Language selection

Search

Canada-Bolivia relations

Bilateral relations

Canada and Bolivia celebrated 60 years of diplomatic relations in 2021. The Embassy of Canada to Peru is cross-accredited to Bolivia. Canada also has an Embassy (Program office) in La Paz, which mainly focuses on international assistance and Consular assistance. Both work to expand and strengthen cooperation in advancing gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls, Indigenous issues, climate action, responsible resource management, commercial relations, educational exchanges and people-to-people ties. Bolivia is represented in Canada by the Embassy of the Plurinational State of Bolivia in Ottawa and maintains Consulates General in Montreal and Quebec City.

Trade relations

In 2021, bilateral trade between Canada and Bolivia totaled $378.8 million. Canadian exports totaled $12.9 million (mainly in vehicle parts, mustard seeds, lentils, and electronic equipment). Canadian imports totaled $365.9 million (mainly in silver, zinc and other precious metals, and cereals).

Related links

Development

Canada's development assistance is a key component of the bilateral relationship. It totaled $23.7 million in 2020-21, delivered through Global Affairs Canada’s multiple programs, and is aligned with Bolivia’s national plan for social and economic development.

Canada's Geographic Program is focused on sexual and reproductive health and rights, especially of adolescent and Indigenous girls, and inclusive green economic growth, including transitioning to climate smart agriculture benefitting primarily Indigenous communities, and supporting women entrepreneurs.

Canada also provides international assistance to Bolivia through the Inter-American Program, which addresses regional, multi-country or transboundary issues. This Program assists Bolivia in its efforts to increase access to sexual and reproductive health services and to strengthen its health system, as well as in the promotion of gender equality and women’s empowerment. In addition, the Program works with Bolivia to improve access to civil justice and to implement electoral technical cooperation initiatives.

Global Affairs Canada’ Partnership for Development Innovation Branch supports Canadian NGOs, professional volunteers, and youth interns who are particularly active in Bolivia. They share expertise, exchange knowledge, and learn from Bolivians, thereby building strong bridges between the Bolivian and Canadian societies every year.

The International Development Research Center is also very active in Bolivia and supports several research initiatives in the  development sphere.

Related links

Partnerships and organizations

To develop effective responses to today’s most pressing global challenges, Canada and Bolivia collaborate in multilateral fora, such as:

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Relations Canada-Bolivie

Relations bilatérales

Le Canada et la Bolivie ont célébré 60 ans de relations diplomatiques en 2021. L’ambassade du Canada au Pérou est accréditée en Bolivie. Le Canada a également une ambassade (Bureau du programme) à La Paz qui met l’emphase sur l’assistance internationale et l'assistance consulaire. Les deux s’emploient à élargir et à renforcer la coopération pour faire progresser l’égalité de genres et l’autonomisation des femmes et des filles, les questions autochtones, l'action climatique, la gestion responsable des ressources, les relations commerciales, les échanges éducatifs et les relations interpersonnelles. La Bolivie est représentée au Canada par l'ambassade de l'État plurinational de Bolivie à Ottawa et a des consulats généraux à Montréal et Québec.

Relations commerciales

En 2021, les échanges bilatéraux entre le Canada et la Bolivie ont totalisé 378,8 millions de dollars. Les exportations canadiennes ont atteint 12,9 millions de dollars (principalement des pièces automobiles, des graines de moutarde, des lentilles et de l’équipement électronique). Les importations canadiennes en provenance de la Bolivie ont totalisé 365,9 millions de dollars (principalement en argent, zinc et d’autres métaux précieux, et céréales).

Liens connexes

Développement

L'aide au développement du Canada est un élément clé de la relation bilatérale. Elle a totalisé 23,7 millions de dollars en 2020-21, fournie par le biais des multiples programmes d'Affaires mondiales Canada, et est alignée sur le dernier plan national de développement social et économique de la Bolivie.

Le Programme géographique du Canada est axé sur la promotion de la santé et des droits sexuels et reproductifs, en particulier ceux des adolescentes et des filles autochtones, et sur la croissance économique verte inclusive, notamment la transition vers une agriculture intelligente sur le plan climatique qui profite principalement aux communautés autochtones, et le soutien aux femmes entrepreneurs.

Le Canada fournit également une aide internationale à la Bolivie par l'entremise du Programme interaméricain, qui porte sur des enjeux régionaux, multinationaux ou transfrontaliers. Ce programme aide la Bolivie dans ses efforts pour accroître l'accès aux services de santé sexuelle et reproductive, et renforcer son système de santé, ainsi que pour promouvoir de l'égalité des genres et de l'autonomisation des femmes. En outre, le programme travaille avec la Bolivie afin d’améliorer l'accès à la justice civile et mettre en œuvre des initiatives de coopération technique en matière électorale.

Le secteur des Partenariats pour l’innovation dans le développement d'Affaires mondiales Canada soutient les ONG, les bénévoles professionnels et les jeunes stagiaires canadiens qui sont particulièrement actifs en Bolivie. Ils partagent leur expertise, échangent leurs connaissances et apprennent des Boliviens, établissant ainsi chaque année des liens solides entre les sociétés bolivienne et canadienne.

Le Centre de recherches pour le développement international est également très actif en Bolivie et soutient plusieurs initiatives de recherche dans le domaine du développement.

Liens connexes

Partenariats et organisations

Afin de trouver des réponses efficaces aux défis mondiaux pressants d’aujourd’hui, le Canada et la Bolivie collaborent également dans le cadre de forums multilatéraux, notamment :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: