Language selection

Search

Government of Canada services and information in Thessaloniki, Greece

Contact us

Services and information provided to Canadians by the Consulate of Canada to Greece, in Thessaloniki.

COVID-19: Travel guidance

All travellers, regardless of citizenship, must meet specific requirements when coming to Canada. For information on COVID-19 and travel, visit COVID-19: Travel, testing, quarantine and borders.

On this page

Adoption and surrogacy

Refer to International adoption.

Birth abroad

Refer to Birth abroad.

Citizenship services

Complete your citizenship application before booking an appointment by phone or e-mail.

Marriage abroad

Refer to Marriage abroad.

CIVIL MARRIAGE

The following documents must be submitted by the Canadian citizen to the City/Town Hall that has been chosen to perform the marriage ceremony, for the issuance of the Greek marriage license. We strongly recommend that you contact directly the City/Town Hall where the ceremony is going to be performed in order to confirm these requirements. You may also refer to the marriage guidelines indicated in the website of the Hellenic Ministry of Interior Affairs: http://www.ypes.gr

DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED:

  1. Valid Canadian passport,
  2. The long form birth certificate in which the full names of both parents is shown. The document must be authenticated (see instructions below) and translated in Greek. If the birth took place in Canada, the birth certificate should be issued by the relevant Canadian Vital Statistics Office. The pocket size birth certificates are not acceptable by the Hellenic authorities for marriage purposes.
  3. Divorce documents (if applicable): the documents must be authenticated (see instructions below) and translated in Greek.
  4. A wedding announcement in a Greek newspaper (one for each spouse). The names of the future spouses and their parents' names (including mother's maiden name) must be written with Greek characters. The newspaper should have been issued within the last 8 days prior to the application to the Greek City Hall. For more information on this requirement, consult the City/Town Hall where the wedding is going to be performed.
  5. A Declaration of Capacity to Contract Marriage in Greece. Please contact us at

athns-cs@international.gc.ca to obtain the declaration by e-mail. In the Declaration of Capacity to Contract Marriage (available at the Embassy), the Canadian citizen declares that he/she is free to contract marriage.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Where to sign the Declaration of Capacity to Contract Marriage:

IF YOU ARE PLANNING OF VISITING THE EMBASSY OF CANADA IN ATHENS OR THE CANADIAN CONSULATE IN THESSALONIKI

  1. The declaration must be sworn / affirmed before the Consular Officer in Greece (Fee: $50.00 CDN or Euro equivalent).
  2. The signature of the Consular Officer must then be validated by the ‘Certification office’ of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (10 Arionos St., Psiri / tel. 210-3285757, -758): http://www.mfa.gr/ (fees apply)

IF YOU ARE NOT PLANNING OF VISITING THE EMBASSY OF CANADA IN ATHENS OR THE CANADIAN CONSULATE IN THESSALONIKI:

  1. The declaration must be sworn / affirmed before a Canadian Notary Public or Barrister and Solicitor (if you reside in Canada) or before a Consular Officer of a Canadian Embassy in a third country (if you reside in a third country).
  2. The document must be mailed to the Embassy of Canada in Greece for authentication (of the signature of the Canadian Notary Public/ Barrister and Solicitor/ Consular Officer). (Fee: $50.00 CDN or Euro equivalent).
  3. The signature of the Consular Officer must then be validated by the ‘Certification office’ of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (10 Arionos St., Psiri / tel. 210-3285757, -758). http://www.mfa.gr/ (fees apply)

Attention: The Embassy of Canada cannot undertake the processing of your documents at the Hellenic Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The interested parties must make all the necessary arrangements to have a courier company or an individual collect the documents from the Embassy and have them processed by the Greek authorities/ Hellenic MFA and forwarded to the receiving end.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Where to have OFFICIAL TRANSLATIONS:

  • Official translations can be obtained by the Consulates of Greece abroad or through the "Register of certified Translators" maintained by the Hellenic Ministry of Foreign Affairs (https://metafraseis.services.gov.gr/ ). Depending on the Town/City Hall of your marriage, translations by individual translators may also be acceptable.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

AUTHENTICATION:

Canada is not a member of the 1961 Hague Convention, abolishing the Requirement for Legalisation for Foreign Public Documents. Authentication (sometimes also referred to as “legalization”) is the certification of the genuineness of the signature and seal of an official. Through this process, it is attested that the official has the authority to execute, issue or certify a document in one jurisdiction, so that it may be recognized in another jurisdiction. Authentication does not certify the genuineness, legality or credibility of the documents or their contents.

The Canadian ORIGINAL documents (birth certificate, marriage license, divorce certificate) should be authenticated either by the Greek Consulates in Canada or by the Embassy of Canada in Greece (Fee: $50.00 CDN or Euro equivalent).

The authentication performed by the Embassy of Canada in Greece should also be legalized by the ‘Certification office’ of the Hellenic Ministry of Foreign Affairs (10 Arionos St., Psiri / tel. 210-3285757, -758). http://www.mfa.gr/ (fees apply)

Authentication may be requested by:

  1. A translator from the "Register of certified Translators" maintained by the Hellenic Ministry of Foreign Affairs (https://metafraseis.services.gov.gr/) in order to proceed with the official translation of the document into Greek
  2. The City/Town Halls where the ceremony is going to be performed.

GENERAL NOTES:

  • The marriages of Canadian citizens in Greece are registered at the Vital Statistics Office (Greek Lixiarchio) of the city/town where the civil or religious marriage was performed, within 40 days .
  • Non-registered marriages have NO legal validity.
  • The marriage is not to be registered or reported at the Embassy

Notarial services

The office provides the following notarial services, by appointment only, to Canadian citizens and, in limited cases, to non-Canadian citizens if the documents are intended for use in Canada. Note: Documents must be in English or French, or accompanied by an official translation in English or French.

Authentication/Attestation (certify the document signature, the position of an official and the seal are genuine):

Certified copy (certify the document is a true copy of the original):

  • Documents presented by a Canadian citizen or a non-Canadian citizen for use in Canada; exceptions apply (fees apply).
  • Government-issued identification requiring a certified true copy (fees apply).

Witness a signature (consular officer witnesses a signature):

  • Documents presented by a Canadian citizen or a non-Canadian citizen for use in Canada; exceptions apply (fees apply).
  • Government-issued identification requiring a witnessed signature (fees apply).

Note: Complete all documents before booking an appointment. Sign all documents in front of the consular officer.

Payment method

Credit card accepted. Use the credit card authorization form.

or

Direct deposit: PIRAEUS BANK, IBAN GR9601720310005031060223247 (deposit receipt with your documents).

Payments in cash are not accepted.

Details Fee (CAD) Fee (EUR)
Administering an oath or receiving a statutory declaration or affirmation. The fee shown is per document. 50.00 35.00
Authenticating (witnessing) a signature. The fee shown is per document. 50.00 35.00
Authenticating the signature and seal of a foreign authority. The fee shown is per document. 50.00 35.00
Authenticating signatures of Canadian authorities or notaries. 50.00 35.00
Certifying a true copy of a document. The fee shown is per copy. 20.00 15.00
Uniting documents and sealing their fastening. The fee shown is per document. 30.00 20.00
Preparing a certificate, affidavit, declaration or other document (less than 200 words). The fee shown is per document. 30.00 20.00
Preparing a certificate, affidavit, declaration or other document (200-499 words). The fee shown is per document. 60.00 40.00

Passport services

Refer to our Service fees section to pay online before completing your passport application.

Book an appointment by phone or e-mail.

Pensions and retirement

Refer to Retiring abroad.

Studying abroad

Refer to Studying abroad and EduCanada.

Visa and immigration services

Voting abroad

Refer to Elections (voting from abroad).

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Services et renseignements du gouvernement du Canada en Grèce à Thessalonique

Contactez-nous

Services et information offerts aux Canadiens par le consulat du Canada en Grèce à Thessalonique.

COVID-19 : Conseils de voyage

Tous les voyageurs, y compris les Canadiens, qui entrent au Canada doivent respecter des exigences particulières. Pour plus d'information sur la COVID-19 et les voyages, consultez COVID-19 : voyage, dépistage, quarantaine et frontières.

Sur cette page

Adoption et maternité de substitution

Référez-vous au site Adoption internationale.

Étudier à l'étranger

Référez-vous au site Étudier à l'étranger et ÉduCanada.

Mariage à l'étranger

Référez-vous au site Mariage à l'étranger.

MARIAGE CIVIL

Les documents suivants doivent être soumis par le citoyen canadien à la Mairie/ Hôtel de Ville choisie pour la cérémonie civile de mariage en Grèce, afin de produire l’autorisation de mariage. Nous vous recommandons fortement de contacter directement la Mairie/ Hôtel de Ville choisie pour la cérémonie pour confirmer ces exigences. Veuillez aussi voir les lignes directrices indiquées au site web du Ministère Hellénique des Affaires Intérieures : http://www.ypes.gr

DOCUMENTATION NECESSAIRE :

  1. Passeport canadien en vigueur,
  2. Certificat de naissance (forme longue), comprenant les noms complets des parents. Ce document doit être dûment authentifié (voir les instructions ci-dessus) et accompagné par une traduction en Grec. Si la naissance a eu lieu au Canada, le certificat de naissance doit être délivré par le Directeur de l’État Civil de la province concernée. Les certificats de naissance de format abrégé ne sont pas acceptables par les autorités grecques pour le mariage.
  3. Certificat et/ou jugement de divorce (si applicable) : les documents doivent être dûment authentifiés (voir les instructions ci-dessus) et accompagnés par une traduction grecque.
  4. Un exemplaire de l’annonce de mariage dans un journal grec (pour chaque époux). Les noms et prénoms des futurs époux, ainsi que ceux de leurs parents (le nom de jeune fille de leurs mères inclut), doivent être écrits en caractères grecs. Le journal doit être daté durant les 8 jours précédant la demande à la mairie grecque. Pour plus d’information sur cette exigence, veuillez contacter la mairie où vous désirez performer le mariage.
  5. Déclaration de capacité matrimoniale. Veuillez nous contacter à athns-cs@international.gc.ca pour obtenir la declaration par courriel. Le citoyen Canadien déclare qu’il/elle est libre de contracter mariage.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

Où signer cette déclaration de capacité matrimoniale :

  • SI VOUS AVEZ COMME PLAN DE VISITER L’AMBASSADE DU CANADA A ATHENES OU LE CONSULAT A THESSALONIKI :

1) La déclaration doit être assermentée / affirmée devant l’agent consulaire de l’ambassade du Canada en Grèce (frais consulaire $50 CAD ou l’équivalent en Euro).

2) La signature des Agents Consulaires de l’Ambassade du Canada en Grèce doit également être légalisée par le Bureau de Traduction et de Légalisation du Ministère des Affaires Étrangères de la Grèce à Athènes (10, rue Arionos, Psiri, tél: 210-3285757, -758).

  • SI VOUS N'AVEZ PAS COMME PLAN DE VISITER L’AMBASSADE DU CANADA A ATHENES OU LE CONSULAT A THESSALONIKI:

1) La déclaration doit être assermentée / affirmée devant un notaire, ou commissaire à l’assermentation ou avocat (si vous êtes au Canada) ou devant un agent consulaire de l’ambassade du Canada à un tiers pays (si vous résidez à un pays tiers).

2) La déclaration doit être envoyée à l’ambassade du Canada à Athènes pour être authentifiée par l’ambassade (validation de la signature du notaire, du commissaire à l’assermentation, d’avocat ou d’agent consulaire (frais consulaire $50 CAD ou l’équivalent en Euro).

3) La signature des Agents Consulaires de l’Ambassade du Canada en Grèce doit également être légalisée par le Bureau de Traduction et de Légalisation du Ministère des Affaires Étrangères de la Grèce à Athènes (10, rue Arionos, Psiri, tél: 210-3285757, -758).

Attention: l’ambassade du Canada ne peut pas entreprendre le traitement de vos documents auprès du Ministère des Affaires Étrangères Grecque. Les gens concernés doivent assigner à une compagnie courrier ou à un individu la collection de leurs documents de l’ambassade et leur traitement par les autorités grecs et l’envoi au destinataire.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Où obtenir des traductions officielles :

Vous pouvez obtenir des traductions officielles par les Consulats de la Grèce à l’étranger ou par le biais du "Registre des traducteurs agréés" tenu par le ministère hellénique des Affaires étrangères (https://metafraseis.services.gov.gr/ ). Dépendant de la Mairie où vous performez le mariage, des traductions des traducteurs individuels peuvent être acceptées.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

AUTHENTIFICATION :

Le Canada n'est pas membre de la Convention de La Haye de 1961, abolissant l'exigence de légalisation pour les documents publics étrangers. L'authentification (parfois aussi appelée «légalisation») est la certification de l'authenticité de la signature et du sceau d'un fonctionnaire. Grâce à ce processus, il est attesté que le fonctionnaire a le pouvoir d'exécuter, délivrer ou certifier un document dans une juridiction, de sorte qu'il puisse être reconnu dans une autre juridiction. L'authentification ne certifie pas l'authenticité, la légalité ou la crédibilité des documents ou de leur contenu.

Les documents ORIGINAUX canadiens (certificat de naissance, certificat de mariage, certificat de divorce) doivent être authentifiés soit par les consulats grecs au Canada, soit par l'ambassade du Canada en Grèce (frais: 50$ CAD ou équivalent en euros).

L'authentification effectuée par l'Ambassade du Canada en Grèce devrait également être légalisée par le «Bureau de certification» du Ministère hellénique des affaires étrangères (10, rue Arionos, Psiri / tél. 210-3285757, -758). www.mfa.gr

L'authentification peut être demandée par:

(A) Un traducteur du "Registre des traducteurs certifiés" tenu par le ministère hellénique des Affaires étrangères (https://metafraseis.services.gov.gr/ ) afin de procéder à la traduction officielle du document en grec,

(B) La ville / mairies où la cérémonie aura lieu.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NOTES IMPORTANTES:

  • Les mariages de citoyens canadiens en Grèce sont enregistrés au bureau de l’État Civil (en grec Lixiarchio) de la ville où le mariage civil ou religieux a eu lieu dans les 40 jours suivant la date du mariage.
  • Les mariages non-enregistrés n’ont aucune validité juridique.
  • Les mariages performés ne sont pas reportés or enregistrés à l’ambassade.

Naissance à l'étranger

Référez-vous au site Naissance à l'étranger.

Pensions et retraite

Référez-vous au site La retraite à l'étranger.

Services de citoyenneté

Complétez votre demande de citoyenneté avant de prendre un rendez-vous par téléphone ou par courrier.

Services de passeport

Référez-vous à notre section Frais de service pour payer en ligne avant de complétez votre demande de passeport.

Prendre un rendez-vous par téléphone ou par courrier.

Services de visas et d’immigration

  • Présentez vos demandes et vos documents de résidence permanente au bureau des visas.

Services notariaux

Le bureau fournit des services notariaux uniquement sur rendez-vous aux citoyens canadiens et, dans de rares cas, aux non canadiens si leurs documents sont destinés à l’usage au Canada. Cependant, les documents doivent être en français ou en anglais, ou accompagnés d’une traduction officielle dans l’une ou l’autre de ces langues.

Authentification/Attestation (la signature, le poste d’un représentant et le sceau d’un document sont authentiques) :

Copies conformes (le document est une copie certifiée de l’original) :

  • Documents présentés par un citoyen canadien ou non-canadien à des fins d’utilisation au Canada; il y a des exceptions (frais applicables).
  • Pièces d’identité délivrées par le gouvernement et dont il faut certifier la copie (frais applicables).

Certification d’une signature (agent consulaire témoin) :

  • Documents présentés par un citoyen canadien ou non-canadien à des fins d’utilisation au Canada; il y a des exceptions (frais applicables).
  • Pièces d’identité délivrées par le gouvernement et dont la signature doit être certifiée (frais applicables).

Remarque : Remplir tous les documents avant de prendre un rendez-vous et les signer en présence d’un agent consulaire.

Mode de paiement

Carte de crédit acceptée. Utilisez le formulaire d'autorisation de carte de crédit.

ou

Dépôt direct : PIRAEUS BANK, IBAN GR9601720310005031060223247 (preuve de dépôt avec vos documents).

Paiements en espèces ne sont pas acceptés.

Détails Frais (CAD) Frais (EUR)
Faire prêter serment ou recevoir une déclaration ou une affirmation. Le coût indiqué est par document. 50.00 35.00
Authentifier la signature d’un document. Le coût indiqué est par document. 50.00 35.00
Authentifier la signature et le sceau d’une autorité étrangère. Le coût indiqué est par document. 50.00 35.00
Authentifier la signature d’une autorité canadienne. 50.00 35.00
Certifier conforme la copie d’un document. Le coût indiqué est par copie. 20.00 15.00
Rassembler des documents et en sceller l’attache. Le coût indiqué est par document. 30.00 20.00
Préparer un certificat, un affidavit, une déclaration ou autre document (moins de 200 mots). Le coût indiqué est par document. 30.00 20.00
Préparer un certificat, un affidavit, une déclaration ou autre document (200-499 mots). Le coût indiqué est par document. 60.00 40.00

Voter depuis l'étranger

Reportez-vous à Élections (voter depuis l'étranger).

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: