Language selection

Search

Prince Takamado Gallery

Located in the Embassy of Canada to Japan B2 basement, the Prince Takamado Gallery presents exhibitions of Canadian paintings, sculptures, photography, textiles, designs and other artwork. It was given its current name in April 2003 as one of several Canadian initiatives to commemorate Prince Takamado’s contribution to Canada-Japan relations.

Visitor access to the Embassy of Canada to Japan requires government-issued photo identification (e.g. passport, drivers license, national qualification card, resident card or my number card), or two forms of identification: employee or health insurance card plus an unexpired photo ID (e.g. company/corporation).

Contact

Embassy of Canada to Japan, in Tokyo
Public Affairs Section
7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku
Tokyo 107-8503, Japan
EmailTOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca
Tel: 03-5412-6200
Closed on weekends and Embassy holidays


Current exhibition - June 1 to September 29, 2022

Extreme. Relay.

Steven Wolf Tail 
Steven Wolf Tail

The Embassy of Canada to Japan proudly presents the Extreme. Relay. photo exhibition in conjunction with National Indigenous History Month in Canada.

The Extreme. Relay. photo exhibition puts the spotlight on Indian Relay, commonly described as one of North America's original extreme sports. It is a competitive, dangerous, heart pounding form of horse racing. Most competitors have ridden horses from a very young age, some from before they could walk. As such, their skill as horsemen and horsewomen is deeply developed and organic. Competitors, braves, warriors and chiefs, compete bareback, usually in colourful regalia and war paint.

Canadian photographers Julie Vincent and Jason Lawrence spent several summers traveling around southern Alberta, where competitions within and between First Nations have been happening for centuries. They followed the horse races there, and also travelled to Walla Walla, in Washington State, to shoot the first International Indian Relay Championships.

Through this exhibition the photographers look forward to introducing Extreme. Relay. to a wider public. The intensity of the competition, the level of danger, and the immense skill of these riders cannot be overstated. This is an opportunity for viewers to understand what underlies the sport: the deep connections between riders and their families, the ties which may span several Indigenous communities, sometimes across borders, and the friendships forged by the riders. 

Details

Dates: June 1, 2022 to September 29, 2022

Location: Embassy of Canada Prince Takamado Gallery (7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission: Free

Contact: Embassy of Canada, Public Affairs Section

Media contact: E-mail: tokyo-media@international.gc.ca

Follow us on social media (Twitter, Facebook) @CanEmbJapan

Notes: 

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Galerie Prince Takamado

Située au sous-sol B2 de l'Ambassade du Canada au Japon, la galerie présente des expositions de peinture, de sculpture, de photographie, de textiles, de dessins et d'autres œuvres d'art canadiennes. Elle a reçu son nom actuel en avril 2003, dans le cadre de plusieurs initiatives canadiennes visant à commémorer la contribution du prince Takamado aux relations canada-japonaises.

Pour avoir accès à l'Ambassade du Canada, les visiteurs doivent présenter une carte d'identité avec photo tel : passeport, permis de conduire, carte de qualification nationale, carte de résidence, ou carte « My Number » OU deux pièces d’identification tel : carte d’employé(e) valide avec photo et une carte d’assurance santé, etc.

Contact

Ambassade du Canada au Japon à Tokyo
Section des affaires publiques
7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku
Tokyo 107-8503, Japon
Courriel : TOKYO.CC@international.gc.ca
Tél. : 03-5412-6200
Fermée durant la fin de semaine et jours fériés


Exposition en cours - 1 juin au 29 septembre 2022

Relais. Extrême.

Steven Wolf Tail
Steven Wolf Tail

L'ambassade du Canada au Japon est fière de présenter l'exposition de photos Relais. Extrême. dans le cadre du Mois national de l'histoire autochtone au Canada.

L'exposition de photos « Relais. Extrême. » met en lumière le relais indien, communément décrit comme l'un des premiers sports extrêmes d'Amérique du Nord. Il s'agit d'une forme de course de chevaux compétitive, dangereuse et palpitante. La plupart des concurrents montent à cheval depuis leur plus jeune âge, certains avant même de savoir marcher. Par conséquent, leur adresse en tant que cavaliers et cavalières est très développée et organique. Les concurrents, les braves, les guerriers et les chefs, montent à cru, portant généralement certains emblèmes et peintures de guerre.

Les photographes canadiens Julie Vincent et Jason Lawrence ont passé les derniers étés à parcourir le sud de l'Alberta, où des compétitions au sein des Premières nations et entre elles ont lieu depuis des siècles. Ils y ont suivi les courses de chevaux, et se sont également rendus à Walla Walla, dans l’État de Washington, pour y photographier les premiers championnats internationaux de relais indien.

Grâce à cette exposition, les photographes se réjouissent de présenter Relais. Extrême. à un public plus large. L'intensité de la compétition, le niveau de danger et l'immense talent de ces cavaliers ne peuvent être exagérés.  C'est l'occasion pour les spectateurs de comprendre ce qui sous-tend ce sport : les liens profonds entre les coureurs et leurs familles, les liens familiaux qui peuvent s'étendre à travers plusieurs communautés autochtones, parfois au-delà des frontières, et les amitiés forgées par les coureurs. 

Détails

Date : Du 1 juin, 2022 au 29 septembre, 2022

Lieu : Galerie Prince Takamado de l’Ambassade du Canada (7-3-38 Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo)

Admission : Gratuite

Contact : Section des affaires publiques, Ambassade du Canada

Contact médias : courriel : tokyo-media@international.gc.ca

Suivez-nous sur Twitter et Facebook : @AmbCanJapon

Notes :

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: