International Policy Ideas Challenge 2020 - Challenge winners

Find out more about the 2020 International Policy Ideas Challenge.

Abdelhamid Benhmade
Africa, a source of growth for Canadian businesses

Abdelhamid Benhmade is pursuing his doctorate at the University of Ottawa, specializing in international development and the private sector. His thesis focuses on global cities and their role in international trade. He is also a research associate at Open African Innovation Research (Open AIR) where he contributes to academic work on entrepreneurship and innovation. In addition, he is a Francophone Africa project manager at Open African Innovation Research and coordinates the network’s scientific activities in Francophone Africa. Benhmade is a consultant for the Réseau québécois sur l’intégration continentale (RQIC) and On Think Tank (OTT). He aspires to follow in the footsteps of thinkers committed to freedom and justice. To this end, since 2010, he has been involved with the Assadaqua Association, which works to solve the economic, social and ecological challenges facing the Taghjijt oasis in Morocco.


Maude Jodoin Léveillée
In the age of digital activism, how can Canada promote gender equality in an innovative way?

Maude Jodoin Léveillée holds a Master’s degree in International Studies, and a Specialized Graduate Studies Diploma in international development and humanitarian aid management. She is now furthering her research interests with a PhD at the University of Montreal. Her thesis work focuses on the radical practices of "feminists" committed to the cause of women’s rights in Togo and highlights the digital innovations used by the new generation of Togolese women. As well as collaborating as a research assistant on various projects on the African continent, Maude recently supervised the data collection of close to 4,000 questionnaires as part of a survey on gender and socio-economic success in Burkina Faso. Her participation in several conferences and training periods abroad has improved her understanding of international development issues specific to sub-Saharan Africa. As a result, she specializes in the study of gender, feminism and women’s movements in West Africa.


Cristina Mattison – Lead Researcher, Kirsty Bourret – Collaborator
Grounding the Feminist International Assistance Policy in evidence to improve sexual and reproductive health and rights through partnerships with women-led civil society organizations

Dr. Cristina A. Mattison is a Fellow at the McMaster Midwifery Research Centre (MMRC) and an Assistant Professor, Department of Health Research Methods, Evidence, and Impact at McMaster University. She obtained her PhD in Health Policy and MSc in Global Health from McMaster University. In her doctoral work, she was the first to use a health policy and systems approach to examine the roles of midwives globally across health and political systems. In a former role, Cristina oversaw the scientific aspects of and led the execution of evidence syntheses, facilitated citizens panels, and engaged in activities to mobilize research evidence to inform pressing policy issues. As a fellow at the MMRC, her research builds on her dissertation to understand the integration of midwifery into health systems. Cristina and Kirsty received a grant to co-conduct a study focused on measuring the impact of the Canadian Association of Midwives’ global projects. The research is grounded in feminist and anti‑colonial collaborative approaches to increasing the capacity of midwifery and improving access to sexual and reproductive health and rights.


Heather Tasker – Lead Researcher, Teddy Atim – Collaborator, Sylvie Bodineau – Collaborator
The Gender Equality and Peacebuilding Imperatives of Supporting Children Born of War

Heather Tasker is a PhD Candidate in Socio-Legal Studies at York University and a graduate student researcher with the SSHRC-funded Conjugal Slavery in War (CSiW) partnership project. Her research focuses on gendered conceptions of justice in post-conflict contexts, international humanitarian, human rights, and criminal law for sexual and gender-based crimes, and the impact of humanitarian assistance on engagements with law. Heather’s research has focused on legal developments, engagement with justice mechanisms, and rights to reparations for survivors of forced marriage and their children. Her dissertation examines lived experiences of law and policy in relation to sexual exploitation and abuse within the MONUSCO peacekeeping mission. Heather also contributes to the Relationships Between MONUSCO Peacekeepers and Local Congolese Communities Project (PI Susan Bartels, Queen’s University). This project focuses on children born to peacekeeper fathers in the DRC and provisions for their rights and support.


Jelena Golubović – Lead Researcher, Sina Fazelpour – Collaborator
Predicting and Preventing Armed Conflict: The Future of AI in Canadian Peacekeeping

Jelena Golubović is a PhD candidate and instructor in the Department of Sociology and Anthropology at Simon Fraser University. She specializes in retributive violence, ethnonationalism and the civilian experience of war, with a regional focus on the former Yugoslavia. She has conducted extensive fieldwork in Bosnia-Herzegovina and Serbia. Her doctoral research was funded by a Joseph-Armband Bombardier Canada Graduate Scholarship from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada. Her research has been published in Anthropological Quarterly, Ethnicities, and Studies in Social Justice.


Kaylia Little
Northern Lights: A Framework for an Arctic Clean Energy Network

Kaylia Little is an Energy Council of Canada Energy Policy Research Fellow and doctoral candidate in the Faculty of Environment at the University of Waterloo. She has a background in international development, including completing a Master of Development Practice, which seeks to connect theory to the practical application of international development. Currently, her research focuses on the gender‑energy nexus, and she is most interested in making the energy transition equitable for all. Kaylia has a strong record of academic excellence and experience working both in Canada and abroad. As a former policy analyst with a non‑governmental organization, she has first‑hand experience in the policy and legislation development process in Canada. Her research has been presented at national and international conferences.


Marshall Palmer – Lead Researcher, Kevin Budning – Collaborator, Paxton Mayer – Collaborator
Doing More With Less: Confronting COVID-19’s ‘Double Squeeze’ in the Developing World

Marshall Palmer is a second year PhD candidate at the Norman Paterson School of International Affairs at Carleton University. His research focuses on foreign electoral intervention and he serves as the managing editor of the Canadian Foreign Policy Journal. He is a graduate of the University of Oxford and the London School of Economics. He has previously worked as an international security analyst for NATO and as a political risk analyst for Oxford Analytica.


Meera Karunananthan
An Intersectional Feminist Framework for Assessment of Human Rights Compliance of Foreign Aid and International Assistance Programs in water and sanitation

Meera Karunananthan is a fourth year doctoral candidate at the University of Ottawa. Her PhD research investigates struggles for access to water among racialized women living in precarious housing conditions in peri‑urban settlements of Cape Town. As the Director of the Blue Planet Project, she works with organizations around the world to promote the human rights to water and sanitation. She has won several academic and professional awards recognizing her work as a water policy advocate. She has authored several reports and articles that have been translated and published in well-respected outlets including The Guardian, Geoforum and Open Democracy. Her academic work builds on almost two decades of collaborative work with international NGOs, trade unions, environmental groups and grassroots feminist organizations.


Dr Sarah Shoker – Lead Researcher, M. Ramy Shoker – Collaborator
Using Artificial Intelligence to Predict Internet shutdowns

Dr. Sarah Shoker is a postdoctoral fellow in political science at the University of Waterloo, where she researches the social and policy impact of emerging technologies. She is a SSHRC 2020‑2022 postdoctoral fellow, and the winning beneficiary for the 2019‑2020 University of Waterloo Trailblazer Postdoctoral Fellowship. She is the founder of Glassbox, a social impact firm that trains stakeholders in government and the tech sector to identify how social values are translated into AI systems. Her work is often requested by government policymakers, including Global Affairs Canada, Public Safety Canada, and FiveEyes partner agencies like the CIA, FBI, CSIS, and MI5. She strives to use her research to bridge the gap between stakeholders who often have very different ideas about AI’s role in society. Dr. Shoker’s PhD research on military drones and autonomy in military systems was nominated for the Canadian CAGS/UMI Distinguished Dissertation Award and is currently under contract with Palgrave MacMillan, with publication scheduled for 2020.


Zac Wager – Lead Researcher, Karen Cook – Collaborator, Markus Hellborg – Collaborator, Emily Standfield – Collaborator
Leading Canada’s Space Frontier: The Next Expansion of the OST

Zac Wager is currently a graduate student at the Balsillie School of International Affairs (Wilfrid Laurier University) pursuing a Masters of International Public Policy. He received a BA (Hons) in Global Studies from Wilfrid Laurier University with Minors in Economics and Psychology. He has done extensive academic research and writing in several fields including peace and conflict, environmental policy, emerging space technologies, international law, and sustainable economic development. He was recently a participant in the Global Affairs Canada’s Graduate Fellowship Program focusing on the merits of the 1967 Outer Space Treaty and processes of mining in space.

Date Modified:

Concours d’idées de politique internationale 2020 - Les gagnants du concours

En savoir plus sur l'édition 2020 du Concours d’idées de politique internationale.

Abdelhamid Benhmade
L'Afrique, un relais de croissance pour les entreprises Canadiennes

Abdelhamid Benhmade fait son doctorat à l’Université d’Ottawa, avec une spécialisation dans le développement international et le secteur privé. Sa thèse porte sur les grandes villes du monde et leur rôle dans le commerce international. Il est également associé de recherche à Open African Innovation Research (Open AIR), où il contribue aux travaux de recherche sur l’entrepreneuriat et l’innovation. En outre, il est chef de projet pour l’Afrique francophone à Open AIR et coordonne les activités scientifiques du réseau en Afrique francophone. M. Benhmade est consultant pour le Réseau québécois sur l’intégration continentale (RQIC) et On Think Tank (OTT). Il aspire à suivre les traces de penseurs attachés à la cause de la liberté et de la justice. À cette fin, il s’implique depuis 2010 dans l’Association Assadaqua, qui travaille à résoudre les problèmes économiques, sociaux et écologiques qui touchent l’oasis de Taghjijt au Maroc.


Maude Jodoin Léveillée
À l’ère de l’activisme digital, comment le Canada peut-il promouvoir l’égalité entre les genres de manière innovante?

Maude Jodoin Léveillée est titulaire d’une maîtrise en études internationales et d’un diplôme d’études supérieures spécialisées en développement international et en gestion de l’aide humanitaire. Elle poursuit actuellement ses recherches en faisant un doctorat à l’Université de Montréal. Son travail de thèse porte sur les pratiques radicales de « féministes » défendant la cause des droits des femmes au Togo et met en évidence les innovations numériques utilisées par la nouvelle génération de Togolaises. En plus de collaborer en tant qu’assistante de recherche à divers projets sur le continent africain, Maude a récemment supervisé la collecte de près de 4 000 questionnaires dans le cadre d’une enquête sur le genre et la réussite socio-économique au Burkina Faso. Sa participation à plusieurs conférences et stages à l’étranger lui a permis de mieux comprendre les enjeux du développement international propres à l’Afrique subsaharienne. Par conséquent, elle se spécialise dans l’étude du genre, du féminisme et des mouvements féminins en Afrique de l’Ouest.


Cristina Mattison – chercheuse principale, Kirsty Bourret – collaboratrice à la recherche
Fonder la politique d’aide internationale féministe sur des faits pour améliorer la santé et les droits sexuels et reproductifs grâce à des partenariats avec des organisations de la société civile dirigées par des femmes

La Dre Cristina A. Mattison est boursière attachée au McMaster Midwifery Research Centre (MMRC) et professeure adjointe au département des méthodes de recherche en santé, des faits probants et de l’impact à l’Université McMaster. Elle a un doctorat en politique de santé et une maîtrise en santé mondiale de l’Université McMaster. Dans son travail de doctorat, elle a été la première à utiliser une approche des politiques et des systèmes de santé pour examiner les rôles des sages-femmes dans le monde, dans divers réseaux de santé et systèmes politiques. Avant cela, Cristina a supervisé les volets scientifiques de projets de collecte de données probantes dont elle a dirigé l’exécution et la synthèse, a animé des groupes de discussion avec des citoyens et a participé à des activités visant à recueillir des données probantes issues de la recherche pour éclairer des questions urgentes sur le plan politique. En tant que boursière du MMRC, ses recherches s’appuient sur sa thèse pour comprendre l’intégration de la profession de sage-femme dans les réseaux de santé. Cristina et Kirsty ont reçu une bourse pour mener conjointement une étude visant à mesurer l’incidence des projets mondiaux de l’Association canadienne des sages-femmes. La recherche est fondée sur des approches féministes et anticoloniales de collaboration visant à accroître la capacité de la profession de sage-femme et à améliorer l’accès aux services liés à la santé et aux droits sexuels et reproductifs.


Heather Tasker – chercheuse principale, Teddy Atim – collaboratrice à la recherche, Sylvie Bodineau – collaboratrice à la recherche
Soutenir les enfants nés de la guerre : un impératif pour l’égalité des genres et la consolidation de la paix

Heather Tasker est candidate au doctorat en études sociojuridiques à l’Université York et chercheuse étudiante de troisième cycle dans le cadre du projet de partenariat de recherche sur l’esclavage conjugal en temps de guerre, financé par le CRSH. Ses recherches portent sur les conceptions genrées de la justice après les conflits, le droit international humanitaire, les droits de la personne, le droit pénal pour les crimes sexuels et sexistes, et l’impact de l’aide humanitaire sur les recours à la loi. Les recherches d’Heather se sont concentrées sur les progrès juridiques, le recours aux mécanismes de justice et le droit à la réparation pour les survivants de mariages forcés et leurs enfants. Sa thèse porte sur les expériences vécues, sur les plans du droit et de la politique, à la suite des cas d’exploitation et d’abus sexuels survenus au cours de la mission de maintien de la paix de la MONUSCO. Heather contribue également au projet sur les relations entre les soldats de la paix de la MONUSCO et les communautés congolaises locales (chercheuse principale : Susan Bartels, Université Queen’s). Ce projet se concentre sur les enfants nés de pères gardiens de la paix en RDC et sur les dispositions relatives à leurs droits et au soutien dont ils peuvent se prévaloir.


Jelena Golubović – chercheuse principale, Sina Fazelpour – collaboratrice à la recherche
Prévoir et prévenir les conflits armés : l’avenir de l’IA dans les efforts canadiens de maintien de la paix

Jelena Golubović est candidate au doctorat et professeure au département de sociologie et d’anthropologie de l’Université Simon Fraser. Elle est spécialisée dans la violence punitive, l’ethno-nationalisme et l’expérience civile de la guerre, plus particulièrement dans la région de l’ex-Yougoslavie. Elle a effectué de nombreux travaux sur le terrain en Bosnie-Herzégovine et en Serbie. Sa recherche doctorale a été financée par une Bourse d’études supérieures du Canada Joseph-Armband Bombardier du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada. Ses recherches ont été publiées dans Anthropological Quarterly, Ethnicities et Studies in Social Justice.


Kaylia Little
Aurore boréale : un cadre pour un réseau d’énergie propre dans l’Arctique

Kaylia Little est chargée de recherche en politique énergétique au Conseil de l’énergie du Canada et candidate au doctorat à la faculté de l’environnement de l’Université de Waterloo. Elle a une formation en développement international et a notamment obtenu une maîtrise en pratique du développement, qui cherche à relier la théorie à l’application pratique du développement international. Actuellement, ses recherches se concentrent sur le lien entre le genre et l’énergie, et elle s’intéresse surtout à rendre la transition énergétique équitable pour tous. Kaylia possède un solide dossier d’excellence universitaire et une expérience de travail au Canada et à l’étranger. En tant qu’ancienne analyste politique d’une organisation non gouvernementale, elle possède une expérience de première main du processus d’élaboration des politiques et des lois au Canada. Ses recherches ont été présentées lors de conférences nationales et internationales.


Marshall Palmer – chercheur principal, Kevin Budning – collaborateur à la recherche, Paxton Mayer – collaboratrice à la recherche
Faire plus avec moins : faire face au « double défi » de la COVID-19 dans le monde en développement

Marshall Palmer est candidat au doctorat en deuxième année à la Norman Paterson School of International Affairs de l’Université Carleton. Ses recherches portent sur les interférences de l’étranger dans les processus électoraux, et il est rédacteur en chef du Canadian Foreign Policy Journal. Il est diplômé de l’Université d’Oxford et de la London School of Economics. Il a précédemment travaillé comme analyste de la sécurité internationale pour l’OTAN et comme analyste des risques politiques pour Oxford Analytica.


Meera Karunananthan
Un cadre féministe transversal pour l’évaluation du respect des droits de la personne des programmes d’aide extérieure et d’aide internationale dans le domaine de l’eau et des services sanitaires

Meera Karunananthan est doctorante en quatrième année à l’Université d’Ottawa. Sa recherche doctorale porte sur les obstacles à l’accès à l’eau des femmes racialisées vivant dans des conditions de logement précaires dans les quartiers périurbains du Cap. En tant que directrice du projet Planète bleue, elle travaille avec des organisations du monde entier pour promouvoir l’accès à l’eau et aux services sanitaires à titre de droit de la personne. Elle a remporté plusieurs prix académiques et professionnels reconnaissant son travail en tant que défenseure de la politique de l’eau. Elle est l’auteure de plusieurs rapports et articles qui ont été traduits et publiés dans des publications réputées telles que The Guardian, Geoforum et Open Democracy. Ses travaux universitaires s’appuient sur près de deux décennies de collaboration avec des ONG internationales, des syndicats, des groupes environnementaux et des organisations féministes locales.


Dr Sarah Shoker – chercheuse principale, M. Ramy Shoker – collaborateur à la recherche
Utiliser l’intelligence artificielle pour prévoir les blocages de l’accès à Internet

Sarah Shoker est titulaire d’une bourse de recherche postdoctorale en sciences politiques à l’Université de Waterloo, où elle étudie l’incidence sociale et politique des nouvelles technologies. Elle est titulaire d’une bourse postdoctorale du CRSH pour 2020-2022 et lauréate de la bourse postdoctorale Pionnière 2019-2020 de l’Université de Waterloo. Elle est la fondatrice de Glassbox, une entreprise spécialisée dans les retombées sociales, qui donne de la formation aux membres du gouvernement et du secteur technologique pour les aider à déterminer comment les valeurs sociales sont traduites dans les systèmes d’IA. Son expertise est souvent sollicitée par des décideurs politiques du gouvernement, notamment par Affaires mondiales Canada, Sécurité publique Canada et des agences partenaires du Groupe des cinq, comme la CIA, le FBI, le SCRS et le MI5. Elle s’efforce d’utiliser ses recherches pour combler le fossé entre les parties prenantes qui ont souvent des idées très différentes sur le rôle de l’IA dans la société. Mme Shoker a été mise en candidature au prix canadien de la meilleure thèse CAGS/UMI pour ses recherches doctorales sur les drones militaires et l’autonomie des systèmes militaires et a décroché un contrat avec l’éditeur Palgrave MacMillan, en vue de publier ses travaux en 2020.


Zac Wager – chercheur principal, Karen Cook – collaboratrice à la recherche, Markus Hellborg – collaborateur à la recherche, Emily Standfield – collaboratrice à la recherche
Corps célestes et flou intersidéral : Le rôle du Canada dans la gouvernance et la durabilité de l'espace

Zac Wager est actuellement étudiant de deuxième cycle à la Balsillie School of International Affairs (Université Wilfrid Laurier), où il fait une maîtrise en politique publique internationale. Il a obtenu un baccalauréat (avec mention) en études internationales à l’Université Wilfrid Laurier, avec une mineure en économie et en psychologie. Il a fait des recherches et des publications universitaires approfondies dans plusieurs domaines, dont la paix et les conflits, la politique environnementale, les nouvelles technologies spatiales, le droit international et le développement économique durable. Il a récemment participé au programme de bourses d’études supérieures d’Affaires mondiales Canada, dans le cadre duquel ses travaux ont porté sur le bien-fondé du Traité sur l’espace extra-atmosphérique de 1967 et les processus d’exploitation minière dans l’espace.

Date de modification: