Language selection



The Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) is a free trade agreement in force between Canada and 10 other countries in the Indo-Pacific region: Australia, Brunei, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam. On July 16, 2023, CPTPP Parties signed an Accession Protocol with the United Kingdom. The CPTPP will enter into force for the U.K. once all CPTPP members and the U.K. complete their respective ratification processes. If all members have not ratified by October 16, 2024, the Accession Protocol will enter into force after 6 CPTPP members and the U.K. ratify the Agreement.

CPTPP explained

Find out all you need to know about CPTPP, what it includes and how it supports the growth of Canadian businesses in the Indo-Pacific.

Access trade statistics

Get facts and figures on how CPTPP is increasing trade between Canada and the Indo-Pacific.

View the timeline

Review key negotiation and entry into force milestones.

Read about CPTPP benefits for provinces and territories

Learn how CPTPP benefits your province or territory.

Read the Agreement

Consult the full Agreement, chapter summaries and side letter agreements.

CPTPP developments

Follow the latest, including meetings of the CPTPP Commission, public consultations on CPTPP accessions, and the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership Implementation Act.

Find other agreements

Canada currently has 15 ratified free trade agreements with 51 countries, giving Canadian businesses preferential access to 1.5 billion consumers worldwide.

Learn about investing in Canada

Discover the benefits that make Canada so attractive to investors from the Indo-Pacific, including investor protection, reduced tariffs and increased market access.

Date Modified: