Language selection

Search

Nadia Theodore, Consul General of Canada in Atlanta, United States

Message

Greetings Friends:

My first year as Canada’s representative in the Southeastern United States has been exhilarating!  

One of the key roles of the Consulate General of Canada in Atlanta is to serve and protect Canadian citizens across the six states of our territory: Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. In this regard, we typically assist people with emergency travel documents or other consular aid.

Sometimes, during natural disasters, for example, our office reaches out to Canadian nationals in the region to ensure their well-being.  This was the case during the week when I assumed this post in September 2017, during Hurricane Irma. One year later, almost to the day, Hurricane Florence demanded similar attention.

Mostly though, our work here is less intense, but still vital: advancing Canadian interests; helping Canadian companies gain their foothold in the Southeast market, by providing on-the-ground intelligence, qualified contacts, partnership opportunities and practical advice; and assisting American firms seeking to set up a presence in Canada.

Canadian businesses such as Pure Flavor, Irving Consumer Products and Bombardier continue to blossom in this region, while American brands including Chick-fil-A, Coca-Cola and UPS are expanding their reach in Canada. They typify the shared achievements in bilateral trade and investment, and people-to-people, government-to-government ties, which create good, middle-class jobs in our countries and make us all shine.

I continue to traverse the six states in our territory speaking at various events and connecting with state leaders, executives and many wonderful, everyday people. I’m particularly interested in the youth of the Southeast who continue to inspire me with their strong vision, community-mindedness and global outlook.  My goals are to burnish our strong and extensive links and to deliver these unassailable truths: Canada and the U.S. are each other’s best customers and closest allies, depending on each other for their mutual prosperity and security.

My endeavours are facilitated by an adept and diverse staff of Canadians and Americans who exemplify the successfully collaborative relationship of our countries.

NAFTA has been a significant piece of the narrative and we’ve had additional support in spreading the word, with key visits by Minister of Agriculture, Lawrence MacAulay, Minister of Science and Sport, Kirsty Duncan and Parliamentary Secretary, Andrew Leslie. They underscored our desire to build on the $50 billion in bilateral trade and more than 1 million jobs tied to trade and investment with Canada.

Another of our critical imperatives is the promotion of Canadian values and culture. In the last year, we participated in Atlanta Pride for the first time; staged a celebration of Canada’s 150th birthday;  lauded Canadian singer-songwriter k.d. lang as she accepted the Americana Trailblazer Award in Nashville; worked with Canadian disability advocate, Cara Yar Khan; partnered with the City of Atlanta to light up City Hall for Canada Day; and welcomed numerous Canadian talents such as singer-pianist Laila Biali, actor Kawa Ada (for our screening of The Breadwinner) and rapper Thrillah Kane to warm receptions.

I will continue to be a visible and vocal advocate in celebrating how far we’ve all come together and advancing Canada’s enduring friendships and dynamic economic relationships across the U.S Southeast.

Outside of my role as Consul General, I have a passion for community service, especially around youth education and literacy. I am thankful that Atlanta – and cities across the Southeast – have welcomed my interest and involvement. Over the next year, I plan to keep volunteering with Atlanta’s Everybody Wins!, Habitat for Humanity and others. I will also continue to enjoy, explore and appreciate the region’s rich history, fabulous culture, outstanding cuisine and all-encompassing sports habits (I’m on the waitlist for Atlanta United season tickets – fingers crossed!).

Warmly,

Nadia Theodore

Consul General

Biography

Nadia Theodore joined the Canadian civil service in 2000. She has made her career in the Trade Agreement and Negotiations Branch of Global Affairs, holding leadership positions on several recent and major trade initiatives of Global Affairs Canada, including serving as one of the two Deputy Chief Negotiators for the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership and as the Executive Director of Canada’s Secretariat for the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement.

Consul General Theodore previously served at Canada's Permanent Mission to the World Trade Organization and at Canada's Permanent Mission to the United Nations, in Geneva Switzerland. Directly prior to being named Consul General for the US Southeast, in August 2017, she served in Ottawa as Chief of Staff and Executive Director to Canada’s Deputy Minister for International Trade.

With over 10 years of trade policy experience, Ms. Theodore’s appointment came as Canada, Mexico and the United States launched negotiations to modernize the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA). As part of Canada’s international trade negotiating team, Ms. Theodore built a reputation for forging strong partnerships with government and business leaders and managing complex, priority trade initiatives.

Ms. Theodore was born and raised in Ottawa, Ontario. She holds a Bachelor of Laws from the University of London and an M.A. in Political Science from Carleton University.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Nadia Theodore, Consule générale du Canada aux États-Unis à Atlanta

Message

Bonjour chers amis,

Ma première année en tant que représentante du Canada dans le sud-est des États-Unis a été exaltante! 

L’un des rôles clés du Consulat général du Canada à Atlanta est de servir et de protéger les citoyens canadiens dans les six États de notre territoire : l’Alabama, la Géorgie, le Mississippi, la Caroline du Nord, la Caroline du Sud et le Tennessee. À cet égard, nous aidons habituellement les personnes qui ont besoin de documents de voyage d’urgence ou d’autres formes d’aide consulaire.

Parfois, lors de catastrophes naturelles, par exemple, notre bureau vient en aide aux ressortissants canadiens de la région pour assurer leur bien-être. Ce fut le cas durant la semaine où j’ai accédé à mes fonctions en septembre 2017, pendant l’ouragan Irma. Un an plus tard, presque jour pour jour, l’ouragan Florence exigeait la même attention.

Cependant, notre travail ici est habituellement moins intense, mais tout de même vital : faire avancer les intérêts canadiens; aider les entreprises canadiennes à prendre pied sur le marché du Sud-Est américain en leur fournissant des renseignements sur le terrain, des contacts qualifiés, des possibilités de partenariat et des conseils pratiques; et venir en aide aux entreprises américaines qui cherchent à s’établir au Canada.

Des entreprises canadiennes comme Pure Flavor, Irving Consumer Products et Bombardier continuent à prospérer ici, tandis que des compagnies américaines comme Chick-fil-A, Coca-Cola et UPS étendent leur présence au Canada. Ces entreprises illustrent les réalisations conjointes en matière de commerce, d’investissements bilatéraux, de liens de personne à personne et de gouvernement à gouvernement qui créent de bons emplois pour la classe moyenne dans nos pays respectifs.

Je continue de parcourir les six États de notre territoire en prenant la parole lors de divers événements et en communiquant avec des dirigeants d’État, des cadres d’entreprises et beaucoup de gens merveilleux. Je m’intéresse particulièrement aux jeunes de la région, qui continuent à m’inspirer par leur vision forte, leur esprit communautaire et leur perspective mondiale. Mon but est de renforcer les liens forts qui nous unissent, et de livrer ces vérités inattaquables : le Canada et les États-Unis sont les meilleurs clients les uns des autres et les alliés les plus proches; ils sont liés par leur prospérité et leur sécurité mutuelles.

Mes efforts sont facilités par un personnel compétent et diversifié composé de Canadiens et d’Américains qui illustrent la collaboration fructueuse de nos pays.

L’ALENA a joué un rôle important dans cette histoire, et nous avons bénéficié d’un soutien supplémentaire pour transmettre le message, grâce aux visites clés du ministre de l’Agriculture, Lawrence MacAulay, de la ministre des Sciences et du Sport, Kirsty Duncan, et du secrétaire parlementaire, Andrew Leslie. Ils ont souligné notre désir de mettre à profit les 50 milliards de dollars de commerce bilatéral et plus d’un million d’emplois liés au commerce et à l’investissement avec le Canada.

La promotion des valeurs et de la culture canadiennes est un autre de nos impératifs. L’an dernier, nous avons participé pour la première fois au défilé de l’Atlanta Pride; nous avons organisé une célébration du 150e anniversaire du Canada; et avons rendu hommage à l’auteure-compositrice et interprète canadienne KD Lang, qui a reçu le prix Americana Trailblazer, à Nashville. Nous avons travaillé avec Cara Yar Khan, militante canadienne des droits des personnes handicapées, avons collaboré avec la ville d’Atlanta pour illuminer l’hôtel de ville à l’occasion de la fête du Canada et avons accueilli de nombreux talents canadiens tels que la chanteuse et pianiste Laila Biali, l’actrice Kawa Ada (pour notre projection du film The Breadwinner) et le rappeur Thrillah Kane lors de chaleureuses réceptions.

Je continuerai de défendre haut et fort nos intérêts en célébrant le chemin parcouru et en faisant progresser les amitiés durables et les relations économiques dynamiques du Canada dans le Sud-Est des États-Unis.

En dehors de mon rôle de consule générale, j’ai une passion pour le service communautaire, en particulier pour l’éducation et l’alphabétisation chez les jeunes. Je suis reconnaissante qu’Atlanta, et les villes du Sud-Est américain, aient accueilli mon intérêt et mon implication. Au cours de la prochaine année, j’ai l’intention de continuer à faire du bénévolat auprès d’Everybody Wins!, d’Habitat for Humanity et d’autres organismes de la région d’Atlanta. Je continuerai également d’explorer et d’apprécier la riche histoire de la région, sa merveilleuse culture, sa cuisine exceptionnelle et ses habitudes sportives omniprésentes (je suis sur la liste d’attente pour un abonnement à Atlanta United, et je garde les doigts croisés!).

Cordialement,

Nadia Theodore

Consule générale

Biographie

Nadia Theodore est entrée à la fonction publique canadienne en l’an 2000. Elle a travaillé pour la Direction des accords commerciaux et des négociations d’Affaires Mondiales Canada (AMC) où elle a occupé des postes de direction au sein de diverses initiatives commerciales récentes et importantes. Elle a notamment été l’un des deux négociateurs en chef adjoints dans le cadre de l’Accord global et progressif de partenariat transpacifique, et directrice générale du Secrétariat du Canada pour l’Accord économique et commercial Global Canada-Union Européenne.

Elle a été consule générale à la Mission permanente du Canada auprès de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce et à la Mission permanente du Canada auprès des Nations Unies, à Genève, en Suisse. Juste avant d’être nommée consule générale du Sud-Est des États-Unis, en août 2017, elle a été chef de cabinet et directrice générale du sous-ministre du Commerce international du Canada à Ottawa.

Comptant plus de dix ans d’expérience en politique commerciale, Mme Theodore a été nommée au moment où le Canada, le Mexique et les États-Unis entamaient des négociations pour moderniser l’Accord de Libre-Echange Nord-Américain (ALENA). En tant que membre de l’équipe de négociation du Canada en matière de commerce international, Mme Theodore s’est fait une réputation en établissant des partenariats solides avec le gouvernement et les chefs d’entreprise, et en gérant des initiatives commerciales complexes et prioritaires.

Mme Theodore est née et a grandi à Ottawa, en Ontario. Elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en droit de l’Université de Londres et d’une maîtrise en sciences politiques de l’Université Carleton.

Date de modification: