Requirements for exporting prohibited firearms

To what countries can I export prohibited firearms?

The Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA) places strict controls on the export of prohibited firearms and their specially designed components or parts and other weapons and devices. Under the Act, these items may only be exported from Canada to countries on the Automatic Firearms Country Control List (AFCCL). Furthermore, prohibited firearms, weapons and devices as controlled by the AFCCL may only be exported to the government or government-authorized consignees in those countries.

The export of prohibited firearms controlled under the AFCCL to a country on the AFCCL must be authorized in advance by an export permit issued by Global Affairs Canada. The Minister of Foreign Affairs maintains the authority to exercise discretion on a case‑by‑case basis over permit applications, which are only approved when the Minister is satisfied that such exports would be consistent with his legal obligations as well as Canada's foreign, defence and security policies.

Items controlled under the AFCCL are enumerated in section 4.1 of the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA). These items include, but are not limited to, cartridge magazines that are prohibited devices, full-automatic firearms or firearms that have been prescribed to be prohibited firearms, and any components or parts of such firearms that are specially designed for them. 

Therefore, all firearms that have been prohibited effective May 1st 2020 under the Regulations Amending the Regulations Prescribing Certain Firearms and Other Weapons, Components and Parts of Weapons, Accessories, Cartridge Magazines, Ammunition and Projectiles as Prohibited, Restricted or Non-Restricted:

  1. are captured under section 4.1 of the EIPA and are eligible for export only to those destinations listed on the AFCCL, and;
  2. require an individual export permit. This also applies to the export of parts or accessories related to these firearms.

Please note that the Minister of Foreign Affairs is not authorized to issue an export permit for AFCCL goods destined to non-AFCCL countries.

The eligible destinations listed under the AFCCL to which all prohibited firearms and their specially designed components and parts, including the firearms newly prohibited through the Regulations Amending the Regulations Prescribing Certain Firearms and Other Weapons, Components and Parts of Weapons, Accessories, Cartridge Magazines, Ammunition and Projectiles as Prohibited, Restricted or Non-Restricted, may be exported are as follows:

The export of prohibited firearms to non-Automatic Firearms Country Control List destinations is not permitted, regardless of whether the exporter possesses an export permit issued prior the reclassification of that firearm.

How to apply for an export permit for prohibited firearms?

Generally, several parameters determine the requirements for an export permit under the EIPA.  We have compiled a reference guide for prospective applicants titled the Export and Brokering Controls Handbook explaining the requirements of the export process, including those controls administered by other government departments. Concerning firearms, sections D.2. Automatic firearms country control list and J. Applications to export firearms, related goods, and ammunition of the Handbook are of particular interest.

Exporters must prepare and submit the appropriate export permit application(s) for controlled goods, including prohibited firearms, their components or parts, and any accessories, that are proposed for export. For a step-by-step description of the application process, visit the Export Permit for Firearms, Related Goods and Ammunition page.

Each permit application is assessed on a case-by-case basis. Please be advised that export permit applications will be returned without action if they do not include supporting documentation that clearly outlines and documents the items proposed for export, the parties to the transaction, the end use of the goods and other pertinent aspects of the transaction as described in the Export and Brokering Controls Handbook. Export permit applications may be submitted using the Export Controls Online (EXCOL) system.

We are currently facing permit processing delays. Exporters are advised to submit their applications six months in advance of the time they wish to export.

Enquiries by email to TIE-Firearms.Armes-a-feu@international.gc.ca

Date Modified:

Exigences relatives à l’exportation d’armes à feu prohibées

Vers quels pays puis-je exporter des armes à feu prohibées?

La Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation (LLEI) établit des contrôles rigoureux pour l’exportation d’armes à feu prohibées, de leurs pièces ou éléments spécialement conçus et d’autres armes et dispositifs. Aux termes de la LLEI, ces articles peuvent être exportés à partir du Canada seulement vers des pays qui figurent sur la Liste des pays désignés (armes automatiques) [LPDAA]. En outre, les armes à feu, armes et dispositifs prohibés qui sont contrôlés au titre de la LPDAA peuvent seulement être envoyés dans ces pays au gouvernement ou à des consignataires autorisés par celui-ci.

L’exportation d’armes à feu prohibées contrôlées au titre de la LPDAA vers un pays qui figure sur cette liste doit être préalablement autorisée par une licence d’exportation délivrée par Affaires mondiales Canada. Le ministre des Affaires étrangères conserve un pouvoir discrétionnaire au cas par cas sur les demandes de licence, lesquelles sont approuvées seulement lorsque le ministre est convaincu que l’exportation en question cadre avec ses obligations juridiques et avec les politiques du Canada en matière d’affaires étrangères, de défense et de sécurité.

Les articles contrôlés au titre de la LPDAA sont énumérés à l’article 4.1 de la LLEI. Ces articles comprennent, en autres, les chargeurs de cartouches qui sont des dispositifs prohibés, les armes à feu entièrement automatiques ou autres armes à feu ayant été désignées comme étant prohibées, et tout élément ou pièce spécialement conçu pour ces armes à feu.

Par conséquent, toutes les armes à feu prohibées à compter du 1er mai 2020 en vertu du Règlement modifiant le Règlement désignant des armes à feu, armes, éléments ou pièces d’armes, accessoires, chargeurs, munitions et projectiles comme étant prohibés, a autorisation restreinte ou sans restriction :

  1. sont visées par l’article 4.1 de la LLEI et peuvent uniquement être exportées vers les destinations qui figurent sur la LPDAA;
  2. nécessitent une licence d’exportation individuelle. Cette exigence s’applique aussi aux exportations de pièces et d’accessoires pour ces armes à feu.

Veuillez noter que le ministre des Affaires étrangères n’est pas autorisé à délivrer une licence d’exportation pour les marchandises contrôlées au titre de la LPDAA qui sont destinées aux pays ne figurant pas sur celle-ci.

Les destinations admissibles qui figurent sur la LPDAA vers lesquelles peuvent être exportés toutes les armes à feu prohibées et leurs éléments et pièces spécialement conçus, y compris les armes à feu nouvellement prohibées en vertu du Règlement modifiant le Règlement désignant des armes à feu, armes, éléments ou pièces d’armes, accessoires, chargeurs, munitions et projectiles comme étant prohibés, a autorisation restreinte ou sans restriction, sont les suivantes :

Les exportations d’armes à feu prohibées à des destinations ne figurant pas dans la Liste des pays désignés (armes automatiques) ne sont pas permises, peu importe si l’exportateur possède une licence d’exportation émise avant la reclassification de cette arme à feu.

Comment présenter une demande de licence d’exportation d’armes à feu prohibées?

Plusieurs paramètres permettent de déterminer si une licence d’exportation est exigée ou non en vertu de la LLEI. Nous avons élaboré un guide de référence pour les demandeurs potentiels. Ce guide intitulé Manuel des contrôles du courtage et à l’exportation explique les exigences liées au processus d’exportation, y compris les contrôles exercés par d’autres ministères. En ce qui concerne les armes à feu, les sections D.2. Liste des pays désignés – Armes automatiques et J. Demandes de licences d’exportation d’armes à feu, de produits connexes aux armes à feu et de munitions du Manuel présentent un intérêt particulier.

Toute personne qui souhaite exporter des marchandises contrôlées, dont des armes à feu prohibées et leurs éléments, pièces ou accessoires, est responsable de préparer et de présenter les demandes de licences d’exportation pertinentes. Pour une description étape par étape du processus de demande de licence, veuillez consulter la page sur les demandes de licence d'exportation pour des armes à feu, de produits connexes et des munitions.

Chaque demande de licence est analysée au cas par cas. Veuillez noter que les demandes de licences d’exportation ne seront pas traitées si elles ne sont pas accompagnées des documents justificatifs exigés décrivant clairement les marchandises visées et donnant les détails de l’exportation, des parties à la transaction, de l’utilisation finale des marchandises et des autres aspects pertinents de la transaction, conformément aux directives du Manuel des contrôles du courtage et à l’exportation. Les demandes de licence peuvent être soumises en utilisant le système des contrôles des exportations en direct (CEED)

Nous connaissons actuellement des retards de traitement. Nous conseillons aux exportateurs de soumettre leurs demandes six mois avant la date d’exportation souhaitée.

Demandes de renseignements par courriel : TIE-Firearms.Armes-a-feu@international.gc.ca

Date de modification: