Export of items listed on the Export Control List to Hong Kong

Serial No. 1003
Date: July 7, 2020

Canada is deeply concerned by the passage of national security legislation for Hong Kong by the Standing Committee of the National People’s Congress of China. This legislation was enacted in a secretive process, without the participation of Hong Kong’s legislature, judiciary or people, and in violation of international obligations.

Accordingly, the Minister of Foreign Affairs announced that, effective July 3, 2020: “Canada will treat exports of sensitive goods to Hong Kong in the same way as those destined for China. Canada will not permit the export of sensitive military items to Hong Kong.”

In order to ensure that sensitive items are not exported to Hong Kong, Global Affairs Canada will closely scrutinize all export permit applications for items to Hong Kong, and will deny permits that are not in line with Canada’s domestic and international legal obligations, foreign policy or security interests.

Global Affairs Canada will continue to monitor the evolving situation and may reassess the above decision in light of changes on the ground.

Exporters will be advised of any new developments with respect to export permits to Hong Kong.

For further information, please contact the Export Controls Division at Global Affairs Canada by phone or email: 613-996-2387 / tie.reception@international.gc.ca.

Date Modified:

Exportation vers Hong Kong d’articles figurant dans la Liste des marchandises et technologies d’exportation contrôlée

No de série : 1003
Date : le 7 juillet, 2020

Le Canada est profondément préoccupé par l’adoption de la loi sur la sécurité nationale pour Hong Kong par le Comité permanent du Congrès national du peuple de Chine. Cette législation a été promulguée dans le secret, sans la participation du corps législatif, judiciaire ou populaire de Hong Kong, et en violation des obligations internationales.

Par conséquent, le ministre des Affaires étrangères a annoncé qu'à compter du 3 juillet 2020: «Le Canada traitera les exportations de biens sensibles vers Hong Kong de la même façon que ceux destinés à la Chine. Le Canada n'autorisera pas l'exportation d'articles militaires sensibles vers Hong Kong»

Afin de s'assurer que les articles sensibles ne soient pas exportés vers Hong Kong, Affaires mondiales Canada examinera de près toutes les demandes de licence d'exportation pour des biens destinés à Hong Kong et refusera les licences qui ne sont pas conformes aux obligations légales nationales et internationales du Canada, à sa politique étrangère ou à sa sécurité.

Affaires mondiales Canada continuera de surveiller l’évolution de la situation et pourrait évaluer de nouveau la décision à la lumière des changements sur le terrain.

Nous aviserons les exportateurs de tout changement relatif aux licences d’exportation vers Hong Kong.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec la Direction des contrôles à l’exportation d’Affaires mondiales Canada par téléphone au 613-996-2387 ou par courriel à l’adresse tie.reception@international.gc.ca.

 

Date de modification: