Recommendation 003/2018 of 26 September 2018 of the CETA Joint Committee on Small- and Medium-sized Enterprises (SMEs)

THE CETA JOINT COMMITTEE,

Having regard to the Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) between Canada, of the one part, and the European Union and its Member States, of the other part (“the Parties”), and in particular Article 26.1.5.(f) thereof, with a view to increasing trade and investment opportunities for SMEs,

HAS ADOPTED THIS RECOMMENDATION:

  1. The CETA Joint Committee recognises the importance of small and medium-sized enterprises including micro-sized enterprises (hereinafter referred to as "SMEs") in EU-Canada bilateral trade relations and provisions in CETA that are of particular benefit to SMEs. The CETA Joint Committee acknowledges the importance of promoting an environment that facilitates and supports the development, growth and competitiveness of SMEs and that enhances their ability to benefit from the opportunities created by CETA.
  2. The CETA Joint Committee recommends that each Party establish or maintain a publicly accessible website containing information regarding CETA, including: (a) the text of CETA with all annexes, tariff schedules and product-specific rules of origin; (b) a summary of CETA; and (c) information that each Party considers as useful for SMEs of both Parties.
  3. The CETA Joint Committee recommends that each Party include in the website provided for in paragraph 2. internet links to: (a) the equivalent website of the other Party; (b) websites of its government authorities and/or other appropriate entities that provide information useful to SMEs of the other Party; and (c) a database or published information that is electronically searchable by tariff nomenclature code which provides specific information on access to its market, import requirements and other information the Parties consider of assistance to SMEs.
  4. The CETA Joint Committee recommends that each Party promptly appoint an SMEs Contact Point on each side and notify the other Party of the contact details including information regarding the relevant officials.
  5. The CETA Joint Committee recommends that the SMEs Contact Points jointly:
    • (a) take into account SMEs needs in the implementation of CETA, exchange SMEs related information, and consider ways to increase trade and investment opportunities under CETA for all EU and Canadian SMEs, including SMEs owned by under-represented groupsFootnote 1;
    • (b) ensure that the information included in the website referred to in paragraphs 2 and 3 is up-to-date and relevant for SMEs, and recommend any additional information that the other Party's SMEs Contact Point may publish on its website;
    • (c) encourage, if appropriate, efforts of other bodies established under CETA to integrate SME-related considerations in their work;
    • (d) consider any other matter of interest to SMEs under CETA, as appropriate; and
    • (e) report periodically on their activities, including with respect to the implementation of this Recommendation and the SMEs related provisions within CETA, to the CETA Joint Committee, and make, as appropriate, suggestions for its consideration.
  6. The CETA Joint Committee recommends that SMEs Contact Points meet within the first year following the adoption of this Recommendation, and annually thereafter or as determined by the Parties, in person or by any other technological means available. They will carry out their work through appropriate communication channels.
  7. The CETA Joint Committee recommends that the SMEs Contact Points may seek to cooperate with experts, external organisations and SMEs stakeholders, as appropriate, in carrying out their activities.

Adopted at [__], [__] September 2018

For the CETA Joint Committee


On behalf of the EU


On behalf of Canada

Date Modified:

Recommandation 003/2018 du 26 septembre 2018 Du Comité mixte de l’AECG relative aux petites et moyennes entreprises (PME)

LE COMITÉ MIXTE DE L’AECG,

vu l’accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada, d’une part, et l’Union européenne et ses États membres, d’autre part («les parties»), et notamment son article 26.1, paragraphe 5, alinéa f), en vue d’accroître les possibilités d’échanges commerciaux et d’investissements pour les PME,

A ADOPTÉ LA PRÉSENTE RECOMMANDATION:

  1. Le Comité mixte de l’AECG est conscient de l’importance des petites et moyennes entreprises, y compris des micro-entreprises (ci-après dénommées « PME »), dans les relations commerciales bilatérales entre l’Union européenne et le Canada ainsi que de l’importance des dispositions de l’AECG qui présentent un intérêt particulier pour les PME. Le Comité mixte de l’AECG reconnaît qu’il importe de promouvoir un environnement qui favorise et soutienne le développement, la croissance et la compétitivité des PME et améliore leur capacité à tirer parti des possibilités créées par l’AECG.
  2. Le Comité mixte de l’AECG recommande que chaque partie crée ou entretient un site web accessible au public contenant des informations sur l’AECG, y compris: a) le texte de l’AECG avec toutes ses annexes, grilles tarifaires et règles d’origine spécifiques aux produits; b) un résumé de l’AECG; et c) les informations que chaque partie considère comme utiles pour les PME des deux parties.
  3. Le Comité mixte de l’AECG recommande que chaque partie insère sur le site web visé au paragraphe 2 des liens internet vers: a) le site web équivalent de l’autre partie; b) les sites web des autorités publiques et/ou des autres entités qui fournissent des informations utiles aux PME de l’autre partie; et c) une base de données ou des informations publiées susceptibles d'être recherchées par voie électronique à partir du code de la nomenclature tarifaire, fournissant des renseignements spécifiques sur l’accès à son marché et sur les exigences en matière d’importations ainsi que d’autres informations que les parties considèrent utiles pour les PME.
  4. Le Comité mixte de l’AECG recommande que chaque partie désigne dans les meilleurs délais un point de contact des PME et en notifie les coordonnées à l’autre partie, y compris les informations sur les fonctionnaires concernés.
  5. Le Comité mixte de l’AECG recommande que les points de contact des PME, conjointement:
    • a) prennent en considération les besoins des PME dans la mise en œuvre de l’AECG, échangent les informations relatives aux PME et étudient les moyens d’accroître les possibilités d’échanges commerciaux et d’investissements dans le cadre de l’AECG pour toutes les PME de l’UE et du Canada, y compris celles qui appartiennent à des groupes sous-représentésNote de bas de page 1;
    • b) veillent à ce que les informations incluses sur le site web visé aux paragraphes 2 et 3 soient mises à jour et pertinentes pour les PME et recommandent toute information complémentaire que le point de contact des PME de l’autre partie pourrait publier sur son site web;
    • c) encouragent, le cas échéant, les efforts d’autres organes établis au titre de l’AECG pour intégrer les considérations liées aux PME dans le cadre de leurs travaux;
    • d) examinent, le cas échéant, toute autre question présentant un intérêt pour les PME dans le cadre de l’AECG; et
    • e) fassent rapport périodiquement sur leurs activités, y compris en ce qui concerne la mise en œuvre de la présente recommandation et des dispositions de l’AECG concernant les PME, au Comité mixte de l’AECG, et soumettent, le cas échéant, des suggestions à son attention.
  6. Le Comité mixte de l’AECG recommande que les points de contact des PME se réunissent durant la première année suivant l’adoption de la présente recommandation, puis chaque année ou comme en décideront  les parties, en personne ou par tout autre moyen technologique disponible. Ils effectueront leurs travaux par l’intermédiaire des canaux de communication appropriés.
  7. Le Comité mixte de l’AECG recommande que les points de contact des PME cherchent à coopérer le cas échéant avec des experts, des organisations extérieures et des représentants des PME, dans l’exercice de leurs activités.

Adopté à [__], le [__] septembre 2018

Pour le Comité mixte de l’AECG


Au nom de l'UE


Au nom du Canada

Date de modification: