Notice to Exporters

Requirements for exporting prohibited firearms

Export and Import Permits Act

Serial No. 999
Date: May 1st 2020

Table of Contents

Purpose

1. The purpose of this Notice is to advise exporters of export controls implications flowing from the announcement by the Prime Minister that a number of firearms are now considered “prohibited firearms” as defined in subsection 84(1) of the Criminal Code. As per the Prime Minister’s announcement, all firearms that have been prohibited effective May 1st under the Regulations Amending the Regulations Prescribing Certain Firearms and Other Weapons, Components and Parts of Weapons, Accessories, Cartridge Magazines, Ammunition and Projectiles as Prohibited, Restricted or Non-Restricted:

General Information

2. Items controlled under the AFCCL are enumerated in section 4.1 of the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA). These items include, but are not limited to, cartridge magazines that are prohibited devices, full-automatic firearms or firearms that have been prescribed to be prohibited firearms, and any components or parts of such firearms that are specially designed for them. 

3. The Minister of Foreign Affairs maintains the authority to exercise discretion on a case‑by‑case basis over permit applications, which are approved only when the Minister is satisfied that such exports would be consistent with his legal obligations as well as Canada's foreign, defence and security policies.

4. Prohibited firearms and their specially designed components or parts, including the firearms newly prohibited, may only be exported to countries listed on the AFCCL. These countries are as follows:

The export of prohibited firearms to non-Automatic Firearms Country Control List destinations is not permitted, regardless of whether the exporter possesses an export permit issued prior the reclassification of that firearm.

5. The Export and Brokering Controls Handbook explains the requirements of the export process, and also lists controls administered by other government departments. Concerning firearms, sections D.2. Automatic firearms country control list and J. Applications to export firearms, related goods, and ammunition of the Handbook are of particular interest.

6. Exporters must prepare and submit the appropriate export permit application(s) for controlled goods, including prohibited firearms, their components or parts, and any accessories, that are proposed for export. For a step-by-step description of how to apply for an Export Permit for Firearms, Related Goods and Ammunition, please consult this website.

7. Please note that we are currently facing permit processing delays. Exporters are advised to submit their applications four to five months in advance of the time they wish to export.

8. This Notice has been prepared for guidance and convenience of reference only. Global Affairs Canada does not provide legal advice on the foregoing. For all purposes of interpreting and applying the law, readers should consult the Export and Import Permits Act and its associated regulations. These publications are available online.

9. For further information, exporters may contact us by using the coordinates below. Exporters are invited to note the creation of a new, dedicated email address for queries related to newly prohibited firearms.

Export Controls Operations Division (TIE)
Trade and Export Controls Bureau
Global Affairs Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Telephone: 343-203-4331
Facsimile: 613-996-9933
Email: TIE-Firearms.Armes-a-feu@international.gc.ca
Internet: Export and Import Controls

Date Modified:

Avis aux exportateurs

Exigences relatives à l’exportation d’armes à feu prohibées

Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation

No de série : 999
Date : 1er mai 2020

Table des matières

Objet

1. Le présent avis a pour objet d’informer les exportateurs des conséquences sur les contrôles à l’exportation découlant de l’annonce par le premier ministre selon laquelle certaines armes à feu sont désormais considérées comme des « armes à feu prohibées » au sens de la définition du paragraphe 84(1) du Code criminel. Conformément à l’annonce du premier ministre, toutes les armes à feu prohibées à compter du 1er mai 2020 en vertu du Règlement modifiant le Règlement désignant des armes à feu, armes, éléments ou pièces d’armes, accessoires, chargeurs, munitions et projectiles comme étant prohibés, a autorisation restreinte ou sans restriction :

Renseignements généraux

2. Les articles contrôlés au titre de la LPDAA sont énumérés à l’article 4.1 de la LLEI. Ces articles comprennent, en autres, les chargeurs de cartouches qui sont des dispositifs prohibés, les armes à feu entièrement automatiques ou autres armes à feu ayant été désignées comme étant prohibées, et tout élément ou pièce spécialement conçu pour ces armes à feu.

3. Le ministre des Affaires étrangères conserve un pouvoir discrétionnaire au cas par cas sur les demandes de licence, lesquelles sont approuvées seulement lorsque le ministre est convaincu que l’exportation en question cadre avec ses obligations juridiques et avec les politiques du Canada en matière d’affaires étrangères, de défense et de sécurité.

4. Les armes à feu prohibées et leurs éléments et pièces spécialement conçus, y compris les armes à feu nouvellement prohibées, peuvent uniquement être exportés vers les pays qui figurent sur la LPDAA. Ces pays sont les suivants :

Les exportations d’armes à feu prohibées à des destinations ne figurant pas dans la Liste des pays désignés (armes automatiques) ne sont pas permises, peu importe si l’exportateur possède une licence d’exportation émise avant la reclassification de cette arme à feu.

5. Le Manuel des contrôles du courtage et à l’exportation explique les exigences liées au processus d’exportation et énumère les contrôles administrés par les autres ministères. En ce qui concerne les armes à feu, les sections D.2. Liste des pays désignés – Armes automatiques et J. Demandes de licences d’exportation d’armes à feu, de produits connexes aux armes à feu et de munitions du Manuel présentent un intérêt particulier.

6. Toute personne qui souhaite exporter des marchandises contrôlées, dont des armes à feu prohibées et leurs éléments, pièces ou accessoires, est responsable de préparer et de présenter les demandes de licences d’exportation pertinentes. Pour connaître en détail la procédure à suivre pour présenter une demande de licence d’exportation d’armes à feu, de produits connexes et des munitions, veuillez consulter ce site web.

7. Nous connaissons actuellement des retards de traitement. Nous conseillons aux exportateurs de soumettre leurs demandes de quatre à cinq mois avant date d’exportation souhaitée.

8. Le présent avis a été préparé à titre indicatif et informatif seulement. Affaires mondiales Canada ne fournit pas de conseils juridiques par rapport aux renseignements mentionnés précédemment. Aux fins d’interprétation et d’application de la loi, les lecteurs doivent consulter la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation et ses règlements d’application. Ces publications sont accessibles en ligne.

9. Pour plus de précisions, les exportateurs peuvent communiquer avec nous en utilisant les coordonnées ci-dessous. Remarque : une nouvelle adresse électronique est dédiée aux questions découlant des armes à feu nouvellement prohibées.

Direction des opérations des contrôles à l’exportation (TIE)
Direction générale de la réglementation commerciale et des contrôles à l’exportation
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0K2
Téléphone : 343-203-4331
Télécopieur : 613-996-9933
Courriel : TIE-Firearms.Armes-a-feu@international.gc.ca
Internet : Contrôles à l’exportation et à l’importation

Date de modification: