What does the CPTPP mean for temporary entry? 

Summary/overview

Business people sometimes face obstacles at the border that affect their ability to enter another market to engage in trade and investment activities. Temporary entry provisions in free trade agreements (FTAs), such as those in the CPTPP, eliminate many barriers encountered at the border and thereby facilitate business travel or relocation on a temporary basis for specific categories of business persons. Removal of these barriers—which can negatively affect the ability of Canadian enterprises to do business—helps Canadian companies expand and thrive.

Temporary entry in the CPTPP

Key CPTPP provisions

Canada’s CPTPP commitments aim to increase opportunities and support economic growth for Canadians and Canadian businesses. The commitments are also consistent with Canada’s existing immigration requirements and the approach taken in other free trade agreements.

Canada has taken commitments in the CPTPP that aim to support and enhance opportunities for Canadian businesses. These commitments cover the following categories of business persons and are based on the principle of reciprocity:

The principle of reciprocity means that the access Canada grants to other CPTPP parties will be the same as the access Canada receives from those parties. Reciprocity protects and strengthens the opportunities available to Canadian businesses and business persons under the CPTPP.

Canada’s reciprocal commitments

The CPTPP commitments aim to facilitate temporary entry for these four specific categories of business people. They do so by eliminating numerical restrictions (such as quotas) and economic needs tests (such as labour market tests, known in Canada as labour market impact assessments). Canada will make a reciprocal commitment to another CPTPP country only after that country makes a similar commitment to Canada. In practice, this reciprocity means:

Canada also received new market access commitments from Australia, Brunei, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand and Peru. This means that, as a result of the CPTPP, certain Canadian business persons entering those markets are ensured greater certainty and predictability.

For questions related to the Temporary Entry of Business Persons under Canada’s free trade agreements, please contact: enquiry-demande.TE@international.gc.ca.

Date Modified:

Que signifie le PTPGP pour les séjours temporaires?

Aperçu/sommaire

Les gens d’affaires se heurtent parfois à des obstacles à la frontière qui nuisent à leur capacité de pénétrer un autre marché pour y mener des échanges commerciaux et y faire des investissements. Les dispositions relatives à l’admission temporaire formulées dans les accords de libre-échange, tels que le PTPGP, éliminent plusieurs obstacles rencontrés à la frontière et facilitent donc les voyages d’affaires ou le déménagement sur une base temporaire, pour certaines catégories particulières de gens d’affaires. L’élimination de ces obstacles, qui peuvent nuire à la capacité des entreprises canadiennes de faire des affaires, aide les entreprises canadiennes à prendre de l’expansion et à prospérer.

Les séjours temporaires dans le cadre du PTPGP

Les dispositions clés du PTPGP

Les engagements pris par le Canada dans le cadre du PTPGP visent à accroître les débouchés et à soutenir la croissance économique des Canadiens et des entreprises canadiennes. Ils sont conformes aux exigences canadiennes en vigueur en matière d’immigration et à la démarche adoptée dans d’autres accords de libre-échange.

Dans le cadre du PTPGP, le Canada a pris des engagements qui visent à appuyer et à accroître les débouchés offerts aux entreprises canadiennes. Ces engagements, qui reposent sur le principe de réciprocité, concernent les catégories de gens d’affaires suivantes :

Le principe de réciprocité signifie que l’accès que donne le Canada aux autres parties du PTPGP sera le même que l’accès que le Canada reçoit de ces parties. La réciprocité protège et renforce les possibilités offertes aux entreprises canadiennes et aux gens d’affaires canadiens dans le cadre du PTPGP.

Les engagements réciproques du Canada

Les engagements pris dans le cadre du PTPGP facilitent le séjour temporaire de ces quatre catégories particulières de gens d’affaires en éliminant les restrictions relatives au nombre (p. ex. les contingents) et les examens des besoins économiques, comme les examens du marché du travail (p. ex. les études d’impact sur le marché du travail au Canada). Le Canada prendra un engagement réciproque envers un autre pays membre du PTPGP uniquement après que celui-ci aura pris un engagement similaire envers le Canada. Concrètement, cela signifie :

Le Canada a également obtenu de nouveaux engagements relatifs à l’accès au marché de la part de l’Australie, du Brunei, du Chili, du Japon, de la Malaisie, du Mexique, de la Nouvelle-Zélande et du Pérou. Ainsi, le PTPGP assure un plus haut degré de certitude et de prévisibilité pour certains entrepreneurs canadiens qui pénétreront ces marchés.

Pour les questions relatives à l’admission temporaire des gens d’affaires en vertu des accords de libre-échange du Canada, veuillez contacter: enquiry-demande.TE@international.gc.ca.

Date de modification: