Language selection

Search

International Policy Ideas Challenge 2022 – Call for proposals

Concept

Global Affairs Canada (GAC), in collaboration with the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC), is pleased to announce the sixth edition of the International Policy Ideas Challenge. The objective of the program is to draw on the network of talented Canadian graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, and early-career civil society researchers to identify concrete, innovative solutions to emerging international policy challenges faced by Canada.

The program offers applicants a chance to test their skills at translating academic expertise into policy language and insights. Applicants are invited to submit brief proposals. GAC will select up to 6 winning proposals, and the Balsillie School of International Affairs (BSIA) will provide coaching to researchers as part of further developing their proposals into full policy briefs. Winners will present their briefs to Government of Canada officials as part of the virtual Ideas Symposium, which GAC will host in late 2022.

Eligibility

The International Policy Ideas Challenge invites applications from current graduate students (Master’s or PhD level) and post-doctoral fellows at a recognized Canadian post-secondary educational institution.

Researchers affiliated with a Canadian non-profit organization (e.g., a non-governmental organization or a think tank) who are within 6 years of graduation from a graduate program at a recognized post-secondary institution will also be considered.

Applicants must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada.

Indeterminate and term employees of the Government of Canada are not eligible to apply. Additionally, employees of GAC, including students and casuals, are not eligible to apply.

Team applications, with a maximum of 3 members, are permitted; however, a lead researcher must be identified. A team application that includes collaborators from other universities is permitted. In the case of a team application, all members are expected to meet the above requirements.

Financial award

Up to 6 awards will be granted. For each winning proposal, $3,000 will be provided to the lead (or sole) researcher upon submission of the final brief and formal presentation to GAC.

Coaching

In addition to the financial award, all winners will receive mandatory coaching from the BSIA. The coaching program will give winners additional assistance on their research, policy analysis and presentation skills. The coaching will include group and one-on-one sessions for which each winner will be paired with a subject-matter expert. Instruction will be provided in the official language of the application, and all sessions will be delivered online.

By the end of the program, winners will have a deeper understanding of GAC, of Canada’s foreign policy and international assistance and trade and of international and multilateral considerations relevant to their areas of specialization. During the program, winners will also learn how to prepare a policy brief, develop policy recommendations and present their ideas in a compelling manner.

Winners are expected to fully participate in all of the 4 coaching sessions. These will be delivered online during summer and fall 2022:

  1. A 2-day group session on Global Affairs Canada and Canadian foreign policy 101.
  2. A 1- to 2-hour one-on-one coaching session with a BSIA coach with relevant subject-matter expertise to discuss policy brief content and potential recommendations
  3. A 1- to 2-hour follow-up coaching session with a BSIA coach to discuss the completed draft policy brief
  4. A half-day group session to practise presentations

Winners will also receive a course package with key readings. The package will include guidelines on writing a persuasive policy brief and delivering an effective presentation.

Themes

Each proposal should outline a trend, dynamic, or research question affecting Canadian foreign policy in relation to one or more themes provided below that applicants believe needs additional study. Proposals should sketch out preliminary policy recommendations. The 6 themes below are derived from GAC’s mandate and key objectives on foreign policy and international trade and assistance. The policy proposal must be relevant to at least 1 of the themes provided below. The policy proposal may also use more than 1 of the themes, but this is not required. The themes are:

  1. Canada-led or- supported actions with close partners, including the G7 and NATO, and/or through Canada’s engagement with international organizations, including the UN, that aim to do 1 or more of:
  2. Canada-led or -supported international responses that advance support for democracy, rule of law, media freedom, inclusive governance and/or human rights, particularly those made in coordination with the G7 and NATO, which could include responding to foreign interference in democratic processes and/or egregious violations of human rights
  3. Applying lessons learned from COVID-19 response and recovery to informing and strengthening Canada’s international assistance in the areas of pandemic preparedness and recovery; you may focus on priority issues, such as:
    • strengthening health systems
    •  the One Health approach
    • education for refugees and forcibly displaced children and youth
    • prevention of gender violence
    • paid and unpaid care work
    • protections for migrant workers in the care economy
    • decent work and employment in a post-COVID-19 world
    • other social and economic considerations
  4. Ways Canada should further support developing countries in taking climate action through adaptation, mitigation and resilience, with particular emphasis on the needs and rights of women and marginalized vulnerable groups; you may focus on 1 or more priority issues, such as:
    • international climate finance, including blended finance
    • feminist approaches
    • nature-based solutions
    • biodiversity
    • small-island developing states
    • Africa-focused programming
    • Indigenous-led solutions
    • locally led climate solutions
    • climate change and security
  5. How Canada can help to build and safeguard an open and inclusive rules-based global trading system that will help raise the standard of living for all Canadians. You may focus on 1 or more priority issues, such as:
    • Strengthening and securing critical supply chains
    • Advancing Canada’s global leadership on critical minerals
    • Ensuring that Canada’s trading relationships are mutually beneficial economic relationships
    • Ensuring that Canadian businesses operating abroad do not contribute to human rights abuses
    • Combatting protectionism, unfair trade practices and economic coercion around the world
    • Positioning Canada as a top destination for global investment while balancing Canada’s national interests
  6. Ways to advance Canada’s export diversification strategy, to enable Canadian businesses to grow internationally and to create economic opportunities through increased and more diverse trade and investment. You may focus on 1 or more priority issues, such as:

Note: The final product will take the form of a policy brief, not exceeding 3,500 words, and it must include a one-page executive summary and policy recommendations. Coaching sessions will take place in summer and fall 2022, and final briefs will be due in fall 2022. Visit the International Policy Ideas Challenge winners’ pages to learn about past winners.

Proposal Requirements

Proposals should demonstrate your ability to present your idea comprehensively and succinctly, including by explaining how you will gather relevant evidence and conduct rigorous analysis that would allow you to develop policy recommendations in the final policy brief, if you are selected as one of the winners of the Challenge.

Proposals should:

To Apply

To apply, please send the following items as PDF file attachments to IPIC-CIPI.POR@international.gc.ca.

Only complete applications will be assessed. Proposals will be evaluated by a GAC-led selection committee on a combination of quality, relevance, feasibility, and originality of the idea, as well as the capability and qualifications of the individual(s) to carry the idea to research and policy brief phases.

As part of the assessment process, shortlisted candidates will be interviewed by members of the selection committee. Only successful applicants will be contacted. The names of the winners will be announced on the GAC website.If you have other questions about this call after reading the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ), please send them to IPIC-CIPI.POR@international.gc.ca. Please note however that GAC cannot provide personalized advice to applicants on their individual situations or the relevance of their research to the themes of the competition. We are only able to offer general clarification of the information contained in the call for proposals.

Process and Timeline

DescriptionDate
Call for proposals launchMarch 2022
Application deadlineMay 20, 2022
Assessment of applicationsMay-June, 2022
Selection of the six winning entriesJune 2022
GAC and SSHRC announce  winnersJune 2022
Four BSIA coaching sessions (roughly 3 days in total; see “Coaching,” above)June-Fall 2022
Policy briefs dueTBD Late Fall 2022
Virtual Ideas Symposium to present final research products to Government of Canada officials at GACTBD 2022

Partnership

Global Affairs Canada is pleased to acknowledge the partnership of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) in this initiative.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Concours d’idées de politique internationale de 2022 – Appel de propositions

Concept

Affaires mondiales Canada, en collaboration avec le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines, est heureux d’annoncer la sixième édition du Concours d’idées de politique internationale. L’objectif du programme est de mettre à profit le bassin de talentueux diplômés, boursiers de recherches postdoctorales et chercheurs de la société civile en début de carrière pour trouver des solutions concrètes et novatrices aux nouveaux enjeux de politique internationale auxquels est confronté le Canada.

Le programme offre aux candidats l’occasion de mettre à l’épreuve leurs compétences en matière de traduction de l’expertise théorique en langage politique. Les candidats sont invités à soumettre de brèves propositions. Affaires mondiales Canada sélectionnera jusqu’à 6 propositions gagnantes, et l’École Balsillie des affaires internationales (EBAI) fournira un encadrement aux chercheurs dans le cadre du développement de leurs propositions pour en faire des énoncés de politique complets. Les gagnants présenteront leurs énoncés aux représentants du gouvernement du Canada dans le cadre d’un colloque virtuel sur les idées, qui sera organisé par Affaires mondiales Canada à la fin de 2022.

Admissibilité

Le Concours d’idées de politique internationale est ouvert aux étudiants des cycles supérieurs (niveau de la maîtrise et du doctorat) et aux boursiers de recherches postdoctoraux dans un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire canadien reconnu.

Les chercheurs affiliés à une organisation sans but lucratif canadienne (p. ex., un organisme non gouvernemental ou un groupe de réflexion) qui ont obtenu, au cours des 6 dernières années, leur diplôme d’un programme d’études supérieures dans un établissement postsecondaire reconnu sont également invités à soumettre leur proposition.

Les candidats doivent être citoyens canadiens ou résidents permanents du Canada.

Les employés du gouvernement du Canada nommés pour une période indéterminée ou déterminée ne sont pas admissibles. Les employés d’Affaires mondiales Canada, y compris les étudiants et les employés occasionnels, ne sont pas admissibles non plus. 

Les équipes composées d’au maximum 3 personnes sont autorisées à participer, mais un chercheur principal doit être désigné. Les équipes qui comprennent des collaborateurs d’autres universités sont également autorisées à participer. Dans le cas d’une équipe, tous les membres doivent répondre aux exigences mentionnées précédemment.

Prix financier

Jusqu’à 6 bourses seront accordées. Pour chaque proposition gagnante, une somme de 3 000 $ sera versée au chercheur principal (ou unique) après la soumission de l’énoncé final et la présentation officielle à Affaires mondiales Canada.

Encadrement

En plus d’un prix financier, tous les gagnants recevront un encadrement obligatoire de l’EBAI. Le programme d’encadrement fournira une assistance supplémentaire aux gagnants dans le cadre de leurs recherches, de leur analyse des politiques et de leur présentation. L’encadrement comprendra des séances de groupe et des séances individuelles pour lesquelles chaque gagnant sera jumelé avec un expert en la matière. L’enseignement sera prodigué dans la langue officielle de la demande, et toutes les séances seront données en ligne.

À la fin du programme, les gagnants auront une meilleure compréhension d’Affaires mondiales Canada, de la politique étrangère du Canada, du commerce et de l’aide internationale, ainsi que des considérations internationales et multilatérales pertinentes à leur domaine de spécialisation. Tout au long du programme, les gagnants apprendront également à rédiger un énoncé politique, à formuler des recommandations stratégiques et à présenter leurs idées de manière convaincante.

Les gagnants devront participer pleinement aux 4 séances d’encadrement durant l’été et l’automne 2022, soit :

  1. Une séance de groupe de 2 jours portant sur Affaires mondiales Canada et la politique étrangère du Canada.
  2. Une séance individuelle d’encadrement de 1 à 2 heures avec un formateur de l’EBAI possédant une expertise dans le domaine en question, afin de discuter du contenu de l’énoncé politique et des recommandations potentielles.
  3. Une séance d’encadrement de suivi de 1 à 2 heures avec un formateur de l’EBAI pour discuter de l’ébauche de l’énoncé de politique.
  4. Une séance de groupe d’une demi-journée pour pratiquer les présentations.

Les gagnants recevront également un ensemble de documents relatifs au cours contenant des lectures importantes. Ces documents comprendront des lignes directrices pour la rédaction d’un énoncé de politique convaincant et des conseils pour une présentation efficace.

Thèmes

Les propositions doivent décrire une tendance, une dynamique ou une question de recherche qui influe sur la politique étrangère canadienne, qui touche un ou plusieurs thèmes fournis précédemment et qui, selon les candidats, doit faire l’objet d’études supplémentaires. Les propositions doivent présenter des recommandations stratégiques préliminaires. Les 6 thèmes ci-dessous sont issus du mandat et des objectifs clés d’Affaires mondiales Canada en matière de politique étrangère, de commerce et d’aide internationale. La proposition de politique doit être liée à au moins un des thèmes fournis ci-dessous. Elle peut également porter sur plus d’un thème, mais ce n’est pas obligatoire. Les thèmes sont les suivants :

  1. Les actions dirigées ou soutenues par le Canada avec des partenaires proches, y compris les membres du G7 et de l’OTAN, ou dans le cadre de la participation du Canada à des organisations internationales, y compris l’ONU, qui visent à réaliser un ou plusieurs des objectifs suivants :
  2. Les interventions internationales dirigées ou soutenues par le Canada qui soutiennent la démocratie, l’état de droit, la liberté des médias, la gouvernance inclusive ou les droits de la personne, particulièrement celles menées en coordination avec les membres du G7 et de l’OTAN, ce qui pourrait inclure une réponse à l’ingérence étrangère dans les processus démocratiques ou à des violations flagrantes des droits de la personne.
  3. L’utilisation des leçons tirées de la réponse à la COVID-19 et de la reprise économique subséquente pour éclairer et renforcer l’aide internationale du Canada dans les domaines de la préparation à une pandémie et de la reprise à l’avenir. Vous pouvez mettre l’accent sur des enjeux prioritaires tels que :
  4. Les moyens par lesquels le Canada devrait davantage aider les pays en développement à prendre des mesures d’adaptation, d’atténuation et de résilience dans le cadre de la lutte contre les changements climatiques, en mettant particulièrement l’accent sur les besoins et les droits des femmes et des groupes vulnérables marginalisés. Vous pouvez mettre l’accent sur un ou plusieurs des enjeux prioritaires suivants :
  5. Les moyens par lesquels le Canada peut contribuer à la mise en place et à la sauvegarde d’un système commercial mondial ouvert et inclusif, fondé sur des règles, qui permettra d’améliorer le niveau de vie de tous les Canadiens. Vous pouvez vous concentrer sur une ou plusieurs des questions prioritaires suivantes :
  6. Des moyens de faire progresser la stratégie de diversification des exportations du Canada, de permettre aux entreprises canadiennes de se développer à l’échelle internationale et de créer des débouchés économiques grâce à des échanges et à des investissements accrus et plus diversifiés. Vous pouvez vous concentrer sur une ou plusieurs des questions prioritaires suivantes :

Remarque : Le produit final devra prendre la forme d’un énoncé de politique d’au plus 4 000 mots et comprendre un résumé d’une page ainsi que des recommandations stratégiques. Les séances d’encadrement auront lieu à l’été et à l’automne 2022, et les énoncés finaux devront être remis à l’automne 2022. Visitez la page Concours d’idées de politique internationale 2020 – Les gagnants du concours pour connaître les gagnants précédents.

Exigences de la proposition

Les propositions doivent démontrer votre capacité à présenter votre idée de manière complète et succincte. Elles doivent également démontrer de quelle manière, si votre proposition était retenue comme l’un des gagnants du Concours, vous allez être en mesure de rassembler des preuves pertinentes et de mener une analyse rigoureuse qui vous permettra d’élaborer des recommandations stratégiques dans l’énoncé de politique final.  

Les propositions doivent :

Pour postuler

Pour postuler, veuillez envoyer les documents suivants en format PDF à IPIC-CIPI.POR@international.gc.ca.

Seules les demandes complètes seront évaluées. Un comité de sélection d’Affaires mondiales Canada évaluera les propositions sous l’angle de la qualité, de la pertinence, de la faisabilité et de l’originalité de l’idée, de même que des capacités et des qualifications des personnes de passer aux phases de recherche et d’élaboration de l’énoncé de politique.

Dans le cadre du processus d’évaluation, les candidats présélectionnés peuvent être interviewés par les membres du comité de sélection. Seuls les candidats retenus seront contactés. Les noms des gagnants seront annoncés sur le site Web d’Affaires mondiales Canada.

Si vous avez encore des questions au sujet du présent appel après avoir lu les Questions fréquemment posées (FAQ), veuillez les envoyer à IPIC-CIPI.POR@international.gc.ca. Veuillez noter qu’Affaires mondiales Canada ne peut pas fournir aux candidats des avis personnalisés sur leur situation propre ou sur la pertinence de leur recherche relativement aux thèmes du concours. Nous ne sommes en mesure d’offrir que des éclaircissements généraux sur les informations contenues dans l’appel de propositions.

Processus et échéancier

DescriptionDate

Lancement de l’appel de propositions

Mars 2022

Date limite de présentation des propositions

20 mai 2022

Évaluation des propositions

Mai-juin 2022

Sélection des 6 propositions gagnantes

Juin 2022

Annonce des gagnants par Affaires mondiales Canada et le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines

Juin 2022

Quatre séances d’encadrement de l’EBAI (environ 3 jours au total, voir la section « Encadrement » ci-dessus)

Juin-automne 2022

Remises des énoncés de politiques

À déterminer à la fin de l’automne 2022

Colloque d’idées pour présenter des produits finaux de la recherche aux représentants du gouvernement du Canada à Affaires mondiales Canada

À déterminer en 2022

Partenariat

Affaires mondiales Canada tient à souligner son partenariat avec le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines dans cette initiative.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: