Language selection

Search

Embassy of Canada in Venezuela Human Rights Award

In 2009, the Embassy of Canada in Venezuela joined with the Universidad Central de Venezuela’s Padre Luis María Olaso Centre for Peace and Human Rights to create an award to recognize outstanding work in the promotion, dissemination and/or defense of human rights in Venezuela.

Any person or organization can submit a nomination to the jury, and candidates for the award can be individuals, non-governmental organizations or private institutions in Venezuela. Candidates should stand out for their continuous effort in promoting respect for human rights; disseminating human rights ideals; and/or defending those who are deprived of human rights.

On this page

Competition rules

Eligible applicants

Any person or organization may submit the name of persons, NGOs or private institutions in Venezuela that stand out, through constant efforts, in promoting:

To define who can apply, this award is based on the Declaration on Human Rights Defenders established by the United Nations in 1998.

The jury

The award is granted by the Government of Canada in association with the Coalition of Chairs and University Centers for Human Rights of Venezuela. A 6-person jury will be appointed annually and will be comprised of 3 coalition-appointed members, 2 Canadian government-appointed members, and a former recipient of the award. The winner will be decided based on a unanimous decision, according to the criteria that follow.

The jury's verdict shall be binding and cannot be appealed.

Criteria

To determine the final verdict, the jury shall only take into account the information contained in the nomination form. It is important that the persons, entities or institutions postulating a male or female candidate include all the data required by the form and abstain from sending excessive information as addendums or attachments.

The selection of the person or group that shall receive the Human Rights award shall be based on the exceptional endeavor of the defense and/or promotion of human rights in Venezuela.

The jury will consider:

Call for nominations

The Coalition of Chairs and University Centers for Human Rights of Venezuela and the Canadian Embassy has the honour of opening the call for the 12th Edition of the Embassy of Canada in Venezuela Human Rights Award.

Applications shall be received by Friday, November 25, 2022.

To nominate individuals, please fill out a nomination form, which can be requested by writing to: crcasg@international.gc.ca. Once completed, the form must be sent to that same email address.

Previous award recipients

2021

Eleventh edition

The winner of the 11th edition was Jo D’Elia, founder and director of Civils Derechos Humanos. He is recognized in Venezuela as a pillar of the community and mentor to countless activists. He has founded and directed several organizations and has been a catalyst in the creation of local and regional networks of human rights organizations, notably, during the presentation of Venezuela’s first Universal Periodic Review.

Special mention

Mariana Romero Mosqueda - As founder of the Centre for Defense and Justice, Mariana was recognized for her dedication to the defense and promotion of human rights. She is a lawyer and academic coordinator of the Andrés Bello Catholic University and works tirelessly in the defense of human rights defenders and in promoting the institutionalization of international standards on justice and democracy.

2018

Tenth edition

The winner of the tenth edition was Katherine Martínez, Director of NGO Prepara Familia. She was nominated for her decisive and dedicated work over more than ten years, addressing the conditions, needs, and rights of children and adolescent patients and their families at JM de los Rios Hospital. Katherine Martínez explained her motivation of becoming a defender of human rights due to the situation of vulnerability in Venezuela that she had witnessed and documented through her work. She is inspired to continue because of the resilience she saw in the families and the children themselves.

In June 2022, Katherine visited Canada and had the opportunity to exchange her experience and work with representatives from the Government of Canada, different civil society organizations and with researchers at the University of Ottawa Human Rights Centre. Katherine also had the opportunity to visit social pediatric organizations in Gatineau and Montreal, including a music therapy program inspired by the Systema program in Venezuela.

Special mention

Alejandro Álvarez Iragorry – Director of Clima 21 Ambiente y Derechos Humanos, for his work of more than 20 years in defence of the environment, and more recently for his work on warning about the environmental and cultural impacts of Arco Minero.

Elvira Llovera de Pernalete – Mother of Juan Pablo Pernalete, a young Venezuelan university student murdered during the 2017 demonstrations; and who has not stopped raising her voice on behalf of other parents who have had their children imprisoned or killed during demonstrations.

2017

Ninth edition

The winner of the ninth edition was Francisco Valencia, Director of the Coalition of Organizations for the Right to Health and Life CODEVIDA, who was nominated for his tireless work as one of the most open voices to denounce the humanitarian crisis in Venezuela. In recent years, Francisco has dedicated himself to accompanying the legitimate demands of millions of people in Venezuela for the right to immediate, adequate and effective protection so that no more lives are lost due to an unprecedented humanitarian crisis in the country.

In June 2018, Francisco visited Canada and had the opportunity exchange his experience and work with representatives from the Government of Canada, including a meeting with the Honourable Chrystia Freeland, Minister of Foreign Affairs. He also met with different civil society organizations in Canada, which work on the right to health and humanitarian crises. Francisco had the opportunity to visit the transplant program at University Health Network in Toronto and met with the Venezuelan diaspora in Ottawa and Toronto.

Special mention

Aracelis Sanchéz - Mother of a victim of extrajudicial execution, founder and director of the Organization of Relatives of Victims of Human Rights Violations (ORFAVIDEH). Aracelis took her experience and her pain as the mother of a victim to undertake a struggle against violence and impunity, giving rise to the organization she presides over today. Through her work, Aracelis has promoted the knowledge of human rights and has helped to strengthen the social fabric by empowering other people to actively demand respect and guarantee of human rights, not only in their community, but also in other regions of Venezuela.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Le Prix des Droits de l’homme de l'ambassade du Canada au Vénézuéla

En 2009, l'Ambassade du Canada au Vénézuéla s’est jointe avec le Centre pour la paix et les droits de la personne « Padre Luis María Olaso » de l'Universidad Central de Vénézuéla (UCV) afin de créer un prix pour reconnaître le travail de personnes exceptionnelles en faveur de la promotion, la diffusion et / ou la défense des droits de la personne au Vénézuéla.

Toute personne ou organisation peut présenter une nomination au jury et les candidat(e)s au prix peuvent être des individu(e)s, des organisations non-gouvernementales ou des institutions privées au Vénézuéla. Nous recherchons surtout des candidats qui se démarquent pour leurs efforts continus consentis en faveur de la promotion du respect des droits de la personne, de la diffusion des idéaux des droits de la personne et / ou de la défense de ceux qui sont privés de ces droits.

Sur cette page

Règlements de la compétition

Candidats éligibles

Toute personne ou organisation peut présenter au jury la candidature d’individus, d’organisations non gouvernementales et d’institutions privées du Vénézuéla connus pour les efforts constants consentis par eux en vue de promouvoir :

Pour définir qui peut être présenté comme candidat, ce prix est fondé sur la Déclaration sur les défenseurs des droits de la personne établie par l'Organisation des Nations unies (ONU) en 1998.

Jury

Le prix est décerné par le gouvernement du Canada en association avec la Coalition des chaires et centres universitaires pour les droits de la personne du Vénézuéla. Un jury de six personnes sera nommé chaque année et sera composé de trois membres nommés par la coalition, de deux membres nommés par le gouvernement canadien et d'un ancien récipiendaire du prix. Le gagnant sera déterminé à l'unanimité, selon les critères qui suivent.

Le verdict du jury est définitif et sans appel.

Critères

Le jury ne tient compte que des renseignements contenus dans le formulaire de candidature pour prononcer le verdict définitif. Par conséquent, il est très important que les individus, les organisations ou les institutions présentant un candidat ou une candidate écrivent dans le formulaire toutes les données requises et s’abstiennent d'envoyer trop d'informations sous forme de pièces jointes.

La sélection de l’individu ou du groupe gagnant le Prix des Droits de la Personne se base sur les réalisations exceptionnelles, pendant une période prolongée dans le temps, en matière de défense et/ou de promotion des droits de la personne au Vénézuéla.

Le jury doit tenir compte de ce qui suit :

Énoncé de confidentialité

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la manière dont l’information sera recueillie et utilisée, veuillez consulter l’énoncé de confidentialité.

Lauréats précédents

2022 - 12ème édition

Le lauréat de la 12ème édition est Marco Ruiz, journaliste et activiste pour la liberté d’expression et des médias. En plus d’être le mentor de nombreux journalistes au Vénézuéla, il a cofondé de nombreuses organisations et coalitions pour protéger les travailleurs des médias et l’accès à l’information. Malgré la persécution du régime à son encontre, il n’a jamais cessé de s’assurer que les cas de disparition et de détention de journalistes soient documentés et défendus.

Le prix est également attribué à Virgilio Trujillo. Assassiné en juin 2022 en raison de son engagement à défendre le territoire et le mode de vie ancestral de son peuple en Amazonie face aux groupes armés illégaux, le Canada tient à reconnaître son dévouement. En tant que leader de la cause des droits autochtones au Vénézuéla, il représente l’engagement d’une nouvelle génération à défendre leurs droits.

2021 - 11ème édition

Le lauréat de la 11ème édition est Jo D’Elia, fondateur et directeur de Civils Derechos Humanos. Il est reconnu au Vénézuéla comme un pilier de la communauté et un mentor pour d’innombrables activistes. Il a fondé et dirigé plusieurs organisations et a joué un rôle de premier plan pour la mise en place de réseaux locaux et régionaux d’organisations de défense des droits de la personne, notamment lors de la présentation du premier examen périodique universel du Vénézuéla.

Mention spéciale

Mariana Romero Mosqueda - En tant que fondatrice du Centre pour la défense et la justice, Mariana a été reconnue pour son engagement dans la défense et la promotion des droits de la personne. Mariana est avocate et coordinatrice des études à l’Université catholique Andrés Bello. Elle travaille sans relâche pour protéger les défenseurs des droits de la personne et promouvoir l’institutionnalisation des normes internationales en matière de justice et de démocratie.

2018 - 10ème édition

La lauréate de la 10ème édition est Katherine Martínez, directrice de l’ONG Prepara Familia. Elle a été sélectionnée pour avoir, pendant plus de dix ans, travaillé de manière déterminante et assidue pour améliorer la situation, répondre aux besoins et défendre les droits des patients enfants et adolescents et de leurs familles à l’hôpital JM de los Rios. Katherine Martínez a expliqué que sa motivation à vouloir défendre les droits de la personne était liée à la situation de vulnérabilité au Vénézuéla dont elle avait été témoin et qu’elle avait documentée dans le cadre de son travail. Elle est motivée à poursuivre son travail en raison de la résilience qu’elle a observée chez les familles et les enfants eux-mêmes.

En juin 2022, Katherine s’est rendue au Canada et a eu l’occasion de faire part de son expérience et de son travail à des représentants du gouvernement canadien, à différentes organisations de la société civile et à des chercheurs du Centre sur les droits de la personne de l’Université d’Ottawa. Katherine a également eu l’occasion de visiter des organisations de pédiatrie sociale à Gatineau et à Montréal, notamment un programme de musicothérapie inspiré du programme Systema au Vénézuéla.

Mentions spéciales

Alejandro Álvarez Iragorry - Directeur de Clima 21 Ambiente y Derechos Humanos, pour son travail de plus de 20 ans dans le domaine de la défense de l’environnement, et, plus récemment, pour les avertissements qu’il a lancés concernant les impacts environnementaux et culturels de l’Arco Minero.

Elvira Llovera de Pernalete - Mère de Juan Pablo Pernalete, un jeune étudiant universitaire vénézuélien assassiné lors des manifestations de 2017; et qui n’a cessé d’élever la voix au nom d’autres parents dont les enfants ont été emprisonnés ou tués lors de manifestations.

2017 - Neuvième édition

Le lauréat de la neuvième édition est Francisco Valencia, directeur de la Coalition des organisations pour le droit à la santé et à la vie CODEVIDA, qui a reçu ce prix pour son travail acharné le convertissant en une des principales voix pour dénoncer la crise humanitaire au Vénézuéla. Ces dernières années, Francisco a accompagné les légitimes demandes de millions de vénézuéliens pour un droit à une protection adéquate, immédiate et effective afin qu’aucune autre vie ne soit perdue en raison de la crise humanitaire sans précédent dans le pays.

En mars 2018, Francisco a visité le Canada et a eu l’occasion de partager son expérience et son travail avec des représentants du gouvernement du Canada, spécifiquement avec Affaires mondiales Canada où il a rencontré l’Honorable Chrystia Freeland, la Ministre des affaires étrangères. Il a également rencontré différentes organisations civiles au Canada qui travaillent sur le droit à la santé et les crises humanitaires. Francisco a eu l’opportunité de visité le programme de greffe de l’UHN à Toronto et a également rencontré la diaspora vénézuélienne à Toronto et à Ottawa.

Mentions spéciales

Aracelis Sanchéz - Aracelis Sanchez est la mère d’une victime d’une exécution extrajudiciaire, fondatrice et directrice de l’Organisation des Parents de Victimes de Violations des Droits de la Personne (ORFAVIDEH). Aracelis a pris de son expérience et de sa douleur en tant que mère d’une victime pour entreprendre un combat contre la violence et l’impunité, ce qui a permis à l’organisation qu’elle préside aujourd’hui de croître. A travers son travail, Aracelis a promu la connaissance des droits de la personne et a aidé à renforcer la cohésion sociale en donnant les outils nécessaires aux autres personnes pour qu’elles puissent exiger activement le respect et la garantie des droits de la personne, non seulement dans leur communauté mais également dans d’autres régions du Vénézuéla.

Date de modification: