2019 International Policy Ideas Challenge Q&A with prospective applicants February 27, 2019

Eligibility

Q1. Can a recent graduate, freelance researcher submit an application?

If we understand “freelancer” to mean that the researcher does not have a particular institutional affiliation, that is not a barrier to apply to the IPIC.  However, the competition is academic in nature and not a search for a contractor or a consultant.

Q2. Do collaborators have to be MA or PhD students or can they be undergraduates?

Collaborators can be anyone.

Q3. I missed participating in the Q&A.  Can I still apply for the International Policy Ideas Challenge?

Yes!  Participation in the Q&A is not tied to eligibility.

Application

Q1. Is it possible to apply and submit more than once if you have more than 1 topic idea?

The Call for Proposals doesn’t limit applicants in the number of applications they can submit. However, applicants cannot receive several awards for multiple proposals. Only one award per successful candidate will be offered.

Q2. Should the lead researcher provide a bio?

Yes.

Q3. Are unofficial transcripts acceptable?

If timeliness is an issue, we will accept unofficial transcripts provided that official transcripts follow as soon as possible. 

Proposal Requirements

Q1. If my topic is not listed in the priority themes, does it mean that my submission will NOT be considered as equal priority when reviewing applications? (Q1a. Would research topics that study both provincial trade and federal trade, for example, be considered?)

We are open to proposals on other topics as long as their importance to Global Affairs Canada policymakers is justified. It may be useful to consult the department’s priorities at https://www.international.gc.ca/gac-amc/priorities-priorites.aspx?lang=eng

Proposals have to be practical and concrete enough to be feasible, be it a policy recommendation or a programmatic approach.

Q2. What about ideas that are global in nature and not limited to Canadian interests?

It’s very important that proposals relate to Global Affairs Canada’s mandate. However, whole-of-government elements can be incorporated.

Q3. Research: There is a mention of carrying projects to a "research phase"—what constitutes appropriate evidence? Can there be both primary and secondary data collection? Are there any limitations on which methodology is used? Is there the expectation that projects involve more than a literature/document review/synthesis? Should there be systematic analysis of content gathered?

We don’t expect applicants to conduct primary research; however, you may choose to do so if you wish. Evidence gathered from solid secondary research is acceptable.

We are looking for applicants to identify concrete, innovative solutions to emerging international policy challenges faced by Canada. We have asked for these ideas to be presented in the form of a policy document, written in plain language, and has to be understandable to a non-expert audience. As such, we discourage scientific or strictly academic/peer-review type articles.

Organizations such as the International Development Research Centre in Canada and the UK-based Alliance for Useful Evidence, as well as other organizations, have useful guides on how to frame research for policy use.

Q4. How deep do proposals need to go? 

Reviewers need enough information to understand why the issue should matter to policy makers and to understand the idea and the preliminary policy implications of your proposal. You will also need to demonstrate your ability to gather relevant evidence and conduct unbiased analysis that would allow you to develop solutions in the subsequent policy brief if you are selected as one of the ten winners of the challenge. 

The proposal needs to be:

Q5. Evaluation: Please expand. Will the evaluation components be weighted equally? "Proposals will be evaluated by a Global Affairs Canada-led selection committee on a combination of quality, relevance, feasibility, and originality of the idea, as well as the capability and qualifications of the individual(s) to carry the idea to a research phase."

Components will be weighted equally.  Proposals have to be practical and concrete enough to be feasible, be it a policy recommendation or a programmatic approach.

Each proposal should be feasible and offer solutions bridging at least two of the three policy areas under Global Affairs Canada’s mandate: foreign policy, trade, and international development. 

There are many different ways to achieve this:

The onus is on the applicants to convincingly demonstrate these connections.

Q6. Originality: Can the proposal be on a candidate's current thesis topic or research program? Related to ongoing thesis work? Does the proposal need to build on the candidate's current/prior work in novel ways?

Yes, the proposal can be on a candidate’s current thesis topic or research program. Proposals are not restricted to this, however.

Q7. Is there a specific format for the 750 words proposal? For example, abstract style or executive summary style or short policy brief or academic research essay format etc.?

There is no strict outline for the proposal. Elements that point to the feasibility and possible implementation of your proposal will be valuable. It is up to the researcher to use his or her judgment and be mindful of the word count. 

Q8. Can the proposal be done in French? If selected to do the policy brief, can it also be written and presented in French?

Yes, the proposal and policy brief can be written and presented in French or English.

Q9. Is it possible to consult policy briefs from last year’s IPIC?

The full briefs are not available to the public at this time. However, summaries of last year’s winners’ submissions can be found at: https://international.gc.ca/world-monde/study_work_travel-etude_travail_voyage/policy_challenge-2018-defi_politique.aspx?lang=eng

Q10. Budget: Can the $3000 go towards research expenses? What about expenses related to publishing or preparing the brief in audio/visual formats?

The $3,000 is the award for being one of the 10 winners of the International Policy Ideas Challenge. The award will be distributed in two tranches, the first after the final policy brief is submitted in September, and the second after your presentation in the late fall (date to be confirmed). Winners may choose to use the monetary award for the development of their final research; however, they are not required to do so.

Q11. Can we use technical professionals available at our university to produce videos or other non-written products?

Production of all products for the International Policy Ideas Challenge must conform to academic integrity.

Lead researchers may engage collaborators to support the project. Collaborators can be anyone, but they must be identified as part of the team. Only the lead researcher is eligible for the monetary award and potential travel supplement.    

Q12. Can applicants publish their submitted proposals or policy papers after the Challenge has ended?

Yes. Applicants will not be restricted in publishing their own work after the Challenge, but must acknowledge the support of the International Policy Ideas Challenge program funded by the Government of Canada (the exact wording of the acknowledgment statement will be provided). While the copyright will remain with the authors, Global Affairs Canada will retain a non-exclusive license for the use and distribution of their work supported by the award.

Q13. Are winners required to submit additional reports beyond the final brief?

No. Winners are required to submit their final brief in September and present it to Government of Canada officials in late fall (date to be determined) at the Ideas Symposium.

Date Modified:

3

Concours d’idées de politique internationale 2019 – Questions et réponses avec les candidats potentiels, le 27 février 2019

Admissibilité

Q1. Est-ce qu'un nouveau diplômé, chercheur pigiste, peut soumettre sa candidature?

Si l'on entend par « pigiste » le fait que le chercheur n'a pas d'affiliation institutionnelle particulière, cela ne constitue pas un obstacle à sa candidature au CIPI. Toutefois, le concours est de nature académique et ne consiste pas en la recherche d'un entrepreneur ou d'un consultant.

Q2. Les collaborateurs doivent-ils être des étudiants à la maîtrise ou au doctorat ou peuvent-ils être des étudiants de premier cycle?

Toute personne peut participer comme collaborateur.

Q3. Je n'ai pas pu participer à la période de questions.  Puis-je quand même poser ma candidature au Concours d’idées de politique internationale?

Oui! La participation à la session de questions et réponses n'est pas liée à l'admissibilité.

Demande

Q1. Est-il possible pour un candidat de présenter plus d'une proposition si celui-ci a plus d'une idée de sujet?

L'appel de propositions ne limite pas les participants en ce qui a trait au nombre de propositions qu’ils peuvent soumettre. Cependant, les participants ne peuvent pas recevoir plusieurs prix pour de multiples propositions. Seul un prix par candidat retenu sera offert.

Q2. Le chercheur principal devrait-il fournir une biographie?

Oui.

Q3. Les relevés de notes non officiels sont-ils acceptables?

Si les relevés de notes officiels ne sont pas disponibles à temps, nous accepterons les relevés de notes non officiels à condition que les relevés de notes officiels suivent dès que possible. 

Exigences de la proposition

Q1. Si mon sujet ne figure pas dans la liste des thèmes prioritaires, cela signifie-t-il que ma présentation NE sera PAS considérée comme une priorité égale lors de l'examen des demandes? (Q1a. Les sujets de recherche qui étudient à la fois le commerce provincial et le commerce fédéral, par exemple, pourraient-ils être pris en considération?)

Nous sommes ouverts aux propositions sur d'autres sujets, pourvu que leur importance pour les décideurs d'Affaires mondiales Canada soit justifiée. Il pourrait être utile de consulter les priorités du Ministère à l'adresse suivante https://www.international.gc.ca/gac-amc/priorities-priorites.aspx?lang=fra.

Les propositions doivent être assez pratiques et concrètes pour être faisables, qu'il s'agisse d'une recommandation sur une politique ou d'une approche-programme.

Q2. Qu'en est-il des idées de nature mondiale qui ne se limitent pas aux intérêts canadiens?

Il est très important que les propositions se rapportent au mandat d’Affaires mondiales Canada. Cependant, des éléments pangouvernementaux peuvent y être intégrés.

Q3. Recherche : On parle de la réalisation de projets jusqu'à la phase de recherche. Qu'est-ce que des données probantes appropriées? Peut-il y avoir une collecte de données primaires et secondaires? Y a-t-il des contraintes quant à la méthodologie à utiliser? S'attend-on à ce que les projets comportent plus qu'un examen ou une synthèse des documents? Devrait-il y avoir une analyse systématique du contenu recueilli?

Nous ne nous attendons pas à ce que les demandeurs réalisent une recherche principale. Les données probantes tirées de recherches de sources secondaires solides sont acceptables.

Nous cherchons des demandeurs qui cernent des solutions concrètes et novatrices aux enjeux émergents en matière de politique internationale avec lesquels le Canada est aux prises. Nous avons demandé que les idées soient présentées sous forme d'un document d'orientation rédigé en langage clair et compréhensible pour un public non spécialiste. À ce titre, nous vous recommandons d'éviter les articles scientifiques ou strictement universitaires ou les examens par les pairs.

Des organisations comme le Centre de recherches pour le développement international du Canada et l’Alliance for Useful Evidence du Royaume-Uni de même que d’autres organisations ont des guides utiles sur la manière de formuler un cadre de recherche en vue de son utilisation pour l’élaboration de politiques.

Q4. À quel point doit-on approfondir les propositions?

Les examinateurs doivent avoir assez de renseignements pour comprendre pourquoi la question devrait être importante pour les décideurs et comprendre l'idée et les implications stratégiques préliminaires. Vous devrez également montrer votre capacité à recueillir des données probantes pertinentes et à effectuer une analyse neutre qui vous permettrait d'élaborer des solutions par la suite dans le cadre d'un document de politique si vous êtes retenu parmi les dix gagnants du Concours.

La proposition doit être :

Q5. Évaluation : veuillez expliquer. Les volets de l'évaluation auront-ils une valeur égale? « Un comité de sélection dirigé par Affaires mondiales Canada évaluera les propositions sous l’angle de la qualité, de la pertinence, de la faisabilité et de l’originalité de l’idée, de même que des capacités et des qualifications des personnes pour passer à la phase de la recherche. »

Les volets auront une valeur égale. Les propositions doivent être suffisamment pratiques et concrètes pour être réalisables, que ce soit sous forme de recommandations de politiques ou d'une approche‑programme.

Chaque proposition devrait être faisable et comprendre des solutions établissant des liens entre au moins deux des trois secteurs stratégiques faisant partie du mandat d’Affaires mondiales Canada : la politique étrangère, le commerce, et le développement international. 

Il y a plusieurs façons différentes d'y parvenir :

Il incombe aux participants de démontrer ces liens de manière convaincante.

Q6. Originalité : La proposition peut-elle porter sur le sujet de la thèse ou le programme de recherche actuel du candidat? Peut-elle être liée à des travaux de thèse en cours? La proposition doit-elle s'appuyer sur les travaux actuels ou antérieurs du candidat de façon originale?

Oui, la proposition peut porter sur le sujet de thèse ou le programme de recherche actuel du candidat. Toutefois, les propositions ne se limitent pas à ces sujets.

Q7. Faut-il respecter un format précis pour la proposition de 750 mots? Par exemple le présenter sous forme de résumé, de court document d'orientation ou de mémoire de recherche universitaire?

Il n’y a pas de plan rigoureux à suivre pour la proposition. Les éléments qui montrent la faisabilité et la mise en œuvre possible de votre proposition seront utiles. Il incombe au chercheur de faire preuve de jugement et de demeurer conscient du compte de mots.

Q8. La proposition peut-elle être soumise en français? Si l’auteur est sélectionné pour présenter un énoncé de politique, celui-ci peut-il aussi être rédigé et présenté en français?

Oui, la proposition et l’énoncé de politique peuvent être rédigés et présentés en français ou en anglais.

Q9. Est-il possible de consulter les documents d'orientation du Concours de l'an dernier?

Les documents ne sont pas encore accessibles au public. Toutefois, les résumés des soumissions des gagnants de l'an dernier peuvent être consultés à l'adresse suivante : https://international.gc.ca/world-monde/study_work_travel-etude_travail_voyage/policy_challenge-2018-defi_politique.aspx?lang=fra.

Q10. Budget : La somme de 3 000 $ peut-elle être affectée à des dépenses liées à la recherche? Qu'en est-il des dépenses liées à la publication ou à la préparation du document en format audiovisuel?

La somme de 3 000 $ est la récompense aux 10 gagnants du Concours. Le prix sera distribué en deux parties : la première sera versée après la présentation du document d'orientation final en septembre, et la deuxième, après la présentation à la fin de l'automne (date à confirmer). Les gagnants peuvent décider d'utiliser la récompense monétaire pour élaborer leur recherche finale, mais ils n’y sont pas obligés.

Q11. Pouvons-nous avoir recours à des professionnels techniques disponibles à notre université pour la production de vidéos et d'autres produits qui ne sont pas des écrits?

La production de tous les produits pour le Concours doit être conforme à l'intégrité universitaire.

Les chercheurs principaux peuvent embaucher des collaborateurs pour appuyer le projet. Quiconque peut devenir un collaborateur, mais il faut indiquer que cette personne fait partie de l'équipe. Seul le chercheur principal est admissible à la récompense monétaire et au supplément possible accordé pour les déplacements.

Q12. Les participants pourront-ils publier les propositions ou documents d’orientation qu’ils auront soumis lorsque le concours aura pris fin?

Oui. Les participants pourront publier librement leurs travaux lorsque le concours aura pris fin, mais ils devront reconnaître le soutien reçu du programme Concours d’idées de politique internationale financé par le gouvernement du Canada (le libellé exact de la déclaration sera fourni). Les droits d’auteur seront respectés, mais Affaires mondiales Canada conservera une licence non exclusive d’utilisation et de distribution des travaux ayant reçu un prix.

Q13. Les gagnants doivent-ils soumettre des rapports supplémentaires au-delà du mémoire final?

Non. Les gagnants doivent soumettre leur mémoire final en septembre et le présenter aux représentants du gouvernement du Canada à la fin de l'automne (date à déterminer) lors du Symposium d'idées.

Date de modification: