives implemented by Canadian organizations in collaboration with local developing country partners.

Kerr notes that organizations selected to receive support through the first ACTIF call for proposal in 2021 include 2 initiatives that deal with mental health and wellness for queer activists abroad. One is being implemented by Canada’s International Francophone Alliance for Equality and Diversities (Égides) in partnership with 4 groups in Cameroon and Haiti, while the other is being implemented by the Stephen Lewis Foundation and 6 partner groups in Kenya and Uganda.

Figure 3

Canada’s Stephen Lewis Foundation has received ACTIF funding for a project that deals with mental health and wellness for queer activists in Kenya and Uganda. To celebrate World Mental Health Day on October 10, partner Icebreakers Uganda staged an event in Kampala where participants  Nagykatims Ali (left) and Ramlat Ali held placards with mental health messaging.
Credit: Sofi Lundin

ACTIF also includes $600,000 to support smaller, short-term initiatives, such as helping LGBTQI+ human rights defenders in developing countries respond to immediate threats or take advantage of small-scale emerging opportunities. The first such smaller initiative to be supported by ACTIF involves a group of queer filmmakers in Haiti who are working on films on LGBTQI+ human rights issues in their country that aim to influence public opinion and decision-makers there. This initiative was implemented by the Massimadi Foundation, a Black and Afro 2SLGBTQI+  cultural group in Montréal, in partnership with Institut Équité, Diversité, Inclusion, Intersectionnalité at Laval University and Institut Panos in Haiti.

The ACTIF project is also designed to facilitate knowledge-exchange activities between Canadian and international organizations working to advance the human rights of LGBTQI+ people.

A human rights-based approach

François Legault, a senior development officer at GAC whose responsibilities include overseeing ACTIF, says that at the core of such programming is a human rights-based approach that works to protect and support vulnerable and marginalized groups. It involves people and communities specifically as “actors in their own development.” This makes them participants and agents of change at every step of a project.

“We try to work on reducing the power imbalance and increasing the respect for human rights for all parts of the population,” Legault says. He adds that ACTIF’s governance structure aims to engage LGBTQI+ organizations—large and small, from different regions and countries—at all stages of the project-selection process and funding cycle. Its advisory committee and project-selection committee include a diverse group of international and developing-country activists.

Figure 4

François Legault is a senior development officer at GAC whose responsibilities include overseeing ACTIF.
Credit: Carol Hoppy

“The whole idea is to apply principles of inclusion and diversity in project governance and respect the fact that community members should be the ones having a major say, for example, in how the fund will be managed and its governance structures,” he says. “It corresponds to a desired evolution of our ways of doing things at Global Affairs Canada, in line with the principles of our Feminist International Assistance Policy.”

Tashi Pietrzykowska, communications and public engagement manager at Dignity Network Canada, says that this model supports and empowers LGBTQI+ people to make decisions and push for change in their own contexts. “It’s definitely the steppingstone to opening up a large amount of dialogue and accountability toward all parties involved.”

For Fundación Amal Argentina (AMAL), a volunteer group based in Buenos Aires that works to promote community sponsorship of LGBTQI+ migrants and refugees, the support received from ACTIF raises its profile and improves its capabilities. Mariano Ruiz, the group’s project coordinator, says that ACTIF also provides a “point of connection” between Canada and Argentina, which have much in common as countries with long histories of immigration.

Support makes group more professional

AMAL has helped LGBTQI+ refugees around the world flee state-sponsored homophobia and violence and seek asylum in Argentina. Having a more established sponsorship program like Canada’s RRAP would assist their resettlement, Ruiz says. This would mean that such people could get help for needs such as housing, health care, education and psychological support.

Funding from ACTIF is being used to train people to help migrants and refugees who identify as LGBTQI+ and to expand the pool of potential groups in Argentina that can act as sponsors, Ruiz says. AMAL, which has been largely informal and made up of volunteers, is now able to pay some of its staff, expand the types of individuals it can help and create marketing materials to reach out to potential donors. “We are trying to professionalize our organization,” Ruiz says.

Figure 5

Mariano Ruiz is the project coordinator of Fundación Amal Argentina.
Credit: Courtesy of AMAL

Improving life for LGBTQI+ populations in the Global South is a major focus of ACTIF. For instance, Santos says Rainbow Railroad’s project is designed to bolster the advocacy efforts of the local groups it supports like AMAL and improve LGBTQI+ rights on the ground. She notes that her organization received requests for help from LGBTQI+ individuals in 143 countries last year. Getting at the root causes of discrimination that people face in such places could make life better for them there.

“In an ideal world, people aren’t requesting our help because they’re fleeing persecution or violence on the basis of their sexual orientation and gender identity,” she says. “If you can enhance the human-rights structures and the organizing capacity of local human rights defenders and advocates, it’s ultimately going to reduce the amount of people who need to seek out services like Rainbow Railroad.”

The $30-million program from the Canadian government “is a big win…We’re happy to see funding like this,” says Santos. She adds that the ACTIF project itself “is an amazing start. I think it shows a real commitment to mainstreaming LGBTQI+ people in international discussions and particularly with regard to international-development funding.”

Legault says that in many ways ACTIF is a work in progress. “As we’re learning, with all of these small steps forward, we can move further,” he comments. Such progress builds enhanced capacity within GAC and the Canadian and international organizations it is supporting. The key is to focus on urgent issues, such as helping LGBTQI+ people who are under immediate threat in countries abroad, while helping to change legislation and cultural attitudes there.

Making links with global partners

Kerr feels that ACTIF is helping to make links with partners in the Global South and he expects further developments. “Canada is absolutely starting to walk the talk,” he says. “But our work isn’t done.”

The project is also bringing Canada together with other countries that are active in the field, he says. There could be a move to focus on certain regions or combine Canadian efforts with those of other countries, he adds. “One of the great things about this project is that we are connecting to similar initiatives around the world, so there is some coherence to what we’re funding.”

Kerr says that while it’s important to have ACTIF’s “standalone” LGBTQI+ programming, in the future he would like to see LGBTQI+ initiatives funded through more general international-development projects. This would include those with programming dealing with democracy, peace and security or gender equality.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Un projet canadien protège et soutient les populations LGBTQI+ dans les pays du Sud

Dans certains pays du monde, les personnes LGBTQI+ peuvent subir de la discrimination et de la violence, être persécutées et même être criminalisées en raison de leur orientation sexuelle, de leur identité de genre et de leur expression de genre.

Pour ces personnes qui cherchent à fuir des milieux aussi dangereux, le Canada offre une protection par l’entremise de ses initiatives de réinstallation de réfugiés. Le Programme de parrainage privé de réfugiés (PPPR) permet à des groupes privés de parrainer des réfugiés admissibles vivant à l’étranger. Ainsi, dans le cadre du partenariat avec l’organisme Rainbow Refugee, des groupes communautaires parrainent à titre privé des réfugiés LGBTQI+ avec le soutien du gouvernement. Le programme a aidé des réfugiés à se réinstaller dans l’ensemble du pays, de la Nouvelle-Écosse à la Colombie-Britannique, en passant par l’Ontario.

Rendre possibles de tels parrainages dans des endroits autres que le Canada permettrait d’accroître le nombre de communautés sûres pouvant accueillir les personnes LGBTQI+ qui sont à risque dans leur propre pays. C’est l’objectif de l’un des programmes soutenus par le Fonds Agir ensemble pour l’inclusion (Fonds AGIRI), un projet d’Affaires mondiales Canada (AMC) de 16,7 millions de dollars qui s’étalera sur 7 ans.

Le Fonds AGIRI s’inscrit dans le cadre d’une initiative de 30 millions de dollars annoncée en 2019 par AMC et visant à faire progresser les droits de la personne et les résultats socio-économiques des personnes et des communautés LGBTQI+ dans les pays en développement. Mis en œuvre par Equitas en collaboration avec le Réseau Dignité Canada, le Fonds AGIRI a déjà commencé à aider les partenaires du Canada et des pays en développement qui œuvrent auprès des personnes LGBTQI+ vulnérables de partout dans le monde.

Figure 1

Pax Santos est la gestionnaire de programme à Rainbow Railroad et gère le projet du groupe financé par le Fonds AGIRI.
Source : Kat Hartog

« Nous cherchons à soutenir les efforts locaux pour faire avancer les droits des personnes LGBTQI+ à l’échelle mondiale », affirme Pax Santos, gestionnaire de programme à l’organisme Rainbow Railroad. Elle ajoute que le programme pilote de 2 ans, financé par le Fonds AGIRI et intitulé Building Durable Solutions for LGBTQI+ Refugees in the Global South (Bâtir des solutions durables pour les réfugiés LGBTQI+ dans les pays du Sud), est conçu pour renforcer les capacités internes de 6 groupes partenaires LGBTQI+ en Afrique subsaharienne et en Amérique latine. Il les aide notamment à mettre sur pied des programmes de parrainage de réfugiés LGBTQI+ semblables à ceux offerts par le Canada dans le cadre du partenariat avec l’organisme Rainbow Refugee.

« Ce sont les citoyens locaux qui dirigent la réinstallation », explique Mme Santos, qui gère le projet financé par le Fonds AGIRI. L’organisme Rainbow Railroad soutient ses partenaires sur le terrain en offrant de la formation et en partageant avec eux les documents détaillés qu’il a mis au point sur le parrainage privé des réfugiés LGBTQI+ et qui doivent être adaptés à leur situation. Le Fonds AGIRI aide également les groupes partenaires à améliorer les services qu’ils fournissent, par exemple en répondant aux besoins en matière de santé mentale des personnes LGBTQI+ qu’ils aident.

Prêcher par l’exemple

Selon Doug Kerr, directeur exécutif du Réseau Dignité Canada, l’un des grands objectifs du projet AGIRI est de créer des liens avec des organisations LGBTQI+ ailleurs dans le monde et de les faire participer à ces programmes. Le groupe chapeaute quelque 50 organisations de la société civile du Canada qui s’intéressent à l’avancement des droits de la personne pour les personnes LGBTQI+ du monde entier.

Figure 2

Doug Kerr (à gauche), directeur exécutif du Réseau Dignité Canada, visite Peggy’s Cove, en Nouvelle-Écosse, en compagnie de Mariano Ruiz, coordonnateur de projet de la Fondation AMAL, qui était un invité d’honneur à la Fierté de Halifax l’été dernier.
Source : Courtoisie du Réseau Dignité Canada

Kerr souligne que, lorsque cette coalition diversifiée a vu le jour de façon informelle en 2015, « le Canada n’était pas du tout un acteur dans le milieu ». Alors que les personnes LGBTQI+ dans de nombreuses régions du monde étaient confrontées à des violences sanctionnées par l’État, à des peines d’emprisonnement et à d’autres formes d’oppression, les militants ont demandé au Canada de « prêcher par l’exemple », raconte-t-il, ce qui a conduit à l’officialisation du réseau en 2020.

Il ajoute que le Fonds AGIRI fournit un financement gouvernemental à des partenaires qui travaillent depuis un certain temps sur les enjeux LGBTQI+ dans le monde. Autrefois, ce type de soutien se faisait de manière fragmentaire, par exemple par l’entremise du Fonds canadien d’initiatives locales (FCIL), qui permet à des missions canadiennes individuelles ailleurs dans le monde d’accorder de petites subventions pour aider à financer les activités et les initiatives des organisations locales.

Selon M. Kerr, le Fonds AGIRI va beaucoup plus loin que le FCIL en encourageant l’innovation et la flexibilité dans ses subventions, ce qui fait en sorte que « différents groupes essaient différentes choses ». Dans le cadre du projet AGIRI, il y aura 4 rondes de financement totalisant 9,7 millions de dollars, précise-t-il. Celles-ci appuieront des initiatives pluriannuelles mises en œuvre par des organisations canadiennes en collaboration avec des partenaires locaux dans les pays en développement.

Kerr fait remarquer que parmi les organisations sélectionnées pour recevoir un soutien financier dans le cadre du premier appel de propositions du Fonds AGIRI en 2021 figurent 2 initiatives axées sur la santé mentale et le bien-être des militants queer à l’étranger. La première initiative est mise en œuvre par l’Alliance internationale francophone pour l’égalité et les diversités (Égides) en partenariat avec 4 groupes au Cameroun et en Haïti, et l’autre initiative est mise en œuvre par la Fondation Stephen Lewis et 6 groupes partenaires au Kenya et en Ouganda.

Figure 3

La Fondation Stephen Lewis du Canada a reçu un financement du Fonds AGIRI pour un projet qui traite de la santé mentale et du bien-être des militants queers au Kenya et en Ouganda. Pour célébrer la Journée mondiale de la santé mentale, le 10 octobre, notre partenaire Icebreakers Uganda a organisé un événement à Kampala où les participants Nagykatims Ali (à gauche) et Ramlat Ali ont tenu des pancartes contenant des messages sur la santé mentale.
Source : Sofi Lundin

Le Fonds AGIRI prévoit également la somme de 600 000 $ pour soutenir des initiatives plus petites à court terme, notamment pour aider les défenseurs des droits LGBTQI+ dans les pays en développement à répondre aux menaces immédiates ou à profiter de possibilités émergentes à petite échelle. La première petite initiative financée par le Fonds AGIRI concerne un groupe de cinéastes queer en Haïti qui travaillent sur des films abordant les enjeux liés aux droits LGBTQI+ dans leur pays afin d’influencer l’opinion publique et les décideurs. Cette initiative a été mise en œuvre par la Fondation Massimadi, un groupe culturel composé de personnes 2ELGBTQI+ noires et de descendance africaine établi à Montréal, en partenariat avec l’Institut EDI2 Équité, Diversité, Inclusion, Intersectionnalité de l’Université Laval et l’Institut Panos en Haïti.

Le projet AGIRI est également conçu pour faciliter les activités d’échange de connaissances entre les organisations canadiennes et internationales qui travaillent à l’avancement des droits des personnes LGBTQI+.

Une approche fondée sur les droits de la personne

François Legault est un agent principal de développement à AMC, dont les responsabilités comprennent la supervision du Fonds AGIRI. Il affirme qu’au cœur de ce programme se trouve une approche fondée sur les droits de la personne qui vise à protéger et à soutenir les groupes de personnes vulnérables et marginalisées. Le programme appelle plus particulièrement les personnes et les communautés à prendre en main leur propre développement; il fait d’elles des participantes et des agentes de changement à chaque étape du projet.

« Nous nous efforçons de réduire le déséquilibre des pouvoirs et d’accroître le respect des droits de la personne de l’ensemble de la population », affirme M. Legault. Il ajoute que la structure de gouvernance du Fonds AGIRI permet de mobiliser les petites et grandes organisations LGBTQI+ de différents pays et régions, et ce, à toutes les étapes du processus de sélection des projets et du cycle de financement. Le comité consultatif du programme et son comité de sélection des projets regroupent une diversité de militants internationaux et issus de pays en développement.

Figure 4

François Legault est un agent principal de développement à AMC qui a notamment pour responsabilité de superviser le Fonds AGIRI.
Source : Carol Hoppy

« L’objectif global est d’appliquer les principes d’inclusion et de diversité dans la gouvernance des projets et de respecter le fait que ce sont les membres de la communauté qui devraient avoir un droit de regard majeur, notamment dans la façon de gérer les fonds et d’organiser les structures de gouvernance, explique M. Legault. C’est la voie que nous voulons suivre, à Affaires mondiales Canada, et la façon dont nous voulons faire les choses, conformément aux principes de notre Politique d’aide internationale féministe. »

Tashi Pietrzykowska, gestionnaire des communications et de la mobilisation du public au Réseau Dignité Canada, affirme que ce modèle permet de soutenir les personnes LGBTQI+ et de leur donner les moyens de prendre des décisions et de réclamer des changements dans leur milieu. « Il s’agit très certainement d’un tremplin pour amorcer un grand nombre de discussions et définir les responsabilités de toutes les parties concernées.»

Pour la Fundación Amal Argentina (Fondation AMAL), un groupe de bénévoles de Buenos Aires qui s’emploie à promouvoir le parrainage communautaire de migrants et de réfugiés LGBTQI+, le soutien reçu du Fonds AGIRI lui permet d’accroître sa visibilité et d’améliorer ses capacités. Mariano Ruiz, le coordonnateur de projet du groupe, soutient que le projet AGIRI sert également à « faire le pont » entre le Canada et l’Argentine, qui ont beaucoup en commun en tant que pays ayant une longue histoire d’immigration.

Le soutien rend le groupe plus professionnel

La Fondation AMAL est venue en aide à des réfugiés LGBTQI+ du monde entier qui ont fui des États sanctionnant l’homophobie et la violence et qui ont demandé l’asile en Argentine. Selon M. Ruiz, un programme de parrainage mieux établi, semblable à celui offert par le Canada dans le cadre du partenariat avec l’organisme Rainbow Refugee, permettrait de réinstaller ces personnes. Celles-ci pourraient ainsi obtenir de l’aide pour répondre à leurs besoins, notamment en matière de logement, de soins de santé, d’éducation et de soutien psychologique.

Le financement reçu dans le cadre du Fonds AGIRI sert à former des personnes pour aider les migrants et les réfugiés qui s’identifient comme LGBTQI+ et à trouver d’autres groupes argentins susceptibles d’offrir des services de parrainage, précise M. Ruiz. La Fondation AMAL, qui était largement informelle et composée de bénévoles, est aujourd’hui en mesure de payer une partie de son personnel, d’élargir les types de personnes qu’elle peut aider et de créer du matériel publicitaire pour solliciter d’éventuels donateurs. « Nous essayons de rendre notre organisation plus professionnelle », conclut M. Ruiz.

Figure 5

Mariano Ruiz est le coordinateur de projet de la Fondation AMAL.
Source : Courtoisie de la Fondation AMAL

Améliorer la qualité de vie des populations LGBTQI+ des pays du Sud est l’une des grandes priorités du Fonds AGIRI. Par exemple, Mme Santos explique que le projet de Rainbow Railroad est conçu pour stimuler les activités de défense des intérêts de groupes locaux qu’il soutient, comme la Fondation AMAL, et améliorer les droits des personnes LGBTQI+ sur le terrain. Elle souligne que, l’an dernier, son organisation a reçu des demandes d’aide de la part de personnes LGBTQI+ provenant de 143 pays. S’attaquer aux causes profondes de la discrimination à laquelle ces personnes doivent faire face dans ces pays pourrait améliorer leur qualité de vie.

« Dans un monde idéal, personne ne demanderait notre aide pour fuir la persécution ou la violence subie en raison de son orientation sexuelle ou de son identité de genre, affirme Mme Santos. Si on peut améliorer les structures en matière de droits de la personne et les capacités organisationnelles des groupes locaux et des militants qui se portent à la défense de ces droits, au bout du compte, on réduira le nombre de personnes faisant appel à des services comme ceux de Rainbow Railroad. »

Selon Mme Santos, le programme du gouvernement canadien, assorti d’une enveloppe de 30 millions de dollars, constitue un gain important. « Nous sommes heureux de voir un financement de cet ordre-là. » Elle ajoute que le projet AGIRI en soi « représente une première étape formidable ». À son avis, il témoigne d’un réel engagement à intégrer les personnes LGBTQI+ aux discussions internationales, notamment en ce qui concerne le financement du développement international.

Legault note qu’à plusieurs égards, le Fonds AGIRI est une œuvre en chantier. « À mesure que nous tirons des enseignements de chaque petite étape réalisée, nous pouvons continuer d’avancer », commente-t-il. Ces progrès permettent d’accroître les capacités au sein d’AMC et des organisations canadiennes et internationales qu’il soutient. La clé du succès est de se concentrer sur les questions urgentes, c’est-à-dire d’aider les personnes LGBTQI+ qui subissent des menaces immédiates à l’étranger, tout en travaillant à changer les lois et les attitudes culturelles dans ces pays.

Nouer des liens avec les partenaires internationaux

Kerr estime que le projet AGIRI contribue à établir des liens avec des partenaires dans les pays du Sud, et il s’attend à d’autres développements. « Le Canada a certainement commencé à passer de la parole aux actes, mais le travail n’est pas fini. »

Il mentionne que le projet réunit également le Canada et d’autres pays qui sont actifs dans le domaine, avant d’ajouter qu’on pourrait assister à un virage mettant l’accent sur certaines régions ou unissant les efforts canadiens à ceux d’autres pays. « L’un des grands avantages de ce projet est qu’il nous permet de faire le pont avec des initiatives semblables à l’étranger, de manière à assurer une certaine cohérence entre les diverses initiatives que nous finançons. »

Selon M. Kerr, même s’il est important que le Fonds AGIRI finance des programmes LGBTQI+ indépendants, il aimerait à l’avenir que des initiatives LGBTQI+ soient financées dans le cadre de projets de développement international plus généraux, comme ceux portant sur la démocratie, la paix, la sécurité ou l’égalité entre les genres.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: