Language selection

Search

Ariel Delouya, Consul General of Canada in Minneapolis, United States

Ariel Delouya, Consul General of Canada in Minneapolis, United States

Message

Welcome from the Consul General

It is a privilege and honour to serve as Canada’s Consul General in Minneapolis and to represent Canada in the beautiful Upper Midwest and Prairie region of this great country.

Canada and the United States share a unique and vibrant relationship as the closest of friends, partners and allies. Our two countries have the most important trading relationship in the world, one that is driven by our geography and shared values, and exemplified in this region by countless cross-border and deep ties between individuals and institutions. Indeed, I was encouraged upon my arrival to learn that Canada is the top export destination for all five of the states in this territory.

As a career diplomat, this is my fourth international posting, and my second in the United States of America. I had the privilege of serving at our Embassy in Washington, DC from 2002 to 2006. I wanted to return to the United States, and more specifically to the Upper Midwest, because, professionally, I know that my work here will be impactful and, I hope, will contribute to strengthening this already vibrant and exemplary relationship as it continues to grow to the mutual benefit of all Canadians and Americans.

In 2020, my professional and hard-working staff and I will be marking a milestone. It was in 1970 that the Government of Canada opened its Consulate General in Minneapolis. Throughout 2020, we look forward to celebrating this important anniversary and the special bond that exists between Canada and the states of Minnesota, Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, and South Dakota. At its core, the relationship that binds Canadians and the people of the Upper Midwest and Prairie region is rooted in human connections that span every sphere of human activity and stretch back centuries.

I lead a team that works hard to grow the robust connections we share, including building two-way commercial and people-to-people relationships, engaging local decision-makers and citizens on issues of mutual interest, and helping Canadians living and travelling in our region. I encourage you to reach out to us, and to me personally, if you have any questions or would like to suggest ways we can work together to make our relationship an even more dynamic and mutually beneficial one.

Thank you very much.

Ariel Delouya
Consul General

Biography

Ariel Delouya (BA [Political Science], McGill University, 1984; MA [International Relations], Carleton University, 1992) joined the Department of External Affairs in 1986.

Mr. Delouya is currently Consul General at the Consulate General of Canada in Minneapolis. From 2009 to 2012, he served as Ambassador of Canada to the Republic of Tunisia. He also served as Minister-Counsellor for Congressional and Legal Affairs at the Embassy of Canada to the United States, in Washington, D.C. (2002-2006) and was posted to Ankara, Turkey from 1987 to 1989.

In Ottawa, Mr. Delouya has held a number of positions, including Departmental spokesperson with the Media Relations Office and Deputy Director of the International Economic Relations and Summits Division, where he was responsible for G7 summits. From 1998 to 2002, Mr. Delouya was on secondment to the Privy Council Office, first as foreign policy advisor in the Foreign and Defence Policy Secretariat from 1998 to 2000, and then as chief of staff to the Clerk of the Privy Council from 2000 to 2002. From 2006 to 2009, he worked as Director of the Policy Research Division at Global Affairs Headquarters, as Executive Director for Mission Inspections from 2012 to 2014, and as Director General of the Engaging Canadians Bureau from 2014 to 2018.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Ariel Delouya, Consul générale du Canada aux États-Unis à Minneapolis

Ariel Delouya, Consul générale du Canada aux États-Unis à Minneapolis

Message

Mot de bienvenue du Consul général

Je suis honoré et je me sens privilégié d’être consul général du Canada à Minneapolis, et de pouvoir représenter mon pays dans la belle région du « haut Midwest » américain et des prairies de ce grand pays.

Le Canada et les États-Unis jouissent d’une relation bilatérale unique et dynamique, qui fait de nous des amis, des partenaires et des alliés indispensables. Nos pays ont la plus importante relation commerciale au monde, soudée par notre géographie et par nos valeurs partagées. Les liens transfrontaliers profonds dans cette région de l’Amérique entre nos citoyens et diverses institutions en sont un puissant témoignage. J’étais très heureux d’apprendre au moment de ma prise de fonction que le Canada représente le marché d’exportation principal pour les cinq états de notre territoire.

Diplomate de carrière, j’en suis à ma quatrième affectation à l’étranger, dont ma seconde aux États-Unis. J’ai eu le grand privilège de travailler à notre ambassade à Washington, dans le District de Colombie, de 2002 à 2006. Je tenais à revenir aux États-Unis, et dans le « haut Midwest » américain plus particulièrement, sachant que ma contribution professionnelle aurait un impact et qu’elle pourrait, je l’espère, renforcer la relation bilatérale exemplaire et vibrante qui existe entre nous afin qu’elle profite pleinement aux Canadiens et aux Américains.

Nous célébrerons – mon équipe dévouée et moi – une étape importante en 2020. Ce fut en 1970 que le gouvernement du Canada établissait son pied-à-terre à Minneapolis. Tout au long de 2020, nous marquerons cet important anniversaire afin de mettre en relief les liens spéciaux qui existent entre le Canada et les états du Minnesota, de l’Iowa, du Nebraska, du Dakota du Nord, et du Dakota du Sud. La relation qui unie les Canadiens et la population du « haut Midwest » et de la région des prairies trouve ses racines dans les connexions humaines qui existent entre nous, et qui couvre toutes les sphères de l’activité humaine, et ce, depuis des siècles.

Je dirige une équipe qui ne ménage aucun effort afin d’accroitre les fortes connexions que nous partageons, y compris de développer davantage nos échanges commerciaux bilatéraux et nos liens interpersonnels, mobiliser les populations et décideurs locaux en faveur de dossiers d’intérêts communs, et de venir en aide aux Canadiens qui vivent et qui voyagent dans notre territoire. Je vous invite à dialoguer avec nous, et personnellement avec moi, sur toute question que vous avez ou encore pour partager vos suggestions quant aux moyens de travailler ensemble au profit d’une relation bilatérale encore plus dynamique et fructueuse.

Merci beaucoup. 

Ariel Delouya
Consul général

Biographie

Ariel Delouya (BA [sciences politiques], Université McGill, 1984 ; MA [relations internationales], Université Carleton, 1992) est entré au Ministère des Affaires extérieures en 1986.

M. Delouya est présentement consul général du Canada à Minneapolis. De 2009 à 2012, il a été ambassadeur du Canada en Tunisie. Il a également été ministre-conseiller chargé des affaires juridiques et du congrès à l’ambassade du Canada aux États-Unis, à Washington, DC (2002-2006) et a été affecté à l’ambassade canadienne à Ankara, en Turquie, de 1987 à 1989.

À Ottawa, M. Delouya a occupé divers postes, notamment celui de porte-parole du Bureau des relations avec les médias et de directeur adjoint dans la Division des relations économiques internationales et des sommets, où il était responsable des sommets du G7. De 1998 à 2002, M. Delouya a été détaché auprès du Bureau du Conseil privé, d’abord comme conseiller en politique étrangère au Secrétariat de la politique étrangère et de la défense, de 1998 à 2000, puis comme chef de cabinet du greffier du Conseil privé de 2000 à 2002. De 2006 à 2009, il a été directeur de la Division de la recherche sur les politiques à Affaires mondiales Canada ; directeur exécutif des inspections des missions de 2012 et 2014 ; et directeur général du Bureau de la mobilisation des canadiens de 2014 à 2018.

Date de modification: