Language selection

Search

Andrew Haswell, Consul, Senior Trade Commissioner and Head of Office

Andrew Haswell, Consul, Senior Trade Commissioner and Head of Office

Biography

Andrew joined the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade in 2002. During his career, he has supported trade promotion and trade policy initiatives, and has served in a variety of leadership roles. In August 2016 he was assigned as Consul and Senior Trade Commissioner at the Consulate of Canada in Munich, Germany, where he leads a team of consular, trade, and administrative professionals.

At headquarters, Andrew served as deputy director and senior industry advisor for defence and security, leading Global Affairs Canada’s strategy to support Canadian companies in that sector. He also served as deputy director in trade negotiations in Asia division, supporting a number of initiatives that included those with the Association of Southeast Asian Nations, the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation forum, and the Canada-Korea Free Trade Agreement. Andrew’s trade policy experience also includes assignments in the market access division, working on trade facilitation negotiations at the World Trade Organization.

Andrew’s first assignment abroad was at the Consulate of Canada in Düsseldorf, Germany. He later served as consul for science and technology at the Consulate General of Canada in Dallas, Texas, supporting research collaboration between Canada and the U.S. south central region.

Andrew holds a Bachelor of Social Sciences degree from the University of Victoria.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Andrew Haswell, Consul, délégué commercial principal et chef de bureau

Andrew Haswell, Consul, délégué commercial principal et chef de bureau

Biographie

Andrew s’est joint au ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international en 2002. Au cours de sa carrière, il a soutenu des initiatives de promotion du commerce et de politique commerciale et a occupé divers postes de direction. En août 2016, il a été nommé consul et délégué commercial principal au consulat du Canada à Munich, en Allemagne, où il dirige une équipe de professionnels des domaines consulaire, commercial et administratif.

À l’administration centrale, Andrew a été directeur adjoint et conseiller industriel principal pour le secteur de la défense et de la sécurité, dirigeant la stratégie d’Affaires mondiales Canada visant à appuyer les entreprises canadiennes de ce secteur. Il a également été directeur adjoint de la Direction des négociations commerciales en Asie, où il a appuyé un certain nombre d’initiatives, notamment celles concernant l’Association des Nations de l’Asie du Sud-Est, le forum de la Coopération économique Asie-Pacifique et l’Accord de libre-échange Canada-Corée. L’expérience d’Andrew en matière de politique commerciale comprend également des affectations à la Direction de l’accès aux marchés, où il a travaillé aux négociations sur la facilitation du commerce auprès de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce.

La première affectation à l’étranger d’Andrew a été au consulat du Canada à Düsseldorf, en Allemagne. Il a ensuite été consul pour les sciences et la technologie au consulat général du Canada à Dallas, au Texas, où il a soutenu la collaboration en matière de recherche entre le Canada et la région du Centre-Sud des États-Unis.

Andrew détient un baccalauréat en sciences sociales de l’Université de Victoria.

Date de modification: