Language selection

Search

Appendix II

Chapter C ter
Technical Barriers to Trade

Article C ter-01: Scope

1. 

(a)  This Chapter applies to the preparation, adoption and application of standards, technical regulations, and conformity assessment procedures of any national and provincial government body that may affect the trade in goods between the Parties.

(b)  Each Party shall take reasonable measures as may be available to it to ensure compliance by provincial government bodies with this Chapter.

2.  This Chapter does not apply to:

(a)  a purchasing specification prepared by a governmental body for production or consumption requirements of such bodies; or

(b)  sanitary and phytosanitary measures.

Article C ter-02: Incorporation of the TBT Agreement

The TBT Agreement, excluding Articles 10, 11, 12, 13, 14. 1, 14. 4 and 15, is hereby incorporated into and made part of this Chapter, mutatis mutandis.

Article C ter-03: Joint Cooperation

1. The Parties shall strengthen their joint cooperation in the areas of technical regulations, standards, and conformity assessment procedures in order to facilitate trade between the Parties.  In particular, the Parties shall seek to identify bilateral initiatives that are appropriate for particular issues or sectors, including initiatives for cooperation on:

(a) convergence or equivalence of technical regulations and standards;

(b) alignment with international standards;

(c) reliance on a supplier’s declaration of conformity; and

(d) accreditation of conformity assessment bodies of the Parties, as well as cooperation between conformity assessment bodies.

2. The Parties recognize that a wide range of mechanisms exist to support regulatory harmonization and to eliminate unnecessary technical barriers to trade between the Parties, including mechanisms that promote:

(a) regulatory dialogue and cooperation to, inter alia:

(i) exchange information on regulatory approaches and practices;

(ii) develop good regulatory practices to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of technical regulations, standards, and conformity assessment procedures;

(iii) provide technical advice to the other Party on mutually agreed terms and conditions, on the improvement of practices related to the development, implementation and review of technical regulations, standards, conformity assessment procedures and metrology; or

(iv) build capacity and support for the implementation of this Chapter on mutually agreed terms and conditions;

(b) harmonization of national standards with relevant international standards, except where inappropriate or ineffective; 

(c) greater use of relevant international standards, guides, and recommendations as the basis for the Parties’ respective technical regulations and conformity assessment procedures; and

(d) equivalence of technical regulations of the other Party.

3. The Parties shall seek to strengthen their exchange of information and collaboration on mechanisms that facilitate the acceptance of conformity assessment results, to support greater regulatory harmonization and to eliminate unnecessary technical barriers to trade.

4. At the request of a Party, the other Party shall give favourable consideration to any reasonable sector-specific proposal the Party makes for cooperation under this Chapter.

5. The Parties shall encourage cooperation between their respective bodies, including both public and private bodies that are responsible for standardization, conformity assessment, and accreditation, with a view to addressing issues related to this Chapter.

Article C ter-04: International Standards

In determining whether an international standard, guide, or recommendation exists within the meaning of Articles 2 or 5 or Annex 3 of the TBT Agreement, each Party shall consider the principles set out in the Decisions and Recommendations adopted by the WTO Committee on Technical Barriers to Trade since January 1, 1995 (G/TBT/1/Rev. 12, January 21, 2015) , or a successor document issued by the WTO Committee on Technical Barriers to Trade.

Article C ter-05: Technical Regulations

1. If a Party does not accept a technical regulation of the other Party as equivalent to its own, it shall provide the reason for its decision to the other Party at that Party’s request.

2. If a Party detains at a port of entry a good that is imported from the territory of the other Party on the basis that the good may not comply with a technical regulation, it shall notify, without undue delay, the importer of the reasons for the detention of the good.

Article C ter-06: Conformity Assessment

1. The Parties recognize that there is a broad range of mechanisms to facilitate the acceptance in the Party’s territory of the results of conformity assessment procedures that are conducted in the other Party’s territory.  These mechanisms may include:

(a) the reliance by the importing Party on a supplier’s declaration of conformity;

(b) voluntary arrangements between conformity assessment bodies to accept the results of each other’s assessment procedures when the bodies are located in the territory of the other Party;

(c) accreditation procedures for qualifying conformity assessment bodies that are located in the territory of the other Party;

(d) designation of conformity assessment bodies that are located in the territory of the other Party; and

(e) recognition of the results of conformity assessment procedures that are conducted in the territory of the other Party.

2. Further to Article 6. 4 of the TBT Agreement, each Party shall accord to conformity assessment bodies located in the territory of the other Party treatment no less favourable than that accorded to bodies located in its own territory or the territory of a non-Party.  In order to ensure that it accords such treatment, each Party shall apply to conformity assessment bodies located in the territory of the other Party the same or equivalent procedures, criteria and other conditions that it applies where it accredits, approves, licenses or otherwise recognizes conformity assessment bodies located in its own territory.

3. Paragraph 2 does not preclude a Party from undertaking conformity assessment of specific products solely by government bodies located in its own territory or in the other Party’s territory, nor from verifying the results of conformity assessment procedures undertaken by conformity assessment bodies located outside its territory.

4. If a Party undertakes a conformity assessment procedure pursuant to paragraph 3 and pursuant to Articles 5. 2 and 5. 4 of the TBT Agreement concerning limitation on information requirements, the protection of legitimate commercial interests, and the adequacy of review procedures, the Party shall, at the request of the other Party, explain:

(a) why the information required is necessary to assess conformity and determine fees;

(b) how the Party ensures that the confidentiality of the information is respected in a manner that ensures that legitimate commercial interests are protected; and

(c) the procedure to review complaints concerning the operation of the conformity assessment procedure and to take corrective action if a complaint is justified.

5. Further to Article 5. 2. 5 of the TBT Agreement, each Party shall limit any conformity assessment fees imposed by the Party to the approximate cost of the services rendered to do the assessment.

6. Further to Article 9. 1 of the TBT Agreement, the Parties shall:

(a) consider adopting provisions for accreditation bodies to approve conformity assessment bodies that are signatory to an international or regional mutual recognition arrangement or agreement; and

(b) recognize that such arrangements or agreements can address the key considerations for the approval of conformity assessment bodies, including technical competence, independence, and the avoidance of conflict of interest.

7. If a Party accredits, approves, licenses or otherwise recognizes a body that assesses conformity with a specific technical regulation or standard in its territory and that Party refuses to accredit, approve, license or otherwise recognize a body that assesses conformity with that technical regulation or standard in the territory of the other Party, it shall, on request of the other Party, provide the reasons for its decision.

8. If a Party does not accept the results of a conformity assessment procedure that is conducted in the territory of the other Party it shall, on request of that other Party, provide the reasons for its decision.

9. Further to Article 6. 3 of the TBT Agreement, if a Party declines the other Party’s request to engage in negotiations or to conclude an arrangement or agreement for mutual recognition of the results of the other Party’s conformity assessment procedures it shall, on the request of the other Party, provide the reasons for its decision.

Article C ter-07: Transparency

1. The obligations in this Article supplement those set out in Chapter L (Publication, Notification and Administration of Laws) .  In the event of an inconsistency between this Article and the obligations in Chapter L, this Article prevails.

2. A Party shall ensure that transparency procedures for the development of technical regulations and conformity assessment procedures allow an interested person to participate at an early appropriate stage, when amendments can still be introduced and comments taken into account, except when urgent problems of safety, health, environmental protection, or national security arise or threaten to arise.  If a consultation process of a Party for the development of technical regulations and conformity assessment procedures is open to the public, each Party shall permit a person of the other Party to participate on terms no less favourable than those accorded to its own persons.

3. A Party shall recommend to standardization bodies in its territory to observe paragraph 2 with respect to the consultation processes for the development of a standard or voluntary conformity assessment procedure.

4. A Party shall allow a period of at least 60 days following its notification to the WTO’s Central Registry of Notifications of proposed technical regulations and conformity assessment procedures for the public and the other Party to provide written comments, except where urgent problems of safety, health, environmental protection or national security arise or threaten to arise.

5. A Party shall, at the request of the other Party, provide information regarding the objectives of, and rationale for, a technical regulation or conformity assessment procedure that the Party has adopted or is proposing to adopt.

6. A Party shall ensure that its adopted technical regulations and conformity assessment procedures are posted on official websites that are publicly accessible without charge.

7. A Party shall provide to the other Party, in print or electronic form, any information or reason requested by that Party pursuant to the provisions of this Chapter within a reasonable time.  A Party shall endeavour to respond to a request by the other Party within 60 days. 

Article C ter-08: Committee on Technical Barriers to Trade

1. The Parties hereby establish the Committee on Technical Barriers to Trade (the “Committee”)  composed of representatives of each Party as follows:

(a) for Chile, the General Directorate of International Economic Relations, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, or its successor; and

(b) for Canada, the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development, or its successor.

2. The Committee’s functions shall include:

(a) monitoring the implementation and administration of this Chapter;

(b) promptly addressing any issue that a Party raises under this Chapter or the TBT Agreement related to the development, adoption or application of technical regulations, standards, or conformity assessment procedures;

(c) as appropriate, establishing regulatory cooperation initiatives which may include specific sectoral sub-committees with the goal of enhancing mutual understanding and facilitating trade between the Parties;

(d) overseeing enhancement of joint cooperation in the development and improvement of technical regulations, standards, and conformity assessment procedures, as outlined in Article C ter-03(1) ;

(e) exchanging information regarding technical regulations, standards, and conformity assessment procedures;

(f) at a Party’s written request, managing consultations on any matter arising under this Chapter;

(g) reviewing this Chapter in the light of any developments under the TBT Agreement;

(h) taking other steps that the Parties consider will assist them in implementing this Chapter or the TBT Agreement, and in facilitating trade between the Parties; and

(i) developing and maintaining a list of arrangements or agreements referred to in Article C ter-06(6) .

3. Consultations under subparagraph 2

(f)  constitute consultations under Article N-06 (Consultations)  of Chapter N (Institutional Arrangements and Dispute Settlement Procedures)  and are governed by the procedures set out in Section II (Dispute Settlement)  of that Chapter.

4. The Committee shall meet as required in order to fulfill its functions as they relate to this Chapter.

5. The representatives of the Committee may communicate by electronic mail, video conference or other means as determined by the Parties.

Article C ter-09: Definitions

1. For the purposes of this Chapter, TBT Agreement means the Agreement on Technical Barriers to Trade contained in Annex 1A to the WTO Agreement.

2. Except where this Agreement, including the incorporated provisions of the TBT Agreement pursuant to Article C ter-02, defines or gives a meaning to specific terms, the general terms applying to standardization and conformity assessment procedures shall normally have the meaning given to them by definitions adopted within the United Nations system and by international standardizing bodies, taking into account their context and in the light of the object and purpose of this Agreement.

Annex C ter-01

Icewine

A Party shall permit wine to be labeled as “Icewine”, “ice wine”, “ice-wine” or a similar variation of those terms only if the wine is made exclusively from grapes naturally frozen on the vine.

Annex C ter-02

Organic Products

Scope

1. For the purposes of this Annex, organic products are:

(a) food and drink intended for human consumption and food intended to feed livestock, including agricultural crops used for those purposes; and

(b) certified under the current certification system of each Party.

Objectives

2. The objectives of this Annex, consistent with Articles C ter-03 and C ter-06, are to:

(a) facilitate trade in organic products between the Parties; and

(b) strengthen communication and cooperation between the Parties relating to organic products.

3. Each Party, through its competent authority, shall continue to work towards determining the equivalency of the other Party’s organic certification system with its own.  In that regard, a Party shall consider any changes to its existing organic certification system.  A Party shall notify the other Party of any change to its organic certification system in conformity with Article C ter-07.

Communication on Organics Issues

4. The Parties may:

(a) exchange information on matters relating to the certification of organic products and related control systems;

(b) cooperate with each other to develop, improve and strengthen international guidelines, standards and recommendations related to trade in organic products;

(c) request information on the other Party’s progress towards the determination of the equivalency of the other Party's organic certification system; and

(d) address other work that is within the scope of this Annex to be decided by the Committee on Technical Barriers to Trade.

Competent Authorities

5.

(a) Chile shall recognize that the Canadian Food Inspection Agency of the Government of Canada, or its successor, is the competent authority responsible for the oversight of the certification of organic products in Canada.

(b) Canada shall recognize that the Agriculture and Livestock Service of the Ministry of Agriculture of the Government of the Republic of Chile, or its successor, is the competent authority in charge of the certification system of organic products.

 

Report a problem on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, please contact us.

Date Modified:

Appendice II

Chapitre C ter
Obstacles techniques au commerce

Article C ter-01 : Portée

1.

a) Le présent chapitre s’applique à l’élaboration, à l’adoption et à l’application des normes, règlements techniques et procédures d’évaluation de la conformité de toute institution gouvernementale nationale ou provinciale qui peuvent avoir un effet sur le commerce de produits entre les Parties.

b) Chacune des Parties prendra les mesures raisonnables dont elle dispose pour faire en sorte que les institutions gouvernementales provinciales se conforment au présent chapitre.

2. Le présent chapitre ne s’applique pas

a) aux spécifications en matière d’achat qui sont élaborées par des institutions gouvernementales pour leurs propres besoins de production ou de consommation; ou

b) aux mesures sanitaires et phytosanitaires.

Article C ter-02 : Intégration de l’Accord OTC

L’Accord OTC, à l’exception des articles 10, 11, 12, 13, 14.1, 14.4 et 15, est par la présente intégré au présent chapitre et en fait partie, avec les adaptations nécessaires.

Article C ter-03 : Coopération conjointe

1. Les Parties renforceront leur coopération conjointe dans les domaines des règlements techniques, des normes et des procédures d’évaluation de la conformité en vue de faciliter le commerce entre elles. Plus particulièrement, les Parties s’efforceront de définir des initiatives bilatérales qui sont appropriées au regard de questions ou de secteurs particuliers, y compris les initiatives de coopération sur ce qui suit :

a) la convergence ou l’équivalence de règlements techniques et de normes;

b) l’harmonisation avec les normes internationales;

c) la possibilité de se fier à la déclaration de conformité d’un fournisseur; et

d) l’accréditation des organismes d’évaluation de la conformité des Parties, ainsi que la coopération entre ceux-ci.

2. Les Parties reconnaissent l’existence d’une vaste gamme de mécanismes servant à appuyer l’harmonisation des réglementations et à éliminer entre les Parties les obstacles techniques au commerce qui sont inutiles, y compris les mécanismes qui encouragent ce qui suit :

a) le dialogue et la coopération relatifs à la réglementation visant notamment les objectifs suivants, entre autres :

i) échanger des renseignements sur les méthodes et pratiques de réglementation,

ii) élaborer de bonnes pratiques de réglementaires en vue d’améliorer l’efficience et l’efficacité des règlements techniques, des normes et des procédures d’évaluation de la conformité,

iii) fournir à l’autre Partie des conseils techniques en ce qui concerne les modalités mutuellement convenues et l’amélioration des pratiques relatives à l’élaboration, à la mise en œuvre et à l’examen des règlements techniques, des normes, des procédures d’évaluation de la conformité et de la métrologie; ou

iv) renforcer la capacité et l’appui en ce qui concerne la mise en œuvre du présent chapitre en ce qui concerne les modalités mutuellement convenues;

b) l’harmonisation des normes nationales avec les normes internationales applicables, sauf dans les cas où cela serait inapproprié ou inefficace;

c) l’utilisation accrue des normes, recommandations et guides internationaux applicables comme base pour les règlements techniques et les procédures d’évaluation de la conformité respectifs des Parties; et

d) l’équivalence des règlements techniques de l’autre Partie.

3. Les Parties s’efforceront de renforcer leurs échanges de renseignements et leur collaboration en ce qui concerne les mécanismes qui facilitent l’acceptation des résultats des évaluations de la conformité, en vue d’appuyer une harmonisation accrue des réglementations et d’éliminer les obstacles techniques au commerce qui sont inutiles.

4. Une Partie envisagera positivement toute proposition raisonnable propre à un secteur faite par l’autre Partie afin d’accroître la coopération dans le cadre du présent chapitre.

5. Les Parties encourageront la coopération entre leurs institutions respectives, y compris les institutions publiques et privées qui sont responsables de la normalisation, de l’évaluation de la conformité et de l’accréditation, en vue de la résolution des questions relatives au présent chapitre.

Article C ter-04 : Normes internationales

Pour déterminer s’il existe une norme, une recommandation ou un guide international au sens des articles 2 ou 5 ou de l’annexe 3 de l’Accord OTC, chacune des Parties prendra en considération les principes énoncés dans les Décisions et recommandations adoptées par le Comité des obstacles techniques au commerce de l’OMC depuis le 1er janvier 1995, G/TBT/1/Rev.12, 21 janvier 2015, ou tout document de remplacement publié par le Comité des obstacles techniques au commerce de l’OMC.

Article Cter-05 : Règlements techniques

1. La Partie qui n’accepte pas un règlement technique de l’autre Partie comme équivalent au sien expliquera à l’autre Partie, à la demande de cette dernière, les motifs de sa décision.

2. La Partie qui retient à un point d’entrée un produit importé du territoire de l’autre Partie au motif qu’il est possible que le produit ne soit pas conforme à un règlement technique avisera, sans délai injustifié, l’importateur des motifs de la rétention du produit.

Article C ter-06 : Évaluation de la conformité

1. Les Parties reconnaissent qu’il existe un vaste éventail de mécanismes permettant de faciliter l’acceptation, sur le territoire d’une Partie, des résultats des procédures d’évaluation de la conformité menées sur le territoire de l’autre Partie. Ces mécanismes peuvent comprendre :

a) la confiance de la Partie importatrice à l’égard de la déclaration de conformité d’un fournisseur;

b) des arrangements volontaires, entre organismes d’évaluation de la conformité, prévoyant l’acceptation par chaque organisme des résultats des procédures d’évaluation de la conformité de l’autre organisme, quand les organismes sont situés sur le territoire de l’autre Partie;

c) des procédures d’accréditation pour les organismes d’évaluation de la conformité qui sont situés sur le territoire de l’autre Partie;

d) la désignation d’organismes d’évaluation de la conformité situés sur le territoire de l’autre Partie; et

e) la reconnaissance des résultats des procédures d’évaluation de la conformité menées sur le territoire de l’autre Partie.

2. En complément à l’article 6.4 de l’Accord OTC, chacune des Parties accordera aux organismes d’évaluation de la conformité situés sur le territoire de l’autre Partie un traitement non moins favorable que celui accordé aux organismes situés sur son propre territoire ou sur le territoire d’une non-Partie. Afin d’accorder un tel traitement, chacune des Parties appliquera aux organismes d’évaluation de la conformité situés sur le territoire de l’autre Partie les mêmes procédures, critères et autres conditions (ou l’équivalent) que ceux qui sont appliqués lorsqu’elle accrédite, approuve, autorise ou reconnaît de quelque façon que ce soit les organismes d’évaluation de la conformité situés sur son propre territoire.

3. Le paragraphe 2 n’empêche pas une Partie d’entreprendre une évaluation de la conformité de produits particuliers que par des organismes gouvernementaux situés sur son propre territoire ou sur le territoire de l’autre Partie, ni de vérifier les résultats de procédures d’évaluation de la conformité entreprises par des organismes d’évaluation de la conformité situés à l’extérieur de son territoire.

4. La Partie qui entreprend une procédure d’évaluation de la conformité, conformément au paragraphe 3 et aux articles 5.2 et 5.4 de l’Accord OTC, concernant les limites des demandes de renseignements, la protection des intérêts commerciaux légitimes et l’adéquation des procédures fournira à l’autre Partie, sur demande, les explications suivantes :

a) la raison pour laquelle les renseignements demandés sont nécessaires pour évaluer la conformité et déterminer les frais;

b) la façon selon laquelle elle veille au respect de la confidentialité des renseignements d’une manière qui assure la protection des intérêts commerciaux légitimes; et

c) la procédure utilisée pour examiner des plaintes concernant l’application de la procédure d’évaluation de la conformité et pour exercer des actions correctives quand une plainte est justifiée.

5. En complément à l’article 5.2.5 de l’Accord OTC, chacune des Parties limitera les frais d’évaluation de la conformité qu’elle impose au coût approximatif des services rendus pour procéder à l’évaluation.

6. En complément à l’article 9.1 de l’Accord OTC, les Parties :

a) envisageront l’adoption de dispositions permettant aux organismes d’accréditation d’approuver les organismes d’évaluation de la conformité signataires d’une entente ou d’un accord de reconnaissance mutuelle sur le plan régionale ou internationale; et

b) reconnaîtront que de tels ententes ou accords peuvent constituer une solution aux principales considérations relatives à l’approbation d’organismes d’évaluation de la conformité, y compris la compétence technique, l’indépendance et la prévention des conflits d’intérêts.

7. La Partie qui accrédite, approuve, autorise ou reconnaît de quelque façon que ce soit un organisme qui évalue la conformité à un règlement technique précis ou à une norme précise sur son territoire et qui refuse d’accréditer, d’approuver, d’autoriser ou de reconnaître de quelque façon que ce soit un organisme qui évalue la conformité à ce règlement ou à cette norme sur le territoire de l’autre Partie expliquera, à la demande de l’autre Partie, les motifs de sa décision.

8. La Partie qui n’accepte pas les résultats d’une procédure d’évaluation de la conformité menée sur le territoire de l’autre Partie expliquera, à la demande de l’autre Partie, les motifs de sa décision.

9. En complément à l’article 6.3 de l’Accord OTC, la Partie qui refuse la demande de l’autre Partie de prendre part à des négociations ou de conclure une entente ou un accord de reconnaissance mutuelle des résultats des procédures d’évaluation de la conformité de l’autre Partie expliquera, à la demande de l’autre Partie, les motifs de sa décision.

Article C ter-07 : Transparence

1. Les obligations contenues dans le présent article s’ajoutent à celles énoncées au chapitre L (Publication, notification et application des lois). En cas d’incompatibilité entre les obligations du présent article et celles énoncées au chapitre L, le présent article a préséance.

2. Une Partie fera en sorte que les procédures de transparence concernant l’élaboration de règlements techniques et de procédures d’évaluation de la conformité permettent aux personnes intéressées de participer au processus de consultation suffisamment tôt, lorsque des modifications peuvent encore être apportées et que les observations peuvent encore être prises en compte, sauf lorsque des problèmes urgents de sécurité, de santé, de protection de l’environnement ou de sécurité nationale se posent ou menacent de se poser. Si un processus de consultation concernant l’élaboration de règlements techniques et de procédures d’évaluation de la conformité qui est mené par une des Parties est ouvert au public, chacune des Parties permettra aux personnes de l’autre Partie d’y participer à des conditions non moins favorables que celles accordées à ses propres personnes.

3. Une Partie recommandera aux organismes de normalisation situés sur son territoire d’observer le paragraphe 2 dans le cadre des processus de consultation en vue de l’élaboration d’une norme et d’une procédure d’évaluation de la conformité volontaire.

4. Une Partie accordera une période d’au moins 60 jours suivant la notification au Répertoire central des notifications de l’OMC de ses propositions de règlements techniques et de procédures d’évaluation de la conformité pour permettre au public et à l’autre Partie de présenter leurs observations par écrit, sauf lorsque des problèmes urgents de sécurité, de santé, de protection de l’environnement ou de sécurité nationale se posent ou menacent de se poser.

5. Une Partie communiquera, à la demande de l’autre Partie, des renseignements concernant les objectifs et la justification du règlement technique ou de la procédure d’évaluation de la conformité qu’elle a adopté ou qu’elle se propose d’adopter.

6. Une Partie fera en sorte que les règlements techniques et les procédures d’évaluation de la conformité qu’elle adopte soient affichés sur des sites Web officiels qui sont gratuitement accessibles au public.

7. Une Partie fournira à l’autre Partie, sous forme imprimée ou électronique et dans un délai raisonnable, les renseignements ou justifications demandés par l’autre Partie conformément aux dispositions du présent chapitre. Une Partie s’efforcera de répondre à une demande de l’autre Partie dans un délai de 60 jours.

Article C ter-08 : Comité des obstacles techniques au commerce

1. Les Parties créent par le présent article le Comité des obstacles techniques au commerce (le « Comité »), qui se compose de représentants de chacune des Parties à savoir :

a) pour le Chili, la Direction générale des Relations commerciales internationales, Ministère des Affaires étrangères ou son successeur; et

b) pour le Canada : le ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement ou son successeur.

2. Le Comité remplira les fonctions suivantes :

a) surveiller la mise en œuvre et l’application du présent chapitre;

b) traiter rapidement toute question soulevée par une Partie à l’égard du présent chapitre ou de l’Accord OTC en ce qui concerne l’élaboration, l’adoption ou l’application de règlements techniques, de normes ou de procédures d’évaluation de la conformité;

c) s’il y a lieu, établir des initiatives de coopération en matière de réglementation, lesquelles peuvent comprendre des sous-comités sectoriels particuliers ayant pour but d’améliorer la compréhension mutuelle et de faciliter le commerce entre les Parties;

d) superviser l’amélioration de la coopération conjointe en ce qui concerne l’élaboration et l’amélioration des règlements techniques, des normes et des procédures d’évaluation de la conformité, selon ce qui est prévu à l’article C ter-03(1);

e) échanger des renseignements sur des règlements techniques, des normes et des procédures d’évaluation de la conformité;

f) gérer des consultations portant sur toute question découlant du présent chapitre, sur demande écrite d’une Partie;

g) revoir le présent chapitre en tenant compte de tout élément nouveau relatif à l’Accord OTC;

h) entreprendre d’autres démarches qui, selon les Parties, aideront à la mise en œuvre du présent chapitre ou de l’Accord OTC et faciliteront le commerce entre les Parties; et

i) élaborer et maintenir une liste des ententes ou accords mentionnées à l’article C ter-06(6).

3. Les consultations mentionnées à l’alinéa 2f) sont des consultations au sens de la l’article N‑06 (Consultations) du Chapitre N (Dispositions institutionnelles et procédures de règlement des différends) et sont assujetties aux procédures établies dans Section II (Règlement des différends) de ce chapitre.

4. Le Comité se réunira au besoin pour exercer ses fonctions qui se rapportent au présent chapitre.

5. Les représentants du Comité peuvent communiquer par courrier électronique, par vidéoconférence ou par tout autre moyen selon ce que décident les Parties.

Article C ter-09 : Définitions

1. Aux fins du présent chapitre, Accord OTC désigne l’Accord sur les obstacles techniques au commerce figurant à l’annexe 1A de l’Accord sur l’OMC.

2. Sauf dans les cas où le présent accord, y compris les dispositions intégrées de l’Accord OTC conformément à l’article C ter-02, définit des termes particuliers ou leur donne un sens, les termes généraux relatifs à la normalisation et aux procédures d’évaluation de la conformité auront habituellement le sens qui leur est donné dans les définitions adoptées par les Nations Unies et par les organismes de normalisation internationaux, compte tenu de leur contexte ainsi que de l’objet et des fins du présent accord.

Annexe C ter-01

Vin de glace

Une Partie ne permettra que le vin soit étiqueté « vin de glace », ou qu’il porte une désignation semblable, que s’il est produit exclusivement à partir de raisins ayant gelé naturellement sur la vigne.

Annexe C ter-02

Produits biologiques

Portée

1. Pour l’application de la présente annexe, les produits biologiques sont :

a) des aliments et boissons destinés à la consommation humaine et des aliments destinés au bétail, y compris les cultures agricoles utilisées à ces fins; et

b) certifiés conformément au système actuel de certification de chacune des Parties.

Objectifs

2. Conformément aux articles C ter-03 et C ter-06, la présente annexe a les objectifs suivants :

a) faciliter le commerce de produits biologiques entre les Parties; et

b) renforcer la communication et la coopération entre les Parties en ce qui concerne les produits biologiques.

3. Chacune des Parties, par l’intermédiaire de son autorité compétente, continuera de s’efforcer de déterminer les équivalences entre le système de certification des produits biologiques de l’autre Partie et le sien. À cet effet, une Partie envisagera d’apporter des changements à son système de certification des produits biologiques. Une Partie avisera l’autre Partie de tout changement apporté à son système de certification des produits biologiques, conformément à l’article C ter-07.

Communication sur les questions relatives aux produits biologiques

4. Les Parties peuvent :

a) échanger des renseignements sur des questions relatives à la certification de produits biologiques et sur les systèmes de contrôle connexes;

b) coopérer entre elles pour élaborer, améliorer et renforcer les lignes directrices, normes et recommandations internationales relatives au commerce de produits biologiques;

c) demander à l’autre Partie des renseignements sur les progrès réalisés en ce qui concerne la définition d’équivalents entre les systèmes de certification des produits biologiques; et

d) demander que des travaux relevant du champ d’application de la présente annexe fassent l’objet d’une décision du Comité des obstacles techniques au commerce.

Autorités compétentes

5.

a) Le Chili reconnaîtra que l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments du gouvernement du Canada, ou son successeur, est l’autorité compétente responsable de la surveillance de la certification des produits biologiques au Canada.

b) Le Canada reconnaîtra que le Service de l’agriculture et du bétail du ministère de l’Agriculture du gouvernement de la République du Chili, ou son successeur, est l’autorité compétente chargée du système de certification des produits biologiques.

 

Date de modification: