Summary of outcomes

Learn more about CUSMA

Agreement fact sheets

On November 30, 2018, Canada, the United States, and Mexico signed an agreement to replace the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) with the Canada-United States-Mexico Agreement (CUSMA). This new agreement will reinforce the strong economic ties between the three countries and support well-paying middle-class jobs for Canadians. Subsequently, on December 10, 2019, Canada, the United States and Mexico agreed to update certain elements of CUSMA to improve the final outcome and clear the path toward ratification and implementation of the agreement in all three countries.

CUSMA will maintain the tariff-free market access from NAFTA, and includes updates and new chapters to address modern-day trade challenges and opportunities. Since negotiations began in August 2017, Canada engaged constructively and pragmatically with our NAFTA partners to achieve a good deal for Canadians.

The agreement provides key outcomes for Canadian businesses, workers and communities in areas such as labour, environment, automotive trade, dispute resolution, culture, energy, and agriculture and agri-food.  Importantly, CUSMA also includes language on gender and Indigenous peoples’ rights.

Facilitating trade in goods

NAFTA eliminated virtually all tariffs between Canada, the U.S. and Mexico, with very few exceptions. CUSMA maintains these benefits and ensures that the vast majority of North American trade will continue to be duty-free. Additionally, a new chapter on customs administration and trade facilitation standardizes and modernizes customs procedures throughout North America to facilitate the free-flow of goods. There are also important improvements to disciplines on technical barriers to trade that will make it easier for Canadian businesses to export goods within the CUSMA region.

As a result of this agreement, Canada agreed to have de minimis thresholds for express courier import shipments of C$150 for duties and C$40 for taxes at the point or time of importation.

Agriculture

CUSMA will preserve existing agriculture commitments between Canada, the U.S. and Mexico, and help bring together an already highly integrated North American industry. Canada secured a number of beneficial outcomes for agriculture including:

The Government defended the supply management system from strong U.S. attempts to see it dismantled. As part of the overall balance of the Agreement, Canada will:

Autos

The revised automotive rules of origin require higher levels of North American content in order to incentivize production and sourcing in North America. The final outcome builds on the ideas that Canada put forward in early 2018 related to strengthening the North American production platform, reducing red tape and increasing the use of North American parts, steel and aluminum.

More robust rules of origin for the auto sector will help keep the benefits of the agreement in North America and diminish incentives to make investment and sourcing decisions based on the availability of low-cost labour. Specifically, the new agreement includes:

The new agreement has the potential to generate increased automotive production in North America, including in Canada, as well as additional sourcing opportunities for Canadian parts producers. The Canadian advantage in the automotive sector has always been the strength of our highly skilled workforce, and our workers’ ability to produce high quality and reliable cars and trucks.

U.S. national security measures (Section 232 of the U.S. Trade Expansion Act of 1962)

The agreement provides a more secure and stable trade environment for Canadian workers and businesses. This is particularly important in light of the investigation under Section 232 of the U.S. Trade Expansion Act of 1962 to determine whether imports of automobiles and auto parts pose a threat to U.S. national security.

Given the integrated nature of the North American auto sector, any national security measures imposed against Canada would have threatened Canadian automobile and parts producers, and Canadians working in the sector. Canada secured an exemption from potential Section 232 measures in a side letter to the agreement.

In the event that U.S. national security measures are imposed, the side letter guarantees an exemption from Section 232 measures for 2.6 million Canadian automobiles annually. Light trucks do not count towards this amount and are fully exempt from U.S. Section 232 measures. The side letter also guarantees an exemption from Section 232 measures for US$32.4 billion worth of Canadian auto parts annually. These levels are significantly higher than Canada’s exports of automobiles and parts to the U.S. In securing the exemption for Canada, Canadian auto assemblers and parts producers can continue to sell into the U.S. market and will have opportunities to expand their operations beyond current levels of exports.

Canada also secured a commitment from the U.S. to provide a minimum 60-day exemption from any future Section 232 measures. This would allow time for Canada and the U.S. to agree on an appropriate outcome based on industry needs and historical trading patterns.

Dispute settlement

When it comes to disagreements, CUSMA builds on and improves the original NAFTA outcome by:

Labour

CUSMA includes a comprehensive chapter on labour, which is subject to dispute settlement. This chapter aims to level the playing field on labour standards and working conditions in the CUSMA region by ensuring parties do not lower their levels of protection to attract trade or investment. CUSMA also contains commitments to ensure national laws and policies provide protection for fundamental principles and rights at work. These include the right to freedom of association and collective bargaining, a prohibition on importing goods made from forced labour and binding obligations on the rights of migrant workers. The chapter also includes an enforceable obligation to address violence against workers, including single instances of violence, or threats thereof.

To address labour violations related to collective bargaining and freedom of association in a timely manner, the agreement also includes innovative mechanisms for rapid response between Canada and Mexico and between the United States and Mexico. These enforcement mechanisms allow for the rapid deployment of a three-member panel of labour experts to a facility to ensure that national labour law is being respected.

Environment

CUSMA includes a comprehensive environment chapter, which is subject to dispute settlement and aims to level the playing field by ensuring parties do not lower their levels of environmental protection to attract trade or investment. It also introduces new commitments to address global environmental challenges, such as illegal wildlife trade, illegal fishing and depletion of fish stocks, species at risk, conservation of biological diversity, ozone-depleting substances and marine pollution. It includes a new article that identifies 7 multilateral environmental agreements (MEAs) and commits the three parties to implementing their respective obligations under those MEAs to which they are party. 

For the first time in an environment chapter, CUSMA includes innovative environmental commitments to improve air quality and combat marine litter. The Parties recognize the importance of these issues and commit to working together to address them.

The parallel Environmental Cooperation Agreement, which complements the environment chapter, ensures that the unique institutions established under the North American Agreement on Environmental Cooperation will continue the legacy of effective trilateral cooperation to protect and enhance the North American environment in the context of increasing economic, trade and social links.

Culture

Canadians have a strong national identity based on our diversity and strength in our differences. Indigenous peoples, Francophone communities and Canadians of every faith, background and culture shape the Canada we call home. As countries become more economically integrated, it is increasingly important that nations are able to preserve a strong sense of national identity and belonging.

The modernized agreement preserves Canada’s cultural exception, which gives Canada flexibility to adopt and maintain programs and policies that support the creation, distribution and development of Canadian artistic expression or content, including in the digital environment.

This was a key element in NAFTA. It helps protect Canada’s unique identity and provides greater security for over 660,000 CanadiansFootnote 2 who work in industries such as publications, broadcasting, and the distribution or sale of books, magazines, film, video and music.

Indigenous peoples

Throughout the negotiations, one of Canada’s objectives for CUSMA was to better reflect the interests of Indigenous peoples. To this end, Canada was able to secure important clarity in the form of a general exception related to the rights of Indigenous peoples. Canada also retained policy flexibility for Indigenous peoples and Indigenous-owned businesses, including in the areas of services, investment, government procurement, environment and state-owned enterprises. Additionally, outcomes on environment reflect the important role of Indigenous peoples, including in the conservation of biodiversity.

Trade and gender

Canada has made gender equality and women’s economic empowerment a key priority in its recent trade negotiations. Canada is further demonstrating its leadership on the issue by integrating gender-related provisions in CUSMA. This includes new labour provisions which require Parties to implement policies that protect against employment discrimination based on gender. Gender is also addressed in other chapters, including provisions related to corporate social responsibility, and small and medium-sized enterprises.

Energy

Provisions governing trade in energy can be found across the modernized agreement. This includes disciplines and provisions in the areas of national treatment and market access, rules of origin, customs and trade facilitation, and cross-border trade in services and investment.

Importantly, the agreement no longer includes what was referred to as the energy “proportionality clause” – which had placed certain limitations on the ability of Parties to constrain the export of energy products. The lack of a proportionality clause in the new agreement is a reflection of the overall high level of energy security present in the North American market today.

Government procurement

Canada and the U.S. will retain access to each other’s procurement markets, including at the sub-federal level, through their obligations under the World Trade Organization’s Agreement on Government Procurement (GPA). The government procurement obligations between Mexico and Canada will be provided under the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP).

Intellectual property

Parties agreed to an updated, comprehensive chapter on intellectual property (IP), with obligations on copyright and related rights, trademarks, geographical indications, industrial designs, patents, data protection for pharmaceutical and agricultural chemical products, trade secrets and IP rights enforcement.

Canada has transition periods of 2.5 years and 4.5 years, respectively, following the entry into force of the agreement to implement these obligations.

The new agreement includes provisions on Internet service provider liability to address online infringement, which enable Canada to maintain its current “notice-and-notice” regime. Under the December 2019 Protocol amending the CUSMA, parties agreed to amend or delete certain provisions dealing with patents and pharmaceutical IP. Notably, parties agreed to remove the obligation to provide 10 years of data protection for biologics, meaning CUSMA will not require Canada to make changes to its domestic regime in this area.

Review process & ongoing modernization

CUSMA includes a requirement for a formal review of the agreement at least every six years after entry into force. This new review process will help ensure the agreement remains relevant, effective and beneficial for North American workers. It will also help address issues before they become major challenges, and provide predictability and stability for Canadian consumers and businesses. While establishing that the agreement will terminate 16 years after entry into force, the Parties can agree to extend the agreement for a further 16 years after each regular review.

 
 
Date Modified:

Résumé des résultats atteints

En savoir plus sur l’ACEUM

Fiches d’information de l’accord

Le 30 novembre 2018, le Canada, les États-Unis et le Mexique ont signé un accord visant à remplacer l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA) par l’Accord Canada–États-Unis–Mexique (ACEUM). Ce nouvel accord permettra de resserrer les solides liens économiques entre les trois pays et de soutenir de bons emplois bien rémunérés pour les Canadiens de la classe moyenne. Par la suite, le 10 décembre 2019, le Canada, les États-Unis et le Mexique ont convenu de mettre à jour certains éléments de l’ACEUM pour l’améliorer et ouvrir la voie à sa ratification et à sa mise en œuvre dans les trois pays.

L’ACEUM préservera l’accès au marché en franchise de droits défini dans l’ALENA. Il comprend également des mises à jour et de nouveaux chapitres pour aborder les enjeux du commerce moderne et saisir les occasions qui y sont liées. Depuis le début des négociations en août 2017, le Canada a engagé un dialogue constructif et pragmatique avec ses partenaires de l’ALENA afin de conclure un bon accord pour les Canadiens.

L’Accord prévoit des résultats importants pour les entreprises, les travailleurs et les communautés du Canada dans des domaines tels que le travail, l’environnement, le commerce automobile, le règlement des différends, la culture, l’énergie, ainsi que l’agriculture et l’agroalimentaire. Il est important de souligner que l’ACEUM renferme également des dispositions sur l’égalité des genres et les droits des peuples autochtones.

Facilitation du commerce des marchandises

L’ALENA prévoyait l’élimination de pratiquement tous les tarifs douaniers entre le Canada, les États-Unis et le Mexique, à quelques exceptions près. L’ACEUM maintient ces avantages et fait en sorte que presque tous les échanges commerciaux effectués en Amérique du Nord resteront exempts de tarifs. De plus, un nouveau chapitre sur l’administration des douanes et la facilitation du commerce normalise et modernise les procédures douanières à travers l’Amérique du Nord afin de faciliter la libre circulation des biens. Des changements importants ont aussi été apportés aux disciplines sur les obstacles techniques au commerce, qui faciliteront l’exportation de marchandises par les entreprises canadiennes dans la région de l’ACEUM.

Dans le cadre de cet accord, le Canada a accepté de maintenir des seuils de minimis pour les importations expédiées par messagerie express d’au moins 150 $ CA pour les droits de douane et 40 $ CA pour les taxes au point ou au moment d’importation.

Agriculture

L’ACEUM préservera les engagements actuels en matière d’agriculture entre le Canada, les États-Unis et le Mexique, et aidera à consolider une industrie nord-américaine déjà hautement intégrée. Le Canada a réalisé un certain nombre de gains en agriculture, dont les suivants :

Le gouvernement a défendu le système de gestion de l'offre contre les fortes tentatives des États-Unis de le démanteler. Dans le cadre de l'équilibre global de l'Accord, le Canada:

Secteur de l’automobile

Les règles d’origine révisées pour le secteur de l’automobile requièrent des niveaux de contenu nord‑américain plus élevés afin de stimuler la production et l’approvisionnement en Amérique du Nord. Le résultat final découle des idées que le Canada a proposées au début de 2018 dans le but de renforcer la plateforme de fabrication nord-américaine, d’alléger le fardeau administratif et d’encourager l’utilisation de pièces, d’acier et d’aluminium nord‑américains.

Des règles d’origine plus rigoureuses dans le secteur de l’automobile aidera à maintenir les avantages de l’accord en Amérique du Nord et à décourager la prise de décisions en matière d’investissement et d’approvisionnement fondée sur la disponibilité de main‑d’œuvre à faible coût. Le nouvel accord renferme plus particulièrement les dispositions suivantes :

Le nouvel accord pourrait accroître la fabrication d’automobiles en Amérique du Nord, notamment au Canada, et offrir des possibilités d'approvisionnement supplémentaires pour les producteurs de pièces canadiens. L’avantage canadien dans le secteur de l’automobile a toujours reposé sur la force de notre main‑d’œuvre hautement qualifiée et la capacité de nos travailleurs de fabriquer des voitures et des camions fiables et de grande qualité.

Mesures de sécurité nationale des États-Unis (Article 232 de la Loi américaine sur l’expansion du commerce de 1962)

L'Accord crée un environnement commercial plus sûr et plus stable pour les travailleurs et les entreprises du Canada. Ceci est particulièrement important à la lumière de l’enquête menée en vertu de l'article 232 de la Loi américaine sur l’expansion du commerce de 1962 (the U.S. Trade Expansion Act of 1962) visant à déterminer si les importations d'automobiles de pièces d'automobiles constituent une menace pour la sécurité nationale des États-Unis.

Étant donné la nature intégrée du secteur de l'automobile en Amérique du Nord, toutes mesures de sécurité nationale imposée contre le Canada auraient menacé les producteurs canadiens d'automobiles et de pièces automobiles, ainsi que les Canadiens travaillant dans ce secteur. Le Canada a obtenu, dans une lettre d’accompagnement à l’Accord, une exemption à l’égard de mesures éventuelles en vertu de l’article 232.

En cas de mesures de sécurité nationale imposées par les États-Unis, la lettre d’accompagnement garantit une exemption des mesures prévues par l’article 232 pour 2,6 millions d'automobiles canadiennes annuellement. Pour les camions légers, ils ne sont pas pris en compte dans cette quantité et sont entièrement exonérés des mesures américaines prévues par l’article 232. La lettre d'accompagnement garantit également une exemption des mesures prévues par l’article 232 pour une valeur annuelle de 32,4 milliards de dollars américains de pièces d'automobile canadiennes. Ces quantités sont beaucoup plus élevées que les exportations canadiennes récentes d’automobiles et de pièces d’automobiles vers les États-Unis. En obtenant l'exemption pour le Canada, les assembleurs et les producteurs de pièces d'automobiles canadiens pourront continuer de vendre sur le marché américain et auront la possibilité d'étendre leurs activités au-delà des niveaux actuels d'exportation.

Le Canada s'est assuré que les États-Unis s'engagent à accorder une exemption d'au moins 60 jours de toute mesure future prévue par l'article 232. Le Canada et les États-Unis auraient ainsi le temps de s'entendre sur un résultat approprié en fonction des besoins de l'industrie et des tendances commerciales historiques. 

Règlement des différends

En ce qui concerne les désaccords, l'ACEUM conserve et améliore les dispositions de l’ALENA original, en outre :

Travail

L’ACEUM prévoit également un chapitre complet sur le travail, qui sera assujetti au mécanisme de règlement des différends. Ce chapitre vise à rehausser et à améliorer les normes du travail et les conditions de travail dans la région de l’ACEUM en veillant à ce que les parties n’abaissent pas leurs niveaux de protection pour attirer le commerce ou les investissements. L’ACEUM contient également des engagements pour veiller à ce que les lois et les politiques nationales protègent les principes et les droits fondamentaux du travail. Ceux-ci comprennent le droit à la liberté d’association et le droit à la négociation collective, l’interdiction d’importer des marchandises découlant du travail forcé ainsi que des obligations contraignantes concernant les droits des travailleurs migrants. Le chapitre comprend également l’obligation exécutoire de lutter contre la violence à l’égard des travailleurs, notamment les cas isolés de violence ou de menaces de violence.

Pour aborder les violations des droits du travail liées à la négociation collective et à la liberté d’association en temps opportun, l’Accord prévoit également des mécanismes novateurs d’intervention rapide entre le Canada et le Mexique et entre les États-Unis et le Mexique. Ces mécanismes d’application permettent le déploiement rapide d’un groupe de trois experts en matière de travail dans un établissement pour s’assurer que le droit national du travail est respecté.

Environnement

L’ACEUM comprend un chapitre complet sur l’environnement. Il est assujetti au mécanisme de règlement des différends et vise à uniformiser les règles du jeu en veillant à ce qu’aucune des parties n’abaisse ses niveaux de protection de l’environnement dans le but de favoriser le commerce ou d’attirer des investissements. Ce chapitre introduit aussi de nouvelles obligations en vue de relever les défis environnementaux à l’échelle mondiale comme le commerce illicite d’animaux sauvages, la pêche illégale et l’épuisement des stocks de poissons, la sauvegarde des espèces en péril, la protection de la biodiversité, les substances appauvrissant la couche d’ozone et la pollution marine. Il comprend un nouvel article qui précise 7 accords multilatéraux sur l’environnement (AME) et qui obligent les trois parties à s’acquitter de leurs obligations respectives en vertu des AME auxquels elles sont parties.

Pour la première fois dans un chapitre sur l’environnement, l’ACEUM prévoit des engagements innovateurs en matière d’environnement visant à améliorer la qualité de l’air et à lutter contre les déchets marins. Toutes les parties ont reconnu la gravité de ces problèmes et se sont engagées à collaborer en vue de les résoudre.

L’Accord parallèle de coopération dans le domaine de l’environnement, qui complète le chapitre sur l’environnement, fait en sorte que les institutions uniques établies en vertu de l’Accord nord-américain de coopération dans le domaine de l’environnement perpétueront l’héritage d’une coopération trilatérale efficace pour protéger et améliorer l’environnement nord-américain dans le contexte de liens économiques, commerciaux et sociaux plus étroits.

Culture

Les Canadiens ont à cœur leur identité nationale fondée sur la diversité et la force issue de leurs différences. Les peuples autochtones, les collectivités francophones et les Canadiens de toutes religions, de toutes origines et de toutes cultures aident à façonner le pays qui est le leur. Alors que les pays deviennent de plus en plus intégrés sur le plan économique, il est d’autant plus important que les nations puissent préserver leur identité nationale et un sentiment d’appartenance fort.

L’accord modernisé prévoit le maintien de l’exception culturelle du Canada, ce qui donne au Canada la flexibilité nécessaire pour adopter et maintenir des programmes et des politiques favorisant la création, la distribution et le développement de l’expression ou du contenu artistique canadien, y compris dans l’environnement numérique.

Il s’agissait d’un élément clé de l’ALENA. Il aide à protéger l’identité particulière du Canada et procure une plus grande sécurité à plus de 660 000 CanadiensNote de bas de page 2 qui travaillent dans des industries comme celles de la publication, de la radiodiffusion et de la distribution ou de la vente de livres, de magazines, de films, de vidéos et de musique.

Peuples autochtones

Tout au long des négociations, l’un des objectifs du Canada dans l’ACEUM était de mieux refléter les intérêts des peuples autochtones. Le Canada a effectivement été en mesure d’apporter d’importants éclaircissements à cet égard, sous la forme d’une exemption générale liée aux droits des peuples autochtones. Le Canada a aussi maintenu la souplesse de certaines politiques afin d’offrir un traitement préférentiel aux peuples autochtones et aux entreprises appartenant à des Autochtones, notamment dans le secteur des services, de l’investissement, des marchés publics, de l’environnement et des entreprises appartenant à l’État. Certains passages de l’Accord reflètent également le rôle important que jouent les peuples autochtones pour protéger l’environnement, par exemple dans la préservation de la biodiversité.

Commerce et genre

Le Canada a placé l’égalité des sexes et l’autonomisation économique des femmes au centre des priorités pendant ses récentes négociations commerciales. Le Canada continue de faire preuve de leadership en ce qui a trait à cet enjeu en intégrant des dispositions liées à l’égalité des genres dans l’ACEUM. Celles-ci incluent des nouvelles dispositions en matière de travail qui exigent des parties qu’elles mettent en œuvre des politiques qui protègent contre la discrimination fondée sur le genre dans le cadre des embauches. D’autres chapitres portent également sur des enjeux liés à l’égalité des sexes et contiennent notamment des dispositions liées à la responsabilité sociale des entreprises et aux petites et moyennes entreprises.

Énergie

Les dispositions sur les échanges commerciaux dans le secteur de l’énergie sont réparties dans l’ensemble de l’accord modernisé. L’Accord prévoit notamment des disciplines et des dispositions à l’égard du traitement national et de l’accès aux marchés, des règles d’origine, des douanes et de la facilitation du commerce, ainsi que du commerce transfrontalier dans les secteurs des services et de l’investissement.

Il importe de noter que l’accord ne contient plus ce qu’on appelait la « clause de proportionnalité » en matière d’énergie, qui empêchait dans une certaine mesure les parties de limiter leurs exportations de produits énergétiques. L’absence d’une clause de proportionnalité dans le nouvel accord démontre le haut niveau général de sécurité énergétique sur le marché nord-américain aujourd’hui. 

Marchés publics

Le Canada et les États-Unis conserveront leur capacité de soumissionner dans le cadre de projets de marchés publics de l’autre pays, notamment au niveau infranational, dans le respect de leurs obligations en vertu de l’Accord sur les marchés publics (AMP) de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce. Les obligations en matière de marchés publics entre le Mexique et le Canada relèveront de l’Accord de partenariat transpacifique global et progressiste (PTPGP).

Propriété intellectuelle

Les parties ont convenu d’inclure un chapitre complet et actualisé sur la propriété intellectuelle, qui contient des obligations en matière de droit d’auteur et des droits connexes, de marques de commerce, d’indications géographiques, de dessins industriels, de brevets, de protection des données relatives aux produits pharmaceutiques et aux produits chimiques employés dans l’agriculture, de secrets commerciaux et d’application des droits de propriété intellectuelle.

Le Canada jouira de périodes de transition de 2,5 ans et de 4,5 ans, respectivement, pour se confirmer à ces obligations à la suite de l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord.

Le nouvel accord comprend des dispositions sur les responsabilités qui incombent aux fournisseurs de services Internet relativement aux violations en ligne, ce qui permettra au Canada de préserver son régime actuel « d’avis et avis ». Aux termes du protocole de décembre 2019 modifiant l’ACEUM, les parties ont convenu de modifier ou de supprimer certaines dispositions relatives aux brevets et à la propriété intellectuelle pharmaceutique. Elles ont en outre convenu de supprimer l'obligation d'assurer une protection des données de 10 ans pour les produits biologiques, ce qui signifie que le Canada n’aura pas à apporter de modifications à son régime national dans ce domaine en vertu de l’Accord.

Processus d’examen et de modernisation continue

L’ACEUM prévoit une obligation de procéder à un examen officiel de l’Accord au moins tous les six ans à la suite de son entrée en vigueur. Ce nouveau processus d’examen permettra de veiller à ce que l’Accord demeure pertinent, efficace et avantageux pour les travailleurs nord-américains. Il facilitera également le règlement des enjeux avant que ces derniers engendrent des problèmes plus importants, en plus d’offrir de la prévisibilité et de la stabilité aux consommateurs et aux entreprises du Canada. En prévoyant sa dissolution 16 ans après son entrée en vigueur, l’Accord permet aux parties d’accepter de le prolonger pour une nouvelle période de 16 ans après chacun des examens périodiques.

 
 
Date de modification: