North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)

Part Five: Investment, Services and Related Matters

Chapter Sixteen: Temporary Entry for Business Persons

Article 1601: General Principles

Further to Article 102 (Objectives), this Chapter reflects the preferential trading relationship between the Parties, the desirability of facilitating temporary entry on a reciprocal basis and of establishing transparent criteria and procedures for temporary entry, and the need to ensure border security and to protect the domestic labor force and permanent employment in their respective territories.

Article 1602: General Obligations

1. Each Party shall apply its measures relating to the provisions of this Chapter in accordance with Article 1601 and, in particular, shall apply expeditiously those measures so as to avoid unduly impairing or delaying trade in goods or services or conduct of investment activities under this Agreement.

2. The Parties shall endeavor to develop and adopt common criteria, definitions and interpretations for the implementation of this Chapter.

Article 1603: Grant of Temporary Entry

1. Each Party shall grant temporary entry to business persons who are otherwise qualified for entry under applicable measures relating to public health and safety and national security, in accordance with this Chapter, including the provisions of Annex 1603.

2. A Party may refuse to issue an immigration document authorizing employment to a business person where the temporary entry of that person might affect adversely:

3. When a Party refuses pursuant to paragraph 2 to issue an immigration document authorizing employment, it shall:

4. Each Party shall limit any fees for processing applications for temporary entry of business persons to the approximate cost of services rendered.

Article 1604: Provision of Information

1. Further to Article 1802 (Publication), each Party shall:

2. Subject to Annex 1604.2, each Party shall collect and maintain, and make available to the other Parties in accordance with its domestic law, data respecting the granting of temporary entry under this Chapter to business persons of the other Parties who have been issued immigration documentation, including data specific to each occupation, profession or activity.

Article 1605: Working Group

1. The Parties hereby establish a Temporary Entry Working Group, comprising representatives of each Party, including immigration officials.

2. The Working Group shall meet at least once each year to consider:

Article 1606: Dispute Settlement

1. A Party may not initiate proceedings under Article 2007 (Commission Good Offices, Conciliation and Mediation) regarding a refusal to grant temporary entry under this Chapter or a particular case arising under Article 1602(1) unless:

2. The remedies referred to in paragraph (1)(b) shall be deemed to be exhausted if a final determination in the matter has not been issued by the competent authority within one year of the institution of an administrative proceeding, and the failure to issue a determination is not attributable to delay caused by the business person.

Article 1607: Relation to Other Chapters

Except for this Chapter, Chapters One (Objectives), Two (General Definitions), Twenty (Institutional Arrangements and Dispute Settlement Procedures) and TwentyTwo (Final Provisions) and Articles 1801 (Contacts Points), 1802 (Publication), 1803 (Notification and Provision of Information) and 1804 (Administrative Proceedings), no provision of this Agreement shall impose any obligation on a Party regarding its immigration measures.

Article 1608: Definitions

For purposes of this Chapter:

business person means a citizen of a Party who is engaged in trade in goods, the provision of services or the conduct of investment activities;

citizen means "citizen" as defined in Annex 1608 for the Parties specified in that Annex;

existing means "existing" as defined in Annex 1608 for the Parties specified in that Annex; and

temporary entry means entry into the territory of a Party by a business person of another Party without the intent to establish permanent residence.

Annex 1603

Temporary Entry for Business Persons
Section A - Business Visitors

1. Each Party shall grant temporary entry to a business person seeking to engage in a business activity set out in Appendix 1603.A.1, without requiring that person to obtain an employment authorization, provided that the business person otherwise complies with existing immigration measures applicable to temporary entry, on presentation of:

2. Each Party shall provide that a business person may satisfy the requirements of paragraph 1(c) by demonstrating that:

A Party shall normally accept an oral declaration as to the principal place of business and the actual place of accrual of profits. Where the Party requires further proof, it shall normally consider a letter from the employer attesting to these matters as sufficient proof.

3. Each Party shall grant temporary entry to a business person seeking to engage in a business activity other than those set out in Appendix 1603.A.1, without requiring that person to obtain an employment authorization, on a basis no less favorable than that provided under the existing provisions of the measures set out in Appendix 1603.A.3, provided that the business person otherwise complies with existing immigration measures applicable to temporary entry.

4. No Party may:

5. Notwithstanding paragraph 4, a Party may require a business person seeking temporary entry under this Section to obtain a visa or its equivalent prior to entry. Before imposing a visa requirement, the Party shall consult, on request, with a Party whose business persons would be affected with a view to avoiding the imposition of the requirement. With respect to an existing visa requirement, a Party shall consult, on request, with a Party whose business persons are subject to the requirement with a view to its removal.

Section B - Traders and Investors

1. Each Party shall grant temporary entry and provide confirming documentation to a business person seeking to:

2. No Party may:

3. Notwithstanding paragraph 2, a Party may require a business person seeking temporary entry under this Section to obtain a visa or its equivalent prior to entry.

Section C - Intra-Company Transferees

1. Each Party shall grant temporary entry and provide confirming documentation to a business person employed by an enterprise who seeks to render services to that enterprise or a subsidiary or affiliate thereof, in a capacity that is managerial, executive or involves specialized knowledge, provided that the business person otherwise complies with existing immigration measures applicable to temporary entry. A Party may require the business person to have been employed continuously by the enterprise for one year within the threeyear period immediately preceding the date of the application for admission.

2. No Party may:

3. Notwithstanding paragraph 2, a Party may require a business person seeking temporary entry under this Section to obtain a visa or its equivalent prior to entry. Before imposing a visa requirement, the Party shall consult with a Party whose business persons would be affected with a view to avoiding the imposition of the requirement. With respect to an existing visa requirement, a Party shall consult, on request, with a Party whose business persons are subject to the requirement with a view to its removal.

Section D - Professionals

1. Each Party shall grant temporary entry and provide confirming documentation to a business person seeking to engage in a business activity at a professional level in a profession set out in Appendix 1603.D.1, if the business person otherwise complies with existing immigration measures applicable to temporary entry, on presentation of:

2. No Party may:

3. Notwithstanding paragraph 2, a Party may require a business person seeking temporary entry under this Section to obtain a visa or its equivalent prior to entry. Before imposing a visa requirement, the Party shall consult with a Party whose business persons would be affected with a view to avoiding the imposition of the requirement. With respect to an existing visa requirement, a Party shall consult, on request, with a Party whose business persons are subject to the requirement with a view to its removal.

4. Notwithstanding paragraphs 1 and 2, a Party may establish an annual numerical limit, which shall be set out in Appendix 1603.D.4, regarding temporary entry of business persons of another Party seeking to engage in business activities at a professional level in a profession set out in Appendix 1603.D.1, if the Parties concerned have not agreed otherwise prior to the date of entry into force of this Agreement for those Parties. In establishing such a limit, the Party shall consult with the other Party concerned.

5. A Party establishing a numerical limit pursuant to paragraph 4, unless the Parties concerned agree otherwise:

6. Nothing in paragraph 4 or 5 shall be construed to limit the ability of a business person to seek temporary entry under a Party's applicable immigration measures relating to the entry of professionals other than those adopted or maintained pursuant to paragraph 1.

7. Three years after a Party establishes a numerical limit pursuant to paragraph 4, it shall consult with the other Party concerned with a view to determining a date after which the limit shall cease to apply.

Appendix 1603.A.1

Business Visitors

Research and Design

Growth, Manufacture and Production

Marketing

Sales

Distribution

AfterSales Service

General Service

Definitions

For purposes of this Appendix:

territory of another Party means the territory of a Party other than the territory of the Party into which temporary entry is sought;

tour bus operator means a natural person, including relief personnel accompanying or following to join, necessary for the operation of a tour bus for the duration of a trip; and

transportation operator means a natural person, other than a tour bus operator, including relief personnel accompanying or following to join, necessary for the operation of a vehicle for the duration of a trip.

Appendix 1603.A.3

Existing Immigration Measures

1. In the case of Canada, subsection 19(1) of the Immigration Regulations, 1978 , SOR/78172, as amended, made under the Immigration Act , R.S.C. 1985, c. I2, as amended.

2. In the case of the United States, section 101(a)(15)(B) of the Immigration and Nationality Act , 1952, as amended.

3. In the case of Mexico, Chapter III of the General Demography Law ("Ley General de Población"), 1974, as amended.

Appendix 1603.D.1

Professionals
Profession Footnote 1Minimum Education Requirements and Alternative Credentials
General
AccountantBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree; or C.P.A., C.A., C.G.A. or C.M.A.
ArchitectBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree; or state/provincial licenseFootnote 2
Computer Systems AnalystBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree; or PostSecondary Diploma Footnote 3or PostSecondary Certificate Footnote 4, and three years experience
Disaster Relief Insurance Claims Adjuster (claims Adjuster employed by an insurance company located in the territory of a Party, or an independent claims adjuster)Baccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree, and successful completion of training in the appropriate areas of insurance adjustment pertaining to disaster relief claims; or three years experience in claims adjustment and successful completion of training in the appropriate areas of insurance adjustment pertaining to disaster relief claims.
EconomistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
EngineerBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree; or state/provincial license
ForesterBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree; or state/provincial license
Graphic DesignerBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree; or PostSecondary Diploma or PostSecondary Certificate, and three years experience
Hotel ManagerBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree in hotel/restaurant management; or PostSecondary Diploma or PostSecondary Certificate in hotel/restaurant management, and three years experience in hotel/restaurant management
Industrial DesignerBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree; or PostSecondary Diploma or PostSecondary Certificate, and three years experience
Interior DesignerBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree; or PostSecondary Diploma or PostSecondary Certificate, and three years experience
Land SurveyorBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree; or state/provincial/federal license
Landscape ArchitectBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
Lawyer (including Notary in the Province of Quebec)LL.B., J.D., LL.L., B.C.L. or Licenciatura Degree (five years); or membership in a state/provincial bar
LibrarianM.L.S. or B.L.S. (for which another Baccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree was a prerequisite)
Management ConsultantBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree; or equivalent professional experience as established by statement or professional credential attesting to five years experience as a management consultant, or five years experience in a field of specialty related to the consulting agreement
Mathematician (including Statistician)Baccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
Range Manager/Range ConservationalistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
Research Assistant (working in a post-secondary educational institution)Baccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
Scientific Technician/TechnologistFootnote 5Possession of (a) theoretical knowledge of any of the following disciplines: agricultural sciences, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, forestry, geology, geophysics, meteorology or physics; and (b) the ability to solve practical problems in any of those disciplines, or the ability to apply principles of any of those disciplines to basic or applied research
Social WorkerBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
Sylviculturist (including Forestry Specialist)Baccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
Technical Publications WriterBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree; or PostSecondary Diploma or PostSecondary Certificate, and three years experience
Urban Planner (including Geographer)Baccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
Vocational CounsellorBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
Medical/Allied Professional
DentistD.D.S., D.M.D., Doctor en Odontologia or Doctor en Cirugia Dental; or state/provincial license
DietitianBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree; or state/provincial license
Medical Laboratory Technologist (Canada)/Medical Technologist (Mexico and the United States) Footnote 6Baccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree; or Post-Secondary Diploma or Post-Secondary Certificate, and three years experience
NutritionistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
Occupational TherapistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree; or state/provincial license
PharmacistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree; or state/provincial license
Physician (teaching or research only)M.D. or Doctor en Medicina; or state/provincial license
Physiotherapist/Physical TherapistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree; or state/provincial license
PsychologistState/provincial license; or Licenciatura Degree
Recreational TherapistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
Registered NurseState/provincial license; or Licenciatura Degree
VeterinarianD.V.M., D.M.V. or Doctor en Veterinaria; or state/provincial license
Scientist
Agriculturist (including Agronomist)Baccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
Animal BreederBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
Animal ScientistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
ApiculturistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
AstronomerBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
BiochemistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
BiologistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
ChemistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
Dairy ScientistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
EntomologistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
EpidemiologistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
GeneticistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
GeologistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
GeochemistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
Geophysicist (including Oceanographer in Mexico and the United States)Baccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
HorticulturistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
MeteorologistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
PharmacologistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
Physicist (including Oceanographer in Canada)Baccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
Plant BreederBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
Poultry ScientistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
Soil ScientistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
ZoologistBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
Teacher
CollegeBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
SeminaryBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree
UniversityBaccalaureate or Licenciatura Degree

Appendix 1603.D.4

United States

1. Beginning on the date of entry into force of this Agreement as between the United States and Mexico, the United States shall annually approve as many as 5,500 initial petitions of business persons of Mexico seeking temporary entry under Section D of Annex 1603 to engage in a business activity at a professional level in a profession set out in Appendix 1603.D.1.

2. For purposes of paragraph 1, the United States shall not take into account:

3. Paragraphs 4 and 5 of Section D of Annex 1603 shall apply as between the United States and Mexico for no longer than:

Annex 1604.2

Provision of Information

The obligations under Article 1604(2) shall take effect with respect to Mexico one year after the date of entry into force of this Agreement.

Annex 1608

Country Specific Definitions

For purposes of this Chapter:

citizen means, with respect to Mexico, a national or a citizen according to the existing provisions of Articles 30 and 34, respectively, of the Mexican Constitution; and

existing means, as between:

Date Modified:

Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALÉNA)

Partie V : Investissement, services et questions connexes

Chapitre 16 : Admission temporaire des hommes et des femmes d'affaires

Article 1601 : Principes généraux

En complément de l'article 102 (Objectifs), le présent chapitre reflète la relation commerciale préférentielle entre les Parties, l'opportunité de faciliter l'admission temporaire sur une base réciproque et d'établir des procédures et des critères transparents en la matière, ainsi que la nécessité d'assurer la sécurité à la frontière et de protéger la main-d'oeuvre locale et l'emploi permanent dans leurs territoires respectifs.

Article 1602 : Obligations générales

1. Chacune des Parties appliquera conformément à l'article 1601 les mesures qu'elle prendra relativement aux dispositions du présent chapitre et, en particulier, devra agir avec promptitude en la matière, de manière à ne pas entraver ou retarder indûment le commerce des produits et des services ou la conduite des activités d'investissement aux termes du présent accord.

2. Les Parties s'efforceront d'établir et d'adopter des définitions, des interprétations et des critères communs pour la mise en oeuvre du présent chapitre.

Article 1603 : Autorisation d'admission temporaire

1. En conformité avec le présent chapitre, y compris les dispositions de l'annexe 1603, chacune des Parties autorisera l'admission temporaire des hommes et femmes d'affaires qui satisfont par ailleurs aux conditions d'admission établies en vertu des mesures applicables concernant la santé et la sécurité publiques ainsi que la sécurité nationale.

2. Une Partie pourra refuser de délivrer un permis de travail à un homme ou à une femme d'affaires si l'admission temporaire de cette personne pourrait nuire :

3. La Partie qui, conformément au paragraphe 2, refuse de délivrer un permis de travail devra

4. Chacune des Parties limitera au coût approximatif des services rendus les droits exigés pour l'examen des demandes d'admission temporaire des hommes et femmes d'affaires.

Article 1604 : Information

1. Conformément à l'article 1802 (Publication), chacune des Parties devra

2. Sous réserve de l'annexe 1604.2, chacune des Parties recueillera, conservera et mettra à la disposition des autres Parties conformément à sa législation intérieure des données relatives à l'autorisation d'admission temporaire, aux termes du présent chapitre, des hommes et femmes d'affaires des autres Parties qui ont reçu un permis de travail, y compris des données propres à chaque occupation, profession ou activité.

Article 1605 : Groupe de travail

1. Les Parties établissent un groupe de travail sur l'admission temporaire composé de représentants de chacune d'entre elles, dont des fonctionnaires de l'immigration.

2. Le groupe de travail se réunira au moins une fois l'an afin d'examiner :

Article 1606 : Règlement des différends

1. Une Partie ne pourra engager une procédure prévue à l'article 2007 (Commission - Bons offices, conciliation, médiation) relativement au rejet d'une demande d'admission temporaire présentée aux termes du présent chapitre ou à tout cas particulier relevant du paragraphe 1602(1), à moins

2. Les recours visés à l'alinéa (1)b) seront réputés épuisés si une détermination finale n'a pas été rendue sur cette question dans un délai d'un an à compter de l'engagement de la procédure administrative et que cette situation n'est pas attribuable à un retard dû à l'homme ou à la femme d'affaires.

Article 1607 : Rapports avec les autres chapitres

Sauf pour ce qui est du présent chapitre, des chapitres 1 (Objectifs), 2 (Définitions générales), 20 (Dispositions institutionnelles et procédures de règlement des différends) et 22 (Dispositions finales), et des articles 1801 (Points de contact), 1802 (Publication), 1803 (Notification et information) et 1804 (Procédures administratives), aucune disposition du présent accord n'imposera d'obligations à une Partie concernant ses mesures d'immigration.

Article 1608: Définitions

Aux fins du présent chapitre :

admission temporaire s'entend de l'admission, sur le territoire d'une Partie, d'un homme ou d'une femme d'affaires d'une autre Partie n'ayant pas l'intention d'y établir sa résidence permanente;

citoyen a le même sens qu'à l'annexe 1608 pour les Parties qui y sont visées;

existant a le même sens qu'à l'annexe 1608 pour les Parties qui y sont visées; et

homme ou femme d'affaires s'entend d'un citoyen d'une Partie qui fait le commerce de produits ou de services ou qui mène des activités d'investissement.

Annexe 1603

Admission temporaire des hommes et des femmes d'affaires
Section A - Hommes et femmes d'affaires en visite

1. Chacune des Parties accordera l'admission temporaire, sans obligation de permis de travail, à un homme ou une femme d'affaires qui désire exercer l'une des activités commerciales établies à l'appendice 1603.A.1 et qui satisfait par ailleurs aux prescriptions existantes en matière d'immigration applicables à l'admission temporaire, sur présentation

2. Chacune des Parties fera en sorte qu'un homme ou une femme d'affaires puisse satisfaire aux conditions de l'alinéa (1)c) en établissant

Une Partie acceptera normalement une déclaration verbale à cet égard. Toute Partie qui exige des preuves supplémentaires considérera en principe comme suffisante une lettre d'attestation de l'employeur.

3. Chacune des Parties accordera l'admission temporaire, sans obligation de permis de travail, à un homme ou une femme d'affaires qui désire exercer une activité commerciale autre que celles établies à l'appendice 1603.A.1, sur une base non moins favorable que celle prévue aux termes des prescriptions existantes mentionnées à l'appendice 1603.A.3, à condition que l'homme ou la femme d'affaires satisfasse par ailleurs aux prescriptions existantes en matière d'immigration applicables à l'admission temporaire.

4. Aucune des Parties ne pourra

5. Nonobstant le paragraphe 4, une Partie pourra imposer l'obligation d'obtenir un visa ou son équivalent aux hommes et femmes d'affaires qui demandent l'admission temporaire aux termes de la présente section. Auparavant, toutefois, la Partie devra procéder à des consultations avec toute Partie dont les hommes et les femmes d'affaires seraient affectés par cette obligation, en vue d'en éviter l'imposition. Si l'obligation de visa existe déjà, la Partie qui l'impose devra, sur demande, engager des consultations avec toute Partie dont les hommes et les femmes d'affaires y sont soumis, en vue de lever l'obligation.

Section B - Négociants et investisseurs

1. Chacune des Parties accordera l'admission temporaire et remettra des documents confirmatifs à cet effet à un homme ou une femme d'affaires

2. Aucune des Parties ne pourra

3. Nonobstant le paragraphe 2, une Partie pourra imposer l'obligation d'obtenir un visa ou son équivalent aux hommes et femmes d'affaires qui demandent l'admission temporaire aux termes de la présente section.

Section C - Personnes mutées à l'intérieur d'une société

1. Chacune des Parties accordera l'admission temporaire et remettra des documents confirmatifs à cet effet à un homme ou une femme d'affaires qui est à l'emploi d'une entreprise et qui demande l'admission temporaire pour assurer des services à cette entreprise ou à l'une de ses filiales ou sociétés affiliées, en qualité de gestionnaire ou de directeur ou à un poste exigeant des connaissances spécialisées, à condition que cet homme ou cette femme d'affaires satisfasse par ailleurs aux prescriptions existantes en matière d'immigration applicables à l'admission temporaire. Une Partie pourra exiger que l'homme ou la femme d'affaires ait été à l'emploi de l'entreprise sans interruption durant un an au cours de la période de trois ans précédant la date de la demande d'admission.

2. Aucune des Parties ne pourra

3. Nonobstant le paragraphe 2, une Partie pourra imposer l'obligation d'obtenir un visa ou son équivalent aux hommes et femmes d'affaires qui demandent l'admission temporaire aux termes de la présente section. Auparavant, toutefois, la Partie devra procéder à des consultations avec toute Partie dont les hommes et les femmes d'affaires seraient affectés par cette obligation, en vue d'en éviter l'imposition. Si l'obligation de visa existe déjà, la Partie qui l'impose devra, sur demande, engager des consultations avec toute Partie dont les hommes et les femmes d'affaires y sont soumis, en vue de lever l'obligation.

Section D - Professionnels

1. Chacune des Parties accordera l'admission temporaire et remettra des documents confirmatifs à cet effet à un homme ou une femme d'affaires qui désire exercer des activités commerciales dans l'une des professions établies à l'appendice 1603.D.1 et qui satisfait par ailleurs aux prescriptions existantes en matière d'immigration applicables à l'admission temporaire, sur présentation

2. Aucune des Parties ne pourra

3. Nonobstant le paragraphe 2, une Partie pourra imposer l'obligation d'obtenir un visa ou son équivalent aux hommes et femmes d'affaires qui demandent l'admission temporaire aux termes de la présente section. Auparavant, toutefois, la Partie devra procéder à des consultations avec toute Partie dont les hommes et les femmes d'affaires seraient affectés par cette obligation, en vue d'en éviter l'imposition. Si l'obligation de visa existe déjà, la Partie qui l'impose devra, sur demande, engager des consultations avec toute Partie dont les hommes et les femmes d'affaires y sont soumis, en vue de lever l'obligation.

4. Nonobstant les paragraphes 1 et 2, une Partie pourra fixer une limite numérique annuelle, qui devra figurer à l'appendice 1603.D.4, relativement à l'admission temporaire d'hommes et de femmes d'affaires d'une autre Partie qui désirent exercer des activités commerciales dans l'une des professions établies à l'appendice 1603.D.1, à moins que les Parties concernées n'en aient décidé autrement avant la date d'entrée en vigueur du présent accord à leur égard. Lorsqu'elle fixe une telle limite, cependant, la Partie devra consulter l'autre Partie concernée.

5. À moins que les Parties concernées n'en conviennent autrement, la Partie qui fixe une limite numérique en vertu du paragraphe 4 :

6. Aucune disposition des paragraphes 4 ou 5 ne sera interprétée comme limitant la capacité d'un homme ou d'une femme d'affaires de demander l'admission temporaire en vertu des mesures d'immigration d'une Partie applicables à l'admission des professionnels, autres que celles adoptées ou maintenues aux termes du paragraphe 1.

7. Trois ans après avoir fixé une limite numérique conformément au paragraphe 4, une Partie devra consulter l'autre Partie concernée en vue d'établir la date à compter de laquelle la limite cessera de s'appliquer.

Appendice 1603.A.1

Hommes et femmes d'affaires en visite

Recherche et conception

Culture, fabrication et production

Commercialisation

Ventes

Distribution

Services après-vente

Services généraux

Définitions

Aux fins du présent appendice :

opérateur d'autocar s'entend d'une personne physique, y compris le personnel de relève qui accompagne ou qui suit l'autocar, nécessaire à l'exploitation d'un circuit pendant la durée du voyage;

opérateur de véhicule s'entend d'une personne physique, autre qu'un opérateur d'autocar, y compris le personnel de relève qui accompagne ou qui suit le véhicule, nécessaire à l'exploitation du véhicule pendant la durée du voyage; et

territoire d'une autre Partie s'entend du territoire d'une Partie autre que celui de la Partie visée par la demande d'admission temporaire.

Appendice 1603.A.3

Prescriptions existantes en matière d'immigration

1. Dans le cas du Canada,le paragraphe 19(1) du Règlement sur l'immigration (1978), DORS/78-172, modifié, pris aux termes de la Loi sur l'immigration , L.R.C. (1985) ch.I-2, modifiée.

2. Dans le cas des États-Unis, la section 101(a)(15)(B) de l' Immigration and Nationality Act (1952), modifié.

3. Dans le cas du Mexique, le chapitre III de la Loi générale sur la démographie (Ley General de Poblacion) (1974), modifiée.

Appendice 1603.D.1

Professionnels
Profession Note de bas de page 1Études minimales requises et autres titres acceptés
Divers
Adjoint de recherche (attaché à un établissement d'enseignement postsecondaire)Baccalauréat ou Licenciatura
Analyste de systèmes informatiquesBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura; ou diplôme Note de bas de page 3 ou certificat d'études postsecondaires Note de bas de page 4 et trois années d'expérience
ArchitecteBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura; ou permis d'un État ou d'une provinceNote de bas de page 2
Architecte paysagisteBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
Arpenteur-géomètreBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura; ou permis d'un État, d'une province ou d'un gouvernement fédéral
Avocat (y compris les notaires dans la province de Québec)LL.B., J.D., LL.L., B.C.L. ou Licenciatura (cinq ans); ou membre du barreau d'un État ou d'une province
BibliothécaireM.L.S., ou B.L.S. (pour lequel un autre baccalauréat ou une autre Licenciaturia constituait une condition préalable)
Concepteur d'intérieurBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura; ou diplôme ou certificat d'études postsecondaires et trois années d'expérience
Concepteur graphiqueBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura; ou diplôme ou certificat d'études postsecondaires et trois années d'expérience
Concepteur industrielBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura; ou diplôme ou certificat d'études postsecondaires et trois années d'expérience
Consultant en gestionBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura; ou expérience professionnelle équivalente établie par une déclaration ou une attestation professionnelle justifiant d'une expérience de cinq années en tant que consultant en gestion, ou cinq années d'expérience dans une spécialité apparentée à la consultation en gestion
Directeur d'hôtelBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura en gestion d'hôtel ou de restaurant; ou diplôme ou certificat d'études postsecon-daires en gestion d'hôtel ou de restaurant et trois années d'expérience en gestion d'hôtel ou de restaurant
ÉconomisteBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
Expert-comptableBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura; ou C.P.A., C.A., C.G.A. ou C.M.A.
Expert en sinistres causés par des catastrophes (expert en sinistres au service d'une compagnie d'assurances située sur le territoire d'une Partie, ou expert en sinistres indépendant)Baccalauréat ou Licenciatura, et formation requise dans les secteurs pertinents du règlement des déclarations de sinistres faisant suite à des catastrophes naturelles; ou au moins trois années d'expérience du règlement des déclarations de sinistres et formation requise dans les secteurs pertinents du règlement des déclarations de sinistres faisant suite à des catastrophes naturelles
Gestionnaire de parcours/agent de protection des parcoursBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
IngénieurBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura; ou permis d'un État ou d'une province
Ingénieur forestierBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura; ou permis d'un État ou d'une province
Mathématicien (y compris les statisticiens)Baccalauréat ou Licenciatura
OrienteurBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
Rédacteur de publications techniquesBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura; ou diplôme ou certificat d'études postsecondaires et trois années d'expérience
Sylviculteur (y compris les spécialistes des sciences forestières)Baccalauréat ou Licenciatura
Technicien/technologue scientifiqueNote de bas de page 5a) connaissance théorique de l'un des domaines suivants : sciences agricoles, astronomie, biologie, chimie, génie, foresterie, géologie, géophysique, météorologie ou physique; et 
b) capacité de régler des problèmes pratiques dans l'un de ces domaines ou de mettre en pratique les principes de ces domaines au cours de travaux de recherche fondamentale ou appliquée
Travailleur socialBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
Urbaniste (y compris les géographes)Baccalauréat ou Licenciatura
Enseignement
CollègeBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
SéminaireBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
UniversitéBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
Médecine/Services professionnels connexes
DentisteD.D.S., D.M.D., Doctor en Odontologia ou Doctor en Cirugia Dental; ou permis d'un État ou d'une province
DiététisteBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura; ou permis d'un État ou d'une province
ErgothérapeuteBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura; ou permis d'un État ou d'une province
Infirmier/infirmièrePermis d'un État ou d'une province; ou Licenciatura
LudothérapeuteBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
Médecin (enseignement ou recherche seulement)M.D. ou Doctor en Medicina; ou permis d'un État ou d'une province
NutritionnisteBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
PharmacienBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura; ou permis d'un État ou d'une province
Physiothérapeute/ kinésithérapeuteBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura; ou permis d'un État ou d'une province
PsychologuePermis d'un État ou d'une province; ou Licenciatura
Technologue de laboratoire médical (Canada)/technologue médical (Mexique et États-Unis)Note de bas de page 6Baccalauréat ou Licenciatura; ou diplôme ou certificat d'études postsecondaires et trois années d'expérience
VétérinaireD.V.M., D.M.V. ou Doctor en Veterinaria; ou permis d'un État ou d'une province
Scientifique
AgronomeBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
ApiculteurBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
AstronomeBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
BiochimisteBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
BiologisteBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
ChimisteBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
ÉleveurBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
EntomologisteBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
ÉpidémiologisteBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
GénéticienBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
GéochimisteBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
GéologueBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
Géophysicien (y compris les océanographes au Mexique et aux États-Unis)Baccalauréat ou Licenciatura
HorticulteurBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
MétéorologueBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
ObtenteurBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
PédologueBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
PharmacologisteBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
Physicien ( y compris les océanographes au Canada)Baccalauréat ou Licenciatura
Spécialiste des sciences animalesBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
Spécialiste des sciences avicolesBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
Spécialiste des sciences laitièresBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura
ZoologisteBaccalauréat ou Licenciatura

Appendice 1603.D.4

États-Unis

1. À compter de la date d'entrée en vigueur du présent accord entre les États-Unis et le Mexique, les États-Unis approuveront chaque année un maximum de 5 500 demandes initiales d'hommes et de femmes d'affaires du Mexique désireux d'être admis temporairement aux termes de la section D de l'annexe 1603 en vue d'exercer des activités commerciales dans l'une des professions établies à l'appendice 1603.D.1.

2. Aux fins du paragraphe 1, les États-Unis ne tiendront pas compte :

3. Les paragraphes 4 et 5 de la section D de l'annexe 1603 s'appliqueront entre les États-Unis et le Mexique pour une durée ne dépassant pas

Annexe 1604.2 

Information 

Les obligations découlant du paragraphe 1604(2) prendront effet, dans le cas du Mexique, un an après la date d'entrée en vigueur du présent accord.

Annexe 1608

Définitions propres à chaque pays 

Aux fins du présent chapitre :

citoyen s'entend, dans le cas du Mexique, d'un citoyen conformément aux dispositions existantes des articles 30 et 34, respectivement, de la Constitution mexicaine; et

existant s'entend,

Date de modification: