Language selection

Search

Overview: The Inclusive Trade Action Group

Further to their Joint Declaration on Fostering Progressive and Inclusive Trade signed on the margins of the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) signing in March 2018, Canada, Chile and New Zealand are advancing inclusive trade initiatives through the Inclusive Trade Action Group (ITAG), established on the margins of the 2018 Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Leaders Summit.

ITAG Partners confirmed a shared commitment to work together to help make international trade policies more inclusive in order to ensure that the benefits of trade and investment are more broadly shared. This can have a positive impact on economic growth and help to reduce inequality and poverty. It can also help to maintain support for trade which is very important for countries that are dependent on trade for their prosperity.

ITAG work plan

ITAG has developed an evergreen work plan that was endorsed by trade ministers in May 2019 at the APEC Meeting of Ministers Responsible for Trade. ITAG initiatives to date have included activities at World Trade Organization (WTO) and APEC, such as:

To learn more about past activities and upcoming ITAG priorities, view ITAG’s work programme.

The Global Trade and Gender Arrangement

ITAG developed a stand-alone Global Trade and Gender Arrangement. The Arrangement recognizes the importance of mutually supportive trade and gender policies, and seeks to increase women’s participation in trade as part of broader efforts to improve gender equality and women’s economic empowerment. This complements and builds on work that the Government of Canada has undertaken to increase the meaningful participation of women in international trade, including through the development of Canada’s first-ever Women Entrepreneurship Strategy; and initiatives such as the Business Women in International Trade initiative, and Export Development Canada’s Women in Trade Investment Program.

The Participants in the Global Trade and Gender Arrangement acknowledge the importance of incorporating a gender perspective into the promotion of inclusive economic growth.  They also acknowledge that it is inappropriate to weaken or reduce the protection afforded in their respective gender equality laws and regulations to gain trade or investment. The Arrangement commits the Participants to enforce their laws and regulations promoting gender equality and improving women’s access to economic opportunities. The Arrangement also commits the Participants to jointly implement cooperation activities such as workshops, webinars, and video conferences to exchange information and best practices on a range of issues including: identifying and removing barriers to women’s participation in trade; increasing women’s participation in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM); closing the gender wage gap; conducting impact assessments of trade agreements; and, collecting and analyzing gender disaggregated data.

The Global Trade and Gender Arrangement is open to other countries to join as Participants.

The Global Trade and Gender Arrangement – General information

ITAG – General information

The Inclusive Trade Action Group (ITAG) is comprised of Canada, Chile and New Zealand. ITAG was established on the margins of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Leaders Summit in November 2018. The Group is working together to help make international trade policies more inclusive, and ensure that the benefits of trade and investment are more broadly shared. A key initiative of the Group’s work has been to establish a Trade and Gender Arrangement. ITAG’s commitment to inclusive trade is more important than ever given the common objective to achieve a sustainable and inclusive post-COVID-19 economic and trade recovery.

The Global Trade and Gender Arrangement – General information

The Global Trade and Gender Arrangement is a non-binding agreement that Canada, Chile and New Zealand signed on August 4th, 2020, which commits each Participant to advance an inclusive approach to trade and address the barriers that women face when participating in trade. The Arrangement is not limited to women and trade; its provisions are inclusive and aim to remove barriers faced by all genders. At the heart of the Arrangement are cooperation activities which will be designed to share knowledge, best practices and increase women’s participation in the economy and trade.

Cooperation activities may occur through workshops, webinars, conferences, trade missions, and joint research projects among the Participants. Cooperation activities can include:

  • sharing of experiences and best practices in designing, implementing, monitoring, evaluating and strengthening policies and programs to enhance women’s participation in domestic, regional and global economies;
  • initiatives to promote gender equality within enterprises;
  • promoting the participation of women-owned enterprises in local, regional, and global value chains,
  • supporting economic opportunities for rural and Indigenous women in trade and investment; and,
  • exchanging information on methods and procedures for the collection of gender statistics and sex-disaggregated data, and the analysis of gender-focused statistics related to trade (recognizing that data-sets underpinning trade and gender analysis are still underdeveloped).

Cooperation activities will be carried out through the appropriate coordination of agencies, companies, labour unions, civil society, academic institutions, and non-governmental organisations, among others.

Importance of the Global Trade and Gender Arrangement

The Government of Canada is committed to advancing gender equality and women’s economic empowerment at home and abroad. We know that trade has the potential to have a positive impact in economic development and that exporting firms, including women-owned companies that export, can achieve greater levels of profitability, competitiveness, productivity, innovation, resilience, pay higher wages and hire more diverse employees. But we also know that women owned businesses and workers are less likely to be involved in traded sectors and generally face lower wages. The Global Trade and Gender Arrangement attempts to address some of those challenges through a range of provisions that seek to increase women’s participation in and benefits from trade as part of broader efforts to improve gender equality and women’s economic empowerment.

In today’s competitive global economy, leveraging the best and brightest entrepreneurs—both women and men—is not only the right thing to do but is a win-win for us all. The full and equal participation of women in the economy is essential to Canada's future competitiveness and prosperity. Our economy—and our country—simply cannot reach its full potential if we are leaving people behind.

This Arrangement complements work that Canada undertakes domestically to support gender equality, including leading the Women Entrepreneurship Strategy; legislating pay equity; providing more affordable child care; and addressing gender-based violence.

Difference between a stand-alone Global Trade and Gender Arrangement in Trade and a Trade and Gender chapter in a trade agreement

The Global Trade and Gender Arrangement is similar to a Trade and Gender Chapter as it is designed to assist in removing barriers that women face when participating in trade and proposes various cooperation activities that could take place. Given that the Arrangement is “standalone” however, it is not linked to a specific trade agreement and therefore is open to any interested economies to sign. The Global Trade and Gender Arrangement represents a strong demonstration of political commitment and good will by those Participants, but it is not enforceable or subject to binding dispute resolution.

Objective of the Global Trade and Gender Arrangement

We expect that over time, the Arrangement will be a force for positive change in our economies and societies by increasing the development of more robust opportunities for women in international trade; and contributing to the promotion of gender considerations on the international stage. Participants will share information and learn from each other, build knowledge and understanding of the trade and gender nexus and ways to remove domestic and international barriers to women’s participation. The Global Trade and Gender Arrangement reaffirms the Participants’ commitments to the Sustainable Development Goals, chiefly Goal 5, which commits to ending all forms of discrimination against all women and girls everywhere and leaving no one behind.

Benefits of the Global Trade and Gender Arrangement for women-owned businesses and women workers

The Global Trade and Gender Arrangement recommits to the goal of gender equality in the workplace. It commits Participants to cooperate and share best practices to eliminate discrimination in employment and occupation, including on the basis of sex, pregnancy, possibility of pregnancy, maternity, gender and gender identity, and sexual orientation. For women owned businesses, the Arrangement includes cooperation activities to promote the internationalization of small and medium sized enterprises (SMEs) led by women and the fuller integration of women into the formal economy. The Participants commit to promoting business development services for women and programmes to improve women's digital skills and access to online business tools.

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Vue d’ensemble : Groupe d’action pour le commerce inclusif

Comme suite à leur Déclaration commune sur la promotion d’un commerce progressiste et inclusif faite en marge de la cérémonie de signature de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP) en mars 2018, le Canada, le Chili, le Mexique et la Nouvelle-Zélande font progresser des initiatives propres à favoriser un commerce ouvert à tous par l’entremise du Groupe d’action pour le commerce inclusif (GACI), créé en marge du Sommet des dirigeants du Forum de coopération économique Asie-Pacifique (APEC) de 2018.

Les partenaires du GACI ont confirmé leur volonté commune d’œuvrer de concert pour aider à rendre les politiques commerciales internationales plus inclusives afin que les avantages des activités commerciales et des investissements soient plus largement répartis, ce qui peut avoir une incidence positive sur la croissance économique et contribuer à réduire les inégalités et la pauvreté. Un tel résultat peut également aider à maintenir l’appui en faveur du commerce, ce qui est essentiel pour les pays qui en dépendent pour assurer leur prospérité. 

Plan de travail du GACI

Le GACI a élaboré un plan de travail évolutif qui a été approuvé en mai 2019 par les ministres du Commerce, lors de la réunion des ministres du Commerce de l’APEC. Jusqu’à présent, les initiatives du GACI ont comporté des activités à l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) et à l’APEC, où les trois pays partenaires ont notamment :

Pour en savoir davantage sur les activités réalisées et les priorités à venir du GACI, consulter le programme de travail du GACI.

Arrangement mondial sur le commerce et le genre

Le GACI a élaboré un Arrangement mondial sur le commerce et le genre. Cet arrangement distinct reconnaît l’importance de politiques commerciales et visant l’avancement des femmes qui se renforcent mutuellement, tout en cherchant à accroître la participation des femmes au commerce, dans le cadre d’un effort global pour améliorer l’égalité des genres et renforcer le pouvoir économique des femmes. Par ailleurs, il complète et renforce les travaux entrepris par le gouvernement du Canada pour accroître la participation significative des femmes au commerce international, notamment grâce à l’élaboration de la toute première Stratégie pour les femmes en entrepreneuriat du Canada et à des initiatives telles que l’appui aux femmes d’affaires en commerce international ou le programme d’investissement Femmes en commerce d’Exportation et développement Canada.

Les participants à l’Arrangement mondial sur le commerce et le genre reconnaissent l’importance de prendre en compte les moyens de favoriser l’égalité des genres dans la promotion d’une croissance économique inclusive. Ils admettent également qu’il est inapproprié d’affaiblir ou de réduire les protections garanties par leurs lois et réglementations respectives sur l’égalité des genres pour réaliser des gains en matière de commerce ou d’investissement. Les participants à l’Arrangement s’engagent à appliquer leurs lois et réglementations qui visent à promouvoir l’égalité et l’accès des femmes à des possibilités économiques. Ils s’engagent aussi à réaliser ensemble des activités de coopération telles que des ateliers, des webinaires et des vidéoconférences pour échanger des renseignements et des pratiques exemplaires sur un certain nombre d’enjeux, par exemple : détecter et éliminer les obstacles à la participation des femmes au commerce; accroître la participation des femmes dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l’ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM); combler l’écart salarial entre les hommes et les femmes; réaliser des évaluations quant aux répercussions des accords commerciaux; recueillir et analyser les données ventilées par genre.

Les autres pays peuvent aussi adhérer à l’Arrangement mondial sur le commerce et le genre, pour en devenir des participants.

Arrangement mondial sur le commerce et le genre – informations générales

Groupe d’action pour un commerce inclusif – informations générales

Le Groupe d’action pour un commerce inclusif (GACI) est composé du Canada, du Chili, du Mexique et de la Nouvelle-Zélande. Il a été établi en marge du Sommet des dirigeants du forum de la Coopération économique Asie-Pacifique (APEC) en Novembre 2018. Le GACI cherche à rendre les politiques de commerce international plus inclusives et à faire en sorte que les retombées qui découlent du commerce et de l’investissement soient plus largement partagées par tous. Dans le cadre des travaux du GACI, une initiative clé a été de créer un Arrangement sur le commerce et le genre. L’engagement du GACI envers un commerce inclusif est plus important que jamais, étant donné l’objectif commun de parvenir à une relance économique et commerciale post-COVID 19 durable et inclusive.

Arrangement mondial sur le commerce et le genre - informations générales

Il s’agit d’un arrangement non contraignant que le Canada, le Chili et la Nouvelle-Zélande ont signé le 4 août 2020, qui engage chaque participant à faire progresser une approche inclusive à l’égard du commerce et qui s’attaque aux obstacles auxquels se heurtent les femmes dans le monde du commerce. L’Arrangement ne se limite pas aux femmes et au commerce; ses dispositions sont inclusives et visent à lever les barrières qui touchent tous les genres. Au cœur de l’Arrangement se trouvent des activités de coopération conçues pour mettre en commun les connaissances et pratiques exemplaires, ainsi que pour accroître la participation des femmes dans l’économie et le commerce. Le Mexique a signé l'Arrangement le 6 octobre 2021.

Il peut s’agir d’ateliers, de webinaires, de conférences, de missions commerciales et de projets de recherche conjoints entre participants. Les activités de coopération peuvent inclure:

  • La mise en commun d’expérience et de pratiques exemplaires en matière de conception, de mise en œuvre, de surveillance, d’évaluation et de consolidation des politiques et programmes afin d’améliorer la participation des femmes dans les économies nationales, régionales et mondiale.
  • la mise au point d’initiatives pour promouvoir l’égalité des genres en entreprise.
  • promouvoir la participation des entreprises appartenant à des femmes dans les chaînes de valeur locales, régionales et mondiales,
  • soutenir les possibilités économiques pour les femmes autochtones et celles en milieu rural dans le commerce et l’investissement et;
  • l'échange d'informations sur les méthodes et les procédures de collecte de statistiques ventilées par sexe et de données ventilées par sexe, et l'analyse des statistiques sexo-spécifiques liées au commerce (reconnaissant que les ensembles de données qui sous-tendent l'analyse du commerce et du genre sont encore sous-développés).

Les activités de coopération seront menées, entre autres, grâce à la coordination appropriée d’agences, d’entreprises, de syndicats, de la société civile, d’établissements universitaires et d’organisations non gouvernementales.

Importance de l’Arrangement mondial sur le commerce et le genre

Le gouvernement du Canada est résolu à faire progresser l’égalité des genres et le renforcement du pouvoir économique des femmes au pays et à l’étranger. Nous savons que le commerce peut avoir un effet positif sur le développement économique et que les entreprises exportatrices, dont celles qui appartiennent à des femmes, peuvent atteindre un niveau encore plus élevé de rentabilité, de concurrence, de productivité, d’innovation et de résilience, offrir des salaires supérieurs et embaucher des employés d’origines diverses. Par ailleurs, nous savons aussi que les entreprises appartenant à des femmes et que les travailleuses sont moins susceptibles de participer dans les secteurs commerciaux et ont généralement des salaires inférieurs. L’Arrangement mondial sur le commerce et le genre tente de remédier à certains de ces problèmes par l’entremise d’un éventail de dispositions visant à augmenter la participation des femmes dans le commerce et les avantages qu’elles en retirent dans le cadre de vastes efforts pour améliorer l’égalité des genres et l’autonomisation économique des femmes.

Dans l’économie mondiale concurrentielle d’aujourd’hui, tirer parti des entrepreneurs les plus compétents et les plus brillants du monde, que ce soient des hommes ou des femmes, n’est pas seulement la bonne décision à prendre, mais aussi ce qui permettra à tout le monde d’en sortir gagnant. La participation entière et égale des femmes dans l’économie est essentielle à la compétitivité et à la prospérité future du Canada. Notre économie et notre pays ne peuvent tout simplement pas atteindre leur plein potentiel si des personnes sont laissées pour compte.

Cet arrangement apporte un complément au travail que réalise le Canada à l’échelle nationale pour appuyer l’égalité des genres, y compris en dirigeant la Stratégie pour les femmes en entrepreneuriat; en légiférant en matière d’équité salariale; en offrant des services de garde plus abordables; en luttant contre la violence fondée sur le sexe.

Différences entre un arrangement mondial autonome sur le commerce et le genre et un chapitre sur le commerce et le genre dans un accord commercial

L’Arrangement mondial sur le commerce et le genre ressemble à un chapitre sur le commerce et le genre. Il est conçu pour aider à éliminer les obstacles auxquels se heurtent les femmes dans le monde du commerce et pour proposer diverses activités de coopération possibles. Étant donné que l’arrangement est « autonome » cependant, il n’est associé à aucun accord commercial donné et peut donc être signé par tous les économies intéressés. Il témoigne de l’engagement politique et de la bonne volonté des signataires, mais n’est pas exécutoire ni soumis à un processus contraignant de résolution des conflits.

Visée de l’Arrangement mondial sur le commerce et le genre

Au fil du temps, nous voulons que l’Arrangement devienne une force de changement positif dans nos économies et nos sociétés en accroissant la création de débouchés plus solides pour les femmes en commerce international et en contribuant à la promotion des facteurs touchant le genre à l’échelle internationale. Les participants échangeront des renseignements et apprendront les uns des autres. De plus, ils approfondiront leurs connaissances et comprendront mieux le lien entre le commerce et le genre et les façons d’éliminer les obstacles nationaux et internationaux à la participation des femmes au commerce. L’Arrangement réitère l’engagement des participants envers les objectifs de développement durable, notamment le cinquième objectif, qui vise à mettre fin à toute forme de discrimination contre toutes les femmes et les filles partout dans le monde en ne laissant personne derrière.

Avantages de l'Arrangement mondial sur le commerce et le genre pour les entreprises appartenant à des femmes et les travailleuses

Il renouvelle l’engagement envers l’égalité des genres en milieu de travail. Les pays participants s’engagent à coopérer et à mettre en commun des pratiques exemplaires pour abolir la discrimination dans l’embauche et les professions, soit la discrimination fondée sur le sexe, le fait d’être enceinte, la possibilité de tomber enceinte, la maternité, le genre, l’identité de genre et l’orientation sexuelle. Pour les entreprises dirigées par des femmes, l’Arrangement propose des activités de coopération qui favorisent l’internationalisation des petites et moyennes entreprises dirigées par des femmes, ainsi qu’une meilleure intégration des femmes dans l’économie officielle. Les pays participants s’engagent à faire la promotion de services de développement commercial pour les femmes et de programmes pour améliorer les aptitudes numériques des femmes et leur accès à des outils commerciaux en ligne.

Signaler un problème sur cette page
Veuillez cocher toutes les réponses pertinentes :

Merci de votre aide!

Vous ne recevrez pas de réponse. Pour toute question, s’il vous plaît contactez-nous.

Date de modification: