Appendix II – Chapter N bis–Trade and Gender

Article N bis-01: General Provisions

1. The Parties acknowledge the importance of incorporating a gender perspective into the promotion of inclusive economic growth, and the key role that gender-responsive policies can play in achieving sustainable socioeconomic development. Inclusive economic growth aims to distribute benefits among the entire population by providing equitable opportunities for the participation of women and men in business, industry and the labour market.

2. The Parties recall Goal 5 of the Sustainable Development Goals in the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, which is to achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls. The Parties reaffirm the importance of promoting gender equality policies and practices, and building the capacity of the Parties in this area, including in non-government sectors, in order to promote equal rights, treatment and opportunity between men and women and the elimination of all forms of discrimination against women.

3. The Parties reaffirm the obligations in the Agreement on Labour Cooperation or its successor relating to gender equality and the elimination of gender discrimination. The Parties also reaffirm commitments made in Article G-14bis as they relate to gender, including the Parties’ commitments to the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises, and the requirement under the Guidelines to establish a National Contact Point.

4. The Parties acknowledge that international trade and investment are engines of economic growth, and that improving women’s access to opportunities and removing barriers in their countries enhances their participation in national and international economies, and contributes to sustainable economic development.

5. The Parties also acknowledge that women's enhanced participation in the labour market and their economic independence and access to, and ownership of, economic resources contribute to sustainable and inclusive economic growth, prosperity, competitiveness, and the well-being of society.

6. The Parties affirm their commitment to adopt, maintain and implement effectively their gender equality laws, regulations, policies and best practices.

7. Each Party shall domestically promote public knowledge of its gender equality laws, regulations, policies and practices.

Article N bis-02: International Agreements

1. Each Party reaffirms its commitment to effectively implement the obligations under the Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women, adopted by the United Nations General Assembly on 18 December 1979.

2. Each Party reaffirms its commitment to implement the obligations under other international agreements addressing gender equality or women’s rights to which it is a party.

Article N bis-03: Cooperation Activities

1. The Parties acknowledge the benefit of sharing their respective experiences in designing, implementing, monitoring and strengthening policies and programs to encourage women’s participation in national and international economies.

2. Accordingly, the Parties shall carry out cooperation activities designed to improve the capacity and conditions for women, including workers, businesswomen and entrepreneurs, to access and fully benefit from the opportunities created by this Agreement. These activities shall be carried out with inclusive participation of women.

3. Cooperation activities shall be carried out on issues and topics agreed upon by the Parties through the interaction of their respective government institutions, businesses, labour unions, education and research organizations, other non-governmental organizations, and their representatives, as appropriate.

4. Areas of cooperation may include:

(a) developing programs to promote women’s full participation and advancement in society by encouraging capacity-building and skills enhancement of women at work, in business, and at senior levels in all sectors of society (including on corporate boards);

(b) improving women’s access to, and participation and leadership in, science, technology and innovation, including education in science, technology, engineering, mathematics and business;

(c) promoting financial inclusion and education as well as promoting access to financing and financial assistance;

(d) advancing women’s leadership and developing women’s networks;

(e) developing better practices to promote gender equality within enterprises;

(f) fostering women’s participation in decision-making positions in the public and private sectors;

(g) promoting female entrepreneurship;

(h) advancing care policies and programs with a gender and shared social responsibility perspective;

(i) conducting gender-based analysis;

(j) sharing methods and procedures for the collection of sex-disaggregated data, the use of indicators, and the analysis of gender-focused statistics related to trade; and

(k) other issues as agreed by the Parties.

5. The Parties may carry out activities in the cooperation areas set out in paragraph 4 through:

(a) workshops, seminars, dialogues and other forums for exchanging knowledge, experiences and best practices;

(b) internships, visits and research studies to document and study policies and practices;

(c) collaborative research and development of best practices in subject-matters of mutual interest;

(d) specific exchanges of specialized technical knowledge and technical assistance, as appropriate; and

(e) other activities as agreed by the Parties.

6. The priorities for cooperation activities shall be decided by the Parties based on their interests and available resources.

7. The Trade and Gender Committee may refer any proposed cooperation activities related to labour or labour market development to the Council established under the Agreement on Labour Cooperation or its successor, for its consideration.

Article N bis-04: Trade and Gender Committee

1. The Parties hereby establish a Trade and Gender Committee composed of representatives from each Party’s government institutions responsible for trade and gender.

2. The Committee shall:

(a) determine, organize and facilitate the cooperation activities under Article N bis-03;

(b) report to the Commission and make recommendations to the Commission on any matter related to this Chapter;

(c) facilitate the exchange of information on each Party’s experiences with respect to the establishment and implementation of policies and programs that address gender concerns in order to achieve the greatest possible benefit under this Agreement;

(d) facilitate the exchange of information on the Parties’ experiences and lessons learned through the cooperation activities carried out under Article N bis-03;

(e) discuss joint proposals to support policies on trade and gender;

(f) invite international donor institutions, private sector entities, non-governmental organizations, or other relevant institutions, as appropriate, to assist with the development and implementation of cooperation activities;

(g) consider matters related to the implementation and operation of this Chapter;

(h) at the request of a Party, consider and discuss any matter that may arise related to the interpretation and application of this Chapter; and

(i) carry out other duties as determined by the Parties.

3. The Committee shall meet annually and as otherwise agreed by the Parties, in person or by any other technological means available, to consider any matter arising under this Chapter.

4. The Committee and Parties may exchange information and coordinate activities by email, videoconference or other means of communication.

5. In the performance of its duties, the Committee may work with other committees, working groups and subsidiary bodies established under this Agreement, the Council established under the Agreement on Labour Cooperation or, as appropriate, the Council established under the Agreement on Environmental Cooperation. In the context of this work, the Committee shall encourage efforts by these committees, working groups, subsidiary bodies, and these Councils, to integrate gender-related commitments, considerations and activities into their work.

6. The Committee may request that the Commission refer work to be conducted under this Article to any other committees, working groups and other subsidiary bodies established under this Agreement, the Agreement on Labour Cooperation or its successor, or, as appropriate, the Agreement on Environmental Cooperation or its successor.

7. The Parties may decide to invite experts or relevant organizations to Committee meetings to provide information.

8. Within two years of the first meeting of the Committee, the Committee shall review the implementation of this Chapter and shall report to the Commission.

9. Each Party shall develop mechanisms to report publically on the activities developed under this Chapter.

10. To facilitate communication between the Parties regarding the implementation of this Chapter, each Party designates the following point of contact and shall promptly notify the other Party if there is any change in the point of contact identified below:

(a) for Chile, the General Directorate of International Economic Relations (“Dirección General de Relaciones Económicas Internacionales”) or its successor; and

(b) for Canada, the Trade Agreements and NAFTA Secretariat Division of the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development, or its successor.

Article N bis-05: Consultations

The Parties shall make all possible efforts, through dialogue, consultations and cooperation, to resolve any matter that may arise in regard to the interpretation and application of this Chapter.

Article N bis-06: Non-application of Dispute Resolution

A Party shall not avail itself of the dispute resolution mechanism provided for in Chapter N (Institutional Arrangements and Dispute Settlement Procedures) with respect to any matter arising under this Chapter.

Article N bis-07: Relation to the Agreement on Labour Cooperation

In the event of any inconsistency between this Chapter and the Agreement on Labour Cooperation or its successor, the Agreement on Labour Cooperation or its successor shall prevail to the extent of the inconsistency.

Article N bis-08: Definitions

For the purposes of this Chapter:

Agreement on Labour Cooperation means the Agreement on Labour Cooperation between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Republic of Chile, done at Ottawa on February 6, 1997; and

Agreement on Environmental Cooperation means the Agreement on Environmental Cooperation between the Government of Canada and the Government of the Republic of Chile, done at Ottawa on February 6, 1997.

 

Date Modified:

Appendice II – Chapitre N bis – Commerce et genre

Article N bis-01 : Dispositions générales

1. Les Parties reconnaissent l’importance d’intégrer une perspective de genre dans la promotion d’une croissance économique inclusive, ainsi que le rôle fondamental pouvant être joué par les politiques de sensibles au genre lorsqu’il s’agit d’assurer un développement socioéconomique durable. Une croissance économique inclusive vise à répartir les bienfaits qu’elle procure au sein de l’ensemble de la population, en garantissant que des possibilités équitables de participation soient offertes aux femmes et aux hommes dans le monde des affaires, dans l’industrie et sur le marché du travail.

2. Les Parties rappellent l’Objectif 5 du Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030 des Nations Unies, qui est de parvenir à l’égalité des sexes et d’autonomiser toutes les femmes et les filles. Les Parties réaffirment en outre l’importance de promouvoir des politiques et des pratiques qui favorisent l’égalité entre les sexes, et de renforcer leurs capacités dans ce domaine, y compris dans les secteurs non gouvernementaux, pour faire en sorte que les hommes et les femmes bénéficient des mêmes droits, du même traitement et des mêmes possibilités, et pour promouvoir l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l’égard des femmes.

3. Les Parties réaffirment les obligations contenues dans l’Accord de coopération dans le domaine du travail ou dans tout texte qui lui succèdera en ce qui a trait à l’égalité entre les sexes et à l’élimination de la discrimination fondée sur le sexe. Les Parties réaffirment en outre les engagements souscrits à l’article G-14bis tels qu’ils se rapportent au genre, y compris les engagements qui incombent aux Parties en vertu des Principes directeurs pour les entreprises multinationales de l’OCDE, de même que l’obligation de créer un point de contact national prévue par ces Lignes directrices.

4. Les Parties reconnaissent que le commerce et l’investissement internationaux sont des moteurs de la croissance économique et qu’un meilleur accès des femmes aux possibilités, y compris l’élimination des obstacles auxquels elles font face dans leurs pays, favorise une plus grande participation des femmes à l’économie nationale et internationale et contribue à un développement économique durable.

5. Les Parties reconnaissent également qu’une plus grande participation des femmes au marché du travail ainsi que l’indépendance économique et l’accès des femmes à des ressources économiques et à la propriété de ces ressources contribuent à une croissance économique, à une prospérité et à une compétitivité durables et inclusives et au bien-être de la société.

6. Les Parties s’engagent à adopter et à maintenir des lois, règlements, politiques et meilleures pratiques en matière d’égalité entre les sexes, et à en assurer une mise en œuvre effective.

7. Chaque Partie assurera à l’échelle nationale la sensibilisation du public à ses lois, règlements, politiques et meilleures pratiques en matière d’égalité entre les sexes.

Article N bis-02 : Accords internationaux

1. Chaque Partie réaffirme son engagement à mettre en œuvre de manière effective les obligations énoncées dans la Convention sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l’égard des femmes, adoptée par l’Assemblée générale des Nations Unies le 18 décembre 1979.

2. Chaque Partie réaffirme son engagement à mettre en œuvre les obligations qui lui incombent au titre d’autres accords internationaux sur l’égalité entre les sexes ou sur les droits des femmes auxquels elle est partie.

Article N bis-03 : Activités de coopération

1. Les Parties reconnaissent l’utilité de mettre en commun leurs expériences respectives en matière d’élaboration, de mise en œuvre, de suivi et de renforcement des politiques et des programmes visant à encourager la participation des femmes à l’économie nationale et internationale.

2. Par conséquent, les Parties réaliseront des activités de coopération visant à améliorer les capacités et les conditions en place afin de permettre aux femmes, y compris aux salariées, aux femmes d’affaires et aux femmes entrepreneures, d’accéder aux possibilités créées par le présent accord et de bénéficier pleinement de celles-ci. Ces activités seront réalisées d’une manière qui garantit la participation inclusive des femmes.

3. Les activités de coopération porteront sur les questions et sujets convenus entre les Parties par l’entremise de leurs institutions gouvernementales, entreprises, syndicats, établissements de recherche et d’éducation, autres organismes non gouvernementaux et représentants respectifs, selon le cas.

4. Les domaines de coopération peuvent comprendre :

a) l’élaboration de programmes visant à promouvoir la pleine participation et l’avancement des femmes dans la société en encourageant le renforcement des capacités et l’amélioration des compétences des femmes en milieu de travail, dans le monde des affaires et aux échelons supérieurs de tous les secteurs de la société (y compris au sein des conseils d’administration);

b) l’amélioration de l’accès, de la participation et du leadership des femmes dans le domaine des sciences, de la technologie et de l’innovation, y compris dans l’enseignement des sciences, de la technologie, de l’ingénierie, des mathématiques et des affaires;

c) la promotion de l’inclusion et de l’éducation financières ainsi que de l’accès au financement et à l’aide financière;

d) la promotion du leadership des femmes et le développement de leurs réseaux;

e) le développement de meilleures pratiques visant à promouvoir l’égalité entre les sexes au sein des entreprises;

f) la promotion de la participation des femmes à des postes décisionnels au sein des secteurs public et privé;

g) la promotion de l’entrepreneuriat des femmes;

h) la promotion de programmes et de politiques de soins conçus sur la base d’une perspective axée sur le genre et la responsabilité sociale commune;

i) la réalisation d’analyses comparatives entre les sexes;

j) l’échange de méthodes et procédures concernant la collecte de données ventilées par sexe, l’utilisation d’indicateurs et l’analyse de statistiques  ventilées par sexe, dans le domaine du commerce; et

k) d’autres questions convenues entre les Parties.

5. Les Parties peuvent réaliser des activités dans les domaines de coopération décrits au paragraphe 4 par les moyens suivants :

a) ateliers, séminaires, dialogues et autres tribunes leur permettant d’échanger leurs connaissances, expériences et meilleures pratiques;

b) stages, visites et études de recherche permettant de documenter et d’étudier les politiques et pratiques;

c) travaux concertés de recherche et d’élaboration des meilleures pratiques sur des sujets d’intérêt commun;

d) échanges spécifiques de connaissances techniques spécialisées et  assistance technique, au besoin; et

e) autres activités convenues entre les Parties.

6. Les priorités en matière d’activités de coopération seront arrêtées par les Parties en fonction de leurs intérêts et des ressources dont elles disposent.

7. Le Comité du commerce et du genre peut soumettre toute activité de coopération proposée en lien avec le travail ou le développement du marché du travail à l’examen du Conseil établi en vertu de l’Accord de coopération dans le domaine du travail, ou de tout autre texte qui lui succédera.

Article N bis-04 : Comité du commerce et du genre

1. Les Parties établissent un Comité du commerce et du genre composé des représentants des institutions gouvernementales de chaque Partie responsables du commerce et des questions relatives au genre.

2. Le Comité :

a) déterminera, organisera et facilitera les activités de coopération visées à l’article N bis-03;

b) rendra compte à la Commission et lui adressera des recommandations sur toute question liée au présent chapitre;

c) facilitera l’échange d’informations portant sur l’expérience de chaque Partie quant à l’établissement et à la mise en œuvre de politiques et de programmes qui traitent des problèmes liés au genre, et ce, dans le but de maximiser les avantages procurés par le présent accord;

d) facilitera l’échange d’informations concernant les expériences acquises et les leçons tirées par les Parties dans le cadre des activités de coopération réalisées en application de l’article N bis-03;

e) discutera des propositions conjointes visant à appuyer les politiques concernant le commerce et le genre;

f) sollicitera l’aide d’institutions donatrices internationales, d’entités du secteur privé, d’organisations non gouvernementales ou de toute autre institution concernée, selon le cas, en vue de l’élaboration et de la mise en œuvre des activités de coopération;

g) examinera les questions liées à la mise en œuvre et au fonctionnement du présent chapitre;

h) examinera, à la demande d’une Partie, toute question susceptible d’être soulevée par l’interprétation et l’application du présent chapitre et en discute; et

i) s’acquittera des autres fonctions qui lui sont confiées par les Parties.

3. Le Comité se réunira tous les ans et à d’autres moments convenus entre les Parties, en personne ou par tout autre moyen technologique à sa disposition, pour examiner toute question découlant du présent chapitre.

4. Le Comité et les Parties peuvent échanger des informations et coordonner leurs activités par courrier électronique, vidéoconférence ou d’autres moyens de communication.

5. Dans l’exécution de ses fonctions, le Comité peut collaborer avec d’autres comités, groupes de travail et organes subsidiaires établis en application du présent accord, avec le Conseil établi en vertu de l’Accord de coopération dans le domaine du travail ou, s’il y a lieu, avec le Conseil établi en vertu de l’Accord de coopération environnementale. Dans le cadre de cette collaboration, le Comité encouragera ces comités, groupes de travail, organes subsidiaires et Conseils à s’efforcer d’intégrer dans leurs travaux des engagements, considérations et activités liés au genre.

6. Le Comité peut demander à la Commission de confier les travaux devant être réalisés au titre du présent article à tout autre comité, groupe de travail ou autre organe subsidiaire établis en vertu du présent accord, de l’Accord de coopération dans le domaine du travail ou de tout autre texte qui lui succédera, ou, s’il y a lieu, de l’Accord de coopération environnementale ou de tout autre texte qui lui succédera.

7. Les Parties peuvent décider d’inviter des experts ou des organisations compétentes à assister aux réunions du Comité pour fournir des renseignements.

8. Dans les deux ans suivant sa première réunion, le Comité examinera la mise en œuvre du présent chapitre et fera rapport à la Commission.

9. Chaque Partie élaborera des mécanismes visant à informer le public des activités développées au titre du présent chapitre.

10. Pour faciliter la communication entre les Parties concernant la mise en œuvre du présent chapitre, chacune d’entre elles désigne le point de contact identifié ci-après et notifiera promptement à l’autre Partie tout changement s’y rapportant :

a) pour le Chili, la Direction générale des relations économiques internationales (« Dirección General de Relaciones Económicas Internacionales ») ou son successeur; et

b) pour le Canada, la Direction des accords commerciaux et de l’ALÉNA du ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement, ou son successeur.

Article N bis-05 : Consultations

Les Parties déploieront tous les efforts possibles, par le dialogue, les consultations et la coopération, pour résoudre toute question pouvant être soulevée par l’interprétation et l’application du présent chapitre.

Article N bis-06 : Non-application des dispositions sur le règlement des différends

Une Partie ne pourra pas se prévaloir du mécanisme de règlement des différends prévu au Chapitre N (Dispositions institutionnelles et procédures de règlement des différends) à l’égard des questions relevant du présent chapitre.

Article N bis-07 : Relation avec l’Accord de coopération dans le domaine du travail

En cas d’incompatibilité entre le présent chapitre et l’Accord de coopération dans le domaine du travail ou tout autre texte qui lui succédera, l’Accord de coopération dans le domaine du travail ou le texte qui lui succédera l’emportera dans la mesure de l’incompatibilité.

Article N bis-08 : Définitions

Pour l’application du présent chapitre :

Accord de coopération dans le domaine du travail s’entend de l’Accord de coopération dans le domaine du travail entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement de la République du Chili, fait à Ottawa le 6 février 1997; et

Accord de coopération environnementale s’entend de l’Accord de coopération dans le domaine de l’environnement entre le Gouvernement du Canada et le Gouvernement de la République du Chili, fait à Ottawa le 6 février 1997.

Date de modification: