Corporate Social Responsibility

What is Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR)?

Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) is defined as the voluntary activities undertaken by a company to operate in an economic, social and environmentally sustainable manner.

The Government of Canada understands that responsible corporate behaviour by Canadian companies operating internationally not only enhances their chances for business success but can also contribute to broad-based economic benefits for the countries in which they are active and for Canada. Investing and operating responsibly also plays an important role in promoting Canadian values internationally and contributes to the sustainable development of communities. The Government of Canada is therefore committed to promoting responsible business practices; and expects and encourages Canadian companies working internationally to respect all applicable laws and international standards, to operate transparently and in consultation with host governments and local communities, and to conduct their activities in a socially and environmentally responsible manner.

Why is CSR Important to Business?

When companies operate in an economically, socially and environmentally responsible manner, and they do so transparently, it helps them succeed, in particular through encouraging shared value and social license. Management and mitigation of social and environmental risk factors are increasingly important for business success abroad, as the costs to companies of losing that social license, both in terms of share price and the bottom line, may be significant. As Canadian firms take advantage of global opportunities, there is an increasing understanding that incorporation of responsible business practices into investments and operations abroad not only benefits the local economies and communities, but makes good business sense.

How Does the Government of Canada Support CSR?

The Government of Canada has in place a variety of initiatives which demonstrate Canada’s longstanding commitment to promoting responsible business practice. Through its actions, the Government facilitates the commercial success of Canadian companies active abroad while enhancing the contribution of their activities to the broad economic growth of Canada and its trading partners, including those with developing and emergent economies. We work with the Canadian business community, civil society organizations, foreign governments and communities, as well as other stakeholders to foster and promote responsible business practices, and thus support sustainable economic growth and shared value.

Canada’s Comprehensive Approach to Supporting CSR

The Government provides CSR-related guidance to the Canadian business community, including through Canadian embassies and missions abroad. Recognizing, however, that company actions alone do not guarantee commercial success or sustainable local benefits, the Government of Canada works with a range of interlocutors to promote CSR. Canada’s network of diplomatic missions abroad actively promotes awareness and understanding of the importance of responsible business practice and creates opportunities for relationship building through conferences, workshops and other activities involving companies, representatives of host governments, and civil society. In addition, Canada has provided funding to numerous CSR projects and initiatives in countries around the world.

Canada also promotes CSR at multilateral and bilateral levels. Multilaterally, Canada promotes international CSR standards in a number of fora including the OECD, the Group of Eight, the Asia Pacific Economic Co-operation, the Organization of American States, la Francophonie, and the Commonwealth. Participation in multilateral fora provides Canada not only an opportunity to share knowledge, but also to work together to promote and strengthen international CSR guidelines to the benefit of all stakeholders. Canada’s efforts to promote CSR are further advanced at the bilateral level. For example, the inclusion of voluntary provisions for CSR in its most recent Foreign Investment Promotion and Protection Agreements (FIPAs) and Free Trade Agreements (FTAs), including those with Peru, Colombia, Panama and Honduras. Read more on Canada's trade Negotiations and Agreements.

Voluntary Dispute Resolution Mechanisms

Many of the Government’s CSR efforts are aimed at encouraging positive relations between companies and their stakeholders. However, when necessary, Canada has two mechanisms to assist with company - community dialogue facilitation and conflict resolution: the review processes of Canada’s National Contact Point for the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises (NCP) and of the Office of the Extractive Sector CSR Counsellor. Canada’s NCP has had 14 requests for review since it was established in 2000, while the CSR Counsellor’s Review Process has received six cases since its establishment in 2010. An emerging area of interest is the contribution of dialogue facilitation and non-judicial mediation of local disputes to corporate success and broad local benefits.

Anti-Corruption and Anti-Bribery Efforts

Canada's legislation to implement the OECD Convention on Combating Bribery of Foreign Public Officials in International Business Transactions, the Corruption of Foreign Public Officials Act (CFPOA), came into force on February 14, 1999. The Act makes it a criminal offence to bribe a foreign public official in the course of business. Under this law, individuals as well as corporations can be prosecuted for offenses committed inside and outside of Canada. The CFPOA reinforces Canada's leadership role in fighting corruption and promoting good business practices at an international level and confirms the Government's commitment to the OECD Anti-Bribery Convention.

Supporting CSR in Specific Areas

CSR in Canada’s International Extractive Sector

*Please note that Canada’s CSR Strategy has been updated. The November 2014 renewal gives the Strategy a new name - Doing Business the Canadian Way: A Strategy to Advance CSR in Canada’s Extractive Sector Abroad.

The extractive sector, which includes mining, oil and natural gas, has significantly contributed to Canada’s economic growth and prosperity, including through the strength of its international presence. To enhance the ability of Canadian international extractive sector companies to manage social and environmental risks, and to operate in a way that brings lasting benefits to local communities and host countries affected by their projects, Canada created a unique framework to guide CSR efforts of the extractive sector known as the CSR Strategy . Launched in 2009, and renewed in 2014, the CSR Strategy is part of Canada’s efforts to help foster and promote sustainable economic development and responsible business practices in countries where Canadian extractive sector companies operate abroad. To view the 2009 CSR Strategy announcement, please see the News Release: Minister Day Announces New Initiatives to Support Responsible Practices for Canadian Businesses Abroad.

Canada undertook a review of the CSR Strategy after five years. The results of this review and renewal of the CSR Strategy were announced by Minister Fast on November 14, 2014. For further information on the review and the updated CSR Strategy, please see: Doing Business the Canadian Way: A Strategy to Advance CSR in Canada’s Extractive Sector Abroad.

Transparency

Canada is advancing responsible business conduct through its efforts to improve transparency and accountability in the extractive sector. In June 2013, the Government announced its intent to establish new, mandatory reporting standards for Canadian extractive companies to enhance transparency of the payments they make to governments. Read more about mandatory reporting. Canada also joined the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (EITI) in February 2007, as a supporting country and donor. The EITI supports improved transparency in resource-rich developing countries through the full publication and verification of company payments and government receipts from oil, gas and mining operations.

Conflict-Sensitive Business Practices

An area in which Canada is taking an increasingly active role is the promotion of conflict-sensitive business practices in conflict-affected states. Investment by Canadian businesses in fragile and conflict-affected states can contribute to the sustainable development of communities and be an important component of a country’s post-conflict recovery, producing meaningful employment, generating government revenue, and being a catalyst for rebuilding commercial infrastructure. By promoting conflict-sensitive business practices, the Government of Canada can help Canadian companies seize business opportunities in challenging environments, while bringing tangible stability and peace-building benefits.

Conflict Minerals

The Government of Canada, companies, and civil society have been at the forefront of efforts to create a global consensus on responsible mining and sourcing practices to address the phenomenon of “conflict minerals” in the gold, tin, and tantalum and tungsten sectors. The Government of Canada played a leading role in the negotiation of the OECD Due Diligence Guidance for Responsible Supply Chains of Minerals from Conflict-Affected and High-Risk Areas, and continues to be actively engaged in its promotion and implementation. Canada has also provided strategic funding of key projects towards peace and prosperity in the Great Lakes Region, and was a founding member of the Kimberley Process, which came into effect in 2003, to stem the trade in conflict diamonds.

Due Diligence in the Retail Garment Industry

Canada is also supporting due diligence and responsible business practices within the ready-made garment industry, and sustainable sourcing of ready-made garments from international suppliers and manufacturers. Governments, businesses, non-profits and other organizations are increasingly integrating social and environmental objectives into the purchasing process which can be a means for leveraging social benefits and fostering sustainable economies. An example of Canada’s efforts in this area is $8 million in support over four years for a joint initiative with the International Labour Organization for improving working conditions in the ready-made garment sector in Bangladesh, to help ensure that Bangladesh’s garment factories are properly assessed for safe working conditions, and remedial action is undertaken. Further information on Purchasing for Sustainability can be found on Industry Canada’s website.

CSR E-Bulletin

For more information on the Government of Canada efforts on CSR internationally, you are welcome to visit Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada's (DFATD) CSR E-Bulletin. It provides subscribers with relevant, up-to-date information detailing DFATD and the Government of Canada’s CSR initiatives both at home and abroad. We trust that you will find these issues informative, and look forward to hearing your feedback with regards to this new resource. If you wish to be added to the distribution list, please send a message to: csr-rse@international.gc.ca.

Responsabilité sociale des entreprises

Qu’entend-on par responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE)?

On entend par responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE) les mesures volontaires prises par une entreprise pour exercer ses activités d’une manière durable sur les plans économique, social et environnemental.

Le gouvernement du Canada comprend que le comportement responsable des entreprises canadiennes présentes sur le marché international accroît leurs chances de succès et peut également apporter des avantages économiques de nature générale aux pays dans lesquels elles sont actives, ainsi que pour le Canada. L’investissement et l’exploitation responsables jouent également un rôle important dans la promotion des valeurs canadiennes à l’échelle internationale et contribuent au développement durable des collectivités. Par conséquent, le gouvernement du Canada est résolu à promouvoir des pratiques commerciales responsables; il encourage toutes les entreprises canadiennes présentes à l’étranger à respecter toutes les lois et les normes internationales applicables, à faire preuve de transparence en collaborant avec le gouvernement et les collectivités locales, et à mener leurs activités d’une manière responsable sur les plans social et environnemental, et il s’attend à ce qu’elles le fassent.

Pourquoi la RSE est-elle importante pour les entreprises?

Lorsque les sociétés mènent leurs activités de manière économiquement, socialement et écologiquement responsable et le font de façon transparente, cela les aide à réussir, en particulier en affirmant les valeurs communes et en rehaussant l’acceptabilité sociale. La gestion et l’atténuation des risques sociaux et environnementaux sont de plus en plus importantes pour le succès des entreprises à l’étranger, puisque la perte de l’acceptabilité sociale d’une entreprise peut avoir des répercussions considérables, que ce soit sur le cours de ses actions ou sur son bénéfice net. À mesure que les entreprises canadiennes tirent parti des occasions d’affaires mondiales, on se rend de plus en plus compte que l’intégration de pratiques commerciales responsables aux investissements et aux activités à l’étranger est non seulement bénéfique pour les économies et les collectivités locales, mais aussi d’une logique commerciale inattaquable.

Comment le gouvernement du Canada appui-t-il la RSE?

Le gouvernement du Canada a mis en place un éventail d’initiatives qui démontrent sa volonté de longue date de promouvoir les pratiques commerciales responsables des entreprises. Par les mesures qu’il prend, le gouvernement facilite le succès commercial des entreprises canadiennes actives à l’étranger tout en renforçant la contribution de leurs activités à la croissance économique générale du Canada et de ses partenaires commerciaux, y compris les économies en développement ou émergentes. Nous travaillons avec le milieu des affaires canadien, les organisations de la société civile, les gouvernements et les collectivités de l’étranger ainsi qu’avec les autres parties prenantes, en vue de promouvoir et d’encourager les pratiques commerciales responsables et de soutenir ainsi la croissance économique durable et les valeurs communes.

L’approche globale du Canada en matière de RSE

Le gouvernement propose des orientations en matière de RSE aux gens d’affaires canadiens, notamment par l’entremise des missions du Canada à l’étranger. Il reconnaît toutefois que le seul comportement des sociétés ne garantit pas le succès commercial ni des avantages locaux durables. Il travaille donc avec un éventail d’interlocuteurs pour promouvoir la RSE. Le réseau des missions diplomatiques du Canada agit activement pour sensibiliser les intervenants à l’importance des pratiques commerciales responsables et les aider à mieux les comprendre. Le réseau crée des possibilités d’établissement de relations grâce à des conférences, à des ateliers et à d’autres activités à l’intention des entreprises, des représentants des gouvernements des pays hôtes et de la société civile. En outre, le Canada a assuré le financement de nombreux projets et initiatives concernant la RSE, partout dans le monde.

Le Canada fait également la promotion de la RSE dans les instances bilatérales et multilatérales. Le Canada fait la promotion de normes internationales en matière de RSE au sein de plusieurs instances multilatérales dont l’OCDE, le Groupe des Huit, la Coopération économique de la zone Asie-Pacifique, l’Organisation des États américains et la Francophonie. La participation à des forums multilatéraux procure au Canada l’occasion de non seulement échanger des connaissances, mais aussi de travailler de concert afin de promouvoir et de renforcer les lignes directrices internationales sur la RSE, au profit de toutes les parties prenantes. Les efforts du Canada visant à promouvoir la RSE ont été plus fructueux dans les instances bilatérales. Mentionnons, par exemple, l’inclusion de dispositions volontaires touchant la RSE dans ses plus récents accords sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers et accords de libre-échange, y compris ceux avec le Pérou, la Colombie, Panama et le Honduras. Cliquez ici pour en apprendre davantage sur les accords et les négociations en matière de commerce du Canada. .

Les mécanismes volontaires de règlement des différends

De nombreux efforts du gouvernement en matière de RSE visent à favoriser les relations positives entre les entreprises et leurs parties prenantes. Toutefois, lorsque c’est nécessaire, le Canada dispose de deux mécanismes pour faciliter le dialogue entre une compagnie et la collectivité, de même que le règlement des conflits : les processus d’examen du Point de contact national (PCN) relatif aux Principes directeurs de l’OCDE à l’intention des entreprises multinationales et du Bureau du conseiller en responsabilité sociale des entreprises de l’industrie extractive. Le PCN du Canada a reçu 14 demandes de révision depuis qu’il a été établi en 2000, tandis que six cas ont été soumis au processus d’examen du conseiller en RSE depuis la création du Bureau en 2010. Par ailleurs, on observe un intérêt naissant à l’égard de la contribution à la facilitation du dialogue et à la médiation non judiciaire des différends locaux comme formes d’assurer la réussite des entreprises et d’élargir les avantages à l’échelle locale.

Mesures de lutte contre la corruption

La disposition législative adoptée par le Canada pour mettre en œuvre la Convention de l’OCDE sur la lutte contre la corruption d’agents publics étrangers dans les transactions commerciales internationales, la Loi sur la corruption d’agents publics étrangers (ci-après, la Loi), est entrée en vigueur le 14 février 1999. La Loi prévoit que toute personne qui, dans le cours des affaires, tente de corrompre un agent public étranger commet une infraction pénale. Aux termes de cette loi, les particuliers et les sociétés peuvent être inculpés pour des actes commis au Canada et à l’étranger. La Loi sur la corruption d’agents publics étrangers consolide le rôle de premier plan du Canada dans la lutte contre la corruption et dans la promotion de pratiques commerciales saines à l’échelle internationale, et elle confirme la détermination du gouvernement à respecter la Convention de l’OCDE sur la lutte contre la corruption.

Soutien à la RSE dans certains domaines

La RSE et les sociétés extractives canadiennes présentes à l’étranger

Le secteur de l’extraction, qui comprend l’exploitation minière ainsi que celle du pétrole et du gaz naturel, a contribué de manière importante à la croissance économique et à la prospérité du Canada, notamment grâce au dynamisme de sa présence sur la scène internationale. Pour améliorer la capacité des entreprises canadiennes de l’industrie extractive qui œuvrent à l’étranger de gérer les risques sociaux et environnementaux, le Canada a créé un cadre de RSE unique pour l’industrie extractive intitulé « Renforcer l’avantage canadien : Stratégie de responsabilité sociale des entreprises pour les sociétés extractives canadiennes présentes à l’étranger » (la Stratégie de RSE). Lancée en 2009, la Stratégie de RSE fait partie des efforts déployés par le Canada pour favoriser et promouvoir le développement économique durable et les pratiques commerciales responsables dans les pays étrangers où les entreprises canadiennes de l’industrie extractive mènent des activités. Voir le Communiqué - Le ministre Day annonce de nouvelles initiatives en appui aux pratiques commerciales responsables des entreprises canadiennes à l'étranger.

La transparence

Le Canada met de l’avant le comportement responsable des entreprises grâce à ses efforts visant à améliorer la transparence et la responsabilisation dans le secteur de l’extraction. En juin 2013, le gouvernement a annoncé son intention de mettre en place de nouvelles normes obligatoires pour la reddition de comptes. Elles visent les entreprises canadiennes du secteur de l’extraction afin d’accroître la transparence en ce qui concerne les paiements versés à des gouvernements. Cliquez sur le lien pour en apprendre davantage sur les rapports obligatoires. En février 2007, le Canada a adhéré à l’Initiative pour la transparence dans les industries extractives, à titre de pays donateur. Cette initiative appuie la transparence accrue dans les pays en développement riches en ressources au moyen de la publication et de la vérification complètes des paiements effectués par les entreprises et des recettes gouvernementales liées aux activités d’exploitation pétrolière, gazière et minière.

Pratiques commerciales qui tiennent compte des conflits

Un domaine dans lequel le Canada est en train de jouer un rôle de plus en plus actif est la promotion des pratiques commerciales qui tiennent compte de conflits dans les États touchés par un conflit. Les investissements des entreprises canadiennes dans les États fragiles et en proie à un conflit peuvent contribuer au développement durable des collectivités; être des éléments importants du relèvement d’un pays après un conflit; créer des emplois; produire des recettes pour le gouvernement; et être un catalyseur pour la reconstruction de l’infrastructure commerciale. En faisant la promotion de pratiques commerciales qui tiennent compte des conflits, le gouvernement du Canada peut aider les entreprises canadiennes à saisir les occasions d’affaires dans les environnements difficiles tout en apportant les avantages tangibles de la stabilité et de la consolidation de la paix.

Les « minéraux de conflit »

Le gouvernement du Canada, la société civile et les entreprises ont joué un rôle de premier plan dans la recherche d’un consensus mondial sur les pratiques responsables en matière d’extraction minière et d’approvisionnement afin de lutter contre le phénomène des « minéraux de conflit » dans le secteur de l’or, de l’étain, du tantale et du tungstène. Le gouvernement du Canada a été un acteur important dans la négociation du Guide OCDE sur le devoir de diligence pour des chaînes d’approvisionnement responsables en minerais provenant de zones de conflit ou à haut risque, et continue de participer activement à sa promotion et à sa mise en œuvre. De plus, le Canada a octroyé du financement stratégique pour des projets clés visant à favoriser la paix et la prospérité dans la région des Grands Lacs et est l’un des membres fondateurs du Processus de Kimberley, entré en vigueur en 2003 afin d’endiguer le commerce des diamants de la guerre.

Diligence raisonnable dans l’industrie du vêtement axée sur la vente au détail

Le Canada appuie également la diligence raisonnable et les pratiques commerciales responsables dans l’industrie de la confection de prêt-à-porter, ainsi que l’approvisionnement durable en vêtements auprès des fournisseurs et fabricants internationaux. Les gouvernements, les entreprises, les organisations à but non lucratif et d’autres organisations intègrent de plus en plus des objectifs sociaux et environnementaux à leur processus d’achat, ce qui peut être un moyen d’exploiter les avantages sociaux et de favoriser les économies durables. Parmi les efforts déployés par le Canada dans ce domaine, notons entre autres une contribution de 8 millions de dollars sur quatre ans à une initiative conjointe avec l’Organisation internationale du travail pour l’amélioration des conditions de travail dans le secteur des vêtements de confection au Bangladesh, pour contribuer à faire en sorte que les fabriques de vêtements locales soient correctement évaluées en vue de garantir la sécurité des conditions de travail, et que des mesures correctives soient prises à cet égard. De plus amples renseignements au sujet des pratiques d’achat axées sur la durabilité se trouvent sur le site Web d’Industrie Canada.

Bulletin électronique sur la RSE

Pour plus de renseignements sur les efforts en matière de RSE que déploie le gouvernement du Canada pour la RSE à l’échelle internationale, nous vous invitons à consulter le bulletin électronique sur la RSE publié par Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada (MAECD) sur la RSE. Ce bulletin offre aux abonnés de l’information pertinente et à jour sur les initiatives du MAECD et du gouvernement du Canada, au Canada comme à l’étranger, relativement à la RSE. Nous sommes convaincus que ce bulletin vous sera profitable et nous espérons recevoir vos commentaires sur cette nouvelle ressource. Si vous voulez que votre nom soit ajouté à la liste de distribution, veuillez envoyer un message à l’adresse suivante : csr-rse@international.gc.ca.