Highlights of Canada’s Merchandise Trade Performance in 2019

Office of the Chief Economist, Global Affairs Canada
Kevin Jiang

February 2020

Table of contents

Overview

World

Total Canadian merchandise tradeFootnote 1 reached a record high of nearly $1.2 trillion in 2019. However, after registering two consecutive years of rapid growth, Canada’s merchandise exports and imports both decelerated in 2019. For the full year, Canadian merchandise exports climbed 1.4% to reach $592.6 billion, compared to the 5.7% and 7.0% growth in 2017 and 2018. Similarly, growth in merchandise imports moderated from 5.4% in 2017 and 6.0% in 2018 to 0.9% in 2019. However, because of the faster growth in exports, Canada’s merchandise trade deficit with the world narrowed by $2.9 billion to $8.8 billion, the smallest merchandise trade deficit since 2014.

Figure 1: Annual Change in Canadian Merchandise Trade, 2015 – 2019
Text version
Trade Direction20152016201720182019
Exports-0.5%-1.4%5.7%7.0%1.4%
Imports4.7%-0.5%5.4%6.0%0.9%

By Product Sector

At the sector level, Canada’s top five export sectors all improved compared to 2018. However, in contrast to the two previous years, Canadian exports were driven by a non-energy sector – precious stones and metals. Supported by the second largest annual growth in gold exports on record, precious stones and metals grew by $4.6 billion or 19.2% in 2019, accounting for over half of Canada’s overall export growth.

Energy, Canada’s largest export sector, grew by a moderate 1.1% in 2019, primarily due to increased crude oil exports (+3.7%). This was the third consecutive year of expansion in this sector, largely reflecting increasing export volumes and rebounding crude oil prices. Excluding energy products, Canadian merchandise exports rose 1.5% in 2019. The other three top export sectors, automotive, machinery, and electronics grew by 4.1%, 3.3%, and 3.5%, respectively. Exports of automotive advanced due to armored vehicles, trucks and passenger vehicles, machinery exports grew due to centrifuges, machinery parts, and computers, and exports of electronics were up mainly from electronic integrated circuits. Other expanding export sectors include mineral ores (+$1.5 billion) and aircraft and parts (+$1.2 billion).

Figure 2: Price Per Barrel of WCS* Oil in USD, 2015-2019
Text version
YearQuarter$US/bbl
2015Qtr133.9
2015Qtr246.4
2015Qtr333.2
2015Qtr427.7
2016Qtr119.2
2016Qtr232.3
2016Qtr331.4
2016Qtr435.0
2017Qtr137.3
2017Qtr237.2
2017Qtr338.3
2017Qtr443.1
2018Qtr138.6
2018Qtr248.6
2018Qtr347.3
2018Qtr419.4
2019Qtr142.6
2019Qtr249.1
2019Qtr344.2
2019Qtr441.1

Table 1: Canadian Merchandise Exports by Sector

Sectors2019 $M∆19/18 %∆19/15 %
Energy130,6131.131.7
Automotive81,5234.15.8
Machinery46,1423.316.0
Precious stones and metals28,25619.215.5
Electronics17,9413.56.3
All other sectors288,078-1.18.0
Total592,5531.413.1

On the import side, three out of the top five sectors posted growth. A large increase in the import of trucks resulted in Canada’s automotive imports growing 1.1% in 2019, to reach $98.8 billion in value. Imports of machinery rose 2.8% due to turbojets and other gas turbines while import of electronics improved marginally. Conversely, imports of energy products decreased 7.3% mostly from lower imports of refined oils and plastics fell 1.4%.

Table 2: Canadian Merchandise Imports by Sector

Sectors2019 $M∆19/18 %∆19/15 %
Automotive98,7721.115.7
Machinery91,8412.813.2
Electronics58,6030.711.0
Energy44,094-7.316.5
Plastics21,708-1.413.8
All other sectors286,2851.810.1
Total601,3040.912.2

By Trading Partner

Globally, the growth in Canadian merchandise exports was supported by the United States (crude oil), the United Kingdom (gold), Germany (precious metal scraps), Saudi Arabia (armored vehicles), and Bangladesh (soybeans and leguminous vegetables), while merchandise imports rose primarily due to Peru (gold), Vietnam (phones), and France (aircraft).

However, these gains were tempered by lower exports to China (rape seeds and soybeans), Mexico (rape seeds, aircraft, wheat), Belgium (diamonds), and Spain (crude oil and aircraft), as well as lower imports from Azerbaijan (crude oil), Argentina (gold), and Norway (ships and crude oil).

United States

Canada’s merchandise exports to the United States grew faster than its global exports, up 2.1% or $9.0 billion in 2019 to reach $447.0 billion in value. In contrast, Canadian exports to non-U.S. markets declined 0.5% or $0.8 billion to $145.6 billion. Consequently, Canada reversed its trend of trade diversification away from the U.S. in 2019, with the U.S. share of Canadian merchandise exports growing by 0.5 percentage points to 75.4%.

Figure 3: U.S. Share of Canadian Merchandise Exports
Text version
Year201420152016201720182019
U.S. Share76.8%76.7%76.3%75.8%74.9%75.4%

At the same time, Canadian merchandise imports from the United States moved sideways, up 0.1% or $239.5 million in 2019 to $304.8 billion in value, primarily due to higher imports of automotive products and machinery being offset by lower imports of iron and steel, energy products, plastics, and aluminum. As exports to the U.S. outperformed imports, Canada’s merchandise trade surplus with the United States climbed $8.8 billion to $142.1 billion in 2019, the largest since 2008.

The growth in exports to the U.S. was driven by energy products, which rose 3.3% or $3.8 billion, on the back of higher volumes of crude oil exports. Excluding energy products, Canadian merchandise exports to the United States advanced 1.6% in 2019, led by exports of vehicles and parts (mainly trucks and passenger vehicles), which rose 2.8% or $2.0 billion in 2019. Other product sectors such as aircraft and parts (+30.6%) and precious stones and metals (+16.2%, mainly gold) also made significant contributions. On the other hand, tensions surrounding wood, aluminum, and iron and steel products dragged down total growth.

According to data from the United States Census Bureau, the U.S. posted a surge in merchandise imports from Mexico in 2019, up US$12.0 billion or 3.5% (mainly automotive products). As a result, Mexico surpassed China and Canada to become the largest merchandise trading partner for the United States, totaling US$614.5 billion in value, followed closely by Canada (US$612.1 billion) in second place. The U.S.-China trade war lowered both exports to (-11.3%) and imports from (-16.2%) China, resulting in China falling to the third place in 2019 (US$558.9 billion), down from first place the year prior.

Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA)

Building upon the momentum from the first year of CETA, Canadian exports to the European UnionFootnote 2 climbed 7.3% or $3.3 billion in 2019 and merchandise imports rose 4.8%. However, the growth in Canadian exports can be almost entirely attributed to the recovery in gold exports. Excluding goldFootnote 3, Canadian exports to the EU fell 0.7% during this period, with lower exports of energy products (-23.9%) contributing the most to the decline.

Canada’s trade performance with the UK has been dictated by fluctuation in gold tradeFootnote 4 and 2019 was no exception. Following a 15.4% decline in 2018, Canadian gold exports to the UK rose by nearly one-third in 2019 or $3.5 billion in value as both prices and quantities recorded double-digit growth rates. As a result, Canadian merchandise exports to the United Kingdom climbed $3.2 billion or 19.3% in 2019 to $19.8 billion. This represents the largest annual growth for Canadian exports outside the U.S.

Exports to Germany posted the second largest increase in the EU and the third largest increase overall (behind the US and the UK), up $1.5 billion or 30.1% in 2019. Growth was driven by precious stones and metals (+121.5%, mainly metal scraps and coin), aircraft and parts (+99.8%), and mineral ores (+50.5%). On the other hand, exports to Belgium registered the largest decrease in the EU, falling $0.7 billion or 17.7% (mainly diamonds) and exports to Spain fell 30.0% due to energy products and aircraft and parts. Overall, growth in exports was recorded in 14 EU countries and declines were recorded in the other 14.

Table 3: Canadian Merchandise Exports to the EU

Country2018 $M2019 $M∆19/18 %∆19/18 $M
United Kingdom16,60619,80819.33,202
Germany4,8366,29330.11,457
Netherlands4,7515,1849.1433
France3,4423,6365.6194
Italy3,1103,2414.2131
Belgium3,7893,118-17.7-671
Spain2,1471,504-30.0-643
Ireland7988435.745
Poland745744-0.1-1
Finland858700-18.4-158
Other EU3,8413,126-18.6-715
Total EU44,92348,1967.33,273

Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP)

For the first 12 months CPTPP was in force, Canadian merchandise exports to CPTPP members which have ratified the agreementFootnote 5 declined marginally, down 0.2% in 2019 to reach $17.8 billion, and merchandise imports rose 5.6% to $27.8 billion. Lower exports of wood, aluminum, and oil seeds were mitigated by higher exports of cereals, meat, and machinery. The decline in aluminum and oil seeds can be mainly traced back to Japan, where total exports declined 3.4% in 2019 to $12.5 billion. In contrast, total exports to Singapore and Australia grew 26.8% and 10.1%, respectively. Exports to Singapore were supported by the 28.3% increase in machinery exports and the 95.0% growth in exports of electronics, while exports to Australia grew main due to cereals (+$191.2 million), machinery (+12.2%), electronics (+23.4%), and motor vehicles and parts (+23.3%).

Table 4: Canadian Merchandise Exports to Ratified CPTPP Countries

Country2018 $M2019 $M∆19/18 %∆19/18 $M
Japan12,95912,523-3.4-436
Australia2,0512,25810.1206
Singapore1,2021,52426.8322
Vietnam1,081993-8.1-87
New Zealand535497-6.9-37
CPTPP Ratified17,82717,795-0.2-32

Fast-Growing Top 30 Export Markets

Out of Canada’s other top export markets, Bangladesh, Saudi Arabia, and Turkey recorded the fastest growth and reached new record highs. After three consecutive years of declines, Canadian exports to Bangladesh exploded in 2019, up 91.7% to $1.2 billion. The growth was mainly supported by higher exports of agriculture products - oil seeds (+583.9%), vegetables (+156.2%), and cereals (+52.9%). Because of this spike in exports, Bangladesh improved to become the 25th largest merchandise exports destination for Canada in 2019, up from 37th in 2018. Exports to Saudi Arabia grew for the fourth consecutive year, rising 49.6% to $2.8 billion. Like in the previous years, this growth was supported by exports of armored vehicles. Exports to Turkey improved for the seventh consecutive year, up by 21.7% in 2019 to $1.6 billion, led by aircraft and parts (+309.8%) and cereals (+299.4%).

Top 10 Growth Markets for Canadian Merchandise Exports, 2019 (by change in value)

Top 10 Growth Markets for Canadian Merchandise Exports, 2019 (by change in value)
Text version
RankMarket∆19/18 $M
1United States9,002
2United Kingdom3,202
3Germany1,457
4Saudi Arabia934
5Bangladesh597
6India483
7Netherlands433
8Egypt347
9Singapore322
10Turkey288

Declining Merchandise Exports: Mainland China and Mexico

For the full year, declines in Canadian merchandise exports were concentrated in a select few countries. Mainland China, Canada’s second largest export destination, recorded the largest fall in exports by far, down $4.4 billion or 16.0% in 2019 to $23.2 billion in value. This was the first export contraction since 2014, and the fastest one-year fall since 1997.

The fall in exports was primarily due to the Chinese ban on the importation of canola and soybeans from Canada, which led to a 77.6% or $3.7 billion reduction in oil seeds exports compared to the previous year. Furthermore, Canada’s exports of wood pulp and precious stones and metals (mainly gold) fell by 14.6% and 58.2%, respectively. These declines were partially mitigated by higher exports of mineral ores (+41.8%, iron and copper) and vehicles and parts (+16.2%). Meat products were another source of contention as meat exports to China had a solid start in the first half of 2019 but fell sharply from July to November before rebounding in December. For the full year, meat exports to China rose by 17.6%.

Text version
Year Exports ($ Billions)
2000 3.7
2001 4.3
2002 4.1
2003 4.8
2004 6.8
2005 7.2
2006 7.8
2007 9.5
2008 10.5
2009 11.2
2010 13.2
2011 16.8
2012 19.4
2013 20.5
2014 19.3
2015 20.2
2016 21.0
2017 23.6
2018 27.7
2019 23.2
MonthYear-over-year % change
January17.5%
February2.7%
March-3.5%
April-7.2%
May-5.2%
June-4.7%
July-23.6%
August-7.4%
September-26.1%
October-40.6%
November-36.8%
December-25.7%

Canadian merchandise exports to Mexico registered the second largest contraction in 2019, falling by 10.9% or $0.9 billion to $7.3 billion in 2019. This fall represents the first decline in Canadian exports to Mexico since 2012, and was primarily caused by the double-digit declines in oil seeds (-25.3%), aircraft and parts (-40.3%), cereals (-32.4%), and iron and steel (-24.3%).

Year-over-year Change in Canadian Merchandise Exports, 2019

Map 2: Year-over-year Change in Canadian Merchandise  Exports, 2019
Text version
Market∆19/18 %∆19/18 $M
United States2.1%9,002
United Kingdom19.3%3,202
Germany30.1%1,457
Saudi Arabia49.6%934
Bangladesh91.7%597
Spain-30.0%-643
Belgium-17.7%-671
Mexico-10.9%-898
China-16.0%-4,440

Over the Last Three Years

From 2017 to 2019, Canada’s global merchandise exports averaged $574.3 billion and registered an average annual growth of 4.2%. The growth in exports was supported by the United States (+3.9% annually), Germany (+23.3% annually), United Kingdom (+5.8% annually), the Netherlands (+28.4% annually), and Hong Kong (+34.1% annually). However, these gains were partially offset by lower exports to Switzerland (-16.8% annually), Mexico (-3.5% annually), and Belgium (-5.9% annually).

Table 5: Canada’s Top 30 Export Markets

RankMarket2019 ($M)∆19/18 (%)∆19/15 (%)
1United States446,9502.111.1
2China23,249-16.015.2
3United Kingdom19,80819.324.2
4Japan12,523-3.428.1
5Mexico7,319-10.910.2
6Germany6,29330.174.2
7Korea South5,485-6.536.5
8Netherlands5,1849.145.7
9India4,78211.210.5
10Hong Kong, SAR4,0233.02.8
11France3,6365.616.3
12Italy3,2414.242.1
13Belgium3,118-17.7-0.2
14Saudi Arabia2,81949.6136.5
15Australia2,25810.119.1
16Brazil2,2542.90.2
17Norway2,163-9.715.8
18Taiwan2,0412.240.0
19Indonesia1,930-10.16.3
20Turkey1,61821.743.6
21Singapore1,52426.81.1
22Spain1,504-30.033.5
23United Arab Emirates1,4982.1-26.0
24Switzerland1,434-23.220.6
25Bangladesh1,24891.738.1
26Vietnam993-8.151.3
27Colombia936-7.019.5
28Thailand89514.70.6
29Chile871-11.510.2
30Ireland8435.740.2
Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Faits saillants de la performance du commerce des marchandises du Canada en 2019

Bureau de l’économiste en chef, Affaires mondiales Canada
Kevin Jiang

Février 2020

Table des matières

Aperçu

Monde

Les échanges totaux de marchandises du CanadaNote de bas de page 1 ont atteint un niveau record de près de 1,2 billion de $ en 2019. Cependant, après avoir connu deux années consécutives de croissance rapide, les exportations et les importations de marchandises du Canada ont vu leur cadence ralentir en 2019. Pour l’ensemble de l’année, les exportations canadiennes de marchandises ont crû de 1,4 % pour atteindre 592,6 milliards de $, comparativement à des gains de 5,7 % et de 7,0 % en 2017 et 2018. De même, la croissance des importations de marchandises est passée de 5,4 % en 2017 et 6,0 % en 2018 à 0,9 % en 2019. Cependant, en raison de la progression plus rapide des exportations, le déficit commercial du Canada avec le monde s’est rétréci de 2,9 milliards de $ pour s’établir à 8,8 milliards de $, le déficit du commerce des marchandises le plus bas depuis 2014.

Version texte
Direction commerciale20152016201720182019
Exportations-0,5 %-1,4 %5,7 %7,0 %1,4 %
Importations4,7 %-0,5 %5,4 %6,0 %0,9 %

Par secteur de produit

Au niveau sectoriel, les cinq principaux secteurs d’exportation du Canada ont tous connu une amélioration par rapport à 2018. Toutefois, contrairement aux deux années précédentes, les exportations canadiennes ont été entraînées par un secteur non énergétique, celui des pierres précieuses et des métaux. Soutenues par la deuxième plus forte croissance annuelle des exportations d’or jamais enregistrée, les pierres précieuses et les métaux ont bondi de 4,6 milliards de $, soit 19,2 %, en 2019, représentant plus de la moitié de la croissance globale des exportations du Canada.

L’énergie, le plus important secteur d’exportation du Canada, a connu une croissance modérée de 1,1 % en 2019, principalement en raison de l’augmentation des exportations de pétrole brut (+3,7 %). Il s’agissait de la troisième année consécutive d’expansion de ce secteur, reflétant en grande partie l’augmentation des volumes exportés et le rebond des prix du pétrole brut. À l’exclusion des produits énergétiques, les exportations canadiennes de marchandises ont progressé de 1,5 % en 2019. Les trois autres principaux secteurs d’exportation, l’automobile, les machines et l’électronique, ont avancé respectivement de 4,1 %, 3,3 % et 3,5 %. Les exportations d’automobiles ont progressé grâce aux véhicules blindés, aux camions et aux voitures de tourisme, alors que l’augmentation des exportations de machines s’est appuyée sur les centrifugeuses, les pièces de machines et les ordinateurs; la hausse des exportations d’électronique était principalement imputable aux circuits électroniques intégrés. Les autres secteurs d’exportation en expansion sont notamment les minerais (+1,5 milliard de $) et les aéronefs et pièces (+1,2 milliard de $).

Version texte
AnnéeTrimestre$ US / baril
2015T133,9
2015T246,4
2015T333,2
2015T427,7
2016T119,2
2016T232,3
2016T331,4
2016T435,0
2017T137,3
2017T237,2
2017T338,3
2017T443,1
2018T138,6
2018T248,6
2018T347,3
2018T419,4
2019T142,6
2019T249,1
2019T344,2
2019T441,1

Tableau 1 : Exportations canadiennes de marchandises par secteur

Secteur2019 (M$)∆ 2019/2018 (%)∆ 2019/2015 (%)
Énergie130 6131,131,7
Automobile81 5234,15,8
Machines46 1423,316,0
Pierres et métaux précieux28 25619,215,5
Électronique17 9413,56,3
Tous les autres secteurs288 078-1,18,0
Total 592 5531,413,1

Du côté des importations, trois des cinq principaux secteurs étaient en croissance. Une forte hausse des importations de camions a entraîné une augmentation de 1,1 % des importations globales d’automobiles du Canada en 2019, qui ont atteint une valeur de 98,8 milliards de $. Les importations de machines ont progressé de 2,8 % grâce aux turboréacteurs et autres turbines à gaz, tandis que les importations d’électronique ont connu une amélioration modeste. En revanche, les importations de produits énergétiques ont reculé de 7,3 %, principalement en raison de la baisse des importations de pétrole raffiné, et les importations de matières plastiques ont diminué de 1,4 %.

Tableau 2 : Importations canadiennes de marchandises par secteur

Secteur2019 (M$)∆ 2019/2018 (%)∆ 2019/2015 (%)
Automobile98 7721,115,7
Machines91 8412,813,2
Électronique58 6030,711,0
Énergie44 094-7,316,5
Plastiques21 708-1,413,8
Tous les autres secteurs286 2851,810,1
Total 601 3040,912,2

Par partenaire commercial

À l’échelle mondiale, la croissance des exportations canadiennes de marchandises a été soutenue par les États-Unis (pétrole brut), le Royaume-Uni (or), l’Allemagne (déchets de métaux précieux), l’Arabie saoudite (véhicules blindés) et le Bangladesh (soja et légumineuses), tandis que l’augmentation des importations de marchandises est principalement attribuable au Pérou (or), au Vietnam (téléphones) et à la France (avions).

Ces gains ont toutefois été tempérés par la baisse des exportations vers la Chine (graines de colza et soja), le Mexique (graines de colza, aéronefs, blé), la Belgique (diamants) et l’Espagne (pétrole brut et aéronefs), ainsi que par le recul des importations de l’Azerbaïdjan (pétrole brut), de l’Argentine (or) et de la Norvège (navires et pétrole brut).

États-Unis

Les exportations de marchandises du Canada aux États-Unis ont augmenté plus rapidement que ses exportations mondiales, avec une hausse de 9,0 milliards de $ en 2019, ou 2,1 %, pour atteindre 447,0 milliards de $. En revanche, les exportations canadiennes vers les marchés non américains ont reculé de 0,5 %, soit 0,8 milliard de $, pour s’établir à 145,6 milliards de $. Par conséquent, le Canada a inversé la tendance à la diversification de ses échanges ailleurs qu’aux États-Unis en 2019, la part de ce pays dans les exportations canadiennes de marchandises, qui a gagné 0,5 point de pourcentage pour s’établir à 75,4 %.

Version texte
Année2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 
Part des exportations76,8 %76,7 %76,3 %75,8 %74,9 %75,4 %

Parallèlement, les importations canadiennes de marchandises en provenance des États-Unis ont fait du sur-place en 2019, avec une hausse de 0,1 %, ou 239,5 millions de $, à 304,8 milliards de $, principalement en raison de la progression des importations de machines et de produits de l’automobile, compensée par un repli des importations de fer et d’acier, de produits énergétiques, de plastiques et d’aluminium. Alors que les exportations aux États-Unis ont surpassé les importations en provenance de ce pays, l’excédent commercial de marchandises avec les États-Unis a grimpé de 8,8 milliards de $ pour atteindre 142,1 milliards de $ en 2019, le plus élevé depuis 2008.

La croissance des exportations aux États-Unis a été alimentée par les produits énergétiques, qui ont augmenté de 3,3 % ou 3,8 milliards de $, grâce à des volumes plus élevés d’exportations de pétrole brut. À l’exclusion des produits énergétiques, les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers les États-Unis ont progressé de 1,6 % en 2019, tirées par les exportations de véhicules et de pièces (principalement des camions et des voitures de tourisme), qui ont gagné 2,8 %, ou 2,0 milliards de $, en 2019. Les autres secteurs de produits tels que les aéronefs et les pièces (+30,6 %) et les pierres et métaux précieux (+16,2 %, principalement l’or) ont également fait une contribution significative. Par ailleurs, les tensions entourant le bois, l’aluminium et les produits sidérurgiques ont freiné la croissance globale.

Selon les données du Bureau du recensement des États-Unis, ce pays a enregistré une forte augmentation des importations de marchandises en provenance du Mexique en 2019, avec une hausse de 12,0 milliards de $ US, ou 3,5 % (principalement des produits de l’automobile). En conséquence, le Mexique a devancé la Chine et le Canada, devenant le premier partenaire des États-Unis pour le commerce des marchandises, dont la valeur a atteint 614,5 milliards de $, suivi de près par le Canada (612,1 milliards de $) au second rang. La guerre commerciale entre les États-Unis et la Chine a réduit les exportations en Chine (-11,3 %) et les importations en provenance de ce pays (-16,2 %), de sorte que la Chine est tombée en troisième place en 2019 (à 558,9 milliards de $), alors qu’elle occupait la première place l’année précédente.

Accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union européenne (AECG)

Portées par la lancée de la première année d’application de l’AECG, les exportations canadiennes vers l’Union européenneNote de bas de page 2 ont augmenté de 7,3 %, ou 3,3 milliards de $, en 2019, tandis que les importations de marchandises progressaient de 4,8 %. Cependant, la croissance des exportations canadiennes peut être presque entièrement attribuée à la reprise des exportations d’or. À l’exclusion de l’orNote de bas de page 3, les exportations canadiennes vers l’UE ont reculé de 0,7 % sur cette période, la baisse des exportations de produits énergétiques (-23,9 %) ayant le plus contribué à ce recul.

La performance commerciale du Canada avec le Royaume-Uni a été dominée par la fluctuation du commerce de l’orNote de bas de page 4 et 2019 n’a pas fait exception. Après une baisse de 15,4 % en 2018, les exportations canadiennes d’or vers le Royaume-Uni ont bondi de près du tiers en 2019, soit de 3,5 milliards de $, les prix et les quantités enregistrant des taux de croissance à deux chiffres. En conséquence, les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers le Royaume-Uni ont augmenté de 3,2 milliards de $, ou 19,3 %, en 2019 pour s’établir à 19,8 milliards de $. Il s’agit de la plus forte croissance annuelle des exportations canadiennes à l’extérieur des États-Unis.

Les exportations vers l’Allemagne ont enregistré la deuxième plus forte hausse de l’UE et la troisième augmentation en importance globalement (derrière les États-Unis et le Royaume-Uni), avec un gain de 1,5 milliard de $, ou 30,1 %, en 2019. La croissance a été dynamisée par les pierres et les métaux précieux (+121,5 %, principalement les déchets de métal et les pièces de monnaie), les aéronefs et pièces (+99,8 %) et les minerais (+50,5 %). Par ailleurs, les exportations vers la Belgique ont subi la plus forte baisse au sein de l’UE, avec un recul de 0,7 milliard de $, ou 17,7 % (principalement les diamants), tandis que les exportations vers l’Espagne chutaient de 30,0 %, ce qui est imputable aux produits énergétiques et aux aéronefs et pièces détachées. Dans l’ensemble, une croissance des exportations a été enregistrée dans 14 pays de l’UE contre une baisse dans les 14 autres.

Tableau 3 : Exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers l’UE

Pays2018 (M$)2019 (M$)∆ 2019/2018 (%)∆ 2019/2018 (M$)
Royaume-Uni16 60619 80819,33 202
Allemagne4 8366 29330,11 457
Pays-Bas4 7515 1849,1433
France3 4423 6365,6194
Italie3 1103 2414,2131
Belgique3 7893 118-17,7-671
Espagne2 1471 504-30,0-643
Irlande798 8435,745
Pologne745 744-0,1-1
Finlande858700-18,4-158
Autres pays de l’UE3 8413 126-18,6-715
Total UE44 92348 1967,33 273

Accord de Partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP)

Pendant les 12 premiers mois qui ont suivi l’entrée en vigueur du PTPGP, les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers les pays membres du PTPGP ayant ratifié l’AccordNote de bas de page 5 ont légèrement diminué, soit de 0,2 % pour atteindre 17,8 milliards de $ en 2019, alors que les importations de marchandises augmentaient de 5,6 % pour s’établir à 27,8 milliards de $. Le repli des exportations de bois, d’aluminium et de graines oléagineuses a été atténué par la hausse des exportations de céréales, de viande et de machines. La baisse des exportations d’aluminium et de graines oléagineuses peut être principalement imputée au Japon, où les exportations totales ont diminué de 3,4 % en 2019 pour s’établir à 12,5 milliards de $. En revanche, les exportations totales vers Singapour et l’Australie ont augmenté respectivement de 26,8 % et 10,1 %. Les exportations vers Singapour ont été soutenues par l’augmentation de 28,3 % des exportations de machines et de 95,0 % des exportations de produits électroniques, tandis que les exportations vers l’Australie ont progressé principalement en raison des céréales (+191,2 millions de $), des machines (+12,2 %), des produits électroniques (+23,4 %), ainsi que des véhicules automobiles et pièces (+23,3 %).

Tableau 4 : Exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers les pays ayant ratifié le PTPGP

Pays2018 (M$)2019 (M$)∆ 2019/2018 (%)∆ 2019/2018 (M$)
Japon12 95912 523-3,4-436
Australie2 0512 25810,1206
Singapour1 2021 52426,8322
Vietnam1 081 993-8,1-87
Nouvelle-Zélande535497-6,9-37
CPTPP (ratifié)17 82717 795-0,2-32

Les 30 principaux marchés d’exportation à croissance rapide

Parmi les autres principaux marchés d’exportation du Canada, le Bangladesh, l’Arabie saoudite et la Turquie ont enregistré la croissance la plus rapide et atteint de nouveaux sommets. Après trois années consécutives de baisse, les exportations canadiennes vers le Bangladesh ont littéralement explosé en 2019, avec un gain de 91,7 % pour s’établir à 1,2 milliard de $. La croissance a été principalement alimentée par la hausse des exportations de produits agricoles : graines oléagineuses (+583,9 %), légumes (+156,2 %) et céréales (+52,9 %). En raison de cette forte progression, le Bangladesh a avancé au classement pour devenir la 25e principale destination des exportations de marchandises du Canada en 2019, alors qu’il occupait le 37e rang en 2018. Les exportations vers l’Arabie saoudite ont augmenté pour la quatrième année consécutive, progressant de 49,6 % pour atteindre 2,8 milliards de $. Comme les années précédentes, cette croissance a été soutenue par les exportations de véhicules blindés. Enfin, les exportations vers la Turquie ont avancé pour la septième année d’affilée en 2019, en hausse de 21,7 % à 1,6 milliard de $, stimulées par les aéronefs et pièces (+309,8 %) et les céréales (+299,4 %).

Dix principaux marchés en croissance pour les exportations canadiennes de marchandises, 2019 (selon la variation de la valeur)

Version texte
ClassementMarché∆19/18 M

1

É-U.

9 002

2

R.-U.

3 202

3

Allemagne

1 457

4

Arabie saoudite

934

5

Bangladesh

597

6

Inde

483

7

Pays-Bas

433

8

Égypte

347

9

Singapour

322

10

Turquie

288

Recul des exportations de marchandises : Chine continentale et Mexique

Sur l’ensemble de l’année, la baisse des exportations canadiennes de marchandises s’est concentrée dans quelques pays. La Chine continentale, deuxième destination des exportations du Canada, a de loin enregistré la plus forte baisse, soit 4,4 milliards de $, ou 16,0 %, en 2019 pour s’établir à 23,2 milliards de $ en valeur. Il s’agit de la première contraction des exportations vers ce pays depuis 2014, et de la baisse annuelle la plus rapide depuis 1997.

Le recul des exportations est principalement attribuable à l’interdiction, décrétée par la Chine, d’importer du canola et du soja en provenance du Canada, ce qui a provoqué une chute de 77,6 %, ou 3,7 milliards de $, des exportations de graines oléagineuses par rapport à l’année précédente. En outre, les exportations canadiennes de pâte de bois, de pierres et de métaux précieux (principalement de l’or) ont reculé de 14,6 % et de 58,2 %, respectivement. Ces pertes ont été en partie atténuées par la hausse des exportations de minerais (41,8 %, fer et cuivre) et de véhicules et pièces (16,2 %). Les produits à base de viande ont été une autre source de controverse : les exportations de viande vers la Chine avaient bien démarré au premier semestre de 2019, mais elles ont fortement chuté de juillet à novembre avant de rebondir en décembre. Pour l’ensemble de l’année, les exportations de viande vers la Chine ont progressé de 17,6 %.

Version texte
AnnéeMilliards de $
20003,7
20014,3
20024,1
20034,8
20046,8
20057,2
20067,8
20079,5
200810,5
200911,2
201013,2
201116,8
201219,4
201320,5
201419,3
201520,2
201621,0
201723,6
201827,7
201923,2

 

MoisPourcentage
Janvier17,5 %
Février2,7 %
Mars-3,5 %
Avril-7,2 %
Mai-5,2 %
Juin-4,7 %
Juillet-23,6 %
Août-7,4 %
Septembre-26,1 %
Octobre-40,6 %
Novembre-36,8 %
Décembre-25,7 %

Les exportations canadiennes de marchandises vers le Mexique ont enregistré la deuxième contraction en importance en 2019 avec une baisse de 10,9 %, ou 0,9 milliard de $, pour s’établir à 7,3 milliards de $. Cela représente le premier recul des exportations canadiennes au Mexique depuis 2012, principalement attribuable aux baisses à deux chiffres affichés par les graines oléagineuses (-25,3 %), les aéronefs et pièces (-40,3 %), les céréales (-32,4 %) et le fer et l’acier (-24,3 %).

Variation d’une année à l’autre des exportations canadiennes de marchandises, 2019

Version texte
Marché∆19/18 pourcentage∆19/18 M
É.-U.2,1 %9 002
R.-U.19,3 %3 202
Allemagne30,1 %1 457
Arabie saoudite49,6 %934
Bangladesh91,7 %597
Espagne-30,0 %-643
Belgique-17,7 %-671
Mexique-10,9 %-898
Chine-16,0 %-4 440

Au cours des trois dernières années

De 2017 à 2019, les exportations mondiales de marchandises du Canada ont atteint en moyenne 574,3 milliards de $ et enregistré une croissance annuelle moyenne de 4,2 %. La croissance des exportations a été soutenue par les États-Unis (+3,9 % par an), l’Allemagne (+23,3 % par an), le Royaume-Uni (+5,8 % par an), les Pays-Bas (+28,4 % par an) et Hong Kong (+34,1 % annuellement). Cependant, ces gains ont été partiellement compensés par une baisse des exportations vers la Suisse (‑16,8 % par an), le Mexique (-3,5 % par an) et la Belgique (-5,9 % par an).

Tableau 5 : Les 30 principaux marchés d’exportation du Canada

RangMarché2019 (M$)∆ 2019/2018 (%)∆ 2019/2015 (%)
1États-Unis446,9502,111,1
2Chine23,249-16,015,2
3Royaume-Uni19,80819,324,2
4Japon12,523-3,428,1
5Mexique7,319-10,910,2
6Allemagne6,29330,174,2
7Corée du Sud5,485-6,536,5
8Pays-Bas5,1849,145,7
9Inde4,78211,210,5
10Hong Kong, RAS de4,0233,02,8
11France3,6365,616,3
12Italie3,2414,242,1
13Belgique3,118-17,7-0,2
14Arabie saoudite2,81949,6136,5
15Australie2,25810,119,1
16Brésil2,254290,2
17Norvège2,163-9,715,8
18Taïwan2,0412,240,0
19Indonésie1,930-10,16,3
23Turquie1,61821,743,6
21Singapour1,52426,81,1
22Espagne1,504-30,033,5
23Émirats Arabes Unis1,4982,1-26,0
24Suisse1,434-23,220,6
25Bangladesh1,24891,738,1
26Vietnam993-8,151,3
27Colombie936-7,019,5
28Thaïlande89514,70,6
29Chili871-11,510,2
30Irlande8435,740,2
Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: