Authentication of documents: 1. Before you start

Our processing times are higher than normal. Before submitting your request to the Authentication Services Section at Global Affairs Canada, we recommend you explore the options listed in Alternatives to authentication by the Authentication Services Section at Global Affairs Canada.

We do not offer in-person service. All requests must be submitted following the instructions on step 4 . For information about our service and instructions on submitting your request, please read steps 1234. If you have further questions, please consult our Frequently Asked Questions.

Our service is offered free of charge. For information on estimated processing times, see Processing times.

On this page

This website is the only authoritative source of information regarding the authentication services provided by the Authentication Services Section at Global Affairs Canada.

Authentication is sometimes required before you can use a Canadian document abroad. Authentication speaks to the genuineness of the signature of a public official found on a document. In other countries, authentication is also known as apostille. After being authenticated, your document may need to be legalized by the authorities of the country of destination (e.g., by their embassy, high commission or consulate in or accredited to Canada). To be authenticated, your document must bear an original, recognized signature (and seal, if applicable).

To find out if your document requires authentication, see the section below. To explore alternatives to authentication by Global Affairs Canada, please visit Alternatives to authentication by the Authentication Services Section at Global Affairs Canada.

Unless otherwise indicated, you must submit your documents in paper format by following the instructions outlined in steps 1, 2, 3 and 4.

Check whether your documents need to be authenticated

Please note that not all countries require the authentication or legalization of Canadian documents before they can be used in their territory. The same applies to the requirement to submit a statement in lieu of certificate of non-impediment for marriage if you intend to get married abroad. Therefore, as first step, confirm the requirements by contacting the authority requesting your document or the embassy, high commission, or consulate of the country where your document will be used:

If you receive confirmation that your document must be authenticated, we would suggest you to consult Alternatives to authentication by the Authentication Services Section at Global Affairs Canada.

Get your document translated

If all or part of your document written in a language other than English or French, you must send a certified, notarized translation (see exception below). You have two options:

Translation by a certified translator

What is a certified translation? It is a translation that is certified by a member of:

Some countries may require a translator’s affidavit. An affidavit must be signed and sealed by a Canadian notary.

or

Attestation by Canadian notary public provided they speak both languages. If that is the case, ensure that the notary public adds to their declaration the following statement:

Exception: We do not need translations for:

Reasons we cannot authenticate your document

If we cannot authenticate your document, we will inform you in writing.

We cannot authenticate the following documents:

We can decline authentication and refer your case to the appropriate authority if

Fees

We do not charge a fee for our service.

Processing times

At June 1, 2022, the processing time is:

65 business days

from the day the request is delivered to our office. You must add up to 5 business days for mailing time. Please note the processing time is only an estimate at a point in time and it may fluctuate depending on work volume and operational factors. This turnaround applies to all the requests submitted prior to the current date .  

We do not offer expedited services. For that reason, please send your request with as much notice as possible and ensure to take into consideration all the timelines and deadlines that apply to your case. If you have exceptional and urgent circumstances (generally defined as an unexpected event outside of your control that makes it impossible to wait the regular processing time) and want us to consider processing your document in priority, you may contact usPlease note that you do not need to hire a third-party company to submit your request to our office.

Processing can take longer if:

We will inform you in writing if we cannot authenticate upon returning your document.

For more information on how we count processing times.

Provincial and territorial authentication services

The majority of the documents processed by the Authentication Services Section at Global Affairs Canada are issued under provincial or territorial authority. Most provinces and territories offer authentication services for documents issued or notarized in their jurisdiction, which some countries may accept instead of an authentication by Global Affairs Canada. These provincial and territorial services operate independently of the Government of Canada and may have shorter processing times. Global Affairs Canada recognizes these authentications as being equally valid to those performed by our department.

Please note that Global Affairs Canada does not require provincial or territorial authentication or from organizations such as the Society of Notaries Public of British Columbia or the Chambre des notaires du Québec to be able to authenticate a document.

Find more information about the following provincial and territorial authentication services:

Contact details

Before contacting our office, please read steps 1234 and 5, the Frequently asked questions section and, if applicable, the Statement in lieu of certificate of non-impediment to marriage abroad page.

If you are in Canada and submitted your documents more than 75 business days ago (approximately 3 months and 10 days) and wish to obtain a status update, please fill in the form available at the Check the status of your request. If you submitted your document from abroad, the wait time to request a status update is 80 business days (approximately 3 months and 20 days). If you have asked us to forward your documents to a foreign embassy, high commission or consulate, please check the status with them first. Due to the volume of requests, we regret that we cannot provide status updates for requests submitted before the waiting period has lapsed.

Access our contact details

Related services and information

Date Modified:

Authentification des documents : 1. Avant de commencer

Notre délai de traitement est plus long que d'habitude. Avant de soumettre votre demande à la Section des services d'authentification d'Affaires mondiales Canada, vous devriez explorer les options énumérées dans la section Solutions de rechange aux services de la Section des services d'authentification d’Affaires mondiales Canada.

Nous n’offrons pas de service en personne. Toutes les demandes souvent être soumises en suivant les consignes indiquées dans l’étape 4. Pour des renseignements concernant notre service et pour des consignes pour la soumission de votre demande, veuillez lire les étapes 1234. SI vous avez d’autres questions, veuillez visiter notre foire aux questions

Notre service est offert gratuitement. Pour connaître le délai de traitement estimé , consultez la section « Délais de traitement ».

Sur cette page

Ce site est la seule source d'information faisant autorité concernant les services d'authentification fournis par la Section des services d'authentification d'Affaires mondiales Canada.

L'authentification est parfois requise pour pouvoir utiliser un document public canadien à l’étranger. L'authentification concerne l'authenticité de la signature d'un agent public figurant sur un document. Dans d'autres pays, l'authentification est également connue sous le nom d'apostille. Après avoir été authentifié, votre document peut devoir être légalisé par les autorités du pays de destination (p. ex. par son ambassade, son haut-commissariat ou son consulat au Canada ou accrédité auprès du Canada). Pour être authentifié, votre document doit porter une signature originale et reconnue (et un sceau, le cas échéant).

Pour savoir si votre document doit être authentifié, consultez la section ci-dessous. Pour explorer des solutions de rechange à l'authentification par Affaires mondiales Canada, veuillez consulter la page Solutions de rechange aux services de la Section des services d'authentification d’Affaires mondiales Canada.

Sauf indication contraire, vous devez soumettre vos documents en format papier en suivant les instructions décrites aux étapes 1, 2, 3 et 4.

Vérifier si vos documents doivent être authentifiés

Veuillez noter que tous les pays n'exigent pas l'authentification ou la légalisation des documents canadiens avant qu'ils puissent être utilisés dans leur territoire. Il en va de même pour l'obligation de présenter une déclaration tenant lieu de certificat de non-empêchement au mariage si vous avez l'intention de vous marier à l'étranger. Pour cette raison, comme première étage, confirmez les exigences en communiquant avec l’ambassade, le haut-commissariat ou le consulat du pays où votre document sera utilisé :

Si vous avez reçu une confirmation voulant que vos documents doivent être authentifiés, nous vous suggérons de consulter la page Solutions de rechange à l'authentification par la Section des services d'authentification d'Affaires mondiales Canada.

Faire traduire votre document

Si votre document est rédigé (en entier ou en partie) dans une langue autre que le français ou l’anglais, vous devez l’accompagner d’une traduction certifiée conforme et notariée (voir les exceptions indiquées ci-après) .

Vous avez deux choix :

Traduction par un traducteur certifié

Qu’est-ce qu’une traduction certifiée? Il s’agit d’une traduction qui est certifiée par un membre :

Certains pays exigent un affidavit du traducteur. Un notaire canadien doit signer et sceller l’affidavit.

Ou

Attestation par un notaire Canadien, pourvu qu’il maîtrise les deux langues. Si vous choisissez cette option, le notaire devra indiquer dans sa déclaration les détails suivants :

Exception : Nous n’avons pas besoin de traduction pour les documents suivants :

Raisons pour lesquelles nous ne pourrions pas authentifier votre document

Si nous ne pouvons pas authentifier votre document, nous vous en informerons par écrit.

Nous ne pouvons pas authentifier certains documents, notamment :

Nous pouvons refuser l’authentification et demander aux autorités policières compétentes de faire enquête si :

Les frais

Nos services sont offerts sans frais.

Délais de traitement

Le délai de traitement actualisé au 1er juin 2022 est de :

65 jours ouvrables

à partir du jour où la demande est remise à notre bureau. Vous devez ajouter jusqu'à 5 jours ouvrables pour le délai d'envoi postal. Veuillez noter que ce délai de traitement n’est qu’une estimation à un moment donné. Il peut varier en fonction du volume de travail ou de facteurs opérationnels. Ce délai s'applique à toutes les demandes soumises avant la date actuelle .

Nous n’offrons pas de service accéléré.  Veuillez donc envoyer votre demande aussi tôt que possible et veillez à prendre en considération tous les délais et échéances qui s'appliquent à votre cas. Si vous êtes aux prises à des circonstances extraordinaires et urgentes (généralement définies comme des événements inattendus et hors de votre contrôle qui vous empêchent d’attendre le délai de traitement normal) et que vous souhaitez que nous considérions traiter votre document en priorité, vous pouvez nous contacterVeuillez noter que vous n'avez pas besoin de faire appel à de tierces parties pour soumettre votre demande à notre bureau.

Le traitement peut prendre plus de temps si :

  • nous devons communiquer avec vous pour vous poser des questions sur votre demande
  • nous n’avons pas de spécimen (ou d’exemple) de la signature au dossier (par exemple, parce que le document est vieux)
  • nous devons contacter l’autorité de délivrance ou le signataire de votre document

Nous vous informerons par écrit si nous ne pouvons pas nous authentifier lors du renvoi de votre document.

Pour plus d'informations comment nous déterminons les délais de traitement.

Services d’authentification provinciaux et territoriaux

La majorité des documents traités par la Section des services d'authentification d'Affaires mondiales Canada sont délivrés en vertu d'une autorité provinciale ou territoriale. La plupart des provinces et des territoires offrent des services d'authentification pour les documents délivrés ou notariés dans leur territoire, que certains pays acceptent au lieu d'une authentification par Affaires mondiales Canada. Ces services provinciaux et territoriaux fonctionnent indépendamment du gouvernement du Canada et peuvent avoir des délais de traitement plus courts. Affaires mondiales Canada reconnaît ces authentifications comme ayant la même validité que celles effectuées par le ministère.

Veuillez noter qu'Affaires mondiales Canada n'exige pas d'authentification provinciale ou territoriale ou d’organisations telles que la Chambre des notaires du Québec ou l’ordre des notaires de la Colombie-Britannique (Society of Notaries Public of British Columbia) pour pouvoir authentifier un document.

Renseignez-vous sur les services d’authentification provinciaux et territoriaux :

Nos coordonnées

Avant de contacter notre bureau, veuillez lire les étapes 1234 et 5, la Foire aux questions et, le cas échéant, la page sur les déclarations tenant lieu de certificat de non-empêchement au mariage à l'étranger.

Si vous êtes au Canada et avez soumis vos documents il y a plus de 75 jours ouvrables (environ trois mois et dix jours) et que vous souhaitez obtenir une mise à jour du statut, veuillez remplir le formulaire disponible à la page Vérifier le statut de votre demande. Si vous avez soumis vos documents à partir de l’étranger, l’attente pour demander une mise à jour est de 80 jours ouvrables (environ trois mois et vingt jours). Si vous nous avez demandé de transmettre vos documents à une ambassade, un haut-commissariat ou un consulat, veuillez d'abord vérifier le statut de votre demande auprès d'eux. En raison du volume de demandes, nous regrettons de ne pas pouvoir fournir de mise à jour du statut des demandes soumises avant l'expiration de la période d’attente.

Accéder à nos coordonnées

Services et renseignements connexes

Date de modification: